Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > MANHATTAN > MANHATTAN 161053 Hi-Speed USB Flex Hub

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice shape, reasonable cord length, seems to work fine!
Pros: It has a pleasant shape, no hard edges. The cord length is good, a lot of USB hubs have dreadfully short cables, but this one is 3 feet long. Each joint rotates, so you can conveniently reposition it. The rainbow colour is attractive. Worked just fine the first time I plugged it in.
Cons: Some USB hubs have an on-off switch per-port, but this does not. I didn't need this feature, though.
Reviewed By:Bradley S.,6/20/2017 11:21:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Rosewill > Rosewill RCR-300 5.25" All In One LED Multi-Function Panel with USB 3.0 Card Readers, 4 USB 3.0 Fast Charging Ports, LED Display and Fan Control

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No so good after all!
Pros: Nice idea in theory: 4 USB 3.0 ports & a good selection of flash ram slots. Really excellent Newegg customer service & RMA policy.
Cons: I was very enthuiastic about my first purchase & then I ordered another 3. Two of these were for some of my other PCs & 1 for a customer. BIG mistake! NONE of the 3 worked properly. I ended up returning 2 under Newegg RMAs & reluctantly kept the third. I gave my customer the good one and kept a partially working one for my PC. None of the 3 had ANY working USB slots! I have a unit that can only be used for reading my 128Gig micro SD (from my Axon7 smartphone). The poor construction of one unit destroyed a very important Corsair 64Gig USB 3 thumb drive that I used to install Windows 7 in addition to containing many many other files. I tried these units in several other machines with the same result. Complete waste of time & money when the failure rate is 75% for a reasonally representive sample. Very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend buying this item until the manufacturer can CONSISTENTLY provide units that actually WORK! I have had to resort to an old Orico 4 port USB 3 extension which connects to one of my 2 rear USB 3 ports. Truely pathetic!
Manufacturer Response:Dear David,

We greatly appreciate your purchase. We apologize for any problems this hub has caused and for your dissatisfaction with our product.

We strive to provide the best quality and service to you. Please contact our support team for your warranty options if your product is still within our warranty. Thank you.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:David L.,6/19/2017 7:42:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Kensington > Kensington K33980AM (085896339809) UH7000C 7 Port USB 3.0 Hub with 20W/4Amp Charging Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works, but...
Pros: You get 7 USB ports, and a power supply, and I got it on sale here for $22 last October.
Cons: I don't know for certain if it's my machine or this device, but I was replacing a working 4 port non-powered Orico USB 3 hub I hated (terrible connectors) with this thing, and when I plugged it in, my machine wouldn't boot. Plugging it in after the machine had booted (Win 7), it worked fine.

So I tried all sorts of things, moving USB devices around, seeing if I could figure out the problem, and eventually got to the point where the machine would go through its BIOS run, then stop with a "No keyboard connected error" from the BIOS, which was only marginally better than staring at a black screen.

I had resigned myself to having to plug it in after the machine booted (quite annoying), when one morning I had forgotten to disconnect it, and the machine booted properly. The difference? I had left a USB memory stick plugged into it.

So I ran a few tests, and without the memory stick, same "no keyboard, no boot" issue. With a memory stick connected, machine booted right up.

Kind of strange, since the hub it replaced worked fine, all the drivers loaded for this, etc.

Deducted two stars because, seriously, a USB hub should not be anywhere NEAR this difficult to get going, and I shouldn't have to leave a stick connected at all times to boot the machine. If it hadn't replaced a working but badly made Orico USB 3 hub, I would have suspected the machine and given it four stars.
Other Thoughts: At the current price of $55, I would run far, far away.
Reviewed By:Robert K.,6/18/2017 9:39:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUH-300 USB 3.0 4 Port Portable Hub

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Burned out laptop USB ports---Get this
Pros: Has been working from day one no problems
All 3.0 USB plugs
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would purchase this again and I do highly recommend it. My laptop had 3 2.0 usb plugs all which don't work now and only one 3.0 usb plugs that still works. I use this when I need to plug in two or more items for transferring data or my wireless mouse.
Reviewed By:Gabrielle G.,6/15/2017 8:31:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Rosewill > Rosewill RHB-420 Aluminum Mini USB 3.0 3-PORT Hub Plus 2.5" SATA I/II/III (6.0 Gb/s) SSD/HDD Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Okay
Pros: Worked for a bit. These an LED to light up ports which didn't work at first then came on randomly. Aluminum frame is nice.
Cons: Not sure if it is the way it is made. I kept getting shocks from it when plugging devices in. A year went by before I even tried the SATA connector which I don't think would have worked. Also the power adapter got stuck and broke.
The hub also comes up as a device which has detection issues. Also adds another layer to get through from Devices like the PlayStation 4.
Reviewed By:Nicholas W.,6/14/2017 4:30:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > TP-Link > TP-LINK UH720 USB 3.0 7-Port Hub with 2 Exclusive Smart Charging Ports Optimally Charge Your iOS (iPad/iPhone) and Android (Tablet/Phone), Supports Windows, Mac OS X and Linux Systems

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Grossly Underpowered and Misrepresented
Pros: Seems to function adequately as a 7 port hub.
Cons: The power supply that comes with this is NO LONGER the one shown in the product description. It appears that TP-Link has cheaped out and replaced a high-power brick style power supply with a low-power wall wart that blocks 3 outlets on my surge strip. If you plug it into a wall outlet then it will tend to fall out if your outlet contacts aren't really tight since the prongs on the adapter are sideways.

I would have ordered a different product if this one had been represented honestly. I find it extremely annoying when a company (TP-Link) promises one thing and then sends another. Especially when quality is compromised.

The power supply provided is only capable of providing slightly more than 1/2 of the current required to use all of the ports simultaneously for charging devices. If you intend to use this as a stand-alone charger then you would need to buy a better power supply when using more than half the ports at once.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2017 3:22:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUH-3710 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Power Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good sale price when purchased
Pros: works just like a powered usb hub should
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: recommend for others
Reviewed By:Thomas P.,6/11/2017 6:25:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUH304 Aluminum USB 3.0 4-Port Hub

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 IOGear Hubs rule the roost.
Pros: It has a power port, even though there's no supply included (GUH304P is the one with the included supply), so if you have your own wall wart, you can use it. Also, this hub actually works, unlike the one from Toshiba that it replaced.
Cons: There are no cons with this product. It's all good :)
Other Thoughts: IOGear knows their hub game. I've had two of their GUH285 hubs in the past. Rock solid. The particular GUH304 I purchased replaces a Toshiba part that just didn't know how to USB (if you go looking for it -- don't -- it's the one that's shaped like a glass prism). I'd plug a WiFi adapter in it, and it would basically roll over and die, networking and all. I could not pull in one page... heck, I could barely connect and ping. Its replacement is tested, working, known good-and-then-some in the same setup. That'll teach me to buy anything other than IOGear hubs from now on...! Toshiba may make a mean laptop -- but their peripherals apparently are not built to nearly the same caliber. (Shame on you, Toshiba! Shame! Shame!)

A note on system configuration. My hub is plugged into a USB2 port on a Wintel CX-W8 box, a sort of device halfway between set-top-box and proper nettop in its configuration and market segment. I've actually got it all wired up (along with a small keyboard and a smaller display) as a homebrew battery-less laptop. It doesn't look so hot, but it runs like a charm ;) I've installed Xubuntu on the CX-W8 (because Win10 sucks), and, alas, I've lost the CX-W8's internal WiFi/BT card in the process, since support for it is not yet in that distro's kernel -- thus the separate adapter. (BTW -- shout out to Rosewill for their eeeeeexcellent WiFi adapters. This one is an RNX-N150UBE that I've had for multiple years with no issues at all whatsoever.)

Also, one last shout-out , this one to Marco at IOGear's technical support department. I had thought that, potentially, the Toshiba hub's problem was that it couldn't supply enough current per port to handle the WiFi card I'm using. (This remains unverified, although the teeny little barrel plug that went with it *did* get a little melted at the tip, which inclines me to think that it was perhaps a hair too small for its load.) Marco and his crew were professional, knowledgeable, and excellent in helping me find out exactly what the GUH304 could handle in those terms (one amp (1A) per port, with active current limiting for gadgets that try to be too greedy). That knowledge played a major part in my decision to buy *this* hub and not any of their other offerings. Thank you, sir! (...and if your boss(es) are listening, I hope they give you a nice fat raise. You bloody well deserve it.)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/8/2017 5:19:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Vantec > Vantec UGT-AH400U3-3C 4-Port USB 3.0 + 3 Smart Charging Port Aluminum Hub w/ Power Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works just as described.
Pros: It has worked well after months of use. My Windows 7 PC immediately recognized all of the various USB devices I plugged in. No problems. This was the perfect unit as a step to attach my iPhone 6 to my router and thus directly to the internet - thereby eliminating having to download to my iPhone via wifi.
Cons: Thankfully, none - especially after having read various "horror" stories about other devices and brands.
Reviewed By:Robert C.,6/7/2017 2:07:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hubs > Rosewill > Rosewill RHB-330A USB 3.0 4 Ports Aluminum Hub

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks Good but...
Pros: Arrived on time, Functional product but not as advertised
Cons: I purchased two, For one, Well, When I connected two 3.0 external drives, I heard sounds in drives that had no problems. I have not used it since.
The transfer speed on the other is terrible, slower than USB 2.0. Devices light up but the speed is terrible. For 20$ that I have spent, I have to go through too much hassle to get it rectified. I do notice that there is a 5 V power input, but there was no adapter provided. If the speeds are contingent upon using the power supply, then that is false advertisement. Nowhere in the description is says the power input is necessary for speeds.

I have purchased many Rosewill products in the past, this is the worst experience I am having with their product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Venkatesh,

We greatly appreciate your purchase. We apologize for any problems this product has caused and for your dissatisfaction with our product.

Please contact our customer service team to start RMA, you may get refund or replacement based on our RMA policy.

Rest assured that your feedback will receive the attention it deserves. We will continue improving our products in future. Thank you.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Venkatesh S.,6/5/2017 8:16:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.