Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > CyberPower > CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD - PFC Sinewave UPS Systems - Pure Sine Wave | 100% Active PFC Compatible with USB Charging Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lasted 5 years
Pros: - Works well while it lasts.
Cons: - Fails after 5 years.
- Company's support didn't know what the beep codes meant
- Company support was closed during their posted hours of operation.
Other Thoughts: The "bell icon" on the front panel turns on and off intermittently now, beeping each time it does. The front panel buttons no longer appear to respond consistently. The unit was not subjected to any stresses or unreasonable surges. It is possible there is some corrosion on the inside due to the battery age. I contacted the company's tech support twice, the first time they said it was the building wiring (same outlet for 5 years, no wiring changes, no construction, etc) and they did not know what the beep code meant or why the bell icon was turning on and off. The second time, the company was unavailable for support, at ~5pm Eastern, an hour before their posted end of support hours.

I'm pretty sure I need a UPS but I'm reluctant to buy another one from this company.
Reviewed By:Brian C.,5/25/2017 2:24:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BN700MC Back-UPS 700 VA 8-Outlet Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Fit
Pros: Reliable, durable, great features.
Cons: Still USB controlled.
Other Thoughts: Nothing requiring an egg deduction but at some point I'd like to see network management in the consumer level of battery backups.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2017 12:04:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BE600M1 Back-UPS 600 VA 330 Watts 7 Outlets Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) with USB Charging Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it just works
Pros: -protects equipment from voltage fluctuations and surges
-USB charging
-good form factor for the unit and plug
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Alexandre C.,5/23/2017 6:28:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BR1500G Back-UPS Pro 1500 VA 10 outlets Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work as Expected
Pros: I own two of them, one on my gaming computer and one on my work computer. They kick in as expected for blackouts, brownouts, or when there is a short power dip. My machines have never gone down when these events have occurred.
Cons: Expensive, finite battery life.
Other Thoughts: Both power supplies I use recommend I use a UPS that is sine wave and not a simulated sine wave. This UPS is a simulated sine wave, yet it has kicked in numerous times on both machines when needed and kept my machines running fine.
Reviewed By:Louis T.,5/23/2017 12:54:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BX1500M Back-UPS Pro 1500 VA 900 Watts 10 Outlets Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great solution to a common problem
Pros: Downloadable software for enhanced experience.

3 year warranty (excluding battery)

Minimal footprint

High capacity for residential use cases.

User replaceable battery

Easy to understand front panel controls

Plug and play & Advanced setups

Easy to understand labeling on back of unit
Cons: High pitched whine when recharging battery
Other Thoughts: Most people have a hard time justifying a UPS into their budget (myself included), but it really is a underrated piece of equipment that should seriously be considered. Even outside of DATA protection, these units can protect your hardware & devices in ways simple "surge protectors" just can't.

For the past few years I have lived on a street that has frequent power drop outs basically anytime there is a heavy rain storm. Sometimes they last a few hours, sometimes they last less than a second. Just as much as the next guy I know this is horrible for anything remotely voltage sensitive like computers. So I would just always stop using my PC and or HTPCs when we would get a good amount of rain coming our way and unplug the entire surge protector from the wall. Well, now I don't have to and the freedom feels amazing!

Not only does this unit provide battery power for when the power goes completely out, it also regulates the voltage going out to your equipment via the outlets on the back so you don't have to worry about surges or dips on your power grid. As said before this goes way farther than what a typical surge protector can do. This UPS uses the battery to supplement power for voltage drops so your PC power supply sees a constant 115-120VAC and absorbs the spikes when the voltage coming out of your wall outlet is higher than that. So not only are you getting the ability to protect your data with extra time to properly shutdown your Operating system, but you get much more stable voltage going into your electronics which in theory should make them last longer due to not having the to deal with voltage regulation them selves.

Now the calculations needed to figure out what unit you should get depending on what load you are running and how long you need the power to last are a bit intimidating. But there are many calculators on the web and APC's website ( http://www.apc.com/us/en/tools/ups_selector/ ). It does not hurt to have too much (except for price) but it does hurt if you have too little, However! A very nice feature is these units will actually tell you If your attached load is more than the battery can handle when the power goes out Via Audible alert, which is a very nice addition. So if you do add items later down the road you can try to allocate what is needed and what is not by removing devices and adding them through trial and error.

As far as ease of use it doesn't get much better than this. You can keep it simple and just plug & play with basically doing nothing but making sure you plug the stuff you need to have surge protection and the stuff you need to have power in the event of a power failure in the correct outlets that are clearly labeled on the back of the unit. It even tells you how much time you will have after the power goes out until the battery will dies right on the front of the unit. But if you want more control and automatic shutdown software, Etc for home servers or always on PCs, you have the option to download the PowerChute software. The software lets you set up events and schedules according to certain variables and is controlled by your PC when you connect the included USB cable. Oh and when the battery reaches the end of its usable life you can buy replacement right on APC's site. the actual battery swap takes 5 seconds and requires no tools!

This is really a no-brainer purchase if you have the budget.
Reviewed By:Rob B.,5/22/2017 1:46:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BE425M Back-UPS 425 VA 255 Watts 6 Outlets Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for my needs. Small, compact, and plenty of wattage for my router and modem.
Pros: + Size
+ Ready to Use out of the box
+ USB ports for other devices
+ Price
Cons: - Would pay more to get more. No Cons so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/22/2017 12:09:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite OMNIVS1500XL OMNI VS 1500 VA 940 Watts 8 Outlets Line Interactive Tower UPS Extended Runtime

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Extremely loud fan
Pros: It arrived on time...
Cons: There are two major design flaws with this UPS in my opinion. The biggest one is the noise this thing puts out. The fan is on all the time and it is easily 3 times louder than my whole setup. Completely unacceptable for my work environment. It's so loud, I can hear it downstairs. I was hoping the fan would be on only while the batteries charged, but that doesn't seem to be the case. This thing is loud any time it's plugged in. Which leads me to the other design flaw. You can't turn it off... There's a power switch on the front, but it doesn't actually turn it off. Anytime it's plugged in, it's on. I occasionally turn my computer off and the last UPS I had allowed me to power down the whole system using it's power switch. Can't understand the logic behind this design. According to the manual, to power the device off you need to unplug it from the wall and then power it down using the switch. I can't see crawling under the desk to unplug it every time should I want to power it off. Definitely not what I expected from the description.

So not sure what to do. Can't return it for a refund. I guess I'm stuck with a $200 paperweight, but it's certainly not going to remain plugged in to my system. It's driving me crazy. Fair warning to those looking at this...
Other Thoughts: If you're thinking of putting this in the same room as your computer, I wouldn't recommend it because of the noise.
Manufacturer Response:Thomas, we apologize for the noise you are experiencing with the OMNIVS1500XL. We will need more information to determine the cause of this issue. To turn the UPS off you must first unplug the UPS from the wall outlet and then press and hold the ON/OFF button for one second for it to be completely off. If utility power is present the UPS will turn on automatically. Please reach out to your Chicago-based Tech Support Team at 773-869-1234 (M-F 7AM-6PM Central) so we can more information and assist you.

Reviewed By:THOMAS N.,5/22/2017 8:28:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BE600M1 Back-UPS 600 VA 330 Watts 7 Outlets Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) with USB Charging Port

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Horrible coil whine
Pros: Small form factor
5 battery-backed sockets
Cons: Terrible high-frequency coil whine 24 hours a day
Gets very warm to the touch, even without a load.
Other Thoughts: Very disappointed in this model. APC used to be my go-to choice for a UPS, but not any more after this purchase. The constant high-pitched whine emanating from this unit, even when the battery is fully charged and not under load, is irritating, not only to my ears, but to my pets as well. Not recommended.
Manufacturer Response:We are very sorry to hear of the trouble you are having with this unit. If you would please contact APC directly at your earliest convenience, we would be happy to assist you. Sound levels vary, so it would be best if you would please call APC at 800-800-4272 Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm and follow the prompts for technical support. Our representatives will be able to tell over the phone if the sound is normal or if the unit will need warranty replacement. The BE600M1 carries a three year factory warranty.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/22/2017 6:24:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > APC > APC BX1500M Back-UPS Pro 1500 VA 900 Watts 10 Outlets Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than Monster units.
Pros: -10 outlets (5 surge = 5 battery back up)
-Easy to read display
-Ease of use and read on screen features
-Protects from spikes (which happens a bit in my case)
-Easy swap batteries
-Automatic Voltage Regulation. Improves unit efficiency saving electricity
-Unit runtime range from 16 minutes to 164 minutes
-Lifetime $150K equipment protection policy (site says $250K)
-3 year warranty on the unit
-Network and Coax protection included

So many features, UPS units are so underrated in the electronics (home theater +more) arena, as most of the time people opt for units that equal in value but not the features an UPS offers. And for my personal system (home theater and computer equipment), I once wen for regular surge protectors but using this UPS system has convinced me that I previously made the wrong choice, paying twice as much also.

I had been remodeling my house recently and changed several outlets, being that I forgot that I had my PC on and connected to the UPS, many times I had to hit the whole house power switch, no more than 30 minutes at a time and ever two-three hours I would check for new e-mails and no lost of data or programs shutting down.
Incredible, it feels great to know that your expensive equipment is connected to a unit that is definitely better than most power surge protectors and don't come with a battery back up, unit always worked as it should.

In two occasions I purposely disconnected the unit from the wall receptacle, while playing video games in my console, come to find out the description says 16 min for a LCD TV and XBOX 360, but it lasted more on a LED 55", as LED uses less power. Unfortunately I no longer have a LCD TV and my monitor is LED as well, which still, uses less electricity.

I have now swapped my old $100 surge protector from my home theater unit which I happen to use more often, for the UPS unit, there's plenty of space to hide it and the weight tells me there's great quality components inside that unit, the APC UPS is the McIntosh of all surge protectors.
Cons: It could be big and bulky in small tight places but it's definitely cool to look at. I had on my desk, no issues or problems having it there. Other than that? No issues.
Other Thoughts: An UPS unit/system is the way to go, for all electronics in your house that are so valuable, home theaters are perfect for this type of protection and there's plenty of outlets to cover all equipment that requires power.
I am definitely recommending this unit to all my friends and family, and this is one of those occasions that I am so glad I reviewed a unit that has all the features and build quality and reliability a company can offer for such a low price considering the plethora of choices out there and easily most people are making the mistake of getting a low quality product, for perhaps the same cost?
Highly consider this unit, it will give you that peace and security your equipment is guarded by a reliable unit.

Thanks APC for designing and making such great products.
Reviewed By:Roberto C.,5/21/2017 11:51:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > UPS > CyberPower > CyberPower Smart App Intelligent LCD Rackmount GreenPower UPS OR500LCDRM1U 500VA 300W 4 x 5-15R Battery/Surge Protected 2 x 5-15R Surge Protected Outlets UPS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Tricky.
Pros: Works.
Cons: Tricky to set up.
Other Thoughts: I thought it was plug and play but I had to figure out how not to let the rackmount PC turn completely off when plugged into its battery outlet.
Reviewed By:Miguel C.,5/20/2017 6:15:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.