Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Breathes new life into parts...while it lasts
Pros: This simply works and works well - and I do mean well. The speed you get from your old hard drive may surprise you. It certainly surprised me. It's fairly easy to install. All (or at least the vast majority of) the USB transfer products on the market that use IDE are USB 2.0 so transfer speeds on larger files is painfully slow. This changes all of that. This restores the full speed capacity of these old drives. EDIT: However...
Cons: None thus far

EDIT: Everything I said in the "Pros" section is still true. Unfortunately in less than a year it has completely died. When it died it spun the drive constantly. That's not exactly great for a hard drive. Thankfully mine survived this until I realized what was happening. Given this fact you may want to reconsider your purchase.
Other Thoughts: I don't consider these cons, but there are some things to consider when buying one of these.

1) Make sure your case is roomy enough to have about 2 ½ inches sticking out the back of the hard drive/optical drive. If you don't have at *least* that much room this will not fit.
2) You will need to know how to set the jumpers on your drive. Most drives have it written on them, some don't. You may be able to find a guide for your drive online if you look, but make sure you know *before* you buy this.
3) If your case only has SATA power connectors you'll need to buy a cable to convert one of those to molex so you have something to plug into.

If you do these things and follow the instructions provided in the manual this little gem will work wonders.
EDIT: Unless of course it dies on you...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/23/2017 11:21:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT2 IDE 40-Pin to SATA Adapter with Hard Disk Drive/SSD/Odd Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SATA Adapter
Pros: Got to admit, this device worked very well in an old system that had old style hard drives. Worked perfectly - no software.
Cons: None - This little device works great.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend the StarTech IDE2SAT2 to put new SSD's in old IDE Systems.
Reviewed By:Stanley D.,2/22/2017 7:29:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great easy to install
Pros: very easy to install and set up. before you install it make sure you have the dip switch set right for the drive it came set to master. so hard drive has to be set to master too. i changed mine to cable select instead dip switches are under sata ports very small switches :) i used these on my wd 500 gig drive. i almost gave this drive away because i have no ide computers left. so i gave this a shot. read reviews was 50 50. for 10 bucks was worth it. i think when people were having problems with it they did not have the switches set right for the hard drive. i would suggest you use cable select on hard drive and adapter this should give you best option less problems that way.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:VANESSA E.,2/21/2017 5:10:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-STU3-2PB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA HDD Adapter with Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 low quality parts, really cool case and idea
Pros: Easy little snap on case with snap on adapter.
no power needed
works with up to 9.5mm drives.
usb3
Cons: when doing a disk clone, the adapter intermittently loses connection. means it works on short runs only.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure my adapter was janky. I bought 5 and that was the experience with the first one. haven't tested the others yet.
would love to see startech make an adapter like this. you know, one that is reliable and works. hopefully the other 4 will work and make up the loss of this one.
Reviewed By:Waters Hicks,2/21/2017 4:45:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA40087 Driverless 2.5" SATA III to M.2 SSD Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Works as advertised.
Cons: The movable mount could have a storage location built onto the board instead of trying to keep track of it when not in use.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/19/2017 12:41:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA40086 3.5" SATA to M.2 SSD Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 After much fuss, only more fuss. Disappointed.
Pros: Connects a SATA III M.2 SSD to power and SATA cables.
Cons: The screw holes don't line up with the way the existing 3.5" HDD was mounted into my system.
Other Thoughts: Don't bother with this adapter unless you have to. Getting a differently sized drive with an enclosure is likely the better option.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are sorry that you are having issues mounting this adapter. I believe we do have M.2 Adapter enclosures that have a more traditional size to fit into 3.5" HDD mounts. We attempt to make products as general as possible, but sometimes, variations in manufacturing either from the computer case makers or from our own company make it difficult to ensure a "one size fits all" product.

We are glad that it worked for what you intended, even if it didn't quite fit. If you have any issues or more feedback you can send it to support@sybausa.com

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST EM 20170222

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2017 11:46:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mine is going in the trash
Pros: -Cheap
-Physically a good looking adapter/converter, the plastic shell is what made me buy this one over the other "open" style adapters
Cons: -I may have received a bad one but this slowed down the use of that drive to unusable speeds. I tried finding drivers to help but found none to make a difference i cut my losses and updated to a sata HDD
Other Thoughts: - I am actively advising NOT to go this route. Seems like a cheap alternative to purchasing a new HDD but in reality you are just throwing away $10 before you inevitably purchase your new HDD.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/3/2017 7:33:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Data and Program Saver
Pros: Was able to retrieve all programs and data from 2 IDE hard drives from an old Dell computer which died (board failure, drives were fine), so IDE to SATA direction worked well. Haven't tried it yet (SATA to IDE), but I'm sure I could use the old drives for additional storage using this adapter, if I needed. I even bought a long SATA cable and molex extender and have this adapter hanging out the back of my desktop so if needed, can just set a drive on the case and just plug it in. Not pretty, but very functional.
Cons: Not as quick as I'd hoped for, but we are dealing with old hard drives and an adapter. Basically same speed as a 2.0 USB transfer.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this item if needing to get data off old working hard drives. Don't know if this works with cd/dvd drives, but seems as though it would.
Reviewed By:Randy C.,2/1/2017 11:22:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not sure
Pros: It is what is says.
Cons: Sticks out from the device it's plugged into pretty far. If it had worked I would have had to do some major space planning to get the side back on my case.
Other Thoughts: It didn't work when I got it. I don't know if it's the adapter or if it's the hdd I was using it with, but I didn't need it enough to mess with a return or exchange.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for any issues you may have faced with this device.

You might have to initialize the drive in order to access it.

For further assistance, please email us at support@sybausa.com.

Our technical support team is available to help 9am-5pm M-F. Feel free to contact us during those business hours.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST JA 20170130

Reviewed By:Matthew A.,1/18/2017 9:21:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40077 2.5" SATA to mSATA SSD Adapter with USB 2.0 Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT ORDER THIS PRODUCT
Pros: The other things that came in today worked really well. I was able to fix my headphones with some super clue and fix the flat on my road bike. I will be going for a bike ride later today, so I got that going for me. which is nice.
Cons: DOA - does not work via the SATA interface or the USB interface. When I plug the device into USB power it just clicks/ticks very quietly, over and over, but it does not register with the computer.
Other Thoughts: I read the reviews and new that a DOA unit was a higher than normal probability, but now I feel dumb for having ordered. If I had to make the decision again, I would not have ordered it. Now I have to be bothered with the paperwork of an RMA and shipping the unit back. I am looking forward to that bike ride to improve my mood.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear that the adapter you received was DOA.

We believe you might need to install drivers for the USB-type mSATA device.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

Please feel free to contact us @ support@sybausa.com if you require further assistance.

-Regards SYBA CST JA 20170130

Reviewed By:Brandon O.,1/13/2017 1:04:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.