Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ TV Pro | Home Media Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good android tv box, has 4k capability, works wonderfully with HDHomerun prime, Kodi
Pros: Gives me additional HD channels above other lower res box.
Has AC wifi.
Now comes with the remote and game controller.
Packaged like Armageddon happens at UPS daily.
Tech Support is very knowledgeable.
Sets up with HDHomerun Prime seamlessly
Comes with Plex 6mo subscription
Cons: Still doesn't do drm channels in live tv from cablecard
Update 5.2 messed up cec remote volume (but it is just a setting issue, fixed now)
Tech Support is very necessary.
Needs subscription service for DVR function (isn't the idea behind this box about less money spent on services?)
Other Thoughts: This is a good tv box for cable cutting, and it comes with extras that seem to be a bonus for gaming, but fine print and subscription demands everywhere cut the actual value. Games that are touted as free require a base monthly subscription before you can play them. Purchased games have the same subscription. This means you keep paying for what you already own.
I want to love this box, but it seems like Nvidia is playing like the cable co.
Credit for quality of build and support puts me at five stars, but need for support and paywalls brings it down to four.
Claims for DRM support are also an issue, but technically they can claim win7 WMP works (though I don't need the shield if I use that route). I take no points off since this is an industry-wide issue.
Reviewed By:Joseph W.,6/25/2017 3:35:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 2 Streaming Media Player 4210XB Faster Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product for 29.99
Pros: It is fast enough and has USB for media files.
Cons: Has a RF remote and a power brick. no HDMI cord included
Other Thoughts: I would recommend buying the Roku streaming Stick over this. The stick is 39.99 and it has a better remote and uses USB instead of a power brick and Has HDMI built it
Reviewed By:mark f.,6/22/2017 11:41:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 2 Streaming Media Player 4210XB Faster Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 How ROKU has ruined a great product, with it less than zero Customer Service.
Pros: It worked well for about a month,
pretty remote control.
Cons: Just the worst customer out there in the world. They are not a customer service driven company. Will not answer the phone for Tech. Support on this call, as this product is just too cheap, - you are left with Chat - and they always screw that chat up - my Guess it that it is India. Will send you blind emails, they don't want to hear from you as a customer, as you can't respond to their tech.. support emails for further clarification. Sent my replacement to the wrong address, in spite of assuring via email that they had the right address. But at this point, I can't even send them an email and their chat is worse the useless. Thank G*d, I have two Fire TV Gen 2 in house that has excellent support, will be dumping my 3 Roku devices and replace them with Fire Sticks Gen 2, as I can't have a defect product and be ignored by Roku as a customer and with even worse tech. support than can be imagined.
Other Thoughts: Never buy Roku, Buy Chrome, Fire, or Apple.
Reviewed By:James K.,6/21/2017 11:29:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3 Streaming Player (2015 Model)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great streaming device. Wish I had bought it sooner!
Pros: I bought this device to replace streaming device and what a huge improvement. I love my Roku 3! It is fast and the user interface is very good. The picture is sparkling clear too. I have not had any issues with it. The voice search feature works well. Compared to my old streaming device, it is a joy to use.
Cons: None that I can think of. I had no problem pairing my remote to the device.
Other Thoughts: There is no power button. It powers on when you press the "home" button. It turns itself off (power light goes off) after a few minutes when I turn off my connected TV.
Reviewed By:Kenneth L.,6/18/2017 6:53:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Elgato > Elgato Game Capture HD, Xbox and PlayStation High Definition Game Recorder for Mac and PC, Full HD 1080p

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great and terribly slow
Pros: Eventually produces full resolution video with uncompromised audio
Cons: Takes 10's of hours to finish a 45 minute video, so you'll be killed by the boredom of waiting... And waiting... And wating
Other Thoughts: While it does a great job of capturing video and audio, it (with a Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit OS in Core 2 Quad, DDR3 USB 3.0 system) takes almost 19 hours to produce the final 44 minutes of video. They did not include a power input, so it can't keep up with the speed of your Core 2 Quad processor (but it's the software which is at fault anyway), followed by doing who knows what to provide the complete video more than 19 hours later (26 times slower than the video itself was - You could watch the video 27 times in the time it requires to write the final product). Because of this ridiculous and unreasonable delay, I strongly recommend against this unit unless your video is substantially shorter than 44 minutes. I feel shame for having bought this unreasonably slow device and it's software (the software is to blame).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/17/2017 5:03:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge 1609 WinTV-quadHD Four tuner digital TV receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Linux, yes
Pros: Very good receiver sensitivity
Works well in a MythTV backend under Linux
4 receivers on one card -- nice value and needs only one slot
Low profile card for compact PVRs
Cons: No direct Hauppauge support for Linux
Requires Linux 4.9+ kernel, so many distros are not PnP. yet
Myth setup can be arduous, but it will work with persistence
Device driver does not recover from sleep
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/11/2017 7:54:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME 3-Tuner US CableTV with CableCARD Stream Premium Channels and Cut the Cord

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup, does its job
Pros: - Works great with Plex, so if you have a PlexPass, you can stop renting a cable box/dvr, and watch live or recorded TV from your phone too. Pretty cool.
- Better than a regular cable box because you can filter out the channels you never watch, so you don't have to scroll past them constantly with your remote.
- Setup was quick and easy. Just plugged it in, and I was able to access the web-based setup utility.
Cons: - No complaints, although I can't speak for the included DVR software, which I've heard is not great. Probably better off with Plex, Emby, or similar.
Other Thoughts: - I know for a fact that obtaining and activating a cable card would have been a painful, multi-day process if I still had com-finity. But thanks to my small, local provider, I dropped by the office and picked it up, then called them when I got home. Thirty minutes from beginning to end. No taking a number and waiting for 3 hours, no dealing with brain-dead level 1 support people. I just give them money, and they give me cable-related stuff. It's crazy.
Reviewed By:Luke L.,6/9/2017 3:33:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR2-01-NA Digital Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceeded Expectations
Pros: I've had the Tablo 2 channel dvr for a little over a month and very satisfied. Setup was fast, the app is clean and straight forward, and wifi access through various android devices is a nice plus.

I was not planning to use the subscription service and just set up my own recording schedule, but after using Tablo's service for the one month free offer, spending $49 for the year was an easy decision. Along with the Tablo I purchased a WD 1TB Elements ext. hard drive. For connection to my Sony 42" TV I'm using a Roku stick.

I would not hesitate to purchase this product again!
Cons: The unit runs a bit warm. At first I was a little concerned until I read various comments and explanations from Tablo that this is normal, and so this is not really a negative feature.
Other Thoughts: Update: just watched an NHL playoff game on a Sony 42" recorded at HD 1080 ... quality and smoothness of fast action was excellent!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/8/2017 1:02:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Interesting controller
Pros: -Fits really well in my hands and can play for extended hours.
-Works amazingly well on Bluetooth and on the NVIDIA SHEILD tablet!
Cons: -Originally didn't have PC support but that has since been fixed with a driver update to my NVIDIA GPU.
Other Thoughts: It looks odd but it's a golden controller if you give it a chance.
Reviewed By:William G.,6/7/2017 6:27:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Elgato > Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro, stream and record in 1080p60, superior low latency technology, H.264 hardware encoding, PCIe

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Zero Lag!
Pros: I love this thing. I can play on my monitor while recording or my TV. The lag is non-existent.
Easy to Install
Easy to work with
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: You may need some long HDMI cables depending on your setup.

People who say that it does not come with cables are wrong or missing parts as it does come with an HDMI cable.
Reviewed By:Michael N.,6/6/2017 1:57:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.