Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port Fast Ethernet Switch (FS105) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for the price
Pros: • Small.
• Easy to install.
• Very little config to do, if any at all.
• Turns on and… works.
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: • Used to daisy-chain from other router (Linksys) from ISP router.
• Power plug is on one side, whereas the Ethernet plugs are on the other side, thus it's not meant to be looked at. Scews rather indicate that it's meant to be mounted on a wall, and be somehow discrete.
Reviewed By:Yann R.,3/22/2017 8:21:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port PD Pass-through Gigabit Web Managed (Plus) Switch (GS105PE) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Run of the mill 5-port PoE Switch
Pros: + Powered by PoE via Port 5

+ Supports PoEPlus

+ All metal, very solid construction

+ Wall/ceiling mountable
Cons: - Determines device compatibility by class, not by power draw

- Very difficult to update firmware if necessary
Other Thoughts: Not much to say about this switch - if you understand it's limitations and know what you're getting into (and use the correct class of PoE devices) it'll get the job done just fine. This would be good for extended a few PoE security cameras or lower-power VOIP phones. You're more than likely going to have a bad time if you try and power a few AP's off this switch. All in all, as long as you know what you're getting into, it's not a bad device at all.

Overall, I'm giving the switch 4 out of 5 eggs - subtracting one for the lack of AC power (would be nice) and the lack or any rack mounting accessories (no accessories shipped with my switch at all).
Reviewed By:Lance W.,3/21/2017 12:50:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-SG1024 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 24-Port Gigabit rackmountable Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The perfect "green" gigabit switch for a medium network...
Pros: Small footprint (7" deep) and comes with rack mounting "ears" to use with 19" rack. Uses a standard power plug, like the one for a desktop computer (supplied in the box) and works quite well. Does not power unused ports even if a cable is attached.
Cons: This did not fit into a normal 6" deep rack (punch down rack) so I had to wall mount it. Does not affect air flow, just looks a bit different. Looking at a 12" deep 6u rack to update my network area.
Other Thoughts: Great switch, replaced my 16port TP-Link switch, was plug and play. Is 1.5" deeper than the 10/100 it replaced but still runs quietly, cool and without a fan. I also like that it does not use a "brick" type power adapter. Simplifies the wiring closet and makes use of a standard PC power cord, I used a 90 degree to adapt it to my wiring layout, but a straight plug works as well. Just know that it is 7.1" deep without power cord, so make sure to add that into your rack mount equations.
Reviewed By:Charles H.,3/21/2017 11:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Tenda > Tenda TEF1105P - 5-Port 10/100Mbps Desktop Switch with 4-Port PoE Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great small switch
Pros: cheap, easy to setup, hase holes so you can mount
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: nice small switch that works great powering a couple of IP cameras
Reviewed By:Tim T.,3/21/2017 5:56:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS324 24-Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop / Rackmount Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As advertised
Pros: - Easy setup but any dumb switch should be plug and play
-Wall mountable. This was a biggie for me as I have mine mounted on a board in a closet in my house.
-Network speeds are great. I am seeing the full speed that a gigabit network should see
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: - I would definitely recommend this to someone needing a simple, fast switch that has a lot of ports
- It has better reviews that the company's other switch that has a lifetime warranty
Reviewed By:Ira W.,3/20/2017 1:04:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS316 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Flawless Execution without impediments.
Wall mountable.
Solid.
Metal.
Good build quality.
Easy to see and understand LED indicators to convey network speeds (helped me identify I had a bad cable)
Cons: I would have liked a wall mountable power supply brick rather than the fat blocking at-the-plugin brick with the cheap skinny consumer grade cord.
Other Thoughts: Been using this for nearly a month now. I can't find anything to suggest this doesn't work properly. I don't have 16 devices to load up on it, but I did have 5. For the most part I observed over time normal usage scenarios that were unremarkable in that everything worked as expected or simply that it gave the impression that there was no switch and that each device was directly connected to each other.

Recently I conducted an experiment where I attempted to load the device with all 5 machines each passing a very large file to each the other 4 machines. Astonishingly, I could find no evidence to suggest that any one machine was impeded by another such that it was locked or waiting on any other. Of course bandwidth was reduced by simply each sharing what was available at the time, but other than that, the test outcome was that it was nearly as unremarkable as normal every day use such that the awareness of the device was not prevalent to a misconception that each machine was directly connected to each machine in some capacity. To me, this is what a good switch should do.

If you have need for a good switch, regardless if you can fill it up, this is still a safe bet.
Reviewed By:Nathan R.,3/19/2017 9:19:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (GS108) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 known rock solid netgear dumb switch for only $20
Pros: a 8 port gigabit switch, for only $20. You can't beat that, unless you can find me a 10G 8 port switch for $20 lol
-Has a nice on/off switch in the back which I really like
-lifetime warranty
Cons: -unless it breaks in the near future, none for this product.
-Not really a con, but its a dumb switch. With SDNs coming up, pretty soon I imagine you will be able to run vSwitch software on these, maybe one day. I can dream right?
-netgear has a tendency to charge more than other vendors, with the same quality. I can name a few that are just as good, and charge half the price as retail. All you need to do is look
Reviewed By:Stephen W.,3/19/2017 6:26:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (GS108) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NETGEAR ProSAFE 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch (GS108)
Pros: Works as advertised. No dead ports. Fast. Priced right.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Rebate took 49 calendar days.
Reviewed By:William B.,3/17/2017 6:41:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TE100-S5 (Version v3.0R) Unmanaged 5-Port Fast Ethernet GREENnet Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TRENDnet TE100-S5 (Version v3.0R) Unmanaged 5-Port Fast Ethernet GREENnet Switch
Pros: the extra 4 ports work as it should. no configuring at all just plug and play
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: I needed an extra 3 ports so I got this I used one port to router that gave me 4 ports for expansion I used two for other desktops in back room and kids room and one to television. speed is same as if it was hooked directly into main router. So no drop in speeds and no time having to set it up for a small home network.
Reviewed By:Phillip W.,3/17/2017 1:55:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 5-Port Gigabit Web Managed (Plus) Switch (GS105E) - Lifetime Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I buy these like candy...
Pros: With rebates, the web managed switches sometimes cost the same as the unmanaged switches, and I can't seem to resist buying them for a cheap VLAN solution. The newest ones have a web-based firmware, which is an improvement over the PC-based programming software.
Cons: Not the fastest switch, but adequate for home and small business.
Other Thoughts: I run the ProSafe line in a small business where we do simple network segmentation using VLANs and they work as expected.
Reviewed By:Levin C.,3/16/2017 3:31:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.