Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS300-E7/PS4 Pedestal Server Barebone LGA 1155 Intel C204 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay Away!!! DO NOT BUY!!!!
Pros: None, stay away from this!!!!!
Cons: I ordered this back in Nov and it was DOA, 4 beeps at start-up hardware failure! Newegg would not return it because it is under warranty, so I had to pay to ship it to an ASUS service center. They returned it 2 weeks later and it had the exact same problem, no service work had been completed!! Called ASUS and the said that they would send me a new one, and I could send the old one back. It is going on 7 weeks now and I am still without a working server, replacement has not been shipped!! ASUS customer service sucks and is completely worthless. Stay away from this at all cost!!
Reviewed By:Thomas S.,1/16/2017 4:25:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS TS700-E8-RS8 5U/Tower Server Barebone 2 x Socket R3 (LGA 2011-3) Intel C612 PCH DDR4 2400 / 2133 / 1866 / 1600 RDIMM DDR4 2400 / 2133 / 1866 / 1600 LRDIMM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hit or miss dual Broadwell support - terrible customer service
Pros: Solid construction.
Uses a good motherboard (if it worked)
Cons: STAY AWAY IF YOU PLAN TO USE FOR DUAL BROADWELL (Xeon V4).

For almost 20 years. I've always had great experiences with Asus products and (thankfully) have never had to engage with their customer service department before. I was replacing a Sandy Bridge server running an Asus motherboard that has almost been on for 5 years full-time, so when it was time for a new, dual Xeon v4 server, it was either go with a poweredge, supermicro, or do a build with an Asus barebones, I went with Asus. That was a mistake.

System works with one Xeon v4, but will not POST with the second. The chips on their own both work fine. I later find out after doing research that the motherboard in this barebone (Asus Z10PE-WS D16) will not work with dual broadwells if the boards were made before Nov 2015. Mine was made March 2015. (Asus's site of the barebones and motherboard make no mention of this revision issue, but you can find it home-built server forums if you google the issue.)

Have been trying for over a week to get Asus to acknowledge the issue and send a new one with the appropriate revision of the board for the dual V4's, but customer support has given me the run-around. Every engagement with support is like the movie Groundhog's day, even though I have a case number, I need to explain from the beginning. I keep getting told the case will be escalated to engineering, but when I call back, there is no record of that. Yesterday, someone told me that the replacement servers are not in stock and they have no idea when / if they will.

Next time, I'll go Dell or Supermicro. Asus "server" support is terrible and no one will help me.
Other Thoughts: At least now, I have a nice $700 paperweight thanks to the useless second Xeon processor I have.

Shame on you, Asus support, for not acknowledging the problem or making this right.
Reviewed By:JAMES V.,12/20/2016 7:18:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5017P-TF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone BGA-1023 Intel QM77 DDR3 1333/1066/800

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Needs ECC memory otherwise it wont boot
Pros: Great Unit
Cons: You dont expect it to use ECC memory so it might be confusing for the first time. But think of it as a real server; it needs ECC memeory
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/19/2016 1:46:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MLTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great For Small Office
Pros: Small, Quiet, Powerful, Normal DIMM Expandable RAM
Cons: None so far...
Other Thoughts: Bought this opened box. Purchased for a client who was using a desktop PC as their server that was about to fail. Installed Windows Server 2012 and setup a real domain. Used as Domain Controller and File Server. Was able to transfer all data very quickly. Very responsive little server. Used 2x Kingston RAM 4GB 1600MHz ECC DDR3 KTL-TS316ELV/4G
Reviewed By:Edwin E.,12/18/2016 12:59:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > Supermicro SYS-5028D-TN4T Mini Tower Server wtih X10SDV-TLN4F Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small package that is just overflowing with power!
Pros: This is an amazing server if you are looking for something powerful that sips wattage at the wall. It also has 4 hot swap bays for 3.5" drives, 2 internal bays for 2.5" drives and the ability to put in an M.2 SATA SSD. Talk about features in tiny package!

It is also fully supported in ESXi, making it a perfect virtualization server.
Cons: My only complaint is that this board has 10GBase-T instead of SFP+. SFP+ is just far more ubiquitous and cheaper to deal with than RJ45 based 10 GbE.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/12/2016 11:15:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > Asus RS100-E9-PI2 Barebone System - 1U Rack-mountable - Intel C232 Chipset - Socket H4 LGA-1151 - 1 x Processor Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not working!
Pros: Looks. Small. Somewhat quiet.
Cons: - Will not stay up longer than 48h. Independently of the operating system installed, it always freezes.
- Hard to reach customer support (call dropping from cell AND landline), not offering much help other than "please ship it to us for evaluation"... a brand new unit?! I don't think so, it's going back.
Other Thoughts: - There is a slight chance it could actually be the processor that is causing the issue, I do not have a second one to try...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/4/2016 7:24:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5038A-IL Mid-Tower Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C226 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it!
Pros: 2TB Raid 5 Works Flawless in small medical office environment.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/2/2016 9:16:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > ASUS > ASUS RS500-E8-PS4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone 2 x Socket R3 (LGA 2011-3) Intel C612 PCH DDR4 2133 / 1866 / 1600 / 1333 RDIMM DDR4 2133 / 1866 / 1600 / 1333 LRDIMM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Straightforward to set up and use.
Pros: -Well built.
-Very standard.
Cons: -Longer than most racks will fit for a hobbyist setup.
Other Thoughts: I'm pleased with it. Does a good job as my NAS/email/devel server.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/28/2016 12:41:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-7048R-TR 4U Rackmount Server Barebone Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612 DDR4 2133/1866/1600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid Server, 5.25 Bays are irritating
Pros: Everything is as you'd expect. Lot's of expand-ability for the money. Nice that it takes gen 4 Xeons.
Cons: The 5.25" bay is a pain. The 'Control Panel (power/reset, leds usb)' is inside of the 5.25" 'Storage Module (carrier)' (top slot). You must remove the entire module from the front to add a DVD-ROM drive. This wouldn't be an issue except the cables that go to the control panel are way too short. You can't get the 5.25" 'Storage Module' out. You have to disconnect the control panel, and even with the fans out, it's really difficult to reconnect everything. since the control panel is recessed. Longer cables would fix the issue, or some kind of quick disconnect in the middle of the cables. This is the only reason I docked an egg.

It's nice that it can be rotated for a pedestal or rack mount configuration.
Other Thoughts: If you want 2.5" SSD drives, you need different carriers. I called supermicro and got the wrong part number initially. This is what you need: MCP-220-00080-0B. I've got 2 of these with customers running proxmox (Jessie with SW Raid, then Proxmox manually installed). Everything stays nice and cool. It would be nice if there was better support for lm-sensors. I did not try non-standard repo packages though.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:James R.,11/17/2016 9:49:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Barebones > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SYS-5018A-MLTN4 1U Rackmount Server Barebone (Black) FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for SMB router/gateway
Pros: It's power-efficient and more than powerful enough for a small- to medium-sized business router/firewall appliance. Could also make a great low-powered VM node for things that don't need a lot of CPU. Dedicated IPMI network port means you don't need a direct KVM connection nor will you chew up a regular network port for system management duties. The 4x onboard Intel-based NIC ports are nice for router/firewall duty. Those same NIC ports can be trunked/aggregated for VM duty, as well.
Cons: No redundant power supply option - prefer this for mains-only and mains+UPS+Generator legs (also makes moving from one circuit to another a much easier task). Fixed drive bays make changing out failed disks more difficult than it needs to be. There's a PCIe 8x slot, but you'd need to find the right riser kit for it (it's not included with the server). Similarly, rack-mounting rails are not included and need to be purchased separately (though, to be fair, the server is VERY light and can probably survive hanging from the rack ears alone, if needed).
Other Thoughts: I'm using this to run Untangle at home since about June 2016 (now November 2016). All I needed to add was a disk (1TB SATA) and some RAM (4x 4GB DDR3). Installation was done via virtual mounted ISO on the IPMI port (I pre-configured IPMI in the BIOS via a real KVM - all of about 5 minutes work). So far, after installation and configuration, the CPU has never peaked at more than about 10%. It's been running basically non-stop the entire time and has never locked up or otherwise crashed on me.

The server comes with 2x 3.5" drive brackets and enough cabling to connect 2x SATA disks. If you want to mount 2.5" disks, you'll need to order different brackets: MCP-220-00051-0N is for the single 2.5" mounting (replaces one of the 3.5" brackets) and MCP-220-00044-0N is for a double-2.5" mounting (again, replaces one of the 3.5" brackets). You'll also need to make sure to get additional SATA cabling if you plan to install more then 2 disks.

Overall, I'm very pleased with it.
Reviewed By:Todd L.,11/9/2016 3:05:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.