Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS ESSENCE STX II 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Hi-Fi Quality Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Dissapointment
Pros: High quality parts and manufacturing. Box includes extra op amps and pliers to replace them with as well as an RCA to 1/8 adapter and a 1/8 to 1/4 headphone jack adapter.
Cons: The sound quality was surprisingly dull to me. Even using a well recorded wav or flac. The audio lacks a brightness that should be there but isn't. With or without using any audio processing. Listening through hi end speakers with external amplifiers doesn't help. The overall sound of an audio device can be very subjective though and you may like the sound. No stereo line in. Any hi end card should be able to do this. For recording your stuck with only 1 Line in/ mic in 1/4 trs jack. Don't buy this if you want to record through it. You can't reroute the other 1/4 trs to get L/R stereo in record. You can get stereo through the 1 1/4 input just not a dedicated L and dedicated right input for stereo. The internal switching will not accommodate this type of use.
Other Thoughts: If you a Headphone hifi person or using this for 7.1 Dolby surround and you like Asus audio sound than this is a great card. If you want a multipurpose card for hifi listening/recording or your a musician/Dj keep looking. Can't rout properly in serato or traktor and record at the same time. Also The card was built upside down. The bottom of the pcb faces the top or the computer. There may be emi reasons for this?, but if looks are important it may bother you.
Reviewed By:Kristin o.,5/22/2017 11:27:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY FX Sound Card with SBX Pro Studio - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What.. the heck...
Pros: Sounds good...
Cons: No support for "what you hear" sound mix option. UNACCEPTABLE!
No Digital out. What's the use of new technology if it can't stream current tech? (vs. analog for example green/black)
Remember the DIN to coax (small end to red coax). That was an awesome feature for those of us who have Digital Creative Labs receivers... the zero support for them in today's world is a complete shame.
Other Thoughts: Okay, my problem with this is a "driver issue" that honestly the company could resolve.

I rate this as a 1 because my complaint is a "feature" of which should be documented and noted here, for the *purchaser*. For instance, if the danged thing stated above, no support for "what you hear" I would not have bought it. I had to find out by research:
http://support.creative.com/kb/ShowArticle.aspx?sid=87127

At the bottom of the page it says, no, this card doesn't support it.

When it all comes down to it, "WHY NOT"? It is such a simple feature that any sound processor SHOULD be able to accommodate. If it's an OS issue, you, Creative Labs are a company. Speak company to company with MS and fix such issues.

Look, Creative, I have been a supporter for decades. I have an original Micron Millennium Max PC that had a great sound card and matched with the now archaic Cambridge Soundworks 5.1 sound system. THESE... where good times. Now days, everyone causes problems, every piece of hardware is a troublemaker, operating systems are hostile and damaging when software doesn't play nice and conflicts and politics/money are rampant. When I first starting building computers in 2000 it was hard due to internet use. Old hardware not being supported or easily found and updated etc. Now days, stuff is easier to find but many times harder to "play nice" or work together with in a tower. WTH happened?

But I digress....

I bought this card, to fix an issue (windows 10, jerks...) with an on-board current sound system that lost the ability to "sound mix". I have old records that I like to take time with when the spirit moves, and record onto digital. With my set up, I have to have "sound mix" or "what you hear/creative" enabled to record MY RECORDS. They are mine, I can do what I want with them.
This has nothing to do with any kind of pirating. Yet that is a large component to this "sound mix" issue internet forums-wide isn't it??

So.. this card does not support it much to my dismay (after purchasing), fantastic!

Do not buy this card.

There are others out there that are better and when it comes to functionality? A simple (we wont buy from you) might be a good reminder of customer losses for Creative. Creative, you used to be so good... wake up.

FYI I have had over 10 major purchases over my adult life from Creative labs. Seeing how far they have fallen from being almost a monopoly corp for anything sound related to being a group with lackluster 3rd party accessories... *shaking head*

As I look at my dusty Creative Labs original Zen Nomad $270 MP3 player...
I "was" a fan...

I am not a happy customer anymore.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey W.,5/20/2017 2:59:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it's ok
Pros: I play csgo and was tired of the shitty sound that my motherboard had and I decided to get this sound card it sounded wonderful on games and Spotify
Cons: But I decide to watch some YouTube videos and I realize that almost all the videos had people slips off and it would sound like they're speaking a different language
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/19/2017 2:03:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound BlasterX G5 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz USB Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Supreme Sound as alternative for the Asus onBoard wannabe Junk
Pros: Day/Night difference in sounds. I got a Asus Z170 Premium with Crystal Sound 3 (Micky Mouse sound). I added this to the system.....WOW. I am using 2 different Headphones Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro 16 Ohm and a Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO LTD with 250 Ohm Make sure to adjust the impedance accordingly. The sound gonna be so crisp with the right set of Headphones.
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: I would design all the I/O in the back that the front would be complete clean and no cable would be viable.... but not a con
Reviewed By:Daniel J.,5/14/2017 3:16:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA CLARO II 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Why would they use pci this is 2017.
Pros: I don't know
Cons: PCI
Other Thoughts: I was going to buy this a couple months ago because it was 7.1. Almost clicked on the order button would've been a big mistake. Lol PCI????? Went with the creative zxr.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/12/2017 7:44:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS ESSENCE STX II 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Hi-Fi Quality Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ASUS ESSENCE STX II 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Hi-Fi Quality Sound Card
Pros: Great sound ,
Easy to use ,
Easy to install.
Cons: NOT WIRELESS , Lack of adapters (3.5mm to 1/4 or 6.33mm ).
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to anyone still using an onboard sound card because the difference is day and night .
Make sure to have a really good headset to take advantage of this product .
Reviewed By:SAMUEL B.,5/10/2017 1:01:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO USB to Stereo Audio Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, even with Linux
Pros: I was worried about buying something that was so cheap, but the audio quality on this USB DAC is just fine. It even worked well with Linux, meaning I could plug it into my Raspberry Pi and gain an audio input as well as a non-PWM output.
Cons: I'm really not a fan of the shape, which can cover up other USB ports. StarTech clearly realized its shape is kind of ridiculous, which is why it comes with a really short USB extender... not the worst thing in the world, but I'd rather they have fixed the design rather than bundling in a free bandaid.
Other Thoughts: Give it a try, you might be pleasantly surprised.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/7/2017 10:16:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good card for the price, but if you're unlucky, be careful
Pros: - Sound quality is excellent, even on bad speakers
- Comes with mini-backplate you can attach for compact systems
- Low price
- Packaged well; the box is easy to put back together
Cons: - Card's backplate doesn't conform to my case, while all my other cards have with no problems whatsoever. Trying to keep the plate flush with the frame leads to the card being unseated from the PCI x1 slot, so it's impossible to install a retaining screw like I would with the others.
- Factory drivers (both CD and online) kept saying that there was no card recognized, and were therefore useless
- Device manager also did not recognize the sound card right off the bat
- When I installed third-party drivers (specifically, UNi Xonar) the card was recognized and sounded excellent, but later led to bizarre driver instability throughout the rest of my system. Had to reinstall some drivers after removing the third party
Other Thoughts: Functionally speaking, this is a great card, as long as you know exactly what you're doing to work around the compatibility problems and useless factory drivers. If you get it working, it sounds great, and the price is excellent. But if you're looking for something that's plug in, install drivers, and go, this is definitely NOT what you're looking for.

Reading the other reviews I was convinced I would get lucky with the drivers and have this card plugged in and go. Sadly, this was not the case. To be clear, I'm no novice when it comes to figuring out weird workarounds for driver software, but I must stress that if you do have to resort to other methods to get this card working, you need to know exactly what you're doing.
Reviewed By:Dean H.,5/3/2017 9:57:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound BlasterX G5 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz USB Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible; Didn't work at all
Pros: Looks nice
Cons: From the moment I plugged this thing in to the moment I stuffed it back in the shipping box, it's been a total waste of time and money, for me. I don't know why, but when I used it, only static filled and poppy audio came out of my headset (Sennheiser Game One), that is, if any audio came out at all. This stupid thing kept freezing my recording devices tab, and I could do nothing to get it to work. I don't know if this problem is isolated to, seeing as many others love it, but personally, I cannot recommend this to anyone.
Reviewed By:Clinton L.,5/3/2017 1:25:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great sound card
Pros: Makes music sound FANTASTIC.
Great build quality
Cons: I HATE the red LED's. It seriously baffles me that there is no way to disable the lights in the creative software. Come on, seriously? I had to put tape on the lights because of this.
Other Thoughts: It really does sound fantastic. Like honey seeping out of your speakers and trickling into your ears. Or something like that...
Reviewed By:Michael H.,5/2/2017 7:16:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.