Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good for a door stop
Pros: The case is nice to work with. It becomes especially easy when you take it apart as many times as I had to.
Cons: The system started fine when first assembled. After running for 3 days while I installed software I shut if off to move it to it's permanent home. It would not re-start. Power supply appeared dead. I returned it to MSI for repair. I got it back about a month later. It started up fine and ran for about 2 months at which time I thought I should install a UPS. After shutting it off to plug it into the UPS, once again, nothing from the power supply. Another RMA and back to MSI for another month.
When I received it back again I powered it up with no problems, shut it off, and (surprise!) it was dead again. At roughly $50 in postage each time I returned it I decided to send it to a local repair shop to see if I was doing something wrong. He diagnosed a faulty motherboard so now it is sitting, disassembled, in a box under the stairs. I may be able to salvage the liquid cooling system to use in the new system I will build myself.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this to anyone.
I will never touch anything made by MSI in the future.
Reviewed By:Darcy V.,2/16/2017 9:40:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Trident-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 65W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 MSI GTX1060 6GB VGA included Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little machine
Pros: Bought this in a combo pack from Newegg with an i5 6600k, 16 gb gskill ddr4 ram @2800, and a crucial 275gb M.2 SSD for 864.99. I think anyone interest in the Trident should look at that combo because you're going to get way more value than you would from those $1,800 builds I see on the site.

Doesn't run as hot as expected, CPU has never gone above 75c and idles around 30c. GPU has been very low as well.

Very Quiet

Light and Portable

Scored 10432 on 3D Mark firestrike
Cons: At time of purchase, MSI had no disassembly guide online and I had to contact them for it. In case you can't find it also.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzmwA3ZUF9stWndRaEpSVVI5Njg

Can't overclock on this MOBO so 6600k is stuck at stock and 2800 RAM runs at 2133.

Running a bluetooth controller and speaker at the same to caused issues. This is perhaps not the Trident's fault though
Other Thoughts: This is a great little PC. If you want portability and Desktop performance, this is the way to go. The disassembly instructions show that you can swap out the GPU for any low profile GPU, so you aren't stuck with a 1060 forever.
Reviewed By:Cody J.,12/30/2016 10:22:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Trident-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 65W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 MSI GTX1060 6GB VGA included Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tiny,Fast, And Super Quiet
Pros: Tiny Form factor. half Size 1060
Cons: not very expandable, 1 HDMI
Other Thoughts: Newegg stats are wrong, does not come with a 3.5" bay but rather a m.2 slot in addition to the 2.5 slot
Reviewed By:Sebastian W.,12/25/2016 7:08:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Decent Product, Inaccurate Advertising. HORRIBLE customer service
Pros: -Looks awesome
-Easy to use (mostly)
Cons: -Pain in the rear to seat graphics card
Other Thoughts: First of all... Since it doesn't specify anywhere, this barebones kit has a LGA1151 socket.

Also, despite what is advertised, you CAN NOT overclock a CPU with this kit! It has a button on the front that one customer services rep told me was a "one push OC" button where it automatically overclocks your CPU. When I told him this wasn't the case, he told me my CPU couldn't be overclocked. When I told him it could and it has before, he told me that the button was not an OC button after all, and in fact just a "logo that you can light up by pushing". Yeah... Right.

Also, there is no OC option in the BIOS. So if that button doesn't overclock, you are plumb out of luck on OC-ing your processor!

One final thing to note. It doesn't come with enough extra M2x4 screws. When installing my hard drives, I kept having to steal screws from the side panels and other places. No biggy, just be sure to buy a few extra screws when you get the case.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,12/20/2016 3:41:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BNi7HG4-950 (rev. 1.0) Intel Core i7-6700HQ, 2.6GHz / 3.50GHz Intel HM170 NVIDIA GeForce GTX950 Supports NVIDIA Discrete Technology (featuring Quad displays: mini DP x 3, HDMI x 1 Output) 1 x HDMI Ultra Compact PC kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: NA
Cons: The kit comes with a power supply unit in 2 parts. One is the power unit (in 100 -240V) which is connect to the PC. The other part is the cord connects the power unit to electrical outlet. This cord is for countries with 240V electrical outlet. I put in a support request through Gigabyte site on 2016-12-13 and a reply on 2016-12-15 insisting the plug is the right one.

These are definitely quality control and customer support issues.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 139469 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.

GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/16/2016 6:15:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASUS > ASUS V3-P5G33 Intel Core 2 Quad / Core 2 Duo / P4 / Celeron 400 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G33 Intel GMA 3100 Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great case
Pros: all ASUS all good, Air management actually works VERY well
Cons: nada
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/9/2016 4:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SX79R5 Intel Core i7 (LGA2011) Intel Socket LGA2011 Intel X79 none Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Had issue
Pros: Nice and Small, low noise, Clean assembly and wiring
Cons: At release the bios had issue and also had update issue, however newer version are now working fine
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/26/2016 1:21:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Had high hopes but the power supply fan is faulty and MSI is impossible to get on the phone.
Pros: -Looks Nice
-Small Form Factor
Cons: -MSI Customer Support is Horrible, I will never buy another MSI product again.
-Power Supply fan fails on day 2
-System runs extremely hot
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this bare bones to anyone looking for a serious gaming rig. Proprietary parts are ok, but NOT with MSI's lack of customer service.
Reviewed By:Ryan A.,11/26/2016 1:00:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BNi7HG4-950 (rev. 1.0) Intel Core i7-6700HQ, 2.6GHz / 3.50GHz Intel HM170 NVIDIA GeForce GTX950 Supports NVIDIA Discrete Technology (featuring Quad displays: mini DP x 3, HDMI x 1 Output) 1 x HDMI Ultra Compact PC kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product....View Gigabyte Youtube video before attempting to set up
Pros: Great specs for the form factor. Fast quad core i7. Has decent graphics for a little PC. I am running a Samsung Evo 850 m.2 256 GB SSD as well as a Samsung 2.5in 500 GB SSD I purchased last year from NewEgg. Everything runs wonderfully.
Cons: It comes with a driver disk but as the unit doesn't have a CD/DVD drive you will either have to have a portable one or you will have to transfer the drivers to a USB drive. Would have been a lot easier if they had just included USB drive. Once that fiasco was settled and everything was installed and updated on Windows 10 Pro. I ran Handbrake converting a 5 GB movie to MP4 format to see what this little baby could do and that's when I heard the fan go crazy as I think Handbrake really taxed the CPU's. It was pretty damm loud. Sounded like a jet engine. Just be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see Gigabyte maybe widen and lower the chassis while adding a lower speed high efficiency quieter fan.
However I have had no problems once everything was set up and its running like a champ. I really like the form factor and it boots extremely fast compared to my old desktop gaming system. There's room for expansion of storage space as it will accept up to 2 2.5 inch HDDs or SSDs. There is also room to add another m.2 SSD and raid them. All is all I totally would recommend this little PC.
Reviewed By:Jon N.,11/15/2016 11:11:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BNi7HG4-950 (rev. 1.0) Intel Core i7-6700HQ, 2.6GHz / 3.50GHz Intel HM170 NVIDIA GeForce GTX950 Supports NVIDIA Discrete Technology (featuring Quad displays: mini DP x 3, HDMI x 1 Output) 1 x HDMI Ultra Compact PC kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall great system
Pros: - Traditional ATX desktop grade hardware in a small form factor. I was hesitant to build yet another monster atx setup and avoiding itx builds due to component compatibility/cooling concerns. I was hunting for a powerful yet compact setup that will give me plenty of power for daily application usage (software dev) and just enough graphics for modern gaming.
- Very easy to split the case apart to install your own hdd/ssd and ram (obviously not included in kit)
Cons: - The port placements for peripherals is very odd. USB/Power/Ethernet/Wifi/3.5mm audio are located on a flattened edge along with the power button on what I assume is the "back" of the tower. However all display ports are located on the "side" of the tower making placement on a desk awkward as your hdmi/display port cables will be protruding from the "side" of the case. Not very friendly for hiding those ugly cables out-of-sight. Just a small nitpick but I would think they could place all the ports on one backpanel together on one of the flat sides.
- (anecdotal) Linux graphics performance is extremely poor (tested under Ubuntu 16.10) with official Nvidia drivers. This could be related to Nvidia and the GTX 950 specifically as Linux support is generally spotty. Just FYI for anyone hoping to game under Linux be prepared for needless hacks/fixes and google searching with potentially no resolution in sight. I ended up switching back to Windows 10 with official Nvidia drivers and the system performs how I would expect.
Other Thoughts: - I really wish Gigabyte would indicate if this system has the potential for future graphics upgrades. When installing my ssd/ram the discrete graphics card is on a custom pcb board that can be fully disconnected and removed from the chassis to reach expansion slots for additional hardware. This is a indication to me that potential GPU upgrades are possible in the future and It would be nice to know if my investment could be stretched into the future with paid GPU upgrades.
- I really wish Gigabyte could invest some time testing their hardware setup with popular Linux (aka Ubuntu) to ensure users have a smooth experience. Although Nvidia graphics drivers are not a direct issue of Gigabyte, by making a Nvidia GPU the only choice in this system ensures that Linux compatibility is going to be rocky (get your stuff together Nvidia!!). Having a AMD graphics option would help solve this issue.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/11/2016 4:58:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.