Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX200-APU3-25B External 2.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure - SSDs / HDDs, USB 3.0 Connection, 100% Screw-less

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work
Pros: 10 bucks.
Cons: Was really looking forward to popping in my spare 120GB Chronos SSD in this thing and using it as a backup.
Doesn't work. Just sits there blinking.

I've bought many MANY rosewill parts in my time over the 15+ years of serious building/tech work... this is the first time they've failed me.
Other Thoughts: Not only is this hard drive enclosure broken... but my heart is too :(

If you're looking to get something simple like this for an SSD / 2.5" drive... go for something that's better quality.
Reviewed By:Mirsad R.,3/24/2017 12:58:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6619US3-BK SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" and 3.5" HDD, SSD [8TB Support]

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic device for Techs
Pros: I could throw any SATA drive I have sitting around in this thing and it picks it right up.
Acronis sees it as well when booting from Acronis boot media.
Great for imaging/cloning/copying drives or upgrading drives for laptops/computers etc...
Cons: Really wish USB would rid of power adapters already...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2017 12:56:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill 2.5" SATA III Stylish and Screwless HDD / SSD Enclosure RX203

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Tooless is Great - Feels Cheap - Works
Pros: I really like the tooless feature, the other day I switched between four drive doing some troubleshooting, I would have less teeth if I had to use a tool.
Cons: I would prefer a analog power switch so when I am troubleshooting I don't have to turn it back on everytime I reboot also it feels cheap although I can fix that with some foam packing to eliminate the empty sound and feel. As for the visual look, it's OK. . . I may scratch and ding it to match my rustic look. Perhaps a micro USB cable would be good so that I can just use the cable that is always ready to connect my phone or tablet.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend it to others and I would buy another
I would like for the ON light to be next to the switch or on top
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/21/2017 9:18:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK – External 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – Aluminum & Plastic, Black, SATA I / II, USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does the job well - I would buy again
Pros: - Solid construction. I've purchased a similiar model years ago which has the same build quality. No complaints there.
- Fan keeps the drive cool. It made some noise initially but after reseating it, it's very quiet.
- USB/eSATA cables included.
- eSata speeds are very fast.
Cons: None.
-
My previous review cited that this enclosure uses sector emulation for drives larger than 2 TB. That was incorrect - it presents the proper drive geometry (cylinders and bytes per sector) properly for >2 TB. drives. Turns out, my RAID SATA controller (with an old driver) was using 1024-byte sector sizes to handle >2 TB. drives, which is non-standard and not proper . The enclosure wouldn't recognize the partitions created that way consequently. The fault was due to my RAID SATA controller using an old Windows driver, not the enclosure controller. It took a lot of time and research to figure this out.
Other Thoughts: For anyone experiencing issues with drives larger than 2 TB. with this enclosure:
If your SATA controller partitioned the drive using a non-standard sector size, this enclosure won't work properly with that drive. The enclosure is not at fault; update your SATA drivers and re-partition the drive using the standard 512-byte sector size.
Reviewed By:Dave M.,3/20/2017 11:46:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV - Silver, 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA External Enclosure with Internal 80 mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: I have three of these. Two have been going without any problems for nearly 4 years. The cooling fan keeps your hard drive temps down and doesn't produce a lot of noise.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Tracy H.,3/20/2017 3:42:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA SI-ENC50070 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA USB 3.0 IO Crest USB 3.0 Docking Station for 2.5" and 3.5" SATA HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with at least a couple larger drives
Pros: Seems to play with Seagate Skyhawk 4TB ST4000VX007 as well as Western Digital Gold 6TB WD6002FRYZ on USB3.0 under Win7 on an older Z68 Asus mobo chipset.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Bruce M.,3/20/2017 12:24:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NexStar TX 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s to USB 3.0 SSD/HDD Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 the connector is very poorly made
Pros: cost
Cons: the connector is very poorly made, the cable is not connecting, you need to constantly adjust (shake) it, I have two one of Nexstar TX 2.5" Enclosure. one is working so far but other one don't not work for most part after continuously adjusting it start to work, but for some time.

Reviewed By:Muhammad K.,3/19/2017 7:23:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK ICYCube MB561U3S-4SB R1 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA(PM) Hot Swap 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/SSD External Enclosure - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1st one defective; 2nd one working well
Pros: Had to return the 1st one I received, as it would only detect a drive in bay 3. Return process with Newegg was painless; only down side was the delay time (see cons).

Here is my experience so far.
I purchased this array to replace a failed Sans Digital TR4M+BNC 4 disk array who's power supply failed. The Sans Digital replaced a Rosewill 4 disk array that had the same problem (each lasted about 2 years). As it seems that this is a common issue with those enclosures, I figured it was time to try a different brand and model.

This enclosure cost about 50% more that the other two however ($165 for the Icy Dock ($130 with rebate, assuming it is honored) vs approx. $105 for each of the other 2)

When I got the replacement after the 1st one failed, I connected to a Windows 7 computer via USB 3, and all drives were detected and able to be access as expected (2 4TB HGST and 2 2TB Samsung) ; good first sign!

I connected the array to a Windows 2012 Essentials Server via USB, and nothing... It would not install drivers or detect the enclosure at all. Since the documentation did not list any Windows Server OS as supported (only Win 7, 8, 8,1 and 10) I really cannot complain too loudly.

I then connected it to an eSATA port with a working 4 port SATA PCI-E card (a "SYBA SI-PEX40065 PCI-Express x1 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card", Newegg Item # N82E16816124065), and the drives were immediately detected and available to Windows Server.

I have had the system running for 3 days now and the drives have been solid and not had a drop in connection. Crossed fingers that this enclosure will have a longer life span that the other 2. One benfit is that the power supply is not integrated into the chassis like the Sans Digital, but is a power brick like for a laptop. If it fails, arguable, you could just replace that.
Cons: - 1st one I received was defective; would not detect drives in any bay other than 3. Replacement working correctly however. -1 Egg for the defective item
- Time to replace was long; took about 2 weeks for replacement. Seems mostly due to the fact that I live on the East Coast and the returned shipment went to California via FedEx ground.
- Not supported by Windows Server OSes via USB 3.0 connection; the product does not claim this in its documentation or on the box, however, so I cannot complain too loudly, other than it seems like it should be able to be installed/used in such a way.
Other Thoughts: - External power supply is a good thing, given my experience with failed devices of other brands
- Selector switch for fan speed is a nice touch. I have it set to "auto" and it is quiet. I only have 3 drives installed and the top-most bay is empty.
Reviewed By:Shawn D.,3/19/2017 9:09:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO External Hard Drive Enclosure, USB 3.0 SuperSpeed, for 3.5" SATA HDD and SSD (3588US3)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Inexpensive
Pros: Works so far
Cons: Has dropped out a few times so I will have to come back to this after awhile
Other Thoughts: After 30 days it continues to drop out. I bought a 3.0 USB card just for it so it's not my system. Of course I don't have the case it came in after 30 days so I guess I am stuck with it.
Reviewed By:Charles B.,3/19/2017 6:53:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite USB 3.0 SuperSpeed to Dual SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station with Cloning for 2.5in/3.5in HDD (U339-002)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 researcher
Pros: the results like having a new computer, just great!
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: a known brand name.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/19/2017 6:12:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.