Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ TV | Streaming Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 mind blowing
Pros: it's smooth and everything works as promised, especially the game stream feature from my pc which is the primary reason I got this
Cons: the TV remote is using annoying an annoying type of battery, they should have gone with AAA instead which is why I took an egg off
Other Thoughts: I only had it plugged in for 1 hour and played some batman from my PC and it's working great! I was also streaming 4k to 1080p just because..
Reviewed By:OCTAVIAN B.,1/17/2017 5:41:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ Controller

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: New look that's a step towards the Pascal theme (aka tesselation) Vibrator motors are much stronger. Lighter in weight than the original. Can connect to other non-shield devices via bluetooth instead of needing to be physically connected with the USB cable.
Cons: D-pad is "clicky" now and feels more resistant than the original. She goes for the shoulder buttons.
Other Thoughts: If you owned the original SHIELD controller but didn't like the bulkiness of it you will like this one.
Reviewed By:Derek L Lynch,1/17/2017 2:27:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR4-01-NA 4 Tuner DVR for HDTV Antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Helps with cutting the cord
Pros: the channels come in clear
the dvr guide is easy to use and works how it should
this device is simple to use but still has so much powerful features
can view live tv and recordings on any roku device
Cons: takes a few seconds when changing channels
Other Thoughts: We have just dumped DirecTV and purchased a Tablo and signed up for PlayStation Vue. Both services have been fantastic and the price of Vue is a quarter of what we were paying Directv. The Tablo has been superb. It took a little bit to get good reception. The indoor antennas would not bring in all the channels so we had to go with a roof mounted setup. Being able to watch tv anywhere in the house on our Roku's through the Tablo is the one it should be. I am glad we started this year off by making this change.
Reviewed By:Timothy E.,1/16/2017 4:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google GA3A00147-A14-Z01 Chromecast Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Audio Streamer, Very Versatile, Great with Google Home
Pros: Stream your music to anywhere in your home where you have speakers that have a 3.5 mm headphone jack, optical jack or RCA input. I have paired these with old computer speakers, HiFi studio monitors and run of the mill bluetooth speakers. I have not experienced the dropped connections others have described.

One of the greatest things about the Chromecast Audio is you can use them very easily with your Google Home. Set up different groups of Chromecast Audios to pump music to multiple locations in your home at the same time. You don't need a google home to do this either, you can do it from your phone (Google Home App) or from your computer's chrome browser. We love these things.

I have only played music to them using Google Play Music and YouTube. My network is a 5Ghz AC network so that might help too, but so far I have had no issues.
Cons: I wish there was a discount to buy a bundle of these. I have purchased 5 of these so far, 3 of them I got on sale for $30 and the other two I paid full price for.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend the Chromecast Audio whether or not you have a Google Home. The Google Home simply enhances the set up. The quality of the sound using the optical cable ($15) with my studio monitors is stellar. I detect no difference in quality between the Chromecast Audio or connected to my PC. If you want to have music in your living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom and all your kids' rooms pick up a bunch of these and some cheap computer speakers or connect to the amps and speakers you already have and you can have the benefits of Sonos without the cost. I see no reason to go for Sonos or any other connected speakers when you can get great similarly sounding speakers for much less. Way to go Google.
Reviewed By:David P.,1/16/2017 2:41:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 4 Streaming Media Player 4K UHD (4400R) Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: none
Cons: Arrived DOA. No HDMI signal. Tested on 2 TVs and using multiple HDMI cables.
Other Thoughts: Requesting replacement.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 8:16:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku SE Streaming Media Player 2710SE - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great price for an extra Roku
Pros: It's a Roku.
Gets all the Roku channels.
Can't beat the price.
Cons: Slower than the current models (but a lot cheaper for a second set).
Wifi only.
Other Thoughts: Noticeably slower than my Roku2, but I expected that. Got it for a second tv that will only be used occasionally.

You do not have to provide a credit card to set up a Roku account. There used to be a skip option, but apparently it doesn't always show up now. The workaround is apparently to just close the browser, and then sign in with the same ID & password (streamgadgets-dot-com/create-a-roku-account-without-a-credit-card). There are many free channels, and any paid channels (Neflix, Hulu, etc.) that you subscribe to will work. You just won't be able to purchase non-free services through Roku. If you do choose to enter your card, you can set a PIN to prevent unauthorized purchases.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,1/12/2017 4:02:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 4 Streaming Media Player 4K UHD (4400R) Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Streamer
Pros: Streams great. Fast because it is wired through your network which I prefer to wireless for streaming. Loads of channels / content available. (I have not yet been able to use with a 4K TV because the one I ordered was delivered with a broken screen. Hopefully Newegg will correct that problem soon.) Sound through the remote is a blessing for watching content later in the evening.
Cons: I'm not sure this is a con, but I think it is always ON due to wall plug in for power. I would prefer to be able to turn it off.
Other Thoughts: I had a ROKU wireless stick that got power from a USB port on my TV. It worked OK, but at times there were issues. The ROKU 4 fixes many of those issues!
Reviewed By:Jay J.,1/11/2017 11:43:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 4 Streaming Media Player 4K UHD (4400R) Refurbished

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Optical Out Not Netflix/Prime Compatible
Pros: Having this box permanently connect to my TV is a lot more convenient than constantly hooking up my laptop. Fan speed is user configurable with run cooler option. UI is snappy. Configuring from Roku website is a lot easier than typing with remote.
Cons: Anyone without an hdcp 2.2 hdmi 2.0 compatible sound system, will find getting 4k with 5.1 sound difficult. This device requires hdcp 2.2 to display 4k. People on other sites are reporting using hdcp converts successfully, but I have not tried that option. By plugging hdmi directly into an hdcp 2.2 TV, you can get around this requirement without an hdcp stripper. Unfortunately, this means plugging the toslink into your sound system. Netflix and Prime both use DD+ for audio. No sound systems will decode DD+ over toslink. I have been suffering using my Roku in stereo.
Other Thoughts: Knowing what I know now, I would have gone for a cheaper or more expensive model instead. I paid extra for an optical port that has little use. The more expensive ultra model does DD+ to DD transcoding. Since I got the box cheap, I decided not to trade it in. I am going to keep this box until the AV1 support comes out, at which time I will likely upgrade.
Reviewed By:Adam P.,1/10/2017 3:02:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR2-01-NA Digital Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Product
Pros: Considering the complexity involved in creating such a product, it functions amazingly well. The Tablo tuners are better than any built in ATSC tuner I have ever used with any TV. Setup was a breeze with the android app; totally intuitive and simple. Once the Tablo is set up, you can easily access it with any device it supports. I was able to get it working with the ROKU and AppleTV apps, as well as a PC browser with no problems.
Honestly it works perfectly. Picture quality is great, and you can even record in 1080p @ 8Mbps if your network is robust enough. Recordings are easy to set up if you pay for the enhanced guide. Accessing the recordings is easy and the Roku and Apple TV remotes make it easy to pause, skip, etc.
Cons: Loading a live channel is slow, as is navigating the channel guide. $5/month for the full guide is a little high considering that for a few bucks more you can get a Netflix or Hulu subscription with access to thousands of titles. If you don't want to pay the $5 monthly fee, you get a scaled down guide that only goes 24 hours into the future.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of one of my TVs which uses a Roku which has a wireless connection, I have a fully wired network. Many of the problems people have are related to using a wireless network. It is really important to have the Tablo connected to your network using a gigabit wired connection.
Also, you obviously need to have a suitable TV antenna that can receive the channels you want. There are websites that can tell you how far you are away from the transmission towers.
Reviewed By:Kevin D.,1/9/2017 5:01:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge 1609 WinTV-quadHD Four tuner digital TV receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good sensitive tuner
Pros: Living in a fringe area, tuner sensitivity is a big deal to me. This is as sensitive of a tuner as I've ever tested.
4 tuners on a single X1 slot. What's not to love?
Plugged in and worked like a charm with my obsolete PVR software - BeyondTV - which was EOL'ed years ago
Also tested it with Media Center and NextPVR and it works fine
Cons: The included WinTV 8 application is not very good. But this isn't much of a con, considering better software is readily available and free.
Other Thoughts: Running it on an AMD A10 Kaveri and an A88X motherboard. Windows 7 64-bit.
Far, far more sensitive than an HD Homerun. I tried one of those once and returned it, it was so bad.
A little more sensitive than the Cat's Eye D150 tuners it replaced
Much more sensitive than the Cat's Eye D164 dual tuner
About the same sensitivity as my Vizio's built-in tuner - gets all the same channels at about the same level
I haven't always been satisfied with every Hauppauge product I've ever bought (cough - HDPVR - cough) but I couldn't be more pleased with this card. They did a good job on this product. Worth every penny.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/5/2017 6:12:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.