Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Trident-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 65W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 MSI GTX1060 6GB VGA included Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome machine and great service from Newegg
Pros: Machine runs new games briliantly (bought it for Mass Effect Andromeda)
Nice portability and size, silent and the look of it is awesome
Cons: - Missing screws for HDD and M.2 Sata SSD
- Even though MSI stated on their site that the Motherboard supports Intel Gen 7 processors after BIOS update, it didn't (Maybe in the future but not as of today). Had to resend the CPU for a 6th gen (which Newegg did without any issues) and works flawlessly
Other Thoughts: 1060 w/ 6Gb of VRam is plenty enough. Would recommend to anyone !
Reviewed By:Guillaume L.,4/2/2017 10:55:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this machine!
Pros: Small, quiet, and powerful. I put on a 6700k, msi gtx 1080, 32gb ram, an Ssd and a 1tb hard drive, and this thing is a beast. Runs FAST, QUIET, and very smooth.
Cons: The only con I have is that I'm not sure if the water cooler works up to par. My idle temps are about 40, and at gaming it runs about 68-70 degrees. That's a little high to me, but not terrible. Other than that concern, I love this thing, I just wish MSI offered replacement parts just in case something ever fails, like motherboard, PSU, water cooler.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/16/2017 12:03:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome product not for the Novice installer
Pros: Fast, Compact, elegantly designed
Cons: No Support for 7th Gen Processors (Yet) Graphics card a bit hard to seat, could use a better port labeling
Other Thoughts: All in all it's everything you would want in a Barebones VR ready system, if you are not a veteran of PC building do not buy or have a A+ tech build it for you.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey M.,3/10/2017 4:55:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Trident-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 65W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 MSI GTX1060 6GB VGA included Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Runs great but there were annoyances and an RMA
Pros: I needed to replace my laptop and I realized that I never use anything on the it other than it's computing capability. I never used the keyboard or track pad nor looked at the screen. I decided to see if I could build a portable desktop PC instead of buying a new laptop. As a software developer with an occasional need to load CAD models, the PC needed to have a GPU. A GTX 1060 is overkill for sure, but everything else about the Trident matched my requirements. Once I did get everything installed, the Trident fired up and after over a month of use, I've had no problems with it all. It's very portable (fits into a backpack nicely) and very quiet. I'm running dual monitors and the system is very responsive. The LED on the top corner is pretty cool, if that's your sort of thing and you can change the color and even give it some effects like fading in and out. Assembly was painless, just remember to keep track of the screws and where they went. Overall build quality is pretty solid.

The box can lay flat or upright using the included stand. The stand is pretty sturdy and the PC will not fall over if you bump your desk. Also, when laying it flat I noticed that dust or small debris could easily fall into the GPU fan, so I recommend using this PC in the upright position.

Newegg was very efficient in the RMA department. Everything on their end went smoothly.

If not for the cons, this would be a 4 or 5 egg review.
Cons: Upon disassembly, I noticed a few things:

1) There were no screws to hold neither a M.2 nor 2.5" SSD.
2) There were remnants of thermal paste on the contact surface of the heat sink.
3) The thermal paste that MSI provided was in a cellophane package that I would have to cut the corner off in order to squeeze out the paste, I think. I was disappointed that it wasn't in a tube, like the service manual shows in the illustrations. I didn't even try with this and bought a tube of thermal paste to use.

These issues led me to believe that this was not a new Trident but a repackaged one. Plus I have to say I was pretty appalled seeing thermal paste on the heat sink. I bought this as a new item and this is what I get? I RMA'd the Trident and after waiting 2 weeks, I received the replacement and it had the exact same things wrong with it! I didn't feel like going through the RMA process yet again. So, I was able to clean off the heat sink with alcohol but I could not find a screw to hold my M.2 SSD. I ended up having to order a second SSD, this time a 2.5" form factor. Thankfully I had some screws left over from my desktop case (at least the 2.5" drive screws are standard). This little box runs great, I just wish it didn't come across as a low effort repackage job.

One more thing, the drivers for this PC can be difficult to find. At the time I was building this, the support tab from the Trident product page on MSI's site did not give any links to download the drivers. I think I had to Google "MSI Trident drivers" in order to get them.
Other Thoughts: I outfitted this box with an Intel i7-6700 CPU, 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4-2133 RAM and a Samsung 500GB 850 EVO SSD.

With the annoyances and let downs, I really want to give this PC 2.5 eggs, but I guess I'll round up.
Reviewed By:Randall S.,3/7/2017 2:34:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good for a door stop
Pros: The case is nice to work with. It becomes especially easy when you take it apart as many times as I had to.
Cons: The system started fine when first assembled. After running for 3 days while I installed software I shut if off to move it to it's permanent home. It would not re-start. Power supply appeared dead. I returned it to MSI for repair. I got it back about a month later. It started up fine and ran for about 2 months at which time I thought I should install a UPS. After shutting it off to plug it into the UPS, once again, nothing from the power supply. Another RMA and back to MSI for another month.
When I received it back again I powered it up with no problems, shut it off, and (surprise!) it was dead again. At roughly $50 in postage each time I returned it I decided to send it to a local repair shop to see if I was doing something wrong. He diagnosed a faulty motherboard so now it is sitting, disassembled, in a box under the stairs. I may be able to salvage the liquid cooling system to use in the new system I will build myself.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this to anyone.
I will never touch anything made by MSI in the future.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Darcy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the MSI product. We certainly value your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenient experience. If possible, please provide us with your RMA number so we can better assist in help finding a solution ( Emai to usreview@msi.com) . If you need further assistant, please feel free to contact our technical support department directly at 626.271.1004 from M to F, 9am to 6pm Pacific standard Time. Case number

Thank you for choosing MSI!

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | JT02222017001 usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Darcy V.,2/16/2017 9:40:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Trident-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 65W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 MSI GTX1060 6GB VGA included Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little machine
Pros: Bought this in a combo pack from Newegg with an i5 6600k, 16 gb gskill ddr4 ram @2800, and a crucial 275gb M.2 SSD for 864.99. I think anyone interest in the Trident should look at that combo because you're going to get way more value than you would from those $1,800 builds I see on the site.

Doesn't run as hot as expected, CPU has never gone above 75c and idles around 30c. GPU has been very low as well.

Very Quiet

Light and Portable

Scored 10432 on 3D Mark firestrike
Cons: At time of purchase, MSI had no disassembly guide online and I had to contact them for it. In case you can't find it also.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzmwA3ZUF9stWndRaEpSVVI5Njg

Can't overclock on this MOBO so 6600k is stuck at stock and 2800 RAM runs at 2133.

Running a bluetooth controller and speaker at the same to caused issues. This is perhaps not the Trident's fault though
Other Thoughts: This is a great little PC. If you want portability and Desktop performance, this is the way to go. The disassembly instructions show that you can swap out the GPU for any low profile GPU, so you aren't stuck with a 1060 forever.
Reviewed By:Cody J.,12/30/2016 10:22:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Trident-001BUS Intel 6th Gen. Core i7 / i5 / i3 / Pentiuml / Celeron (Max. TDP: 65W) Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 MSI GTX1060 6GB VGA included Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tiny,Fast, And Super Quiet
Pros: Tiny Form factor. half Size 1060
Cons: not very expandable, 1 HDMI
Other Thoughts: Newegg stats are wrong, does not come with a 3.5" bay but rather a m.2 slot in addition to the 2.5 slot
Reviewed By:Sebastian W.,12/25/2016 7:08:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > MSI > MSI Aegis X-001BUS Supports Intel 6th Gen CPU (including K series processors) Intel Z170 Supports up to a two-slot design of graphics card up to a NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 (not Included) 1 x HDMI Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Decent Product, Inaccurate Advertising. HORRIBLE customer service
Pros: -Looks awesome
-Easy to use (mostly)
Cons: -Pain in the rear to seat graphics card
Other Thoughts: First of all... Since it doesn't specify anywhere, this barebones kit has a LGA1151 socket.

Also, despite what is advertised, you CAN NOT overclock a CPU with this kit! It has a button on the front that one customer services rep told me was a "one push OC" button where it automatically overclocks your CPU. When I told him this wasn't the case, he told me my CPU couldn't be overclocked. When I told him it could and it has before, he told me that the button was not an OC button after all, and in fact just a "logo that you can light up by pushing". Yeah... Right.

Also, there is no OC option in the BIOS. So if that button doesn't overclock, you are plumb out of luck on OC-ing your processor!

One final thing to note. It doesn't come with enough extra M2x4 screws. When installing my hard drives, I kept having to steal screws from the side panels and other places. No biggy, just be sure to buy a few extra screws when you get the case.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,12/20/2016 3:41:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BNi7HG4-950 (rev. 1.0) Intel Core i7-6700HQ, 2.6GHz / 3.50GHz Intel HM170 NVIDIA GeForce GTX950 Supports NVIDIA Discrete Technology (featuring Quad displays: mini DP x 3, HDMI x 1 Output) 1 x HDMI Ultra Compact PC kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: NA
Cons: The kit comes with a power supply unit in 2 parts. One is the power unit (in 100 -240V) which is connect to the PC. The other part is the cord connects the power unit to electrical outlet. This cord is for countries with 240V electrical outlet. I put in a support request through Gigabyte site on 2016-12-13 and a reply on 2016-12-15 insisting the plug is the right one.

These are definitely quality control and customer support issues.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your difficulty with your GIGABYTE product. Please contact us at newegg-support@gigabyteusa.com with the case number 139469 in the e-mail subject line. We will provide personalized service and analysis to help solve your issue ASAP. If the matter is urgent, please send us your contact number, and we will contact you.

GIGABYTE VIP Support Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/16/2016 6:15:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Barebone PCs > ASUS > ASUS V3-P5G33 Intel Core 2 Quad / Core 2 Duo / P4 / Celeron 400 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G33 Intel GMA 3100 Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great case
Pros: all ASUS all good, Air management actually works VERY well
Cons: nada
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/9/2016 4:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.