Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK Tool-less Dual 2.5 to 3.5 HDD Drive Bay SSD Mount / Kit / Bracket / Adapter - EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 convenient, easy to use, cost effective ....
Pros: Can mount 2 - 2.5 in HD/SSD with one mount, tool-less operation, easily adapts to various configuration ....
Cons: could be cheaper?
Other Thoughts: My go-to mount for installing 2.5 in SSD to desktops.
Reviewed By:Juhan K.,7/21/2017 5:29:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Bracket-35525 3.5" Mounting Bracket Universal Adaptor For 5.25" Drive Bay or Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 perfect to add hard drives in empty 5.25'' bay
Pros: smal, not complicated
sturdy material
Cons: not the easiest to install but works ok
even if the material is good, it's still pricey for what it is
Other Thoughts: this thing makes it easy to add drives to a regular desktop case
handy for NAS expension
Reviewed By:sebastien m.,7/20/2017 12:22:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Orico > ORICO 1106SS Tool Free 3.5 SATA to 5.25 SATA Stainless Bracket Internal Hard Driver Mounting Bracket Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 easiest way to swap hard drives.
Pros: easy to use and to install
power switch
saving room and adding performance compared to a dock
Cons: this item is not cheap but feels a little fragile before proper installation
Other Thoughts: great add-on for a desktop tower.
a must if you like to back-up often and easily.
Reviewed By:sebastien m.,7/20/2017 12:17:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK 4 x 2.5 SSD to 5.25 Drive Bay Hot Swap Backplane Cage Mobile Rack Comparable to Tray-less Design - ExpressCage MB324SP-B

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great bay, though poor quality control
Pros: Easy to install
Hotswap bays

Honestly, mostly what you'd expect out of this.
Cons: The unit shipped missing one of the bottom left screws, which made it difficult to slide cage 2 back into its bay. Easy fix though since the included screws that you're given to screw in the hdd/ssd to the swap bays are the same size as the screws holding the unit together.
Other Thoughts: Some people probably won't bother even checking the fanspeed jumper, so it might be best to ship the units with it set to smart control instead of low.
Reviewed By:Olline H.,7/19/2017 1:15:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK 5.25 Inch Hot Swap Drive Caddy / Docking for 2.5 Inch & 3.5 Inch SATA Hard Drive/SSD - DuoSwap MB971SP-B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy install and setup. No loss of speed on HDD.
Pros: This is exactly what I was looking for. Super easy to mount in bay, plug in cables, changed BIOS settings to hot swap enabled, and it works great.
The power buttons and eject buttons work as they should. Green power light and amber "in use" light work.
I did a disk read/write test for both 2.5"HDD and 3.5"HDD, tested both in hot swap bay and plugged straight to MOBO, no loss of speed in this docks's connections.
The flat black color matches most other flat blacks; looks great in my case.
Cons: Having only one 2.5 bay, it wouldn't make cloning a 2.5 to a 2.5 any easier, in case you're upgrading your laptop; but generally I recommend clean installs anyways, i've never wanted to clone a disk, so is not a Con for me. If you're looking for easy Cloning, pick a different product.
The user manual was a couple of nonhelpful pictures; but if you're the kind of person buying this, i presume you can figure out installing. Just remember which SATA ports you're plugging into on MOBO and enable hot swap in the BIOS.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend.
Reviewed By:Nicholas F.,7/19/2017 9:24:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Syba > SYBA SY-MRA25023 Back Panel Slot Mount Mobile Rack for 2.5" Laptop Size SATA HDD / SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SYBA SY-MRA25023 Back Panel Slot Mount Mobile Rack for 2.5"
Pros: Very good product, good price. Not a single problem in 3 years use. Makes good use of filling the bare spaces in a server with unused back panel slots. Can also be used up front, easy to modify.
Cons: EDITED: one of the two that I bought in 2013, just over 4 years ago had one of the sata connectors supplied with this unit burn up, looks like the 12 volt line inside the connector arched, melted the copper traces and a small spot of the plastic connector the traces are bonded in. This connector might only have been moved a couple of times in 4 years. Molded sata power connector seem to be time bombs waiting to go off.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these in a server and I modified a 3rd one to fit in a slim CD drive opening in a Sophos firewall. Wanted my SSD to be removable without opening up the small ISK300-150 case.
EDITED: product is good, cable keep an eye on it, you should smell the burn before you see it. I did not see it until I started a server rebuild. Everything was still working so that made it hard to find.
Reviewed By:Gerhard M.,7/18/2017 8:32:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech SAT32M225 M.2 NGFF SSD to 2.5in SATA Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 M.2 NGFF Adapter
Pros: Works exactly as designed.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This adapter is made for NGFF Sata socket and will not work with higher speed M.2 NVMe. Clearly stated in product description. Used this to add an extra drive in laptop via optical drive caddy. Love how simple this device made use of an old M.2 drive.
Reviewed By:Rodney H.,7/17/2017 3:32:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK Tray-less 3 x 3.5" HDD in 2 x 5.25" Bay SAS / SATA Hot Swap Rack / Cage / Module - FlexCage MB973SP-1B

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not the quality I was expecting
Pros: Nice that it is trayless. I really like the "standard" fan on the back. If and when the fan fails it will be easy to find a replacement.
Cons: "THE" first drive I plugged into it, as a test, broke the pin mount off the door pulling the rod that "ejects" the drive. There is a lot of stress when the door adds leverage to "pull" the ejection rod. When the drive is "stuck" . . . POP! Weak pin mounts of the door failed.
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend this product to others . . . NO! Am I disappointed . . . yes. I was expecting a better quality based on the name brand. I have other Icy Dock products and they are fine so far.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Robert,

I'm sorry you've had this problem with the doors on your unit. Would you send some pictures of exactly what has broken off to our tech team at tech@icydock.com? Your problem is not one that we've encountered before, and I would like to know what exactly has failed on your unit. When you contact us, we can give you information on filing an RMA with us. Your unit, as with all of our products, is backed by a full 3-year warranty against all defects, and I would like to see this issue resolved for you.

Please do contact us, I am including a link below to all of our contact options. You can send an email to tech@icydock.com, and we also have support options via phone and live web-chat.

Reviewed By:Robert W.,7/17/2017 1:47:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs HDB-250 2.5" HDD/SS Metal Bracket Black Color

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap. Works great.
Pros: Cheap. Works great.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER B.,7/16/2017 4:07:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Enermax > Enermax Mobile Rack EMK5102 - 5.25" drive bay designed for a single 3.5 HDD/SSD. SATA 6.0G (SATA III) hard drives compatible

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product! Does exactly what it says
Pros: Converts a 5.25" drive bay into an easy access 3.5" HDD/SSD bay
Very easy to install and use
Came with a nice wire adapter that made installation even easier!
Cons: Only available in black (not really a con, just preference. At least black goes with everything).
Other Thoughts: I would totally buy more of these if I had the need for them. For now, one is enough.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/16/2017 12:32:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.