Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer 4K UHD Blu-Ray Burner 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X (Single) 8X (Dual) BD-ROM 4MB Cache Serial ATA Revision 3.0 BDR-211UBK

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mine was junk out of the box.
Pros: None.
Cons: I have repaired and built computers for almost 20 years and I believe this is the biggest piece of junk I have installed. Immediately after installing this drive my computer started crashing. Figured maybe it might work under Windows 10. It would not even let me install the operating system. Kept crashing during install. Tried installing Linux and again it kept crashing. Installed my old optical drive and all was fine again. Tried ever way to give this drive the benefit of a doubt but it just kept letting me down.
Other Thoughts: I believe I would just stick with my old drive than to try one of these again.
Reviewed By:David M.,6/25/2017 5:55:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 8X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 6X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Super-Multi Slim Blu-ray Burner BT30N

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fits the build
Pros: While it worked, it worked well.
Cons: Died after 18 months of light use (very light).
Other Thoughts: I expected a longer lifespan (much longer). However, with equipment being so cheaply made nowadays, I guess this is to be expected. The biggest pain is getting a replacement part.
Reviewed By:William T.,6/19/2017 6:34:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 it reads BDs, but it has glitches.
Pros: -It reads most BDs just.
Cons: -I have this version and the previous version (N82E16827136268). this version does not read as reliably at the previous version.
-BD disks must be perfectly clean and scratch free for reliable reading.
Other Thoughts: -If available, get the previous version before this one.
Reviewed By:Kurt S.,6/15/2017 11:05:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product
Pros: No real pro or con
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: This item is a very standard Blu-ray player that functions as it is designed, as such I have nothing negative to say but the product also does not do anything amazing warranting a special mention.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/5/2017 4:28:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Burns BD disks.
Pros: Fast DVD rips, burns clean BD, and is pretty quiet compared to other drives I have owned.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: Sorting through newegg's broken browsing gui, you will find many disk drives that do not burn BD under the heading BD burner.
Reviewed By:John S.,6/4/2017 8:30:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 will not read blu rays
Pros: fast shipping; easy to install
Cons: ERROR:Disc with unsupported format for BluRay! I have Cyberlink Power DVD and Nero 2016 Platinum and neither can read store bought BluRays on this drive. It does play DVDs after changing the Region Code. I have Win 10. Just bought this. Help now or it goes back. _dan o
Reviewed By:Dan O.,6/3/2017 12:38:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pioneer BDR-209DBK
Pros: Does everything I want it to do. One wish is maybe it would have light scribe, but never had a drive with light scribe so no big loss. We have now 2 of these in our computer. The first one was put in 3 years ago and doing fine. Installed and had no issues.
Cons: No cons for me. But if you need software to use it , none is included, and no cables are included if you needed some.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly recommend this burner. I looked at the LG Bluray burners but I think this is still the better of the 2. Our other one is the same, an it's performance an longevity was a big factor in purchase. I would recommend this unit to my own mother. You won't go wrong in your purchase. I didn't care about the extended disks 128 so forth. Wish the Dbl layer DVD's would come down in price. There's times when you don't need the capacity of a Bluray.
Reviewed By:Robert B.,6/3/2017 9:13:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 6 months
Pros: Uncomplicated plug and play.
Cons: Drive failed after only 6 months (purchased January '17). Thought it might be a software glitch at first considering the drive is recognized in BIOS and by device manager, but when a disc is inserted it doesn't show anything at all (ie. if you click on what is for me the E: drive, it will open and ask you to insert a disc). Plugged in the DVD drive this replaced thinking it might be a problem with the SATA cable or connection to the MOBO, and it loaded multiple discs just fine.
Other Thoughts: Given the quick failure under moderate at most usage, I would recommend finding a more reliable use of $60. This isn't exactly cutting edge technology, so the product should compete on reliability and this simply doesn't. Other negative reviews reflect similar reliability defects (from playback to bricking) within 6 months of purchase.
Reviewed By:Brandon K.,6/2/2017 12:00:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cool...but no software?
Pros: -Can play blur-rays... iguess?
Cons: -doesn't come with any software to play blu-rays
-so no, it doesn't play blurays
Other Thoughts: -looking into online software that doesn't cost $50. Apparently this is just an issue with blurays and pc's
Reviewed By:JOSEPH W.,6/1/2017 10:00:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ready to buy another one !
Pros: Been using one since 2013 with no problems.
The free software (TMT) plays Blu-rays.
Cons: None come to mind.
Other Thoughts: Yes, would recommend. I paid 65 USD for mine. And now I can get it cheaper !
I wish the newbies could understand what bare/OEM/No software means.
Reviewed By:william b.,6/1/2017 6:54:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.