Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Sangean > Sangean Digital AM/FM Wooden Cabinet Table-Top Radio WR-2 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Work Desk Radio
Pros: Well made, easy to use, good sounding. The black is glossy, like a piano which fits in with my monitors and keyboard on work desk. I mainly use the headphone jack, but when I can, the sound is great for listening to the radio. I also connected the aux in to my computer for online streaming. FM reception with the included external antenna is needed for clear reception of all the stations I listen to.

The display is plenty large, and I like the backlight dimming.
Cons: AM reception is essentially nonexistent, at least when I have the external antenna connected. A scan of the AM spectrum got no audible stations, which is disappointing, though I would rarely use AM. Music sounds okay but is not hifi.
Other Thoughts: For my ears, I have reduced the bass by -1 and boosted the treble by +1 -- just a small tweak to make it closer to neutral sounding, in my opinion. Not much deep bass, obviously, but this unit sounds much better than most because of the rigid wooden cabinet.

The remote is fine, but unnecessary in my case.
Reviewed By:Neil B.,2/8/2017 7:15:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Panasonic > Panasonic AM/FM Pocket Radio RF-P50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Panasonic AM/FM Pocket Radio RF-P50
Pros: Perfect to listen to while walking dogs--no ear buds
Cons: no defects
Other Thoughts: would recommend
Reviewed By:Michael M.,1/9/2017 4:43:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Naxa > NAXA NRC-173 Projection Dual Alarm Clock

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good concept..Horrible design
Pros: Basic clock red led is fine but projection is horrible!
Cons: Has to be the weakest projection clock ever..you can barely see it !
Other Thoughts: definately try a different brand..this is junk.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/26/2016 9:23:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Sangean > Sangean HD Table Top Radio Walnut HDR-18

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Superb High Definition Reception, Good Sound, Faulty Clock
Pros: The reception of high definition stations is simply superb. Our aging Polk iSonic's reception had gotten terrible -- stations dropping out and back on again, static, just plain bad news -- even with a powers Turk external antenna. The reception of primary and secondary high definition stations by the Sangean HDR-18, however, has been flawless - using its own simple antenna. Once it locks onto a station, it keeps that station on.

And the sound quality if pretty darned good, especially for a unit of such small size. The unit is very tastefully designed. And the manual is clearly written to help you set the clock, alarms, station presets, bass and treble levels, display brightness, etc.

The remote control is excellent, albeit pretty large. It's got buttons assigned to each of the ten preset stations (just click a button to switch from the ten FM presets to the ten AM presets). The labels are close to readable by members of the bifocal generation thanks to the contrast between the white type and black plastic. But as noted in the "cons" section, these labels also should be a bit larger and bold face used to make them much more readable.
Cons: Unfortunately the clock runs fast -- like an hour fast overnight. I spoke with Sangean customer support and they said that this initial batch of HDr-18s was defective. They offered to send me a return label and replace the radio with a unit from the second batch manufactured --after they test it to make sure it works just fine. And within 8 hours I had my return label and shipped it back to them. So if you do purchase one from the first batch manufactured and the clock runs fast, contact Sangean for a replacement rather than just returning it to newegg.com (or other vendora) because they are very likely to send you a replacement still from the first batch. Sangean can be reached weekdays during normal business hours at 562- 941-9900 or toll free at 888-726-4326 (they're in Santa Fe Springs, California)..

When the power button is off, a very irritating and very bright blue light turns on around the button. Sangean is aware that this irritates people at night and expects to remedy the problem in a future production version. Meanwhile, customer support reports that people are covering the circular light with opaque electrical tape. It ain't pretty, but it keeps your bedroom dark overnight.

The labels for each of the buttons are close to impossible to read if you're over 40. I suspect the type is about 5 or 6 points tall. They need to use a larger font in bold face to make the labels readable. Fortunately, once you've set up everything, it's unlikely you'll need to use the buttons very often.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent HD radio -- and one of the few available. But better quality high definition sound makes it worth it, as well as the ability to listen to the secondary HD stations (usually commercial free). Hopefully the replacement radio will work flawlessly and Sangean will implement the redesign suggestions that buyers have been making to remedy the excessively bright light around the power button and make the labels much more legible.
Reviewed By:Daniel L.,12/18/2016 3:49:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > JENSEN > JENSEN AM/FM Clock Radio with Dual Alarm, Auto Time Set/Restore, Battery Backup and Aux Input JCR-230

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: The dimmer works to decrease the display brightness at night.
Cons: Horrible controls. It is impossible to set the correct time without referring to the instructions.
Backup battery does not work. Had several power outages, and always have to set the time.
Other Thoughts: Cannot set the time, and it will not keep the time through power outages.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/6/2016 1:05:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Sangean > Sangean FM / AM Compact Analogue Tuning Portable Receiver (Blue) PR-D6BU

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very fine sound, for its size.
Pros: Voice and music rendering is very easy on the ears, especially FM band. Reception is excellent for this priced radio. Signal to noise ratio is remarkable good in both bands. Can play fairly loud with clarity for its speaker size, but this is not meant to be your mini boom box--OK, then blow the speaker.
Cons: Just trivial, but ok, since here is where people spill it. Wish the band selector slide switch wasn't so small and positioned under and behind the tuning knob. Would like a carrying handle that is more substantial than a length of flat woven polyethylene.
Other Thoughts: Very recommended at this price. Just got it. Don't know if it's easy on battery life yet.
By having an analog tuner rather than a digital tuner you can fine tune in distant, weak AM stations that a digital tuner will not allow you do. Very useful at night when atmosphere condition are favorable.
Reviewed By:James N.,11/26/2016 3:29:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Emerson Radio Corp. > EMERSON Portable NOAA Weather Radio RP6251

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Item
Pros: Works great, good value for the money.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/14/2016 10:55:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Sangean > Sangean Compact-Size Utility Worksite Radio LB-100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Catsyou
Pros: Great!
Cons: Too much base on sound. Wish we knew how to adjust it.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend, young people probably like a lot of base.
Reviewed By:RALPH B.,9/20/2016 6:41:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > Midland Radio > Midland Er310 Emergency Crank Radio W/ Am/Fm/Weather Alert

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Emergency Radio
Pros: It is compact and lightweight; yet it is very well built.
Cons: Have not found any cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: Have used it a few times to alert us of dangerous weather approaching, and it gave us alarm in time so that the person at home was able to call us so that we could make the hour drive home in the mountains. The storm came just after we reached the safety of the house.
Reviewed By:Floyd T.,7/26/2016 9:25:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Radios > SUPERSONIC > Supersonic SC-1082 9 Band AM-FM-SW1-7 Portable Radio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is the one! Excellent Radio!
Pros: Accurate noise free tuning. Loud, clear speaker even without the antenna extended! I use a small radio while I'm working in my yard, pulling weeds, planting things. The Radio is the very best I've ever owned!! You can also plug in a jump drive or, SD card and, play all of your music. The folks who designed this little machine did everything exactly right! Are you looking for a radio for similar use? Look no further. This is the one!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Buy it!
Reviewed By:Michael H.,7/1/2016 9:25:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.