Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netis Systems > Netis WF2216 N150 Wireless Portable Range Extender Wall Plug

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never worked - the WPS detection isn't working & the manual mode just takes me to godaddy site instead of connecting to the router.
Pros: none really - since it doesnt work
Cons: hard to setup. hard to know if its even working because jsut a light comes on and nothing else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/26/2017 11:06:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE4100W-4A N600 Pro Dual-Band WiFi Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works but not perfectly
Pros: Worked with older wireless G router.
Cons: Wouldn't stay connect to my main ASUS wireless dual band 2.5/5Ghz router.
Other Thoughts: Nice range with once it stays connected is why gave i 4 eggs else would have only been 3.
Reviewed By:Elbert M.,2/23/2017 7:56:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Relativement facile
Pros: -Apps disponible pour Smartphone
-Extender fonctionnelle avec et sans fils
Cons: - Il Extend pas sous le même SSID
Reviewed By:Marc-Andre M.,2/21/2017 10:06:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WA855RE N300 Wi-Fi Wall Plug Range Extender / Repeater / Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick, Easy, Cheap Range Extender
Pros: This wireless range extender is small, versatile and inexpensive. I had no trouble getting it up and running on my network. It can be used both as a range extender and an access point when you connect to it with a network cable via the Ethernet port on the bottom of the unit. I tested this unit for a bit over a month so far and it's doing a decent job considering the unit's size and cost. Internal construction looks decent, using an Qualcomm Artheros chipset. I am fairly satisfied with the units Cost Vs Performance.
Cons: The unit boasts higher speeds than you will see in real use, however the unit provided a decent enough connection for it's cost and size. No other real cons that I can spot.
Other Thoughts: I tested this unit for a decent amount of time, connecting it to a modern router of the same brand. It worked well and was able to extend my network on the second floor of my apartment, with the router being in the basement. Doing testing with the unit and my router, I was seeing bandwidth of about 70 mbps with the unit on my first floor and 30 ~ 60 mpbs when the unit was on the second floor. I was able to watch Netflix and YouTube both on my phone and laptop at the same time connected to the unit without any major hiccups or troubles. The unit worked very well as an access point, I have been using it for a desktop machine on my second floor to connect to the router in my basement since I cannot drill holes and run cables in my apartment. While I do not recommend doing this yourself, as it will void your warranty, I did dismantle the unit and take a look at the internal construction and it appeared to be well built.
Reviewed By:Joshua M.,2/20/2017 7:44:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX3700 AC750 Wireless Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 After New Firmware, the device is much better
Pros: Updating to V1.0.0.58_1.0.38 fixed most of the issues I've encountered with this device. I highly recommend taking the firmware update prior to doing anything else with the device.

After stress testing this for a few days I've come up with relatively decent speeds when running in Extender Mode: See other thoughts for speeds. Once again, after the firmware update, the device has been stable. Prior to that, well, see cons.

The device itself is nice and compact with easy to use buttons for turning it off and on, etc. It also looks alright for a wall wart.

I like that you can set it up in Extender Mode or AP Mode if you have an Ethernet connection.

Prior to the firmware update, you needed to know the default password to get into the device and set it up. After the update, it's just one network without a password labeled NETGEAR_EXT. That's a much better solution.

Now that the price is at 30 bucks, and the bugs seem to be fixed, I think this is a pretty good extender for the money.
Cons: I have to take one egg off for a myriad of things (probably would have been 3.5 for me in all honesty). First and foremost, prior to the firmware update, my device wasn’t in any way reliable and barely functioned. At first, it was losing connectivity to the host network all the time, forgetting the wireless credentials and then exhibiting this strange issue where it failed to see the specific network that I had it originally paired to. All these things considered, it was terrible.

I updated the firmware and then performed a factory reset to make it finally behave properly. I shouldn’t have to work that hard to get something as simple as this to work.

Extender mode is really the only useful mode. AP Mode is let down, primarily, by the 10/100 Ethernet port. I saw speeds around 50mbps on the 2.4GHz band and 70mbps on the 5GHz. Knowing what I’ve seen with respect to speeds in extender mode. I assume this would be a lot better with a 10/100/1000 port. Again, cost restraints etc are probably at play here.

Registration is needlessly complicated on NetGear products of late. I have the same complaint with my AC1900 AccessPoint. There’s just no reason for you to need my email address etc etc.

It also really bugs me that the web GUI doesn’t let you hit Enter after typing your username and password, you have to physically click the button.
Other Thoughts: Speeds using OOKLA’s speedtest. Google Fiber is the ISP:

Baseline for the main AP in the house (NETGEAR AC1900):

5GHz:
Down: 330mbps
Up: 408mbps

2.4GHz:
Down: 97mbps
Up: 100mbps

All tests were run three times, and the average was taken

5GHz in AP Mode:
Down: 76.57mbps
Up: 95.37mbps

2.4GHz in AP Mode:
Down: 50.7mbps
Up: 65.34mbps

5GHz in Extender Mode:
Down: 143.5mbps
Up: 120.16mbps

2.4GHz in Extender Mode:
Down: 28.5mbps
Up: 38.96mbps
Reviewed By:Justin E.,2/19/2017 6:19:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK RE210 AC750 Universal Wi-Fi Wall Plug Gigabit Range Extender with External Antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK RE210 AC750 Universal Wi-Fi Wall Plug Gigabit Range Extender with External Antennas
Pros: - Small
- External Antennas
- Super EZ Setup
Cons: None that I have found
Other Thoughts: Had it up and running in 2-3 minutes tops. You have to like that.
Reviewed By:dennis m.,2/16/2017 5:03:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > D-Link > D-Link DAP-1520 Wi-Fi AC750 Dual Band Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Set up Good performance
Pros: Product was easy to setup, took 5 minutes. Seems to make a better connection in more distant part of my home. Good documentation. Have owned several D-Link products over the years & have them all of very good quality.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Recommend this product & would buy again.
Reviewed By:J P.,2/15/2017 10:27:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WA855RE N300 Wi-Fi Wall Plug Range Extender / Repeater / Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK TL-WA855RE N300 Wi-Fi Wall Plug Range Extender / Repeater / Access Point
Pros: - EZ setup
- 2 x External Antennas
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I was skeptical of wifi extenders and this one was so cheap I decided to test it. Installation was so simple at home but I decided I wanted a dual band so I bought another and took this one to my work (cabinet shop) where we have a dead zone in the back of the shop where half the guys work. I had to work a little harder this time on the install but again, if you can read directions, you shouldn't have any problems. I think all they guys I work with would give this device 5 eggs and a thumbs up!
Reviewed By:dennis m.,2/14/2017 2:16:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX7000 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointing performance, fantastic setup
Pros: Setup is a breeze. From a knowledge standpoint, I'm average, if not slightly above average, when it comes to setting up wireless networks in terms of knowledge and experience. The setup for this unit was so simple, I could have had my computer illiterate grandfather successfully set it up.
Cons: Performance was abysmal. The computer farthest from the wireless router (AC68U) is two floors away and averages 800-900 Mbps (AC1900 network). I purchased this extender to see if I can get a little over a gigabit per second as I plan on upgrading to a gigabit line. Using Netgear's handy app, I located the best spot for the extender and set it up. In testing, I could never get better than 250 Mbps. I tried changing settings, using Fastlane, moving the extender to a different spot but nothing could improve the speed.
Other Thoughts: Aesthetically pleasing though a bit large.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/14/2017 1:58:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC68U Dual-Band AC1900 Wireless Repeater / Access Point / Range Extender / Media Bridge with USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ouch!!!
Pros: This bad boy was fast. So fast when paired with my ASUS AC5300 that I added a 2nd one to my bedroom! Was extremely happy!
Cons: It failed. Dead, no matter what I tried. Ive been in this industry for 15 years so I know my place. Its dead. Oh but wait! 2 days later.......the bedroom one died. Dead as the living room unit.
Other Thoughts: This is the first ASUS product that has failed so terribly and miserably. I can require the GUI and mannaged to reset unit. Entered my parameters, and all looed good. NOPE. Wont broadcast. Nothing. Dead.
Manufacturer Response:Hey David C,

Thank you for your ASUS product review. I am extremely sorry to hear about the issues that you encountered with not one but two of your devices. You stated that you were able to reset the device but that did not resolve the issue. Have you also tried to update the firmware? If not you can do so from our online help desk by using the following link:
(https://www.asus.com/Networking/RP-AC68U/HelpDesk_Download/)

If you have tried this before or if you try it and it does not work you can reach out to me at customerloyalty@asus.com and use the link to this review as a reference in the email. I do look forward to hearing from you and working with you towards the best solution possible.

Best regards,
Abigail
ASUS Customer Loyalty.

Reviewed By:David C.,2/4/2017 12:37:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.