Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Roomy
Pros: This is a great case for HTPC. It will take and standard ATX MOBO and maybe even some of the extended ones. Easy to put together and all the cables are solidly attached and of high quality. Fits in my home entertainment center with room to spare.
Cons: It ain't free!
Other Thoughts: A great buy for the price, which I would buy again and recommend to anyone.
Reviewed By:Paul W.,5/15/2017 6:58:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-318 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V TFX 275W Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK
Pros: Nothing good to say
Cons: Top doesn't wish to go back on after the motherboard is installed
what good is a case that the top will not close without force
Sad !!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/18/2017 4:34:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great Looking HTPC Case... VERY Noisy
Pros: Looks amazing... looks like something that belongs with a TV and stereo system which is what I was after, and unlike a lot of cases out there lately, it's a nice simple design without a bunch of LED lights flashing all over. I also love the space given for fans, plus easily removed filters for cleaning, plus the PSU can mount such that is sucks in air from the outside through one of the filters and blows out the rear, rather than facing inwards and sucking in warm air.
Cons: Wanted to give it 5-stars... looks great, but had to drop it 2-stars because of the noise. I decided to transfer over my old HTPC guts to a new case... old case was a nice solid steel case from around 12+yrs ago, but it was a tower sitting next to my TV stand and not on my stand. Grabbed this case because I needed room for 3 internal hard drives and it fit my shelf. Problem is that it is so very loud.I had to turn down the case fan, slow down the CPU fan as well, but not only can you hear them but when the hard drives spin up and start working, because mounted at the front of the system it makes a heck of a noise. I had to turn my volume up an extra notch or two. It needs to have a more solid frame and sound dampening in the front. I'll be adding some sound dampening in the front bezel, but not sure what to do for the rest. Hoping when I upgrade the guts, to get a quieter CPU fan, and use the onboard HDMI and remove my current GPU that has fans... hopefully that drops the noise down.

EDIT - Dropped another star. Every time I open this case to do something it takes forever. Just such a poor layout/design. I needed to take the front bezel off today, which isn't held in with clips rather screws, had to remove all hard drives, both case fans and half the cables to get at the screws and half of those could only be reached with a short stubby screw driver. Video card, some bracket above it I don't know what for, with a bracket below that covers the screws, and the screws can only be reached with a thin screwdriver or it won't fit through the hole above the screws. What I had hoped would have been a 5-star case, has me wishing I had built my own custom case instead, which I may still do.
Other Thoughts: This case has a lot going for it, a few small design issues... like having to take a bracket off at the back, to take out the back plates for a video card, then the only way to access the screws is with a long narrow screwdriver which is fine if you aren't using a screwdriver with switchable bits. I think it would be great for most HTPC builds, but you would definitely want to use a silent CPU cooler and if not using onboard video, probably a fanless GPU. SSD drive would help as well.
Reviewed By:Thomas R.,4/17/2017 1:42:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum skin reinforced plastic front panel, 0.8mm SECC body MILO Series ML03B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case! Very nice looking!
Pros: Sturdy enough, specious enough, USB3.0 ports on front, good fan mounting options
Cons: Says it can fit an ATX power supply, but as others have said, if you're including a disc drive, get ready for a struggle.
Other Thoughts: I bought this case to put together an HTPC. This was my first computer build and over-all it went pretty smoothly! As another poster suggested, don't use an ATX power supply if you're using a disc drive. Spacing will get tight fast! I used a Corsair SF450 which was a great choice, but be careful...you'll need an SFX to ATX adapter bracket, and my 24-pin cable couldn't reach the mother board socket unless I bent the mounting bracket to free up another 1/2" or so.

The case looks nice and feels sturdy enough when it's all together. I noticed after loading everything in the weight distribution caused the case top to not line up quite right, but the screws still go in cleanly and you really can't tell from the front. The USB 3.0 connections on the front are really handy for loading in all my movies and music, and I put a Rosewill wireless card in with no clearance problems at all. Just make sure to get a low profile card. The width of the cooling fins was fine. The right hand side of the case is all holes and it was easy to mount 2, 80mm Noctua fans which seems to do a great job of cooling the unit. I think you could mount more 80mm's if you get creative, but I tried to keep the installation as clean as possible, and used Noctua's rubber mounting studs to ensure no noise was generated. If you just used screws or zip ties you could probably fit more fans. I think that's all. Happy building!
Reviewed By:Matt S.,3/25/2017 7:20:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black / Blue SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BL/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 While this is my favorite budget HTPC case, it's not perfect. But best Value under $100 IMHO...
Pros: - The look and finish are good for the pricepoint. I've used this case for about 4 or 5 total builds, and its always arived in perfect condition
- Faceplate for CD drive works with every drive I tried it with
- Holds a full sized ATX motherboard comfortably, along with full height expansion cards
- Uses Standard Sized PSU (There is one included, but I feel many builders will be replacing it...see other notes)
- Included 2x80mm rear fans are very quiet, but don't move much air. Good for low heat systems.
- Ability to Add 120mm fans on both sides
Cons: - Includes a mediocre quality "500" Watt Power Supply - Only use with very low powered systems or keep as an emergency backup
- Power Supply Size will limit max video card size. I have a short Sapphire 2 Fan 7870 that just barely fits
- Bottom & Side hard drive mounts are tricky to get to with other parts in place. Don't expect these to be switched easily
- Power Button is delicate, and gets pushed in if you push too hard. This can be fixed by popping of the front bezel and pushing the button back in place from the inside.
Other Thoughts: Most CPU Tower coolers will NOT fit, despite the case accepting full height expansion cards. On one build, I actually dremeled out around the CPU heat sink, and used a cheap black plastic car hood scoop to create a cool custom intake that made airflow better and allowed a tower cooler to fit.

Unless your doing major mods like listed above, I'd stick to a 95 Watt or below CPU. In my personal HTPC with this case, I have an Intel G3220 with a Zalman's Tower Cooler and my custom hood scoop. Prior to this, I ran an AMD X4 955 underclocked to 3.0Ghz and undervolted to 1.15V or so. Otherwise, it would get too loud for my taste. This was with the stock AMD cooler, though. I primarily switched to lower idle power consumption, as I used this HTPC as a media server, too, with a 256GB SSD & 4TB HDD.

All in All, this is a very versatile case if you're willing to accept some of it's limitations. My biggest wish is that they'd sell it for $50 with no PSU. I'll bet they'd sell a lot more of them!

Also, the Blue is really kind of a purpley-blue.
Reviewed By:James K.,3/22/2017 8:24:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 HTPC
Pros: Attractive case. Full ATX board fits. Fairly large graphic card fits
Cons: Cable management looks like going to be a nightmare.
Reviewed By:Paul R.,2/16/2017 5:33:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Designed with thorough planning!but missing parts in box!
Pros: Spacing for wiring and additional fans, small size, same size as my surround sound receiver.
Cons: Missing parts in the box.....
Other Thoughts: Sent an email to Silverstone. Still no reply! Not sure if open box or what...

Got a reply to email, Silverstone is fixing the issue! 5 eggs! gREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Reviewed By:Ali W.,2/7/2017 3:37:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD05B-USB3.0 Aluminum / 0.8mm SECC micro-ATX / Mini-DTX / Mini-ITX MB, 1x5.25", 2x3.5"+1x2.5"HDD or 1x3.5"+2x2.5"HDD, 3x120mm golf bladed fan, 11" expansion card capable HTPC Case with 2X USB3.0 ports (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good htpc case
Pros: I bought this case because I wanted to make a gaming htpc. I needed one with a height shorter than 6 inches. After looking at a ton of cases I found this one. I wanted a case that could house a full size mechanical hard drive and a optical drive.
Cons: The only con I have about this case is its aesthetic. I really like other silverstone options better since they look better and have some nice features. I settled with this one because I was transplanting my old system to a htpc case so I wanted to reuse as much as possible and needed it to be less than 6 inches tall.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend a semi modular or full modular power supply. I have a non modular and had to stuff all the excess cable in the small space by power supply.
Reviewed By:brian stahl,2/1/2017 4:47:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 Black Aluminum/Steel ATX HTPC/Media Center Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best HTPC case yet
Pros: Sleek design, nice metal finish, plenty of room for up to 4 hard drives, and the fans that come with it are near silent
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/31/2017 3:44:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for a home theater PC
Pros: * up to three 120mm fans
* accepts full size motherboards
* size fits in any home theater cabinet
* 2 front USB 3.0 connections, as well as headphone and microphone
Cons: * hard drive mounted under the optical drive cage gets little airflow
* would like to have mounting for 4 hard drives instead of three (for raid 10)
* the optical drive mount is shared with a hdd mount, so you can only install two 3.5" hard drives when using an optical drive
Reviewed By:Edward O.,1/19/2017 10:28:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.