Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS416 Disk Station 4-Bay Diskless Network Attached Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Synology DS416 review
Pros: Can hold large amounts of data redundantly.
Easy to setup and manage
Remote management
Feature Rich
Nice interface
Cons: For as cheap as ram is now adays, is it really that much more to bump it up a little? I know you can add more but i mean out of the box.
Also ARM processor boards are quite cheap for Quad cores could have had a little faster speeds or more cores.
I guess they wanted to create a price gap so they had to gimp it.
Other Thoughts: Other than wishing the hardware was faster, the SHR Raid array took a lonnng time to build and also it took a very long time to complete indexing when i moved all my files to it.
It was about 3 days of uptime before it was done setting itself up with the apps i decided to use.
Reviewed By:Amanda L.,7/20/2017 11:23:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 214 4-Bay Network Attached Storage Diskless (RN21400)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product for the price!
Pros: If do your homework first the setup is easy.
Fast speeds and response times transferring files and streaming.
Just spend some time learning the product and it is great!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Fred S.,7/16/2017 4:28:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216j Diskless System NAS DiskStation

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best NAS for its price!
Pros: It's very simple to setup. I made it much harder than it was because I just couldn't believe how easy the basic setup was; it was suspiciously easy. I really just had to slide the hard disks in and turn it on. It defaulted to its own proprietary Synology Hybrid RAID configuration which is most similar to RAID 1. It set itself up on the network and was easily accessible. NO ROUTER CONFIGURATION NEEDED. Beyond that, It has a wide variety of features and I mean WIDE. You can set it up to be remotely accessible and to be a media streaming server from ANYWHERE, which great especially because I use it mainly to backup my music collection. You can also select individual files and directories for it to sync automatically so you never need to worry if you're important data is backed up. It's not just for taking images of your system. You can map a drive directly to your computer or use the web interface, which also allows you to drag and drop files and folders.
Cons: -I emailed their sales team with questions before buying, but they never got back to me.
-I'm having trouble with some of the advanced features.
-The Synology Cloud Station Backup and Cloud Station Drive packages ask for a QuickConnect ID, which it doesn't seem to let me create. It just says that there's network failure when I try to login with my admin credentials.
-I've had trouble so far installing the software packages.
-You don't have the ability to hide files or folders on the web interface; everything shows up.
Other Thoughts: -This would be the ONLY NAS device I'd recommend to any home users. There's no reason to pay a penny more!
-I'd give it 5 stars, as it's everything I expected, except the advanced features are troublesome. Honestly, if it didn't have any of these features, I wouldn't have known what I was missing and given it 5 stars for sure.
Reviewed By:John H.,7/14/2017 8:20:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > Qnap TS-653B-4G-US 6-Bay Professional-grade iSCSI NAS. Intel Celeron Apollo Lake J3455 Quad-core CPU with Hardware Encryption and exclusive USB type-C Quick Access Port

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Consumer class product
Pros: awesome raid 6 implementation, very easy to do the initial setup, good amount of apps
Cons: UNDER POWERED, you have to enable Multitasking, but that disables the remote. Plex app needs a lot of work, the qnap branded apps don't always default to a logical volume or aren't easily able to be changed to an alternative.
Other Thoughts: this is the "windows" of nas drives decent software, but needs work...hold off on this one and save up for the TVS-871T
Reviewed By:Chris b.,7/13/2017 7:31:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Drobo > Drobo 5N2: Network Attached Storage (NAS) 5-Bay Array, 2 x Gigabit Ethernet Ports (DRDS5A21)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Has software problems. Not ready for use yet.
Pros: -Was able to plug in my old Drobo-FS stack and it read it.
-Easy to set up and configure.
-Can add extensible Drobo apps to expand functionality.
-Can mix and match drives effortlessly.
-Can use standard SATA drives. Don't need NAS rated ones. (This is the same as the Drobo FS.) You'll still want to reformat to get the highest speed (which I did and then copied my data back).
-Easy to update software.
-High speed. Can saturate a 1 Gbps link. Even though it can bond Ethernet ports, I can't test this as you need a special switch and Windows 10 doesn't support bonded Ethernet. Darn Microsoft!
Cons: -Software is buggy. Frequently locks up during write operations. Haven't lost data yet as far as I can tell. Seems to do alright for reads, but writes will frequently cause the entire system to lockup. Other times it'll work fine. Can't figure it out. Updated firmware and software. No luck.
-Put in a trouble ticket almost two months ago. Updated it. It still haven't even been acknowledged. Drobo has completely ignored my support request.
Other Thoughts: At this time, no. If you pay a lot of money for a NAS solution that "just works", you expect it to "just work". My old Drobo FS was flawless but slow. This one is fast but buggy. I think it's inexcusable that Drobo is completely ignoring my help request. Once they get the bugs out, then it's probably worth 5 eggs.
Reviewed By:Charles P.,7/9/2017 5:12:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216se Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 CHEAP NAS
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Very slow
Other Thoughts: Use remote ok. Locally or build raid slow
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/7/2017 6:54:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-453mini-2G-US Diskless System 4-Bay Quiet and Vertical NAS, Intel 2.0GHz Quad Core CPU with Media Transcoding

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super simple to get it up and running, quiet and reliable
Pros: * easy to upgrade the memory
* easy to install the hard drives
* loaded with features
* easy to set up users
* I can control and administer it from my phone
* get notifications that firmware updates are available (yes, they add/fix features often)
* get notifications that backups have completed with stats
Cons: I haven't had any issues yet. I've been pretty happy with it!
Other Thoughts: I am very happy with it. I added an external USB 3.0 hard drive to it for an additional nightly backup (which is easy to do using the built-in software). For our family, most of what we are storing is photos (my wife is a photographer) and the kids occasionally will dump files onto it when they are about to re-format their hard drives, so this works perfect for that. You can also use it to log IP cameras, use it as a Media Server (iTunes, Windows Media, etc), many, many, other features. Its very quiet and consumes much less electricity then the server that I used to have in place.

I would recommend getting the 2Gb model and then just forking out $50 to get it up to 8Gb of RAM. I would also recommend getting NAS rated hard drives (WD Red for example) for it based on reviews of others.

I should have bought one of these a long time ago.
Reviewed By:Graham M.,7/6/2017 10:30:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216j Diskless System NAS DiskStation

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Feature rich, but be ready for research, trial, and error.
Pros: - Initial Setup was pretty easy. Deciding on a name for the server was the hard part.
- In home media streaming without the need to have my primary PC turned on, amazing.
- Feature rich, there is a lot that this machine can do. I feel like I have not begun to scratch the surface.
- Easy to install and uninstall applications with the Package Center.
- I can access my files over the internet via DDNS and FTP.
Cons: - The number of available features can be overwhelming.
- Lots of trial and error.
- Sometimes when I'm browsing files and folders using the internet browser UI I hit the back button on my mouse to go back a folder, and instead the webpage goes back to my home page. Palm Face. Really, I should just use the mapped network drives for this.
Other Thoughts: I bought this with a pair of 8TB WD Red drives. The NAS configured the drives as a Redundant RAID by default giving my 7.2TB of usable storage. This is great because it is exactly what I wanted.

The initial setup was pretty easy. I moved the files to it that I wanted off of my PC, mostly Movies and Shows, and I was able to set up a few user accounts with varying levels of access to the default Home and shared folders. Within the first 24 hours of owning it I was streaming movies and shows to KODI on my HTPC over SMB. On my primary Windows machine I was able to map drives to my Home folder and the shared folders as easily as one might expect, and I was able to set up Windows to automatically backup files and folders of my choosing to a folder within my Home folder.

I spent several hours combing through the settings in the Control Panel to see what this NAS is capable of and I was able to tweak various settings to my liking. I was also able to Install and uninstall various applications with ease thanks to the package center implementation. I am now running a Plex server (no transcoding), for instance, so that the FireSticks in the house have easy access to my library. And I uninstalled many of the pre-installed apps like Video Station since I will not be using them, and can easily reinstall them if I change my mind.

Once I was comfortable with the UI and basic functionality, I began researching means of accessing my NAS from over the internet. After much research, trial, and error (I'm new to this) I was able to setup a free DDNS in the control panel through synology (very easy) and an encrypted FTP File server that I can access using FileZilla(not as intuitive). With this method I can create user accounts for friends and they can upload and download files and folders that I explicitly give them read and/or write access to. Pretty great!
Reviewed By:Benjamin M.,7/5/2017 6:51:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216j Diskless System NAS DiskStation

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 decent but a couple surprises
Pros: It allows you to easily set up a password-protected SMB file sharing system for your group
Cons: - I wanted to use an external drive only; in fact, it REQUIRES the use of an internal drive (not included, housing not included)
- You can share partitions from external drives, but you can't edit the default names; they are usb-share1-1, usb-share1-2, etc.
Other Thoughts: If I were buying again, I would take a closer look at other brands
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/5/2017 12:29:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1817+ (8GB) Diskless System High Performance NAS Optimized for Encryption and Intensive tasks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic NAS.
Pros: This my first environment for NAS after continuing from a usb world. And was so easy to setup. I put in the drives that came with it (3x6tb), booted it, and then navigated http://find.syncology .com and came up with a menu – “would I like to install Synology?”

That was it! Install Synology, Mirror hard drives (raid 5), and then setup for filesystems. Then move my movies, music, photos. It took all day to move 6tb over. I then plugged the 3 addl ports on ds1817+ to be the same way my initial port and wow, 90-100mg on my copy then.

I’ve only had it for less than a week, lots of places to go with this. Although I only have 3 drives, I can order drives as I need them.
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: I should have just bought it month ago. Great product!!!!!
Reviewed By:Tim F.,7/5/2017 9:24:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.