Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: quite
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:Marcus P.,5/23/2017 12:29:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad product
Pros: Worked okay and played blu-ray movies when I used it.
Cons: About 2 months ago, it went bad, and took out the sata controllers on my old PC with it. Both are out of warranty, so I had to build a new pc. Thought that the drive was still OK since my HDDs from old pc worked in an enclosure connected to a laptop, but the Blu-Ray player almost wrecked the sata controllers on the new motherboard.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/15/2017 1:30:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Optic Drive
Pros: Works as intended
Cons: pricey
Other Thoughts: What else can I say? $45 seems a bit much. Had it for 2 months so far and no problems. Time will tell...
Reviewed By:Max B.,5/5/2017 11:27:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product and great price for performance
Pros: -Burns DVDs including permanent M-Disc
Cons: none really - other than having to DL a free BR player and possible lack of Win10 support
Other Thoughts: NOTE :
*DL the Free leawo blu-ray player [google it] if your running any Windows OS except 10 ( didn't test) while LG should include a basic player/an drivers- but this is an OEM/barebones edition and priced as such and an excellent value considering its a DVD burner and not just a player and if your system doesn't have a BR player installed"*

Purchased this secondarily for a HTPC an Acer running an Atom Processor (low power 10W) with 2 or 4 GB of ram don't recall, it was a Newegg shellshocker deal that cost about a Benjamin, which has been great as well.

I primarily bought this for its ability to write M-disc for business archive records (permanent backups to CD (BluRayDisc that are supposed to have 100+ yr life).

That and for the occasional BluRay rental and to play the few DVDs I own (Pretty much just box sets of Peter Jackson's - J. R. R. Tolkien films and RDM re-imaging of BSG on BluRay -otherwise we pretty much stream most shows/movies and so few are worth owning on DVD anymore. So this will spend most of its life for archiving business and personal records to M-Disc and the occasional rescreening of the DVD's.

I will to say that I chose to go this route over a dedicated stand-alone BluRay player I bought 2-3 (and returned) even one with the 4K converter - it had far too many bells and whistles to be practical (hate most of the TV's& dvd players with SmartTech - because they are slow, stupid and are rarely updated- Roku TV are the exception - Simple -straight forward, responsive (quick) and work without bloat).

So that said this handles pretty much all we need.

Since my HTPC is low power and fanless other PS and almost silent, as LG's Silent Play technology claims -other initial loading /spin up you can't hear it running.

I share this because- intially I was concerned with the negative reviews I read, before purchase - but I've learned that much of the time that tends to be end-user issues - unless I see an issue pop-up repeatedly in a review- it doesnt stop me from purchasing.
Reviewed By:Jonathan P.,4/30/2017 2:51:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worse one ever
Pros: I like nothing about it.
Cons: That product stopped working about 4 months after I bought it
Manufacturer Response:Dear Danilo,

Thank you for the feedback and making us aware of your ASUS product experience. I'm terribly sorry to hear about the technical difficulties you encountered and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact me directly at cc-eric@asus.com and i'll be happy to help you. I look forward to your e-mail so we can be sure to resolve your concerns as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:DANILO P.,4/24/2017 9:22:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It was a good deal... oops it was OEM!
Pros: Got it on sale-great price for any blu ray drive.
its blu ray
Cons: OEM, you get absolutely nothing in the box but the drive.
no software
windows 10 does not recognize the drive
no driver support
Other Thoughts: So at the price I paid, I am perfectly happy as I needed a new drive. However if you type in the model number for this drive into LG's web page, and try to get drivers, there is NO support for this device. and OF COURSE, like every other device I have ever plugged into windows 10, windows thinks its a generic device, and finds drivers from 2006... everything I plug in says "driver up to date, from "6/21/2006"
HP drive I previously had was recognized by windows 10 and found drivers. SO IN ALL
you will NOT be able to play blu rays with this, unless you get software for it! and YOU WILL NOT be able to get a proper driver unless you really really dig.
Last but not least... as movies always did on DVD with my computer... the playback looks grainy and terrible. I have never had good playback with movies on computer unless streamed... was hoping blu ray with HD moniters was the end to this!
Reviewed By:Maxim S.,4/22/2017 10:52:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid drive
Pros: reads all my discs
Cons: you have to buy bluray software to play anything
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2017 1:23:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a Bluray Drive.
Pros: Windows 10 recognized it as a Bluray Drive from first startup. Didn't need to install or download anything.
Cons: Bluray movie playback is not natively supported by Windows - however not an issue with the drive itself. It comes with software but nothing for playback.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't come with any cables.
Reviewed By:Brian M.,4/5/2017 12:45:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Loud but functional
Pros: I rarely use the drive for anything other than backing up blu-rays to a server. It does its job, its oem so I knew what to expect.
Cons: Can be loud.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/3/2017 1:25:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blue
Pros: Fit perfectly, plug and play, good quality, quiet
Cons: did not come with SATA cord
Other Thoughts: Great Value with fast shipping
Reviewed By:Mr. P.,3/25/2017 5:40:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.