Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > SUNIX > SUNIX C2VC7A0 USB Type-C to VGA Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Slim and Portable
Pros: I was looking for a small adapter to go with a tablet PC and wanted something small. This is what I was looking for. It is small and easy to carry for a minimalist setup. Cable is short and so far so good in terms of durability.
Cons: I see a lot of multi adapters that will have 3 types of video adapters. This is a single use type. Smaller but fewer options. For me that is what I wanted so not really a con.
Other Thoughts: Simple, small, slim does what it needs to do. Easy to carry in a pocket.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2017 6:47:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech CDP2DPMM1MB USB-C to DisplayPort Adapter Cable - 4K at 60 Hz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Cable
Pros: -Short, it does not get tangled with my other cords and cables
-Thunderbolt 3 compatible
-Fast, it allows me to play games through my monitor at 60 HZ + using my gaming laptop
Cons: -Nothing
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Kaylee S.,4/23/2017 2:55:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Coboc > Coboc AD-ALT-C2HD-6WH 6inch White DisplayPort ALT USB 3.1 Type C to HDMI Adapter Converter w/Audio - DP ALT USB-C to HDMI - 4K2K Resolution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works.
Pros: It works.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I purchased this to use with my Lenovo Miix 510, which has a USB 3.0 type C port, and it works better than I expected. Also, it does not require USB 3.1. This adapter should work with any USB-C port (with DisplayPort Alternate Mode).
Reviewed By:Nan W.,4/22/2017 10:42:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI / HDMI / USB3.0 / Supporting 1920 x 1200 or 2048 x 1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-KR)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOES NOT WORK
Pros: None
Cons: This product does not work. I submitted multiple trouble tickets to EVGA, which consisted of no advice other than "Did you try re-installing software?" I tried that and many other troubleshooting steps multiple times. Nothing worked. I even attempted to use the product on multiple different computer setups. They all yielded the same results. This is clearly a product defect. As seeing the many other reviews with similar troubles I can only come to the conclusion that there was perhaps a manufacturing defect with many of the devices that EVGA has refused to disclose or correct.
Other Thoughts: Save yourself the time and trouble and buy a product that works.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

I am sorry to hear about the troubles you are having with your EVGA UV+39. I can assure you that we are here to assist and support you as best we can. Please bear in mind that with this device the drivers Must be installed first before this device is connected to the computer. If you connect the device to the computer then install the drivers it will not configure and function properly. If you haven't already done so, then I would encourage you to contact our 24 hour Technical Support team by phone 1.888.881.3842 and pressing option 1 or by email: Newegg@EVGA.com so that we can assist you.

Sincerely,
EVGA Customer Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/30/2017 1:57:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech CDPVGDVHDMDP Aluminum Travel A/V Adapter: 4-in-1 USB-C to VGA, DVI, HDMI or mDP - 4K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Quality construction/Metal case
Able to handle several different outputs with a single adapter
Cord storage and compact design makes for easy travel
Great Customer Service!
Cons: No USB - any style
Doesn't support multiple displays
Other Thoughts: This shipped much quicker than I expected, I received mine about a week after ordering. I have been using it for 2 weeks now with no problems at all. It works well and I like the compact design. It fits into the accessory pouch along side my charge cord that I got with my sleeve. Would definitely recommend it for people who need more than a single video output.

Edited to Add: I just contacted StarTech technical support for help connecting a new monitor to this display. They were remarkably helpful even though the issue didn't end up being related to the adapter at all. Just bought another StarTech adapter and will continue to look for this brand in the future.
Reviewed By:Carrie B.,3/6/2017 1:52:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Diamond Multimedia > Diamond BVU165LT USB External Video Display Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice video boost to an aging laptop
Pros: Keeps the CPU from heating the laptop and revving up the fan
Fills 1080p from corner to corner of 27" monitor which was beyond the laptop's capability
Cons: I lose a USB port and adds little more cable clutter, but worth it
Other Thoughts: I have an aging Laptop with a second monitor connected to the side VGA. The second display is rather dim and will not sync until after 10 minutes of warmup when turned on, and HDMI port loses sync. This adapter offloads the Video demand outside of the case which helps with the typical overheating when a dozen or more windows are open at the same time. Produces a gorgeous and vivid display for a few dollars without having to migrate to a new laptop. I tried Star Wars Angry Birds and it was horrendously unplayable, but this laptop is for using MS Office and browsers which works perfectly.
Reviewed By:Thomas D.,3/2/2017 6:06:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Vantec > VANTEC NBV-410DU3 USB 3.0 to 4K DP Display Adapter DisplayLink Certified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well, easy to set up
Pros: Works perfectly with my 2560x1440 display.
Easy to set up, just plug into USB 3.0 port, get driver from supplied driver CD.
Essential for systems without PCIe slots or if you don't want to plug in a 2nd video card or replace existing video to get connection needed.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I'm using it to add a 2nd DP port to an Intel NUC to get dual QHD screens mine of which have only DVI and DP connections.
Reviewed By:Richard S.,2/26/2017 5:25:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech CDPVGDVHDMDP Aluminum Travel A/V Adapter: 4-in-1 USB-C to VGA, DVI, HDMI or mDP - 4K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great portable adapter for Macbook Pro, and Z-book, and ThinkPad
Pros: Small, sturdy, and one piece (partial "pro" there). Just connected it up out of the box and I had full resolution on my 4k monitor--provided the computer can drive that of course. The multiple output ports are fantastic when travelling. I need only worry about MY computer, and the adapter has the rest covered. I like how the cable wraps around and tucks in.
Cons: Just one partial con, the interface cable is both short and non-removable. That's made it rough a couple times, but not a show-stopper.
Other Thoughts: I received this product in exchange for an unbiased review. But frankly, I'd have done a review of this device anyway as it's always with me now.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/16/2017 10:28:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI / HDMI / USB3.0 / Supporting 1920 x 1200 or 2048 x 1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-KR)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy way to use multiple monitors on a laptop!
Pros: Easy setup. Drivers for Windows 7, 8.x, and 10. Smooth, glitch-free operation. I did not test gaming performance, but there is no discernible lag in typical office use.

Most laptops can be made to support two monitors, as long as one of them is the laptop's built-in screen. If you want more than one external monitor, then this is the device to get. It will support two additional monitors, so I was able to run four screens (including the laptop's own screen) from one laptop.
Cons: Only issue I came across is when unplugging or plugging in the EVGA when there is already another monitor connected to the laptop's VGA/HDMI port. That monitor and the laptop's screen would revert to a non-extended ("duplicate-the-same-stuff-on-both-screens") mode. So every time the EVGA was added or removed, I had to go through the annoying process of reconfiguring the first two screens back to extended-display mode. If you're only going to use three screens (laptop plus two external), you might want to add the two external monitors to the EVGA and leave the laptop's VGA/HDMI port empty, rather than putting one on the laptop and one on the EVGA.

However, this device is so good and this use case (plugging/unplugging from a booted up Windows environment) is probably uncommon enough that I can't take off a star for that.
Other Thoughts: Included driver CD seemed to have issues, so skip the CD and instead download the current Win 7/8/10 driver from EVGA's website (www.evga.com/support/download/). Run the downloaded program to install the driver. Then plug the included USB3 cable into the EVGA device, plug the other end into a USB3 port on your computer, and the driver will finish configuring itself for this device. No reboot is necessary, but out of habit I did anyway.

You're then ready to plug in one or two extra monitors. The EVGA device has one HDMI output port and one DVI output port. The box includes a DVI-to-VGA adapter, so you can use either one DVI or VGA monitor, and/or one HDMI monitor. Once they light up, go into Windows' Display Settings and rearrange for your monitor layout.

I tried the EVGA adapter directly from my laptop's USB3 port as well as through a powered USB3 hub I have connected to my laptop, with no discernible difference in performance.

Supposedly the EVGA will also run from a USB2 port, but I did not test that so can't speak to whether there are any performance issues due to the slower USB2 port. A USB3 port also provides almost twice as much power as a USB2 port. The EVGA does not have a separate power cord and draws its power from the USB connection, so it's possible some laptops' USB2 ports might not have enough power to drive two extra monitor signals.
Reviewed By:Dan G.,2/8/2017 1:32:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI / HDMI / USB3.0 / Supporting 1920 x 1200 or 2048 x 1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-KR)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Linux!
Pros: It is what it says on the tin. It's just a USB 3.0 display adapter. Nothing terribly fancy, but it gets the job done well.
Cons: The only thing I don't like is that EVGA does not post the Linux drivers on their site. I could have been using this the way I wanted to a lot sooner. But that's why I'm writing this review, so other people can know.
Other Thoughts: The underlying product is from DisplayLink, so you'll have to hit up their website for the Linux driver. The driver is written to work specifically with the Ubuntu LTS releases, and requires DKMS. Short of that, installing the driver is easy: Download it, extract it, chmod +x it, run it, plug the EVGA UV Plus+ 39 in and away you go!

I'm not going to put the URL for the DisplayLink Linux driver, as that could shoot down this review. But all you need to do is search for "DisplayLink Linux Driver" and you'll find it.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,1/30/2017 6:59:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.