Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel Fortress Series SST-FT03B-MINI Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Silverstone FT03B mini
Pros: -Excellent quality
-Solid panels easily remove for access making cleaning a breeze
-Unique footprint makes for nice conversation piece
-Convection cooling assists for quieter running
-Filters all of the air so it is good for dusty areas and carpeted rooms
Cons: -Need to have considerable skill to manage cables well, but once done almost invisible
-Needs a laptop style auto-loading DVD and cabling adapters as well as specialized P/S
-If using air cooling on CPU, must have fan blowing up into P/S; makes for very good air flow though
Other Thoughts: I will buy this again and again for HTPC app. The Silverstone 450W P/S is enough to run all you need for that and it has room for one SSD and two 3.5Hd's making for an awesome HTPC (and a pretty good gaming platform as well). I am running an 8750 A10 APU with an R7 250 card in dual graphics mode and play Skyrim in 1080p with no problems.
Reviewed By:David M.,1/10/2017 12:37:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Product
Pros: Lots of space for drives and room inside.
Cons: See below.
Other Thoughts: I'm a little disappointed - after paying for 3 day shipping, the order took some extra time due to the holidays - on top of that the case came in damaged - looks like it was thrown around/dropped. The thumb screw was pushed in and the drop down for the front door doesn't sit correct unless force fully closed. I even tried to call Newegg and their response was "Well, you can return it and re-purchase it otherwise we can't do anything for you."

Other than that, I absolutely love the case.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,1/3/2017 10:55:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel Grandia Series SST-GD07B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Powerbutton was broken first time trying to turn system on!!!!!!!!! Poor quality materials, parts hot-glued into position.
Pros: NONE
Cons: The Powerbutton was broken first time trying to turn system on!!!!!!!!! I haven't been able to use the computer I put in the case. The case is made of poor quality materials. The metal of the drive platform kinked as I tightened the screws. The connectors and parts for the front panel, power switch, USB ports, headphone jacks, are HOT-GLUEd in place. The interior of the reset button was broken and fell right out of the case. It looks like the clips for the power button and reset button are not right for the switches that are used, thus the hot glue? The hot glue doesn't hold the switch in places so they push all the way in if you try and push the buttons. The Drive platform is very difficult to place into the case with an optical drive and just three HDs in it, and I need to eventually add more. The screws used to put this case together are substandard.

I don't think I will ever buy another Silverstone product again. I need this refunded so I can get a proper case to put my computer in.
Other Thoughts: I have built dozens of computers with various cases from InWin, Antec, and others, and this is by far the worst case I have ever seen. I need a refund and prepaid return shipping label as this was a defective product and I am not paying again to ship it back.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/20/2016 6:36:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Had since 2012
Pros: -meh. Its a good price and gets the job done sorta.
Cons: -Lacks space for proper sized video card! I had to dremmel a hole in the top to fit the video card side power cables.
-power button feels so cheap.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had bought one that can fit a proper video card. Aw well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/16/2016 7:09:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel Grandia Series SST-GD07B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product with limitations
Pros: The manual was great in describing the best order of installation, and provided detailed specifications on limitations of installed component sizes. (The limitations are in the back of the manual, read that before purchasing this case).
Cons: Installing four hard drives in the middle 'cavity' was easy. Installing the SSD and another hard drive in the recommended locations was not. Perhaps with different SATA cables it might work. Instead I added adapters that expanded the size of the extra hard drive to an optical drive size, and expanded (in two steps) the SSD as well. Then I was able to install both in the area normally reserved for optical drives.
Other Thoughts: Kind of surprising that it is designed to hold four optical drives, although I turned that to my advantage (see cons). Locking front panel blocks use of optical drive, not much use for me. As with other HTPC cases (this is my third), compromises are made to keep the size of the case small.
Reviewed By:BRUCE M.,12/6/2016 7:24:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 Black Aluminum/Steel ATX HTPC/Media Center Computer Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great looking HTPC case!
Pros: Front face is 1/4" aluminum plate, looks great.
Dimensions are almost the same as my Yamaha receiver.
Fits a full ATX board inside.
Cons: Its a tight fit inside. Clearance issues with aftermarket fans, video cards.
Drive mounting system is kind of lame but I don't use them.
Other Thoughts: I managed to fit an nvidia 1080 card inside. Had to bend the back just to squeeze it in there and also had to modify the power cords to get them to clear the top of the case but I made it work. The drive mounts definitely would not work in my case, m.2 ssd was the only way to go for me. Also had to modify a noctua 120mm fan to clear my motherboard's CPU power connector. I could probably mount a slimline drive and clear the ATX motherboard but I don't need one, use plex from a NAS for media.

Just FYI, 290mm long video card is the absolute maximum, there is a couple of mm of clearance. Also my power supply is about 170mm long and it clears the front left fan. Lastly, noctua nh-d9l cpu cooler is the way to go in this case.
Reviewed By:dimitrios t.,12/3/2016 7:16:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Smallest case you can fit full size ATX parts in
Pros: Big enough that I can pass down almost any parts from my full size PCs
Looks good, its not glamorous, but doesn't have that "Oh a hodgepodge pc" look to it
Well built, not a throwaway product for an odd purpose, feels like a good PC case
Cons: Just slightly too small for a lot of cooling solutions, it gets really hot inside mine, had to come up with some weird fan configurations to keep temps under control
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty big case for an HTPC, and that's what a like about it. After years of upgrades I had enough parts laying around I was able to build another PC, but they're all ATX parts and HTPCs are supposed to be small. I have a 660ti in mine with a Noctua low profile CPU cooler, a HDD and a blu-ray drive. If you take the hood off, the inside is almost solid cables and parts, no wasted space. My top vent fan is sitting on my CPU cooler which is sitting on my RAM chips. Its tight, but I got everything in there, and now I have a gaming worthy HTPC. It sits in a cubby in my entertainment center, I had to cut the back out of it and order a USB powered vent fan otherwise everything got too hot.

That's what this is for, big parts that need to fit into a small space. Measure your parts to be sure, but you're best chance of them fitting is here. I love this thing.
Reviewed By:Daniel S.,11/29/2016 9:59:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC case
Pros: Three drive attachment locations.
Lots of room.
Good air flow.
Cons: The instructions were not the best for drive installation options. It took me awhile to figure out where I could put my 2.5" hard drive. It was on edge against the front of the case with the included L bracket.
Reviewed By:Henry S.,11/21/2016 9:06:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 1800B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, inexpensive HTPC option
Pros: - Looks like an actual home theater component
- Plenty of space for cable management when not using an internal PSU
- Athlon 5350 stock cooling fan fits without modification
Cons: - Static HOME THEATER PC display is useless, but can be disabled (without physically disconnecting it) using ASRock's "Good Night LED" BIOS setting
- Optical drive creates a lot of noise/vibration when spinning up
- A bit lightweight even when "fully loaded"
Other Thoughts: Components:

- ASRock AM1H-ITX motherboard
- AMD Athlon 5350 CPU
- PNY 8GB DDR3-1600 (1x8GB)
- LG GCC-H20L Blu-Ray/HD-DVD optical drive
- SanDisk 128GB SSD (boot drive)
- HGST 500GB 5400 rpm HD (media drive)
- External 2TB USB 3.0 HD (backup drive)
- HP USB IR receiver
- Logitech K400 wireless keyboard with USB receiver
- Generic 19V laptop power brick
- Windows 7 Professional x64 (hanging on to Windows Media Center for as long as I can)

I also hoped to use a leftover Diamond 750 x1 tuner card, and even went so far as to mount it internally in the empty space where the PSU would go and fashion a backplate for it out of a coax wall plate, but I have not yet been able to get it to work with any of the x1 extension cables or risers I have tried. I also added a 40mm fan next to the DC jack on the motherboard since there are some complaints about how hot it gets, but I haven't felt it generate any significant amount of heat yet.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/19/2016 6:36:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 5 months later. READ BELOW BEFORE YOU BUY!
Pros: Nice Compact design. I was able to put in 2 full length video card in it. That is about the extent of the Pros.
Cons: When I received it one of the fans did not work. Blew it off. I had an Extra. About 3 weeks ago the the reset button got stuck. Disconnected. I don't really use it anyway. Today the Power button got stuck. I had to open it and press on the back of the circuit board. it popped back out. The Display the reads Home Theater PC Nice touch but it is only there for looks. The air flow is lacking even with all fans running.
Other Thoughts: I don't have the fan that was bad or the box anymore or I would return it for credit. As it is I'm not even sure I can return it for the warranty at this point. Although it is under warranty.
Reviewed By:Jeremiah G.,11/12/2016 9:07:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.