Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1225 v5 SkyLake 3.3 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31225V5 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast with low power consumption
Pros: Intel CPUs have fast memory controllers
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Good value
Reviewed By:Peter F.,2/19/2017 4:55:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2660 Sandy Bridge-EP 2.2GHz (3GHz Turbo Boost) 20MB L3 Cache LGA 2011 95W BX80621E52660 Server Processor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Word of warning
Pros: Vendor I purchased this processor from was excellent.
Cons: Intel has created significant confusion due to their poor decision to release multiple versions of the LGA2011 socket.
Other Thoughts: Intel should never have released multiple, incompatible, versions of the LGA2011 socket and really should have named the sockets on the newer Xeon processors something different, such as LGA2012 or LGA2014. This processor, while fine on motherboards that support the LGA2011 socket, will not work on newer motherboard that use the LGA2011 version 3 socket.

Be extremely careful when purchasing a Sandy Bridge processor that your motherboard will, in fact, support it. Especially vexing is the fact that the socket revision is not always clearly indicated on adverts for the motherboard or processor.
Reviewed By:Paul S.,2/16/2017 2:24:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3 Haswell-EP 3.5GHz 6 x 256 KB L2 Cache 15MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 140W Server Processor BX80644E51650V3 - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super CPU for true Workstation
Pros: FAST! Runs cool w/ Supermicro SNK-P0050AP4 Heatsink. 6 cores handles multiple instances of Photoshop CS6, with all 12 cores running. Loads and runs 4 channel (L,R, G, B) astro images in about 8 seconds.
Cons: I cannot think of a single Con.
Other Thoughts: System: Intel Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3 Haswell-EP 3.5GHz 6 x 256 KB L2 Cache 15MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3
ASUS X99-E WS/USB 3.1 CEB Server Motherboard Intel X99
Supermicro SNK-P0050AP4 Heatsink for 2011
Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2666
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 256GB SATA III 3-D Vertical SSD MZ-7KE256BW
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 512GB SATA III 3-D Vertical SSD MZ-7KE512BW
EVGA-Nvidia GTX-750Ti G-Sync 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 ACX Cool
Sound Blaster Z 5.1 PCI-E
Antec HCP-750 Platinum 750W ATX12V Modular Power Supply
Antec Performance One P280 XL-ATX Case w/o PS
Antec 761345-75121-6 120mm 3-Speed Case Cooling Fan (3)
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Reviewed By:Michael T.,2/13/2017 6:06:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2697V4 2.3 GHz 45 MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 145W BX80660E52697V4 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really Fast
Pros: I own two of this and my render times is much faster than my quad opteron 6386
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: It´s very expensive
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/10/2017 10:03:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > AMD > AMD Opteron 6344 Abu Dhabi 2.6 GHz 6 x 2MB L2 Cache 2 x 8MB L3 Cache Socket G34 115W OS6344WKTCGHKWOF Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A very powerful processor that operates well over 2.6 GHZ!
Pros: I am running two of these on a Asus mb with 128 GB of Ram and a W9100 as a workstation for design work. The machine will crank out anything you throw at it and these processors will run night and day while keeping temperatures extremely low! My processors will frequently hits speeds up to 3.4 ghz with no overclocking.
Cons: Motherboard features are limited for this processor range, it is incredibly viable but the available motherboards are predominately geared towards server only use so if you are using it as a workstation as I am you may find yourself wanting for a few updated features you would be missing out on.
Other Thoughts: These cpu's are glorious and definitely worth your consideration!
Reviewed By:John T.,2/1/2017 10:30:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4 GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: -Tons of power for the price
-Runs programs and games with ease
Cons: -Not overclockable, but not a con if you don't want to overclock
Other Thoughts: I used this in my workstation/gaming tower and have been very impressed. I've thrown tons of applications and games at it without it skipping a beat.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/26/2017 9:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4 GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great CPU with low TDP but great feature
Pros: - 4 Cores, 8 Threads.
- ECC support.
- Decent stock cooler.
Cons: - Non-overclock-able.
Other Thoughts: Used this CPU mainly for gaming, streaming, and editing along with my GTX 1060.
Had 0 problem with it, and it highly likely won't have any in the future from what I'm seeing.
Reviewed By:Young K.,1/23/2017 1:57:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2640 Sandy Bridge-EP 2.5GHz (3GHz Turbo Boost) 15MB L3 Cache LGA 2011 95W CM8062100856401 Server Processor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Experience
Pros: One of the two processors I ordered is fully functional.
Cons: The second processor was defective but this was not isolated right away. Intel felt the issue with the server during the build was the system build (Also an Intel product), a new board was received and it appeared to solve the problem. Well, the problem returned after deploying the server, random reboots at first. The trouble got worse and it reach the point to where the OS (Windows Server 2012 R2) would simply freeze after booting.

I isolated it to the processor by trying a single processor one at a time. Good news - server has been solid since removing the defective processor. Bad news - Intel will not support this processor as it wasn't "boxed", further bad news - seller did not return request for assistance.
Other Thoughts: It absolutely do not recommend you purchase this product or anything similar unless you are reasonable certain that you will only have trouble within the first 30 days. Overall terrible experience! I would say I have a $1000.00 paper weight but it wouldn't even be useful for that.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/20/2017 7:29:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4 2.2 GHz 25MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 85W BX80660E52630V4 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great server CPU for virtual machines
Pros: Lots of cores, fast, and cool.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I put one of these on a SuperMicro dual-socket LGA2011-3 board for an overkill ESXi-based game server. Despite having half the clock rate, it is noticeably faster at every task than the FX-8350-based system it replaced, even with single-core virtual machines. With a Cooler Master Hyper 212 on it, it is extremely cool, and never runs more than a couple degrees above room temperature.

This CPU seems to be at a price inflection point. Weaker CPUs won't save you much cash, and better CPUs get insanely expensive very quickly. This one was pricey but performance-per-dollar is excellent. One day I will get a second to populate the other socket on my server's motherboard.
Reviewed By:TJ M.,1/10/2017 7:54:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4 GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best price to performance ratio Haswell CPU
Pros: Fast, runs cool, decent stock cooler
Cons: None really, knowing what Xeons are geared towards. That being said it's too bad the multiplier is locked, I'm sure this chip would be a good overclocker if Intel would allow it.
Other Thoughts: A friend of mine sold me a GTX 980 Ti for cheap but my i5 4440 couldn't keep up with it in CPU-bound games like GTA V. The E3 1231v3 has no such problems and of course I get the benefits of faster clock speeds and hyper-threading for all applications, not just gaming.

I have a spare Cooler Master TX3 CPU cooler that I could have used with this processor but decided to try the stock cooler first. It's actually pretty good and I see no need to change it, which is a first for me with Intel coolers.

Build:

Fractal Design Core 3500 mid-tower case
Rosewill Green Series 630 watts 80 Plus Bronze PSU
Gigabyte B85 motherboard
Intel Xeon E3 1231v3 CPU
2 x 4 GB G.Skill Ares 1600 MHz CL9 RAM
EVGA ACX 2.0 GeForce GTX 980 Ti GPU
Silicon Power 240 GB SSD
Toshiba 3 TB SATA III HDD
Seagate 500 GB SATA II HDD
Reviewed By:Patick L.,1/3/2017 6:15:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.