Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot say it worked
Pros: None.
Cons: -Connecting a SATA device to an IDE computer requires an additional Molex-to-SATA power adapter that is NOT included.
-SATA Computer does not boot properly with an IDE device attached.
Other Thoughts: Requesting a refund although the item is "ineligible for return".
If you do not make a product that works, you do not deserve the profit from it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

The average power supply has both extra Molex and SATA power connectors so we didn't include an adapter. We are sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way.

To be able to boot off this adapter, off an IDE drive, you may need to change your BIOS settings to IDE Mode instead of AHCI Mode. Other than that this product should work. If this doesn't work, then you can contact our support team at support@sybausa.com for more personalized assistance.

If you purchased it within a year, we can exchange this product for a brand new one. We thank you for your feedback and hope to help you get this item working soon.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170613

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/22/2017 8:49:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech PIB2M21 Raspberry Pi Board - USB 2.0 480Mbps - USB to M.2 SATA Converter - USB to SATA Raspberry Pi SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to add a M.2 SSD to Raspberry Pi 3
Pros: Does what it says. Made good use of a previously used M.2.. Made use of Foundation software
Cons: No Problems.
Reviewed By:Alan G.,5/18/2017 4:29:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-616 Laptop 2.5" to Desktop 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked fine
Pros: Used this to save the data off a neighbor's old failed laptop.
Cons: Had no trouble at all.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/15/2017 1:18:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > OKGEAR > OKGEAR GC415 SATA 15Pin Female to Molex 4Pin Male Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OKGEAR GC415 SATA 15Pin Female to Molex 4Pin Male Adapter
Pros: Product works good conversion powered well
Cons: 4pin pin work needs improvement, is not strong enough to use
Reviewed By:success j.,4/21/2017 6:22:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN AMSW-USB3 mSATA Enclosure and Upgrade Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice little adapter for mSATA drives.
Pros: -Well built, durable feeling enclosure.
-Door seems like it'll stay intact and lack closed after usage abuse.
-Driver loaded right away on first plug in on Win7. Didn't use included CD.
-Has green status LED.
- On when plugged.
- Blinks when read/write. (A must have for me)
- Turns off when you eject USB from taskbar. (Bonus)
- USB3.0
- So pleased with the one time used, I just ordered a second adapter.
Cons: -None after one-time use.
Other Thoughts: Only used this adapter once for backup of drive I pulled out of a new manufacturing machine.
Reviewed By:Ryan E.,3/16/2017 9:35:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech PEX4M2E1 M.2 Adapter - x4 PCIe 3.0 NVMe - Low Profile and Full Profile - SSD PCIE M.2 Adapter - M2 SSD - PCI Express SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 M.2 Adapter
Pros: It is simple to install. It is FAST!!!!
Cons: Hard to know which pc's will allow you to boot from this.
Other Thoughts: Even if your pc can not boot from this device, it makes a super fast second drive. It is even recognized in my old HP Elite 7900 and 8000 using the 4x slot. If you use the 16x slot it is even faster! I used a Samsung 960 evo for testing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/6/2017 7:37:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech PEX4M2E1 M.2 Adapter - x4 PCIe 3.0 NVMe - Low Profile and Full Profile - SSD PCIE M.2 Adapter - M2 SSD - PCI Express SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value
Pros: This adapter is necessary for my Z87-PRO motherboard to use an M.2 PCIe NVMe 960 Pro 512GB. It was a great value compared to similar adapters.
Cons: I am aware of no "Cons".
Other Thoughts: I did have to search the internet for an appropriate driver so that my system would find the drive after I installed it physically.
Reviewed By:Geoffrey E.,3/5/2017 9:11:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech PEXM2SAT32N1 M.2 Adapter - 3 Port - 1 x PCIe (NVMe) M.2 - 2 x SATA III M.2 - SSD PCIE M.2 Adapter - M2 SSD - PCI Express SSD

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Clever idea for space-saving, but flawed...
Pros: Neat idea for adding M.2 SATA drives to a system with an M.2 NVMe drive.
Cons: The NVMe connector and mounting spacer are too low to the board; cooling airflow on the back of the M.2 card is not acceptable.
Returned for refund, thanks to Newegg.
Reviewed By:William V.,3/3/2017 2:21:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product, Was skeptical!
Pros: I have tested this thing with IDE HDDs and IDE ODDs to SATA MB and from IDE MB to SATA HDDs and SATA ODDs, works as intended and lights up a feint orange glow when powered to visually signal it is on. Allows use of older devices on newer motherboards as well as newer devices on older motherboards. Also came with a Molex to Molex and 4pin splitter, as well as a SATA cable. IDE and SATA II can be combined on a single PC to backup old drives with pictures/data.
Cons: Wish the price was lower but that is with all things, for $10 and the free choice of what to use with what in IDE/SATA motherboard connections and devices. Runs at UATA speeds. Not for gaming rigs because of speeds, but it would definitely work!
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to anyone trying to reuse old drives/motherboards with newer drives/motherboards. Great for using old Hardware. Now I can backup my older data/picture drives to newer SATA with ease!
Reviewed By:Chrystal K.,3/1/2017 4:24:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA II to IDE ATA133 Bi-directional Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Breathes new life into parts...while it lasts
Pros: This simply works and works well - and I do mean well. The speed you get from your old hard drive may surprise you. It certainly surprised me. It's fairly easy to install. All (or at least the vast majority of) the USB transfer products on the market that use IDE are USB 2.0 so transfer speeds on larger files is painfully slow. This changes all of that. This restores the full speed capacity of these old drives. EDIT: However...
Cons: None thus far

EDIT: Everything I said in the "Pros" section is still true. Unfortunately in less than a year it has completely died. When it died it spun the drive constantly. That's not exactly great for a hard drive. Thankfully mine survived this until I realized what was happening. Given this fact you may want to reconsider your purchase.
Other Thoughts: I don't consider these cons, but there are some things to consider when buying one of these.

1) Make sure your case is roomy enough to have about 2 ½ inches sticking out the back of the hard drive/optical drive. If you don't have at *least* that much room this will not fit.
2) You will need to know how to set the jumpers on your drive. Most drives have it written on them, some don't. You may be able to find a guide for your drive online if you look, but make sure you know *before* you buy this.
3) If your case only has SATA power connectors you'll need to buy a cable to convert one of those to molex so you have something to plug into.

If you do these things and follow the instructions provided in the manual this little gem will work wonders.
EDIT: Unless of course it dies on you...
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are sorry that you experienced some issues with this IDE adapter. If you would like, you can email our support staff at support@sybausa.com and we can help troubleshoot your issue and come up with a solution. We are glad that this product was able to fit your needs and worked well, while it was working.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170227

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/23/2017 11:21:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.