Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-508 USB 3.0 PCI-E Express Card with 4 USB 3.0 Ports, Speed Up to 5.0 Gbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good deal
Pros: One can't have too many USB3 ports.
Cons: Installing the drivers - I get a win32s_malware warning and an aborted install.
The manual also is not of the best print quality, a led magnifying glass was necessary.
I was also NOT impressed when I had to reboot, my screen resolution was dropped way low, and all my icons were crammed in the LH side of the screen. Second time in the week for that one. That is why I gave it 4 eggs instead of 5.
Reviewed By:John K.,2/21/2017 9:27:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > SUNIX > SUNIX USB3.1 Enhanced SuperSpeed Dual ports PCI Express Host Card with Type-A Receptacle Model USB2312

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for servers that need USB 3
Pros: Worked in server 2012r2 with built in driver
Works in Rack-mount servers without internal auxiliary power
Inexpensive
Cons: You get what you pay for, and not more.
Other Thoughts: We are using these cards in our Dell rack-mount servers so we can use USB3 external hard drives for performing simple backup procedures.

Just bear in mind that without supplementary power, your motherboard will have to provide all power needed for any attached devices. The pcie slot should be able to provide a total of 25 watts which is plenty for two portable USB hard drives.
Reviewed By:STEVEN L.,2/21/2017 10:31:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2-port of 1394b + 1-port of 1394a Firewire Ports PCI-Express Controller Card (SY-PEX30016)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Turned out to be usesless - wish I had determeined this sooner.
Pros: None
Cons: - didn't work with any of my firewire 400 devices (audio interface, digital video cameras)
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this device.
I would not purchase this again.
I would, and did, change to different product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are very sorry for any inconvenience this Firewire Card may have caused you. This card needs to have a Molex power connector attached to it to work. Also, Windows 8 and 10 no longer has Firewire support, so you would need to go on to https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2970191 to download the Windows Legacy Support Drivers. I hope this helps you.

If you have any more questions you can contact our support team at support@sybausa.com so that we can go more in depth troubleshooting.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170224

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/21/2017 10:00:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-508 USB 3.0 PCI-E Express Card with 4 USB 3.0 Ports, Speed Up to 5.0 Gbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4 extra USB ports
Pros: Works perfect with Windows 10
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Chris Duffey,2/21/2017 4:29:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA M.2 PCI-e To PCI-e 3.0 x4 Card Model SI-PEX40110

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lots of green indicator LEDs
Pros: Works reliably with a Samsung 960 EVO SSD in a SuperMicro MBD-X11SAE-M server motherboard.
The green LEDs show when the card is active.
Cons: No way to see activity LEDs from rear (which is also a good thing when you don't want light pollution).
Other Thoughts: It works reliably, so I think it's a good buy.
A model with an optional heatsink and/or provision for a tiny quiet cooling fan would be great.
Reviewed By:Peter F.,2/19/2017 5:08:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Silverstone > Silverstone Expansion Card Model SST-ECM21

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works!
Pros: I have all of my SATA ports working when I use this. Yay!
Didn't notice the power (red) and activity (green) LEDs on the back bracket. A welcome surprise.
Cons: Not for this product besides price: Considering the simplicity of the card, it could be cheaper.
Other Thoughts: Motherboard manufactures rob us of SATA ports when we want to connect a M.2 port on the motherboard. With this cheap adapter I get to use all of my SATA ports. Very happy.
ASRock Z270 Taichi
Reviewed By:Timothy L.,2/18/2017 3:29:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Silverstone > Silverstone Add-On Card Model SST-ECWA2-LITE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple add-on that brings Laptop-grade wireless to Desktop
Pros: - Have an older laptop that is no longer in use? You can put *most* mini-PCI-E cards in here to bring some of that old, yet reliable, cards that no longer are getting any use.
- Plugs into PCI-E 1X with no issues and plug the USB 2.0 Header to your motherboard for power.
- If you need another USB, the USB on this board works as an additional port
Cons: - Had contact with Silverstone Customer Service to ask if the USB 2.0 Header was going to add another slot for me to add Case USBs, of which they did tell me that I could use it that way. Turns out that the Header was for supplying power to the board. So, instead of giving me an additional Header, it took the one USB 2.0 Header I had on my micro-ATX motherboard.
Other Thoughts: I found that when it comes to Wireless, Laptop cards have a lot more updates and fixes because its a basic necessity for a laptop to function in today's. This card helps bring that stability to Desktops at home (Just in case running a Ethernet port would be too long or not enough Gigabit ports for everyone)

I bought this product for the intention of using a Intel 7260 Wireless AC/Bluetooth card to attain Bluetooth aptX connection to send to my home entertainment system through some guides. I didn't care for the Wi-Fi but it was defiantly a plus. I took an egg off because of the miscommunication from Silverstone, but other than that, this card so far has been pretty useful.
Reviewed By:Edgar C.,2/18/2017 2:26:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO Monster USB 3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB 3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB 3.0 20-PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card (PVU3-502I)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very nicely designed product (not working)
Pros: It comes with a 4-pin molex power plug, which is far more practical than the SATA power plugs most of these adapters come with. the power plug is oriented towards the rear, not upwards, which makes cable management much easier.

The internal USB3 header is a nice touch, and also oriented in a direction which makes cable management much easier. Somebody was thinking!

I also like the black backplate. Very nice touch and attention to detail.
Cons: It does not work. The PCIe side is detected by the OS, but when plugging in any USB device, it's not detected.
Other Thoughts: Great idea, but the product does not work. Now that I've bought this again recently, I realized I also purchased this card three years ago, and had the same problems with it. Customer support tries to be helpful, but there is a language barrier, so I gave up.
Reviewed By:ALEXANDRU G.,2/18/2017 11:22:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 2 Port PCI Express (PCIe) SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter with UASP - LP4 Power Model PEXUSB3S25

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 3.0 card!
Pros: I installed drivers,card and it worked perfectly in a 4 year old HP desktop. I would buy again.
Cons: No cons what so ever !!!
Reviewed By:Timothy C.,2/16/2017 5:46:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2-port of 1394b + 1-port of 1394a Firewire Ports PCI-Express Controller Card (SY-PEX30016)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working great with my RME Fireface 800!
Pros: - Solid Construction!
- Has both 400 and 800 Firewire connections.
- No driver needed for Windows 7!
- It also has the coveted TI chipset which is sought after when running a professional sound card with your DAW.
- Affordable Price!
- Customer support that posts on newegg!
Cons: None that I can really think of. I've only had it installed for a few days in this new build, but its working as intended so no cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: I'm currently running this card plugged into a ASUS Sabertooth x99 with a i7-6800k. I'm using one of the 800 ports to connect to an 800 port on the RME Fireface and its been great and very stable! I'm using this cable -> (https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812200305)

If you need a firewire card for your Professional Sound Card then this is the one you want. Make sure you plug in the 4 pin power cable to it if you want it to work correctly.
Reviewed By:Justin C.,2/16/2017 8:41:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.