Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Model TBOLTMM2M 6.6 ft. (2m) Thunderbolt Cable Male to Male

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Cables
Pros: The 2 foot cables that came with my disk arrays were way to short.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: These are just the right length if your arrays are to the side of your system.
Reviewed By:Phillip K.,5/5/2017 8:09:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > Kanex > Kanex Model KTU10 Thunderbolt to eSATA and USB 3.0 Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Waste of money for USB, okay if need another ethernet
Pros: It offers USB 3 and 1Gbps ethernet.
Cons: Expensive. Not Faster than USB 2.0. It is not what is advertised.
Reviewed By:Armand W.,4/30/2017 11:38:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Model TB32DP2 8.7" Thunderbolt 3 to Dual DisplayPort Adapter - 4k 60 Hz - Windows only Compatible

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work well with Alienware 17R3.
Pros: None
Cons: Unstable connection with Dell UP2715K. Sometimes works, Sometime doesn't.
Reviewed By:Tinglin G.,2/28/2017 3:05:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Thunderbolt 3 USB-C to Thunderbolt Adapter - Windows and Mac

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 STOPPED WORKING
Pros: when i works its great
Cons: stop working after a few weeks
Other Thoughts: I purchased this it worked great, then it stopped But I had faith in it so I bought new cables. The cables worked on all computers. I bought a new thunderbolt card which worked on all ports so i know know its this device. Bummer I spent so much money and waisted so much time to find out because I threw away the box in came in so I cant return it. LIFE SUCKS!!!
Reviewed By:charles j.,1/14/2017 6:51:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Thunderbolt 3 USB-C to Thunderbolt Adapter - Windows and Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly on my Dell XPS 9550, unlike the TB15 docking station from DELL that was a disaster
Pros: Small, plug and play, all my TB1 and 2 devices work, including the Caldigit TB1 dock that I was using with my MB Air.
Cons: Nothing. Now if only there was a TB3 dock that also had Tb1/2 connectors....
Occasionally one or another device does not wake up properly. unplugging the adapter and plugging it back in does the trick.
Other Thoughts: Yes, definitely would recommend this if you have existing TB1/2 peripherals that you need to use on TB3.
Reviewed By:PATRICK D.,12/22/2016 7:32:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech.com Thunderbolt to Gigabit Ethernet plus USB 3.0 - Thunderbolt Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Works great as a thunderbolt to USB 3.0 adapter, so backups don't take as long and as a thunderbolt to gigabit ethernet adapter for extra ethernet.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/6/2016 12:05:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Model TB2USB3ES 5.1" Thunderbolt to eSATA plus USB 3.0 Adapter - Thunderbolt Adapter Male to Female

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Works great as a thunderbolt to USB 3.0 adapter for my Macbook, so backups don't take as long.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/6/2016 12:04:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Model TB32DP2 8.7" Thunderbolt 3 to Dual DisplayPort Adapter - 4k 60 Hz - Windows only Compatible

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work
Pros: - None
Cons: - Supposed to be Thunderbolt 3 compatible but doesn't work on a MSI GT72S Dominator Pro.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Carlos,

Thanks for sharing this with us. Hopefully we can help!

You may want to check with MSI to ensure that your PCs BIOS and Thunderbolt software is up to date. We find that many customer require a manual update to several components of their PC which tie into how the Thunderbolt 3 ports handle adapters such as this.

Check with MSI for the following:

- BIOS
- Thunderbolt firmware
- Thunderbolt 3 controller drivers
- Thunderbolt 3 software

The required updates will vary depending on your computer.

For an up-to-date-list of affected computers and instructions, visit https://thunderbolttechnology.net/updates. If your manufacturer isn’t listed on the Thunderbolt website, contact your manufacturer.

Once those are up to date we hope that the product will be working for you. If it is not, please contact us directly via http://www.startech.com/support. Out technical advisors, at our head office, are available 24/5 and should be able to assist further if needed.

Thank you and we hope this has been helpful!

Barry
Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/support

Reviewed By:Carlos F.,10/8/2016 7:14:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Thunderbolt 3 USB-C to Thunderbolt Adapter - Windows and Mac

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just works!
Pros: Do what it suppose to do.
Cons: Size seem a bit big for what it's do.
Other Thoughts: Only connected to external storage and its works as intend. (NUC Skull Canyon + Lacie Rugged Portable)
Reviewed By:Tai L.,9/12/2016 4:10:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thunderbolt Cables & Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech Thunderbolt 3 USB-C to Thunderbolt Adapter - Windows and Mac

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Check with computer manufacturer for Thunderbolt 3 firmware before purchase
Pros: It will probably work great once I can get it to work
Allows old thunderbolt devices to work using thunderbolt 3 ports
Cons: Startech's support site mentions Thunderbolt 3 firmware 16 as a requirement to use this adapter
Many thunderbolt 3 capable computers don't have firmware update 16 available yet
Other Thoughts: I have had great luck with StarTech products in the past so I don't doubt that this adapter will work great once I can get the correct firmware update. I have an Acer G9-791 Predator laptop and after speaking to tech support they notified me that i have to send my laptop to their service center for the thunderbolt 3 firmware update. The bad part is they couldn't tell me what version it would be updated to so it still may not work after I receive the laptop back. From other manufacturers I have looked at others may have similar issues. Dell thunderbolt 3 laptops I was only able to find Firmware 15. MSI Laptops it looks like only a couple of them have the thunderbolt 3 chip even active even though they have several models with thunderbolt 3 capability. Gigabyte Thunderbolt 3 motherboards have firmware 16 available. Products from Dell, Akitio, StarTech, Razer, AMD, all mention needing some newer version of Thunderbolt 3 firmware in order to use their products. I hope Intel and manufacturers start working out these issues or a class action suite will probably follow for being mislead about the technology capabilities versus what is actually possible right now. I fear that my laptop will be out of date before I can realistically use Thunderbolt 3 devices as advertised.
Reviewed By:Richard W.,8/5/2016 9:26:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.