Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > ASUS > ASUS ZenWatch 3 Android Wear Smartwatch with Quick Charge & Gunmetal Case, Dark Brown Leather Strap (WI503Q-GL-DB)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Awesome Watch paired with Nexus 5X - But ASUS won't standby the warranty.
Pros: This is one beautiful watch. It's the first smartwatch I've owned. I never even had a fitness tracker before; only real, old fashioned watches. I was a little worried that this would be a big, clunky watch. But it's not. It is actually about 1-2mm thinner (yep that's right, thinner) and roughly the same size around as my mechanical watch. And it's lighter too.

It feels very well constructed. I don't think I'll be worrying about banging it up too much. I think it'll take day to day banging and jostling just fine.

The screen is beautiful. Auto-brightness seems to be perfectly calibrated. Indoors, it's not to bright. And it's viewable even in direct sunlight, although that's a little hard. It does have a brightness boost, which would be helpful in direct sunlight, but alas, you need to navigate through the menus to use it, and I haven't found a way to lock it on yet. Always reverts to off.

Charging is a dream. I wore the watch all day and through the night. It was at 63% when I woke up. I charged it this morning while I was in the shower. 20 minutes later it was at 99% when I was ready to put it back on.

Never having had a smartwatch before, I was worried about how hard it is to use. I had no problems figuring it out on my own. The included manual only gives you a few navigation basics. I've been able to figure out how to send text's and read emails quite easily. So far it hasn't had any problem with voice recognition. It was a little laggy, but came up with the correct text.

Pairing to my Nexus 5X Smartphone was easy. Just follow the instructions and download the Android Wear app for pairing. Piece of cake. Took about 10 minutes for me to get it paired and another 15 minutes for updates and syncing with the phone.

Lots of Android Wear watch faces are available for download (both free and paid). So you're no limited to the 50 Asus gives you.

[EDIT] Within 30 days of receiving the watch, the band broke where the band it's attached to the watch. I sent it in for warranty repair as the watch was not mistreated in any way. ASUS has refused to cover this under warranty. They want $60 for repair + S&H. This is no way to treat a valued customer. I will be returning the watch.
Cons: The description says it's gun-metal. To me, a gun owner, gun-metal is dark blueish grey. This watch definitely does not fit that description of gun-metal. I would describe it more of a rich, very dark brown. I actually think this is a better look than gun-metal would have been.

The leather band feels a thin and less durable than the watch itself. I think I'll be looking at replacing it as 3rd parties start making them.

I know this watch says it's water-proof, and I'm sure it is. The but the leather band is not. So I wouldn't recommend the leather band in the water. And that's another reason for replacing the band, get one that's waterproof.

Reviews everywhere say the watch is available in Sliver, Rose Gold and Gun-Metal. The only color I found, anywhere, including Asus's web site is this Gun-Metal (really dark brown). I really wanted the silver one, but in retrospect, I do really, really like the dark brown.

Asus promotes customization of the watch faces. It's not really like that. There are usually 3 areas that can contain things like Step Counter,, Calories burned, Battery Live. You can choose which of these to display, but not location or appearance of these customizations.

Here's probably the biggest negative I've seen so far; Counting steps does not seem to track or display properly, or at least in a timely fashion. I can be actively walking and nothing is showing up on the watch face. There might be a calibration I'm missing but as of now, it doesn't seem accurate. In some cases, it's recorded zero steps. Even if I let my arms swing with my stride. In other cases, It seemed to have recorded way too many steps. And last, while walking, it won't show steps as they're being taken. But later, I see big spikes in steps, even if I was just sitting. Probably some update delay I'm missing. I'll need to do some research on this.

[EDIT] Within 30 days of receiving the watch, the band broke where the band it's attached to the watch. I sent it in for warranty repair as the watch was not mistreated in any way. ASUS has refused to cover this under warranty. They want $60 for repair + S&H. This is no way to treat a valued customer. I will be returning the watch.
Other Thoughts: I wanted you all to know that this is NOT a promotional review item for me. I was not paid, I did not get a free, or discounted unit. I paid full price. And this is my honest review.

I'm writing this review based on less than 24 hours of use. And never having had a smartwatch before, I didn't really know what to expect. I will edit my review if I feel that it's warranted.

Bottom line, For a first time smart watch owner, this one really does it right. Beautiful watch faces, physical design is perfect, easy to use (thanks to Android Wear), everything I've wanted in a smart watch. I held off buying one until they matured a little. I'm glad I held off till this one was released.

Do I recommend it? Oh yea! You bet. Stop reading this and go order one now. [EDIT] Sorry, but I can no longer recommend this watch.

[EDIT] I have always been a fan of ASUS products. But things change. Within 30 days of receiving the watch, the band broke where the band it's attached to the watch. I sent it in for warranty repair as the watch was not mistreated in any way. ASUS has refused to cover this under warranty. They want $60 for repair + S&H. This is no way to treat a valued customer. I will be returning the watch and, unfortunately, will no longer be purchasing any ASUS products.
Reviewed By:David H.,1/17/2017 8:31:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Pebble Technology Corp > Pebble Steel Smart Watch for iPhone and Android Devices (Brushed Stainless)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Looking Watch
Pros: Straight to the point info given on watch. Looks professional enough to wear anywhere. Okay apps, plenty of watch faces to choose from. Not obnoxious to look at or bright glaring light from it.
Cons: Not a super smartwatch, can't talk to it or anything. Some apps very simplistic, but plenty to choose from. Monochrome. Discontinued products no more support.
Other Thoughts: Looking for a smartwatch to tell you who's calling, texting, or remote music playing. this is good for you. Notify you of emails too. I enjoy it. Pebble sold to Fitbit. Discontinued products no more support.
Reviewed By:Ryan J.,1/16/2017 8:12:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Huawei > Huawei Smart Watch Stainless Steel with Black Suture Leather Strap Model 55020533

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY, COMPANY IS CROOKED. WON'T HONOR WARRANTY
Pros: The product functioned for 6 months.
Cons: After 6 months the only button on the watch FELL OFF. There is absolutely no damage anywhere on the watch, I pressed the button and the thing popped off. I submitted a claim online and never heard anything. So I called technical support and sent in pictures. When I called back they said they couldn't do anything about it because it was physical damage. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE!!! THE BUTTON FELL OFF WHEN PUSHED. There goes $300 I will never get back.
Other Thoughts: I liked the look of the watch, but if I were you I wouldn't make a $300 gamble on the button falling off.
Manufacturer Response:Apologies for the frustrating situation. We have escalated your issue and we would be more than happy to assist you. Please contact our support team at 1-888-548-2934 so that we can provide you with the necessary information for your watch to be sent in to our repair center. Upon calling in, please be sure to reference this review so one of our friendly agents can access your ticket for further information. (AI)

Reviewed By:Corey S.,1/11/2017 4:32:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Huawei > Huawei 55020533-RF Smart Watch Stainless Steel with Black Suture Leather Strap Model Minor scratch on watch Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A steal, very useful
Pros: - Mine looked almost brand new
- surprised about the good 1-2 days battery life
- Aftermarket bands
- A lot smaller than I thought it would be, saw reviewers complain about the thickness but it's thinner than many normal male watches
Cons: - Sluggish at times
- Android wear needs significant improvement, to many swipes to achieve normal actions. Not intuitive
- OK Google function unreliable
Other Thoughts: Awesome watch, wanted a way to get notifications on my wrist efficiently that didn't look gaudy or like a toy. Surprised about the look, professional and subdued. I wish the software was better but maybe in 2.0 though I kind of doubt it. Google might need to start over w wear. It seems almost half baked.
Manufacturer Response:We are happy to hear that you're satisfied with your Huawei Watch! In order to resolve your listed cons, we suggest that you keep the watch face wiped off and clear of smudge. Also, third-party apps may cause your watch to slow down. If your watch is slow to respond, try uninstalling some third-party apps. This should resolve the sluggishness of the device that you mentioned. As far as the OK Google not functioning reliably, we suggest you try the following: Ensure that your watch is connected to your phone via Bluetooth.
Ensure that your watch is not downloading large amounts of data, such as an OTA update package.
Check that you can send voice messages to your contacts using WeChat/WhatsApp/Facebook messenger.
Try saying "Ok Google" again when the screen is on.
Change your phone's Internet connection to Wi-Fi or mobile data and then try again.
We loved hearing that the 300 mAh battery performed to your satisfaction and we thank you for shopping Huawei! (SP)

Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2017 7:23:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Huawei > Huawei 55020538 Wearable Technology Stainless Steel

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Item was not clearly well used - not sure what was "refurbished" on it...
Pros: Nice watch - when it is in a good shape.
Cons: This was not in a good shape:
- many signs of wear on the watch case ( scratches etc.)
- the strap was also scratches
- the strap has been adjusted for the original owner - and the spare strap parts were inside the box

These things can be refurbished to "as new" level - but apparently none of that refurbishment has been done.

Watch was returned - and I got a refund
Reviewed By:Miklos T.,1/7/2017 3:45:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Huawei > Huawei 55020533-RF Smart Watch Stainless Steel with Black Suture Leather Strap Model Minor scratch on watch Silver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Huawe Refurbished Smart Watch Stainless Steel
Pros: Easy setup and everything was included.
Cons: 1. The watch I received had scratches on 25% of the top Stainless Steel surface and are very visible.. I guess it's hit and miss on what you receive.
Other Thoughts: I bought it refurbished and you cannot look before you buy, so it is what it is.
Manufacturer Response:Thanks for the kind review on your refurbished Huawei Smartwatch. The Huawei Watch is ready to pair with any ensemble or occasion. With a wide variety of pre-installed watch faces to choose from, a full range of high-end faces, 18mm bands, and a display screen that is always on, you control what luxury looks like. For more information on the Huawei Smartwatch, visit: http://consumer.huawei.com/en/wearables/huawei-watch/index.htm (NS)

Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/7/2017 9:02:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Huawei > Huawei 55020533-RF Smart Watch Stainless Steel with Black Suture Leather Strap Model Minor scratch on watch Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Earlier problem resolved!
Pros: The watch is absolutely beautiful. This is a time piece for all. The craftsmanship and fit and finish is second to none. Android wear is excellent and getting better. The speaker and microphone do the job.
Cons: None. Perfect with no scratches.
Other Thoughts: Greatest thing since sliced bread. Had a problem early on but turned out to be linux related. Switched back to Windows and my connection to computer problem is gone.
Manufacturer Response:Hi, we're happy to hear you resolved your earlier issue regarding connecting you smartwatch device to a computer. Powered by Android WearTM, featuring iOS and Android compatibility, built-in Wi-Fi, and Google Now voice commands, the Huawei Watch is intuitive. See who’s calling, read texts, and receive emails as soon as they arrive without reaching for your phone. Thanks for the follow up! (NS)

Reviewed By:Victor v.,1/6/2017 8:53:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Huawei > Huawei 55020533-RF Smart Watch Stainless Steel with Black Suture Leather Strap Model Minor scratch on watch Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing looks brand new, no scratches, all components were included, feel like I got a bargain at $155
Pros: Easy setup, paired to my Samsung android phone fast, even for a 72 year old man
"OK Google?" is such a cool feature, I haven't seen any reviewers talk about it
Cons: None so far after 18 hrs of playing with it
Almost too many options, will take some time to learn all the capabilities
Other Thoughts: Will be anxious for Android 2.0 to be released in a few months
Had the Microsoft Band 2 for almost a year until I lost it, this is more comfortable to wear and better looking by far
Manufacturer Response:Terrific! Thank you for the excellent feedback, Keith. We're pleased to hear that you are enjoying your Huawei Watch. It's great that you are loving all the cool features with the watch and are excited about learning more. One of the cool features we believe you are going to love is the precise fitness tracking. The Huawei Watch makes keeping active and reaching your goals effortless. It goes wherever you go, offering a smart perspective on your fitness. (DM)

Reviewed By:Keith B.,1/6/2017 12:24:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > Motorola > Motorola Moto 360, Light Finish Case, Light Metal 18mm Band

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 After 1 yr of use, in disrepair and reasonable use
Pros: Looks great. Reasonably durable against the elements and inclement weather.
Works well with Android. (When it works)
Voice commands came to be quite useful. (When it works)
Being to dictate replies with fairly accuracy. (When it works)
Great integration with Moto phones (tested with a 2014 'X')
Cons: Does not always work. (Consistently OR in a quick manner.)
Sluggish UI performance and touch sensitivity. Voice commands heavily reliant on nearby phone with internet.
Overall Android Wear concept is not quite there yet as of v1.5
Poor battery life. Lucky if lasting a full day. Will not last a day and night. Charger is far too pricey, even aftermarket choices.
The INTERNAL wristband lugs of very poor design. Hard to swap and made of brittle resin. Now broken right lug, watch unusable.
Cracks have started to develop in the back-plate around the wristband lugs, and have grown towards optical heart sensor.
A jeweler had difficulty adjusting links in the band. Advised wristband doesn't meet some common component standards.
Other Thoughts: I could not recommend this to others, unfortunately. Watch is now effectively unusable because of failed wristband lug design.
I understand Motorola may have unspoken policy of repairing or replacing 1st gen units even outside of warranty. Promising...
The latest model 360 seems to have greatly improved in many of these areas, but still runs 1.5
If you prefer a Moto smartwatch, then save or wait for the newer version, or consider a different brand
Reviewed By:Kai M.,1/6/2017 4:10:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wearable Technology > ASUS > ASUS WI501Q-SL-CM-Q ZenWatch 2 1.63-inch AMOLED 4GB Smart Watch w/ Quick Charge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great watch
Pros: convenience, easy to use and stay in touch. It is linked with business phone.
Cons: only links with one phone at a time
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/3/2017 10:49:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.