Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 3 Devices

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fills an important role in my backup scheme
Pros: - works reliably for me on 4 PC's
- inexpensive when purchased in 3-device or 5-device packs
- makes and restores image backups automatically, which is a critical element in a good backup scheme
Cons: - huge installation: around 700mb installed - includes lots of features I don't use
- can be confusing to a novice, with distractions regarding cloud backup subscriptions, phone backups, individual file backups, etc. The core strength of this software is PC imaging.
Other Thoughts: True Image runs automatically on my 4 PC's each day, making a small incremental backup. It does so in the background, then verifies the files and notifies me of success or failure. I have been using it for more than a year, and have only seen rare failures, and those issues were quickly fixed. Bottom line, for a well-rounded backup scheme, you need image backups as well as local and cloud backups of your data. Yes, Windows 10 can be "reset" easily, but it is not a painless process, because applications must be reinstalled and most settings tweaked. Also, you must have some sort of versioning of your data, and although some cloud backups provide this, True Image makes it easy to have local copies of file versions. Want to pull out last week's Excel file because this week's version is corrupted? Just click on last week's TI image and drill down to the document. Takes 30 seconds.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2017 5:21:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Another great program becomes bloatware
Pros: It works well
Cons: LIke so many great products this once super fast low CPU product has become a memory-CPU hog with loads of features and a slick interface that makes your PC run like a x386, bloatware, version 10 was the last grood version but it won't work on Win 7 or later, hey Acronis how about offerring a stripped down version that will work with current Windows?
Other Thoughts: There are other backup programs out there but Aomei Backup is free and works just as well IMHO.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/18/2017 12:26:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Acronis backup, very poor product
Pros: Used Acronis 2011 for a year or so and did OK backups.
Cons: Tried to upgrade and it would not work Tried to uninstall and it would not uninstall. Tried to put old version back and that wouldn't work either. Acronis not working at all any more. Registry is full of Acronis settings that can't be removed. I spent over an hour removing Acronis settings from registry and my system crashed. Had to do a safe start and system restore to get it working again. Tried calling tech support but they said my version was no longer supported and would not talk to me about it.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend.
Reviewed By:Christopher H.,7/17/2017 10:31:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2016

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot boot from original bootdisk nor one made from program
Pros: Got it cheap
Cons: Was worth less than I paid apparently
Other Thoughts: The worst problem is that on a Windows 10 64-bit system that boots fine with other discs, this disc will not boot into recovery mode. Apparently it is a known issue and there does not seem to be a resolution last I checked at least with this 2016 version of True Image. The user interface while better than some of the previous versions could be a bit more user-friendly.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/3/2017 5:17:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 5 Devices + 250GB Cloud Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The world's best backup software, period. Cheap at this price.
Pros: Can clone a hard drive directly to another hard drive of, different sizes. I use it to easily clone a old mechanical hard drive, bit for bit, to a new Solid State Drive. The new drive can be larger or smaller. Backup to two locations at once. Rescue media builder, create a complete USB or DVD restore tool that will allow you to restore selected individual files or the entire drive. Move a computer from one hardware platform to another with Universal Restore, just have the new drivers ready, and install to your new computer. Try and Decide allows you to instal software and completely completely undue the instal if there is a problem, better than relying on restore points. Completely backup your Android or IOS phone and update daily if you wish. Backup to the Cloud, not just Acronis cloud, but any cloud destination you wish. Easy to use. Licenses for up to 5 devices, for this price, is ridiculously low, including 250 GB of Cloud storage. It does much more.
Cons: My only complaint, is as an IT professional, I like some of the older versions which gave the pro more control. It's now easier to use and does most anything you need to do anyway.
Other Thoughts: Iin 18 years, I've never had an Acronis image restore fail. Just last week I had a Hard Drive failure, I restored it and was up and running in 15 minutes. Inever considered that it would not.
Reviewed By:James H.,6/11/2017 6:11:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great back up software.
Pros: Installed easy the first time in Windows 10. Setting up backup schedule took little time. Backups occur on schedule every time.
Cons: Setting up the backup schedule may not be super intuitive. I've used Acronis 2014 and 2015 before this version, so it was easy for me, since all versions are similar.
Other Thoughts: I'd buy again for another PC with zero concerns.
Reviewed By:Steven F.,6/4/2017 11:39:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Runs on Windows. Really????
Pros: Cheap after rebate.
Cons: Tried to install it on my home computer today and it said that my OS is not supported. I am running Windows Server 2008 R2 and this super-duper software can run only on desktops. Really frustrating... Really frustrating that I cannot give a 0 rating.
Other Thoughts: Useless...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/29/2017 3:37:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Acronis 2017
Pros: As a dealer having sold hundreds of copies of Acronis True Image over the past 10 years and being very pleased with it, we have finally stopped installing it and distributing it with our systems. Not because of being bad, it isn't. It does what it says it will do. We had to stop because of the constant nagging advertising pop-ups and REQUIREMENT to register it before you can finish the installation. One should have pay for a program and have to have advertisements nagging them nor be REQUIRED to register and I mean REQUIRED.
Cons: 2016 version had issues, constantly making backups non stop one after another. 2017 seems to have solved that issue.
Other Thoughts: No, now we use Macrium Reflect instead of Acronis.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/29/2017 2:21:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 3 Devices

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk. DO NOT BUY THIS GEFICHTE SOFTWARE
Pros: None whatsoever
Cons: First of all, they suckered me in with an offer of unlimited on-line storage forever, which I have not taken advantage of. I do video editing, so I have a number of large files, and needed the storage. Now it seems that my unlimited storage will end when my two-year contract ends. Bait and switch is what you call that particular scam.

Acronis 2017 is difficult to use - way too many alternatives which are not explained at all
No wizard to lead you through a back up with options

Encryption is dangerous - don't encrypt if you buy this junk software! When I encrypted my last backup using 2017, I couldn't open it. I had the right password, because after I entered it the first time, I copied and pasted it into a document file. No typing mistakes possible. The PW wouldn't work for about 50 tries - then it opened to tell me that my backup was incomplete or corrupt, and gave me an error code to submit to the knowledge base, which then told me they did not have any information on that error code. Another time I opened it, it is said it could not find "v. 31". there is no "v. 31". All the files in the incremental backup folder have "v.1" at the end. There isn't anything in the KB which can assist in resolving this problem, and tech support ignores you. I have yet to get any kind of answer to tech support about anything. It's like they're not there or don't care or both.

I wish I could give them zero eggs.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey S.,5/16/2017 4:54:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup & Utilities > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2017 - 1 Device

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very Annoying
Pros: The basics work but you should never pay full price.
Cons: Interface created by dummies for dummies and it still sucks. When you cancel a job it haunts you every 30 seconds, it just will not go away. You have to jump through hoops and reboot every time to clear the scheduler in order to cancel the job. Ahhhhh! Pre commands fail. Just google on the pre commands and you will get what I am talking about.
Other Thoughts: Most times to restore a backup it requires you to boot from the bootable cd. Good luck trying from the programs interface. I really need to find another product. Too many times I have been embarrassed in front of clients when I encounter these problems. AND BEST OF ALL, when you click on the on-line solution it comes back with " there is no solution to your problem". Again, AHHHHHH!
Reviewed By:Keith M.,5/16/2017 11:24:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.