Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear GS308-100PAS Ethernet Switch, 8 Ports - 10/100/1000Base-T - Desktop

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent switch, utterly *terrible* cable management
Pros: These switches work OK and are inexpensive for what they do. However...
Cons: Saving a dollar or two by integrating the connectors with status lights makes for a horribly ugly installation in a SOHO environment (which, at these prices, is Netgear's target demographic for these unmanaged switches).

You have a choice of either staring at a mess of network cables on your desk if you want to see status lights, or the back end of the thing with its power connector and no status indicators if you don't. Neither choice is good.
Other Thoughts: I own several of these, and have deployed them in places where I don't have to see them, like inside entertainment cabinets. Netgear makes (used to make?) plastic enclosed SOHO switches that had cable jacks in the back, and activity indicators in the front, which is how they should be. I stopped using those because they radiate endless spiky RF through the plastic enclosure, otherwise I'd still be using them instead of these.
Reviewed By:Robert K.,7/28/2017 12:31:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-Port Gigabit Smart Managed Switch (GS108T) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Works great
VLANS easy to setup using 802 standards
fit into my current network seemlessly
Cons: none right now.
Reviewed By:Mark P.,7/27/2017 1:58:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-48-750W Layer 3 Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best switch for the money
Pros: I have been using these switches for the past 2 1/2 years and I have it powering everything I throw at it including the 802.3at cameras that we sell. I still haven't had one fail on me yet and i have a lot of them out their.
Cons: The thing I wish they would do is get the Edge series to be more like the Unifi series when it comes to centralized management. Other then than that, great switch.
Reviewed By:BRIAN S.,7/27/2017 10:06:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch Lite 24 Ports Wall-Mountable Fanless Switch with Optional DC Input - ES-24-LITE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Switch!
Pros: Bought one for home and has been working well.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2017 7:09:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR XS708Ev2 ProSAFE 8-Port 10-Gigabit Ethernet Web Managed (Plus) Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Home upgrade
Pros: This is a very nice 1/10G + 1 SFP+ shared port switch for Cat6/7.
It is very handy for connecting a few 10 Gbps systems together and allowing your 1 gig systems to still use it.
I could even use Cat5E at 15 feet to get a 10 Gig connection.
Cons: It may not have all the fancy Cisco functions (LACP, instead uses LAG) no 5 Gbps either, but it can and does allow much faster data transfers.
Other Thoughts: Take a little time on the Cat cable, Twinx for SFP+ if you don't have a fibre link to reduce cost and understanding the limitations. I have a Qnap TS-531P with 10 Gbps add on card single port I can hit over 400 Mbps on it, likely NAS limitations or windows. Take the time to plan your LAN / WAN, or you may only have a 1 Gbps to the NAS and Web for many devices which would be 1 Gbps / # of Devices unless the LAG function works with your 1 Gbps switch. For those with less than 7 devices @ 1 Gbps on only this switch may be fine. 6 devices with 2 - 1Gbps Lag to other 1 Gig switch may provide another solution or 5 D / 3 G. Example NAS device for heavy streaming you may need more than 1 - 1 Gbps link. Otherwise the 16 port model for 300+ more may be the better option.

Overall so far it is working great for the bandwidth I need!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/26/2017 9:26:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch (GS305P)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works very well!
Pros: Provides fast switching capability
POE is a bonus
Quiet - no fan
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Michael G.,7/24/2017 5:36:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > V7 > V7 PEGS16-1NC Unmanaged 16 Port Gigabit 10/100/1000 Base-T PoE Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems so far with purchase about a month ago
Pros: - Best price for a PoE switch like this.
Cons: -Never heard of brand
Other Thoughts: I ended up buying an extra one of these in case it went out, since I hadn't heard of the brand before. Still cost me less than the same product from any other company. Working out great so far.
Reviewed By:Jacob M.,7/24/2017 6:51:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link DGS-1008G Gigabit Desktop Switch - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 6 months, and still running strong!
Pros: -I bought this switch about 6 months ago, and it still works like it should!
-I use 5 devices on this switch right now, and I haven't seen any sign of issues.
-The indicator lights change color depending on whether a device is using 100MBps or gigabit 1000MBps speeds. (My older devices usually run at 100MBps.)
Cons: -The mini USB power port is in an awkward spot on the side. It just doesn't look right. D-Link and other companies should really take a hint and put everything on the back of their networking hardware.
Other Thoughts: -Unless you're really picky about power port locations, this is a great 8-port gigabit switch!
Reviewed By:Thomas G.,7/20/2017 2:55:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 24-Port Gigabit Rackmount Web Managed (Plus) Switch (JGS524E) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 By 2 or don't buy any at all
Pros: none
Cons: 30min to 1hr wait time on customer service to answer call.
Web GUI sometimes won't save settings, even after firmware upgrade.
Switch failed completely just after the newegg return period ended.
Netgears "Next Business Day Replacement" is more like next 2 days and counting. Replacement authorized with netgear yesterday morning around 10:30am EST and they confirmed on phone we would receive replacement today. Today we got email stating the device has not yet shipped...but is expected to be delivered tomorrow.
Other Thoughts: This is probably a good switch if using as a dumb switch. If you are buying this because you will be using it as a managed switch with VLAN's etc, it's not reliable. For production, get a Cisco switch. If that's too much money, buy 2 cheap netgear switches, configure them both with the same settings and put one on the shelf for when this one fails. If your lucky, your backup won't fail before you get the primary replaced.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/19/2017 12:54:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-port Gigabit Ethernet Web Managed Click Switch with 4 PoE+ Ports (GSS108EPP-100NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love the size and mounting.. also functions well.
Pros: - I really like the size and the internal power supply. I needed a POE switch for my 14"x14" smart box in my home. This switch fit perfectly and was an ease to mount. The slim size left room for my cable modem and firewall.
- So far has worked well powering Ubiquity AC PRO and AC in wall Access points.
- No issues
Cons: - Web interface isn't the most intuitive.. but is ok.
Reviewed By:Will H.,7/16/2017 8:27:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.