Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > Hitachi GST Deskstar 0S03230 3TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 TB!
Pros: Large capacity drive at a reasonable price.

I haven't examined performance at all. If I cared, I wouldn't have bought the drive.

**Update 2017-02-24: The drive is still going strong after nearly 6 years in a computer that has been powered on nearly 100% of the time. No SMART errors or negative thing to say about it really. Performance isn't great, but it still works like a champ (knock on wood!)
Cons: Drives larger than 2TB present some new challenges, though this isn't any fault of Hitachi's.


*** Note for those with NVIDIA-based Mainboards ***

I've noticed from the comments that there may be some other folks with NVIDIA-based mainboards that have run into a brick wall with this drive, as the latest NVIDIA nForce SATA drivers still do not support drives this large, and will detect the drive as 750GB.

If you use the generic Windows driver instead, the drive will be detected at its full size.

See Other thouhts for the work around I used on Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit running on an EVGA 780i SLI mainboard.
Other Thoughts: Installing on Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit running on an EVGA 780i SLI mainboard, the drive only shows up as 750GB. Even the latest nForce SATA drivers still do not support drives this large.

The workaround I used was to revert to the generic windows driver for the SATA controller the Hitachi is connected to:

- Control Panel
- Device Manager
- IDE ATA/ATAPI-Controller
- Right-click on NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
- Properties
- Make sure this is the one with your >2T drive. See connection 0 & 1 tabs.
- Cancel
- Right-click again on nForce SATA devices
- Click on update driver software
- Search for driver software on the computer
- Select from a list of device drivers on the computer.
- Select Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE controller
- Next...
- Reboot.

Upon reboot, your drives on that controller should be re-discovered, all 3TB. Make sure you partition as GPT.
Reviewed By:Steven B.,2/24/2017 4:08:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD10EZEX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice quiet HDD
Pros: 1TB
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 7:08:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA P300 HDWD130XZSTA 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Desktop Internal Hard Drive Retail Packaging

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Price. Huge. Very smooth/doesn't vibrate.
Cons: Read arm makes some noise (coffee percolating type sound) but that's expected and it doesn't bother me at all.
Other Thoughts: I also have a WD blue 3.5'' drive in my build and this one is better in every way.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 6:18:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's ok
Pros: - price
- 64 Mb cache and 7200 rpm
Cons: -
Other Thoughts: After a month of usage no problems still now.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/23/2017 7:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital AV-GP WD10EURX 1TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Manufacture Recertified Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product. easy to setup
Pros: works
Cons: hard to get out of package
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/23/2017 6:53:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate BarraCuda ST3000DM008 3TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fine drive for added storage speed!
Pros: • 3TB capacity for a good price to GB ratio.
• Warranty 2 Years.
• Passed my testing with flying colors.
• Quiet drive.
• Fast for a large drive @7200rpm (see caution under cons).
• Temps not stressful (even under load for a good while).
• A Sample test result is attached under this:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.3 x64 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 187.296 MB/s
Sequential Write : 173.893 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 54.304 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 84.912 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.636 MB/s [ 155.3 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.258 MB/s [ 307.2 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.679 MB/s [ 165.8 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.159 MB/s [ 283.1 IOPS]

Test : 1000 MB [F: 0.4% (11.8/2794.4 GB)] (x9)
Date : 2016/12/14 9:20:29
OS : Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
Cons: NOT a con, just a caution: I would not suggest this as a Windows OS drive, even though it is faster than most larger capacity drives. I highly suggest an SSD for OS.This one would work fine no doubt, I just feel it's worth the price to use a decent sized SSD for your Windows OS. This also helps to keep it sep from data.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the price with the extra speed if your case is vented adequately for a 7200rpm drive. Now that testing is completed, I use this as storage in a USB 3.0 external dock (open to the air- not enclosed) for large video files and backups.
Reviewed By:CHRIS T.,2/23/2017 4:18:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Video ST2000VM003 2TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not so lucky
Pros: Great price for a 2TB drive
Cons: First drive made loud scratching/grinding noises while on and would not format. Replacement drive made grinding noises and was very slow to identify files. I'm going to ask for a refund this time.
Other Thoughts: Refurbished items are always a gamble. I took a gamble on this 2013 refurbished drive, twice. It has strong reviews, but I didn't have any luck with them.
Reviewed By:Tyler A.,2/23/2017 3:16:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST31000528AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Give it 8 months
Pros: It worked for a bit
Cons: Makes a lot of noise after about 300gb full.
dies completely after about 8 months,
Other Thoughts: don't buy refurbished unless it comes with a year warranty.
don't store anything on refurbished unless you're okay with losing it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/23/2017 2:27:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD1003FZEX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed Failure o.O
Pros: - 5 year warranty* (see below)
- Works great ... just not for anywhere near as long as it should.
Cons: - WD drives suddenly seem to fail more then they used to...
- 5 year warranty isn't really very reassurin when 2 drives fail within the first 1.5 years.
- I have to pay to have a new drive sent to me ... again.
Other Thoughts: Purchased two of these for a RAID 1 setup, the first one failed within a few months, and was RMA'd. Tonight, another failure. I've yet to determine if it's the other original drive, or the NEW replacement i received via the RMA. Add the fact that these two black drives were ordered to replace 2 old black drives that had failed ... and I've had 4 failures in the last 1.5 years. In the previous 20 years of using WD drives ... I never had a drive fail. Now, 4 ... to me, that seems to show a decrease in quality. Now keep in mind, these drives are warranted for 5 years ... and 2 just failed well within the 2 year mark.

*a year later and it has since failed 3 more times. WD finally agreed to refund me the full price of both drives.
Reviewed By:Luke M.,2/23/2017 12:04:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Constellation ES ST32000644NS 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 All devices fail S.M.A.R.T. tests
Pros: Price? But comes with a death wish.
Cons: Did Seagate fire their whole QA team? A device with a failed SMART test should not leave the factory. Bad QA.
Reviewed By:NELSON A.,2/23/2017 11:51:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.