Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0040HWT-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cannot access admin web interface from another subnet
Pros: Able to setup and install on the same IP subnet, but when I try to access from a wireless access point, which is in another IP subnet access was denied. Tech support confirm that I had a 1st gen My Cloud and I would not be able to access from the wireless subnet. I was still able to map a windows drive to a share that I created, but I need to access a computer on the same IP subnet to add a user or create another share. Tech Support tells me this problem is fixed with the 2nd gen My Cloud.
Cons: No admin web access from another IP subnet
Other Thoughts: If your network has multiple IP subnets, check that you are getting the 2nd Gen product.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Michael,

Thanks for sharing your concerns with us. The singly-bay My Cloud is our entry level Network Attached Storage (NAS) device intended for home and small office environments within a single network topology. This feature, Cloud Dashboard, is available and can be enabled on the multiple bay units. If you have any questions, our support staff is at your disposal. Please use the case number below as a reference for direct assistance.

Support Case Number: 052217-12045912
Need Help? Please contact us at (855) 842-5370

Reviewed By:MICHAEL D.,5/17/2017 1:02:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud EX4100 Expert Series Network Attached Storage - NAS WDBWZE0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works. Some significant issues!
Pros: Easy to set up, and manage storage. Works well with Windows 7.
Cons: Not really usable with Windows 10. Windows recognizes it as a web page but not as storage. When this happens you can not read or write data! This only happens about once a month. Each time it happens I research the problem on the WEB, fiddle with all the settings, try some of the recommendations, and it will work again for a while. It looks like everyone is saying it's Microsoft's problem, but it is still my problem. The WD web site lists a Microsoft update which might work, but it doesn't seem to be available from Microsoft any more. The diversity of solutions I found on the WEB indicates that it may be a random problem without a real solution yet.
Another con is the data transfer speed to the EX4100. Up to 11MB/sec. This is much slower than computer to computer transfers on the same network.
Other Thoughts: I only have machines with windows 7 and 10 so I don't know if it's a problem with Windows 8. If you look at WEB postings, it is a problem for Windows 8.
I almost returned the unit after I purchased it, but decided to give it a chance rather than pay the restocking charge.
So overall, it works, but you may spend a lot of time trying to keep it working with Windows 10.
Reviewed By:Wayne S.,4/16/2017 8:03:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Mirror (Gen 2) + 2-bay Personal Cloud Storage - NAS Network Attached Storage WDBWVZ0040JWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Cloud Storage
Pros: Got in on sale so the price was great, very easy to setup and now I'm streaming my music and pictures to my Roku players.
Cons: Description is a little misleading because they say 4tb of storage, but really only 2tb with the other 2 as a mirror. I would of called it a 2tb mirror storage system myself. At least I can replace the drives with larger WD Red drives later.
Reviewed By:John K.,4/10/2017 12:03:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0080HWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lots of storage
Pros: Purchased to go with my two 6TB WD NAS. Strictly for video streaming in the house. I can stream 1080P (h265 or h264, up to 3GB+ file) to any single Roku Ultra without a problem (realized I've never tried streaming to more than one).
Cons: Bit pricey. Really hate white. Loading files isn't as quick using the wireless, but it's easier than messing with my workstation at this point. I just let my laptop run the copying while I sleep or I'm at work.
Other Thoughts: Plug is fine for a wall connection, but a pain for a surge protector because the cable runs from the side.
Reviewed By:Eric C.,3/16/2017 11:15:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR2100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBBCL0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product
Pros: verry good
Cons: need update for external hard drive
Other Thoughts: good product end fast for 4k transcoding
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/17/2017 11:50:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud DL2100 Business Series + Network Attached Storage -NAS WDBBAZ0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast easy setup perfect for my purpose
Pros: Fast easy setup
Perfect for my purpose of data protection.
Running a RAID 1 mirror with 2 Western Digital 3tb Red NAS drives.
SUPER east drive install, slide the drives in and click the door shut, THAT'S IT...
#redundant, 2 redundant power supply ports (only 1 power supply provided), 2 redundant 10/100/1000 ethernet ports
Enterprise level redundancy at a pro-sumer price.
Cons: Only 1 power supply provided.
Can't get the MyCloud to work through a Comcast/Cisco DPC3941T Modem/Router
Reviewed By:Stuben T.,1/29/2017 7:31:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 32TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0320KBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 USB drives bring this NAS to its knees
Pros: None
Cons: Don't buy this... EVER. If you plug a USB drive in, it will crash and become unrecoverable. Western Digital is terrible. They say the support USB, but if you check the forums thousands of people have this issue. WD are LIARS!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2017 4:19:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Passport Wireless Pro Portable External Hard Drive - WiFi AC, SD, USB 3.0 - WDBSMT0030BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Came infected with virus in installer, does NOT have Mycloud function
Pros: Packed with lots of various, cool little features. But missing some, see cons.
Cons: 1) Installer program for Windows on the drive itself comes infected with a Bitcoin Mining Virus! Was caught by every computer I plugged it into directly.
2) Unlike the non Pro model, you DON'T get your own "cloud" with this. Unless you consider carrying it around a "personal cloud". Get the non-Pro version and you can access your files from anywhere. Or you can open up your ftp port ... but don't expect to be able to set the login credentials, it's open to the world.
Other Thoughts: What a waste of money
Manufacturer Response:Hey There Justin,
Thanks for the time providing feedback. It’s unclear what installer program you may be speaking about. You may have already been infected with malware prior to setting up this device. It may be a good idea to update and run anti-malware detection and cleaning software on all devices within your network. We provide a secure site to access the Online Learning Center; along with a couple useful articles to assist with initially installing a Passport Wireless Pro device.
“My Passport Wireless Pro Online Learning Center”: http://mycloud.com/learn/?id=MyPassportWirelessPro
“How to set up a My Passport Wireless Pro on a Windows PC”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=14191
“Wi-Fi Best Practices while using a My Passport Wireless Pro”:
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=14195

We would be most happy to discuss this matter with you further. You can contact us and mention the support case below, as a point of reference to this Newegg review.

Case Number: 011717-11727336

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:Justin A.,1/14/2017 10:51:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 12TB 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 12TB My Cloud EX2 Ultra 2-bay NAS WDBVBZ0120JCH-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wrong item shipped?
Pros: Clean appearance
Easy to set up
Cons: My product came showing about 2TB of apace in a raid setup, but I purchased the 12GB model, not the 4Gb.
Other Thoughts: Order mix-up? Its not obvious from the order history or the invoice.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Samuel,
We’re sorry, hearing you may have received the wrong product; it’s best to contact Newegg directly for help correcting this matter. If the device model does show WDBVBZ0120JCH on the enclosure, and the dashboard shows two 6TB WD Red drives installed, but the RAID indeed shows only 2TB, we would like the chance to assist you further. You can contact us and mention the support case below.

Support Case Number: 011717-11727318

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:samuel m.,1/13/2017 5:41:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy to Use, but MASSIVE DESIGN FLAW
Pros: -> Simple to administer.
-> Fast
-> Plex Server transcodes very well
Cons: This thing is saddled with a massive design flaw. It apparently cannot communicate to external USB drives that use the UAS protocol. (USB Attached SCSI). This is a new protocol that is starting to proliferate with fast high capacity external devices. If you plug one of these drives into your PR4100 NAS and the entire thing locks up. Presumably kernel panics. It becomes unresponsive. Drops off the network and the only way to recover is to power cycle. I could work around this if they would publish a compatibility list for external drives like they do for the internal drives. However they do not. Also, the manual mentions nothing of this quirk. You can only read about it from the forums where a staff member published a link to the public service announcement. the thing that will steam you is there is no indication if this is something they are going to fix. So Now I am constantly locking up the PR4100 because even some of my USB thumb drives are using this newer protocol for faster transfer speeds. This is a disaster. I would presume this could be fixed with a firmware update by downloading a newer linux kernel. To my knowledge other devices do not have this limitation.

The PSA can be located by searching for "My Cloud Pro Series Not Accessible After Connecting a USB Attached SCSI (UAS) Device" Answer ID 15167
Other Thoughts: considering the massive flaw this thing has, and the lack of information to how WD will fix this. I will discard it through the auction sites and look at competitors offerings.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Steven G.,
Thanks for the time providing this feedback. UAS devices are currently not supported on a My Cloud PR 2100 and PR4100. Please follow the link below for more information.
“My Cloud Pro Series Not Accessible After Connecting a USB Attached SCSI (UAS) Device”: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=15167

It’s a good idea to follow our community forums for Recent Solutions, Product Notices, Announcements, and My Cloud Product Status.
“WD Community”: https://community.wd.com

Support Case Number: 122816-11676090

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:Steven G.,12/27/2016 7:15:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.