Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JT-WH71(WX) 17.3" Intel Core i7 4th Gen 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome product and very pleased.
Pros: This product is all I was looking for in a gaming Laptop
Cons: I have no issues.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this product to anyone.
I would also purchase again.
Reviewed By:Mickey D.,4/25/2017 12:39:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Predator 15 G9-593-77WF Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7-6700HQ , GeForce GTX 1070, 15.6" Full HD G-SYNC, 16GB DDR4, 1TB HDD, 256GB SSD, Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 POWERFUL LAPTOP
Pros: Good build
Powerfull
Fast Shipping
Cons: No one for the moment !
Reviewed By:Keven H.,4/24/2017 3:09:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo 15.6" Y700 (80NV00TGUS) Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 16 GB DDR4 Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop - "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love my Lenovo Y700!!
Pros: This is the best laptop I have ever had, and one of the best home computers I've ever had. It is so useful, so fast, it has great battery life (for non-gaming regular household tasks it lasts 6 to 8 hours), I love the SSD and the quick boot, the screen is great, the graphics are great. the sound from the laptop is great, etc.... I've had the system for 7 months and no significant issues. It is heavy, but very manageable around the house - I don't take it traveling so this is not an issue for me.
Cons: One minor con - when I upgraded the drivers the video driver doesn't always send the sound to the TV speakers, e.g. the picture is sent to the TV, but the sound stays on the PC speakers. But it works right some times and if I reboot while connected to the TV it is fine.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who loves a fast and top of the line home computer.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2017 12:02:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GL62M 7RD-056 15.6" Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7700HQ (2.80 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hard Drive is holding it back
Pros: - Top of the line i7 processor and video card
- M.2 Slot allowed easy upgrade to an SSD boot drive
Cons: - No backlit keys (I expect them as an option at least in this price range)
- No SSD boot drive
Other Thoughts: I planned on immediately upgrading this by adding an M.2 SSD... However, this thing was VERY VERY slow booting from the 1TB drive. It was so slow that my 3 year old $500 laptop was faster at everyday tasks. Luckily, after adding some solid state goodness to the mix, it performed as I's expect something in this price range to.
Reviewed By:John L.,4/24/2017 11:42:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS FX502VM-AH51 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i5 6th Gen 6300HQ (2.30 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD GeForce GTX 1060 3 GB GDDR5 15.6" Full HD 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent Laptop, Flawed Design
Pros: - Runs modern games very smoothly.
- Beautiful finish.
- Fast boot-up.
- Moderately silent.
Cons: - Very poor fan design.
- Fingerprint magnet.
- Very hot under load.
Other Thoughts: I loved this laptop when I had it, it had a great life before a major event took place.
It ran very well, even modern games, the only issue was that it could not keep up with the performance.
I was playing a game when it started to become very hot, and the fans were up as much as possible. Unfortunately the heat caused a surge to the battery, which it "popped" and smoked shortly after. I had to return this product, and if you are playing games that might cause the system to run at maximum performance, I suggest you find another product, or even the newer 6GB 1060.
Reviewed By:Thomas S.,4/24/2017 11:30:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT72S Dominator Pro G-037 17.3" Intel Core i7 6th Gen 6820HK (2.70 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 refurbished = defective, and YOU pay shipping for repairs!
Pros: Almost everything is top-of-the-line or can be readily upgraded. Except the keyboard, with which I have some serious issues. See below.

Keyboard does have full-customizable backlighting in the whole spectrum. The default backlighting scheme(s) are terribly flashy, and there's no "tasteful" scheme installed by default, but I was able to set up something modest relatively easily with the software.

Can swap the Windows and FN keys in the BIOS, thankfully. I use Windows key keyboard shortcuts on my left hand all the time. I'll put in a note for the RMA centre asking whether they can swap the key caps for me, too. I'm always terrified of breaking the key mechanisms or not being able to put them back together again.
Cons: First off, let's talk about the computer itself, ignoring the defect.

I utterly HATE the keyboard design. I've dealt with several notebook computers and the weird keyboard quirks they all have. I can generally get used to them with some grumbling, but I think I'll never get used to this one. I expect better from a 17.3" notebook. In contrast, my older 17.3" Toshiba Satellite non-gaming notebook is pretty good. I was able to get used to its keyboard quirks relatively quickly and easily.

There are two very important pairs of keys that are combined -- PGUP/HOME and PGDN/END. One has to use the FN key to get HOME and END. This is a cheap cheap cheap and dumb dumb dumb design decision for a very pricy gaming laptop computer. Gamers and non-gamers alike use HOME and END all the time. In contrast, there is one uncombined key that baffles me -- SCROLL LOCK, because THAT makes sense. I guess there was nothing to combine it with. There is plenty of room on this monster of a computer to fit a better keyboard design. It's a pity, because computer keyboards are very important for me. I touch type and I use keyboard shortcuts a lot. Pressing the wrong key or having to jump through hoops to press a common key, they infuriate me.

In addition, the number keys above WASD are shifted to the right because of the ridiculously large backtick/tilde key. There seems to be no good reason for this. The W key should be under and between the 2 and 3 keys, but instead it's almost completely below the 2 key. This means that I keep on pressing the number lower than I wanted when I'm playing games and otherwise. This will take some getting used to.


Now to get to the defect. I figured that refurbished just meant that they'd gotten all the bugs out. But no. When I first got the computer, the W and E keys wouldn't work when the computer got hot. Probably a bad electrical connection somewhere, caused by thermal expansion. Using the max fan button mostly mitigated the problem. But it's been getting worse and worse. Now the W, E, Y, FN, TAB and ESCAPE keys don't work at all, and the keys around them work intermittently. It's a pity, because I bought this computer specifically for a two-week trip, and now I have to lug a USB keyboard around eveyrwhere. (To be honest, I'd probably lug the USB keyboard around even if the notebook keyboard weren't defective. I hate the notebook keyboard design THAT much.)

On my second day with the computer, I called up MSI Tech support. The tech himself was great. There was no problem getting the RMA authorization itself, and it's good for 30 days. This is good because of my two-week trip, as stated above. Now, even though I had registered the computer online the day before and it showed on the MSI website as being registered, the tech couldn't find my registration info. Registration is mandatory in order to be given tech support. I had to do the whole registration again verbally over the phone, quite a painful process compared to just typing the in.

What really pis ses me off about this situation is that MSI scre wed up and put out a defective refurbished computer, and I HAVE TO PAY THE SHIPPING to return it. I have to send this 8.4-pound monstrosity to their RMA centre in Markham, Ontario. I'm not Newegg, so I don't get bulk discounts or whatever on shipping. This is going to cost me a fortune. This refurb "bargain" is looking worse and worse by the minute.

I might just take the computer apart myself to see whether I can find and fix anything obviously wrong. I'll have to check how far I'm allowed to take it apart without voidiing my warranty. Maybe it's just a poorly-seated connector and I can save myself a lot of time, money and aggravation.

One last thing or two that just screams sloppiness. There was a yellow sheet inside the box with some pertinent info. It said I had 180 days of warranty instead of 1 year, due to it being a refurb. Fine. It said nothing of the 3-month warranty extension I could receive by registering my computer. (And the MSI website says nothing of a shortened warranty for refurbs. It says that my registerd computer has a standard warranty plus three months. Sloppy again, but I won't argue if I happen to get about 180 days more support for free thanks to their screwup.) The yellow sheet also had a totally-wrong address for the Markham RMA centre. I asked the Tech Support person why the RMA address he gave me didn't match the RMA address on the yellow sheet, and he had no idea. But he's 100% sure that his address is correct. We'll see...
Other Thoughts: This computer is HEAVY and BIG, and it won't fit into many laptop cases. I have a case that fits my 17.3" Toshiba Satellite no problem, but there's no way it'll fit this one. I have a backpack-style laptop case, and it barely fits into that with a moderate application of force. Despite the hugeness, it does qualify as a carry-on item ("personal item") on airplaines. The dimensions work out, no problem.

The power supply is also huge and heavy. I'm not complaining -- it makes sense given how much power this computer can probably suck back. But it just is.

Comes with its own prophylactic. More specifically, there's a cloth cover that the laptop can be placed into nice and snugly. It's a really nice touch, and helps to keep the computer from being scratched up during travel or while inserting/removing it from the laptop case.

I'd probably have given this computer 4 stars on its own. I hate the keyboard layout that much. But the defect, the cost to me for the RMA, and the yellow sheet with missing/inaccurate information easily knock it down to 3.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2017 11:24:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL502VM-DS74 15.6" Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7700HQ (2.80 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 16 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Thin, Light and Strong
Pros: Has a matted screen
Plays every game at 60+ frames on ultra
Overclocked the monitor to 67hz
Very easy laptop to repaste GPU and CPU
G-sync
Cons: Replaced all drives with one big SSD, still makes clicking sound (very annoying)
Keyboard is a little weird (but still perfectly fine)
Track pad works but sucks cause buttons are part of the touchpad, not separate
Other Thoughts: I bought the laptop cause its affordable, has G-sync and its thin and light.
The night It arrived I swapped out the small m.2 drive and HDD to one 2tb SSD and repasted the GPU and CPU but it still makes a clicking digital sound, like the sound you get from old 90's computers, I'm going to get new ram and see if that fixes it - it is very annoying.

Love this thing though, does everything I want it to and more, have played every game I own maxed out and is super thin and light.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2017 5:32:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire E5-575G-562T 15.6" Intel Core i5 7th Gen 7200U (2.50 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 8 GB DDR4 Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gaming Bargain!
Pros: Compare this Acer to the older model (just type 9SIA0AJ5708162 into the Newegg search bar). The two models are very similar, but this new one has the latest generation Core i5 7200U compared to last year's 6200U on the older model. Then compare the price!
Cons: The matte finish anti-glare screen (Acer calls it "Comfy-view" - haha) is fine until you view it from off-center. The picture rapidly fades out when viewed from above, below, or off to the side.. This is the price you pay for anti-glare.

Hard to complain about anything else at this price.
Other Thoughts: I reviewed the earlier model (mentioned above) a few months ago. It has an incredible balance of features for gaming, video/photo editing, and productivity work. Can confirm it's still working great with good gaming performance, good sound (for a laptop), cool running with little fan noise, and long battery life (we regularly get 8 to 10 hours of use on a full charge).
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,4/24/2017 10:36:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GL62M 7RD-058 15.6" Intel Core i5 7th Gen 7300HQ (2.50 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 8 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop -- "ONLY @ NEWEGG"

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good laptop for the price
Pros: Runs modern games at acceptable framerates (anywhere from 50 - 100 is my usual range)
Easy setup
Quiet
Doesn't get too hot
Cons: The left click seems to not work a third of the time. I have no idea why, the drivers are even updated but sometimes, left clicking will not do anything, even tapping the touch pad as an alternative will also have the same issue occasionally. Can be highly frustrating at times, although I normally use a mouse so it can be ignored most of the time.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what the screen problem others have had is, but to be fair, I'm not an expert on computers by any means. It's fine for me, but take that worth a grain of salt.
Reviewed By:Ryan M.,4/23/2017 10:54:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Aero 14Wv7-BK4 14.0" 3K/QHD IPS Quad Core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (2.80 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 512 GB M.2 SATA SSD 16 GB Memory Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Gaming Laptop Battery Capacity up to 10 hours (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lots of power in a small package
Pros: - Lightweight, and with only a 14" display, it's not cumbersome to use on the go.
- GTX 1060 can play most modern games smoothly at 1080p on high settings, and medium settings at the native 2560x1440 resolution
- New Kaby Lake processor with 16 GB of RAM makes for a very responsive system. I'm mainly using this system for software development and gaming, and I haven't had any issues doing either
- Battery is pretty good. For lightweight activities like web browsing and text editing I was getting between 6-8 hours out of it. Gaming would yield 2-3 hours or less if playing something more graphically intensive
- Plenty of USB ports. No ethernet port, but a usb 3.0 to ethernet adapter is included, so it wasn't an issue.
- Keyboard was nothing special. Pleasant enough to type on though. Don't think I'll be using the extra macro keys, but its good to know they're there if I need them
- Not a lot of extra bloatware included. I was able to quickly uninstall the few things I wasn't interested in using. Included driver update utility was pretty nifty
Cons: - The trackpad isn't the best. No discrete mouse buttons, so if you aren't careful while clicking you'll likely move the cursor while doing so.
- Only one mSata port, and its being used by the included 512 GB SSD
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend this if you're looking for an easy to handle laptop with a great battery life. If you're looking for a good all-rounder that's also decent for gaming, this is a great pick. Just keep the limitations for storage solutions in mind.
Reviewed By:Scott M.,4/23/2017 6:54:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.