Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG T3 Portable 250GB USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My Favorite Portable Drive
Pros: Very, very small and slim; sleek; discrete,
I just love it.
Cons: Theres not much cons to this product but after awhile of usage it can get very hot.
Other Thoughts: I have had this for about 3 months now and I'm still very happy with this purchase.
Reviewed By:MERCIA-DANOE B.,6/13/2017 8:50:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > Plextor > Plextor EX1 256GB USB 3.1 Type C Portable SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plextor EX1 256GB USB 3.1 Type C Portable SSD
Pros: Nice and lightweight. Blue activity LED on end. Carry bag is a bit stiff.
Cons: None so far, will update if any problems crop up.
Other Thoughts: Shipping with Firmware 1.01 so you need to Flash to newest 1.02. Very easy to do. Just go to, Tabs "Others", "Portable SSD", "EX1" : http://www.goplextor.com/Support/Downloads
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/7/2017 8:33:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Extremely fast
Very small
Light
Seems to be well built
Strong AES 256 encryption
Cons: Short USB cable
Sticker shock
Other Thoughts: In order to use the drive, you have to run the setup utility included on a small startup partition. You can name the drive and set a password for encryption or choose to not encrypt the drive.

The included USB cable is short, but seems to be pretty tough.

The drive itself is about the size of a credit card, but 5 or 6 cards deep.

It's almost as fast as my internal SSD and with the capacity seems great for backups or video use. The limiting factor on it's speed seems to be the USB 3.0 interface, but if you need a USB drive, this is one to have!

I had some solid performance over USB 2.0 as well, however if you don't have USB 3.0, this drive would be a waste of money in my opinion.

Enabling encryption can really hurt performance depending on usage, so if speed is a top concern leave the encryption off.

The drive also gets warm to the touch. I hope this won't affect longevity.
Reviewed By:Shane A.,5/26/2017 8:37:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > ADATA > ADATA SD700 256GB USB 3.1 Gen 1 External Solid State Drive (ASD700-256GU3-CBK)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Drive at a Good PRice
Pros: Very portable - silent - fast USB 3 connection -
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Very nice drive - I use mine for location AUDIO/VIDEO work along with my laptop - excellent performance and very reliable.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/27/2017 3:50:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG T3 Portable 2TB USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB-C connection issue
Pros: Loved the T3 1TB device I have and purchased the T3 2TB to support VM work. Speed is on par with 1TB device
Cons: I will be requesting an RMA due to a connection issue. Pins or other inhibitor inside the T3 USB-C connector is causing a loose and sometimes incomplete connection - causing the device to go offline and unpowered...Light goes from Blue to red as well (before going out). This is occurring on my T3 2TB device. I also have a T3 1TB which has a more firm connection and have never experienced this issue. I've had the 2TB for a couple of months and the connection issue is a recent problem...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2017 4:20:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG T3 Portable 1TB USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Fast, lightweight small. Works on USB 2 or USB 3
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Paul S.,4/4/2017 12:29:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG T3 Portable 500GB USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome portable drive
Pros: very fast and portable. I have been waiting for prices to drop and it's worth it.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Michael L.,2/24/2017 11:04:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > ADATA > ADATA SV620 240GB USB 3.0 External SSD (ASV620-240GU3-CTI)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not reliable
Pros: was OK while it worked
Cons: Crapped out in just 2 months. No warning. Just wasn't there one morning.
Other Thoughts: If you need to keep the data you put on this drive you better have a good back up.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Value Customer,

We are sorry to learn your experience with our product.
Your satisfaction is very important to us.
To help serve you better, please contact one of our customer support representatives at
Service_usa@adata.com
Toll-Free number: 1-888-962-3282

Our team member will assist you replacing the faulty unit.

Thank you

ADATA Web Service

Reviewed By:ROBERT S.,2/12/2017 6:02:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > Plextor > Plextor EX1 512GB USB 3.1 Type C Portable SSD

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Does not perform as listed, too hot!
Pros: +small size
+good quality cable and bag
+nice LED on top
Cons: -gets SUPER hot, hot enough to cause a burn to the skin on touch.
-was only able to reach 122MB/s max read rate , nowhere near the listed 550MB/s using a 3.1 port directly off mobo.
-cost $200, for this price you can get a 500 GB Samsung 850 pro, which will perform much better.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure if my drive is defective, but overall performance of the drive was extremely poor. The drive got hot enough to burn my hand when I touch it, and cooked the mouse pad section it was sitting on. The speed was quite poor as well, with only 122MB max read rate, and minimum rates as low as 300KB.
Manufacturer Response:Valued NewEgg Customer,

Thank you for choosing Plextor's PX-512EX1 SSD unit . We are sorry hear about your heat & performance issue. We take pride in ensuring our products' performance and reliability. Let us make it right for you.
Please contact PLEXTOR CARE.

Call us: 1-800-886-3935 (Monday to Friday, 9AM to 6PM Pacific Standard Time)
Email us: Support@PlextorAmericas.com
Chat with us: http://www.goplextor.com/online_chat.html

Thank you for being a loyal Plextor customer. We value your business and look forward to servicing you.

PLEXTOR CARE
Quality Service Matters.

Reviewed By:Michael Salvati,2/9/2017 8:48:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Oddly became permanently read-only after not using it for a while
Pros: - small and lightweight
Cons: - I used it very rarely over a year ago. After a year of not using it, to my surprise, it entered what is called "Currently read-only state": a state that *cannot* be changed by any Windows/DOS commands. The disk is *not* read-only according to the Windows Disk Management, but it cannot be modified nor formatted ("Currently read-only state"). The only way to fix this is to find the particular chipset related flash tool (which I was unable to find, as the chipset maker, which is not Team Group, has an asian language site and I just gave up).

The Team Group web site does not offer any repair or restore tool for this disk.

Color me paranoid, but it feels like the device was made to stop working after x years. I am really not amused that an SSD disk would stop working though it was just hanging out over my desk with, as only threat, dust and wifi waves.
Reviewed By:Michael L.,2/9/2017 12:25:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.