Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR C6250-100NAS AC1600 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router Up to 680 Mbps Ethernet Port

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The Best Router So Far
Pros: This device was a replacement for the Comcast provided router since I was having the worst speeds. I hate that Comcast makes you pay for the Router which sucks anyways. I have a friend whom works at Netgear and they mentioned to me that I would be able to get a free router from Netgear, so I decided to sign up for it. I was surprised to get it so fast, only took a week and a half I was expecting it to take close to a month but I was excited to see it come so soon. Not to mention it was FREE!!.
I been accustomed to having slow internet speeds through the Comcast router so I was not expecting to enjoy anything much different. To my surprise it was almost 300 times faster. I used an app called SpeedTest and the speeds were definitely faster. The device was easy to understand but there were quite a few amount of lights that were similar to any other router.
All in all the device was great and ever since I started using it my family and I have had the fastest internet I've used ever. Thanks to my friend I would of never been able to experience the speeds I did at home now.
Cons: The only thing I could really complain about from this product is the fact that at times it loses its signal and I have to wait close to ten minutes in order for my internet to come back. It doesn't always happen but it is something I've noticed almost every other day. It is also somewhat big and I would like it to be a bit less small that way I don't have a bulky device providing internet to my home without looking like a land mine, great device though.
Other Thoughts: I would purchase this device in my own if I had to chose from a bunch of other routers. It is nice and easy to install and I was looking for something similar to this to improve my interject connection. I would also love to recommend this to my friends and family because it is something that people should have, fast and reliable internet.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/9/2017 10:59:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy set up
Pros: easy setup just connect coaxial cable and plug it in and call Comcast. Wireless signal is strong with no drops so far from any part of the house including second floor although I never have more than 2 computers connected at any time. I shut mine off when not using my laptop and boot up time is fast (2 min max) and no issues so far after a week. Comcast provided modem took at least 5 -7 minutes to get internet access.
Cons: A nit pick but older models have flashing lights to let you know connections were good this is as all solid all the time of both Ethernet and wireless connections.

instructions say device is certified by Comcast and calling help to set up is not necessary. But I left it connected for 1 hr. after getting directed to the Comcast website and logging in and given the ok by the website that it was received and had no internet access either by Ethernet or wireless . I had to call and provide mac address but call "only" took 25 minuets to get everything working.
Reviewed By:robert v.,1/9/2017 7:32:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM500-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem - Certified for Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, Cox, Charter & More

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broke after 8 months
Pros: It's a modem, when it worked it was fine
Cons: Broke after 8 months of use sitting out in the open. No sign of overheating or dust.
Customer service charges shipping fees to RMA unless you want to wait 2 weeks
Cheaper to rent a modem than to this product
Other Thoughts: After dealing with their return process, I will never buy another Netgear product.
Reviewed By:Matthew G.,1/7/2017 7:25:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7310 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N300 Wireless Gigabit Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner and More

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 very slow
Pros: works somwhat
Cons: I had the Arris from Bright House and didn't want to keep paying 5$ à month and I bought this crap. the Arris on speed test. net gave me 70mbps and this Motorola is giving me 20mbps.
Other Thoughts: don't buy this junk
Reviewed By:REDA TASSI,1/6/2017 3:07:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3016 16x4 686 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Certified by All Major Cable Providers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good stability and performance (but no GUI)
Pros: Setup was simple: [a] Screw your cable companies (ISP's) Coax cable into the Modem, [b] Plug an Ethernet cable into the Modem, and your Router's Ethernet port, [c] Plug the A/C adapter into the Modem and a wall outlet, and wait for the Modem to boot up. At this point you should be able to access your ISP's "Walled Garden" web page. Enter the Modem's MAC address into the web page, and your ISP should soon activate the Modem on your account.

The Modem has maintain a stable connection with my ISP (Comcast). My ISP Upstream signal level is pretty poor (e.g. ~50 dBmV) which has caused instability is some Modems from time to time.

Good Modem Speed (I get about 120 Mbps Download and 6.3 Mbps Upload). DOCSIS 3.0 (anything less is becoming obsolete).

All Ethernet ports are Gigabit.

The Modem is rather large, but sits on end so it doesn't require much table space.
Cons:
Once the modem is activated with your ISP, there is no way to access the Modem's GUI Status web pages. With many other Modems, you can direct your web browser to the Modem's IP address (e.g. 192.168.100.1, etc.) and view the Modem's GUI. Not the case with the CM3016.

The Modem takes awhile to Boot up. When you power up the CM3016 it just sits there for a few minutes with nothing but the Power status LED on. After a few minutes the Modem illuminates (in sequence) the Upstream, Downstream, Internet, and Router status LEDs. The Upstream and Downstream status LED first turn Green, then later turn Blue (indicating "Channel Binding" has been successful with your ISP).
Other Thoughts: My greatest disappointment is the inability to view the Modem's Status GUI. If this is not an issue for you, I recommend this Modem (for it's Speed and Stability).
Reviewed By:Michael B.,1/6/2017 1:31:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3024 DOCSIS 3.0 (24 x 8) Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great modem
Pros: + 24 down 8 up up to 960 Mbps
+ Intel chip
Cons: -Size bigger then older Motorola Surfboard
-no wall mount
-no restart option on modem browser page
Other Thoughts: This modem is nice, the size is a little bigger then my older Motorola Surfboard SB6120 which only had 4 down and 4 up channels. The one thing the Motorola has on the Linksys is it has ability to be wall mounted. What I ended up doing is unscrewing the base, which looks like the base is supposed to snap on the side and be wall mountable, but that is a major fail, it just unsnaps real easy, so I managed to leave it and improvised on securing it to the wall.

Only having 50Mbps down, which is sufficient enough and the ISP already raising every year the costs, I see no need to upgrade at the moment, so this modem is quite future proof, most likely will upgrade to 150 or 300 Mbps next, but I hear they might plan to bump up the customers to 100Mbps. Currently I get 65Mbps, and with this modem I get a lot more consistent speed test results then the previous one. What is interesting is the results I get on the upload when running the internal speed test on the router, I am supposed to get about 5 Mbps up, but I get from 12-18Mbps. The interesting is that when I run it on any computer I get around 8-10Mbps.

It is nice to see all those 24 channels lock, what I notice that most tests do not show is the burst download speeds have increased a bit on average vs the older modem, and this I believe is controlled by the ISP, probably also those channels help during congestion hours. Ping has not changed, what helped with response time was a good router, when having multiple devices connected to the internet. The modems status page is quite plain and there are no features to change or mess with, what I miss is the restart option in the browser, if I am going to change the router or make other changes, I could go into the modem page and restart it and make changes to router etc… and all is fine without having to physically power off/cycle the modem.

All in all I would recommend this modem, even with the few minor cons.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/5/2017 2:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MB7420 16x4 686 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, and Other Service Providers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does what is is supposed to do and it does it quite well. My ISP has boosted my Internet to a rated 200 Mbps and I am squeezing every ounce of that out of them. I am getting smooth and consistent speed results as high as 240 Mbps depending on the time of day.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Would buy this item again. Very pleased.
Reviewed By:James K.,1/4/2017 10:22:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent - worked as if new.
Pros: Faster than old modem
Cons: does not make cheese
Reviewed By:Peter D.,1/4/2017 1:05:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C7000-100NAS Nighthawk DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Netgear C7000 100NAS Nighthawk DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router
Pros: Modem Speed - Speed Test consistently 20% above contracted speeds (Spectrum Cable), despite line issues.
802.11ac
NAS
Cons: Doesn't have phone jacks for Spectrum's phone service. If it did, it would be much more competitive with the standard issue modem Spectrum is pushing for $10/mo.
Other Thoughts: One month in service. Ping is consistently ~18ms, with better-than-advertised upstream and downstream speeds with Spectrum Cable (Time Warner Cable). While Spectrum now [apparently] only issues their "Triple Play Modem" to "Triple Play" customers, which has 2.4/5 GHz wifi and phone built in, they still charge $10/mo for its use as a cable modem. No charge if used as a phone modem only. This Netgear modem provides higher speeds, and the familiar Netgear interface. Just make sure router settings are locked down, pw is changed, and logging is enabled. Settings have hampered neighborhood crackers and logs have helped define service problems for Spectrum's tech support.
Reviewed By:William B.,1/3/2017 10:59:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working Fine
Pros: Works fine
Beats paying $10/mo to rent a modem
Cons: The third light down is orange when everything is okay, which was pretty confusing, The manual in the package doesn't describe the colors so I had to find the online version.
Reviewed By:BRANDON M.,1/3/2017 10:42:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.