Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works for what I needed
Pros: Like the hot key feature, my previous KVM switch didn't have that feature, button only.
Wires are removable, so if a cable goes bad, it can be replaced, not sure how easy it is to find them, but I am sure it's possible.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: This replaced a Rosewill KVM switch that I was having issues with, so far it works far better than the previous unit. If you need a basic KVM switch, this will do the trick.
Reviewed By:ANTHONY D.,7/25/2017 9:47:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPDDUA 2 Port Dual DisplayPort USB KVM Switch with Audio & USB 2.0 Hub

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works
Pros: It works as I need. My setup is a docking station with an HP Probook laptop, my desktop with a Nvidia 1070 video card and I have two Dell 24" U2415 monitors. Both computers work at 1080p with no present issues. Also a Das keyboard and a Razer Deathadder mouse.
Cons: When switching computers, if you have video playing on the second screen, it will stop. This may be an issue with Displayport itself. Before I installed the KVM, when I turned off my monitors, the second monitor would lose everything that was on and it would be bumped to the primary monitor (this didn't occur on previous monitors using DVI), but still occurs here on both machines.
Other Thoughts: It took a while to get it all synced up, as you have to connect the displayport cables in one at a time in a one-by-one order.
The KVM only comes with a power cable. You will need to get extra displayport cables and a A Male to B Male usb cable for each computer (same as a USB printer cable).
Reviewed By:Michael R.,7/15/2017 5:35:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-215i 2-Port HDMI KVM Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Functional link for 2 mighty computers.
Pros: Great control/functionality for my Windows and Linux desktop systems. Able to swap to and fro easily. One could call it a great learning tool.
Cons: Yes, cables are a bit short but workable.
Other Thoughts: Based on previous dealings with KVM switches, simple piece of hardware ready out of the box.
Reviewed By:Ronald A.,7/10/2017 12:08:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Athena Power > Athena Power SCK-LKD1916 1U Rackmount Server Console 19" 16-Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: We have only had this installed for a few weeks so far, but it is working great. I have purchased more expensive ones in the past and I must say this one seems to top them all so far.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this KVM.
Reviewed By:Chris M.,7/9/2017 3:30:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Coboc > Coboc KVM-2VGAUA-PT 2-Ports Integrated cable USB/VGA KVM Switch w/Audio Supports -1920 x 1440

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work consistently
Pros: None.
Cons: It will not consistently switch between inputs. It seems to hang about once an hour and you have to shut down both PC's to get it to work again.
Reviewed By:Thomas B.,6/28/2017 1:02:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-205K KVM Switch with Integrated Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: DOA
Cons: DOA
Reviewed By:MARK P.,6/20/2017 6:03:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM20108 4-Port USB DVI KVM Switch with Speaker, Microphone, Printer and Thumb Drive Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 1st KVM I bought that REALLY works!
Pros: I have tried KVMs before all the way back to the Windows 95 era and none of them ever worked completely right. I bought a much cheaper one recently that started showing problems past the 30 day RMA limit. Except for one time I had to reset this one that I will cover in the cons, it has worked flawlessly. The hot key function is great. I could have just stuck it out of sight, but thanks to the rubber end caps I was able mount it to the side of the waterbed without damaging it. I simply used long deck screws, 2 underneath and 2 on each side for it to rest in. The extra USB inputs are a real plus. I have 3 keyboard/mouse combos plugged in. I prefer the mouse from one, another as my main keyboard and another set for a remote screen. There is still one port open for my printer. Unlike my previous KVM, this one will work with my keyboards that are not fully USB 2 compliant. I like the DVI video ports. HDMI can be so touchy, glitching at the slightest movement. If you need to connect to HDMI you can always use an adapter or a combo cable. There is plenty of space between connectors. If you need VGA this unit will support it with an adapter. I have not tried the audio ports so I cannot comment on that. My other KVM said that it supported speakers and microphones, but since there was only one 3.5mm port on each channel I guess that was either/or. This KVM has both.
Cons: Once I noticed that the green LEDs were not changing ports even though everything was still working. I made the mistake of unplugging the AC adapter and and plugging back in. It would then only see one machine and the rest were no signal. I had to hard kill 3 machines. After plugging the adapter back in I restarted the machines and there has been no problem for a couple of weeks now. Save the hassle of an needless RMA. Shut down all machines BEFORE powering the KVM back up.
The hot key function only works on the port with the keyboard symbol.
Ii wish there could have been a cheaper option to buy it without cables. I have it 20 feet from the machines so they are no use to me. Thanks to the defective KVM that I guess I will just pitch, I now have 8 sets of cords that I will never need.
It was no problem for me, but the cord for the AC adapter is very short. If you are using a UPC you will probably need an extension cord. If you have an outage this unit WILL NOT work without power. I already had an extension nearby for my audio amp. What is the point of giving you 6 feet cables when the adapter is about 2?
One machine takes a couple seconds to come up. It is probably because of the graphics card. The others switch instantly.
Other Thoughts: I am mainly using Ubuntu with 3 desktops. This OS is already buggy about losing your display settings. It was a problem just about every time switching back to it. I found a simple solution. I put a splitter on the main monitor and connected one output to an unused input with a separate cord. This way Linux still sees the same monitor all the time. Otherwise it is like disconnecting it when you switch to another machine. Only one of my OFFLINE Windows 7 and 8 machines (Windows 10? no thanks!) has a second desktop and there has been no problem with it.
Reviewed By:John S.,6/15/2017 8:00:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62 MiniView Micro PS/2 KVM Switch with Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well almost all the time
Pros: Scroll lock key to swap is a good choice.
Small, reliable, inexpensive
Cons: I do have ONE machine that decides to switch resolution then back when it gets switched to on one of these switches, haven't figured out if it's a Windows issue (likely) or an issue with that switch.
Other Thoughts: I wish IOGear made a VGA + 2x USB version of this switch, their 2-port VGA+USB options either don't have keyboard-controlled switching, or are too fancy with audio support I have no use for at too high a cost.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR. The problem you are describing with resolution changes would be corrected with a KVM that supports Dynasync or EDID support, the GCS62 does not have this feature. IOGEAR make a KVM to support almost all needs. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2017 11:30:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22U 2-Port USB KVM Switch with Cables and Remote

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works
Pros: Switches 2 computers like it's supposed to.
Inexpensive
Small
Cons: No ability to switch from keyboard, unlike EVERY OTHER KVM switch I've ever used.
The attached "button" works OK, but it's so lightweight it doesn't stay put unless you use double-sided tape to stick it in place.
It would actually make more sense to put the "switch" button on the KVM itself for many folks.
Other Thoughts: I won't be buying more of these, but it does work as advertised.
Just don't expect the ability to switch from keyboard.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR. The GCS22U is a non emulated KVM. It does not have hot key switching . The GCS22U is a low cost KVM that was designed to be used without hot key switching. The GCS632U has built in emulation for hot key switching. IOGEAR make a KVM to suite almost all needs. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/13/2017 10:43:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231USB 2 Port Professional USB KVM Switch Kit with Cable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine with 2 Win 10 systems
Pros: I have this switch hooked up to 2 Win10 Asus motherboard systems. 98% of the time it switched between systems with in 1-2 seconds no issues at all.
Cons: On a rare occasion, it won't connect to the system I'm trying to switch to, but all I have to do is switch back to the original system and then back to the system I was switching to and it connects 100% of the time.
Other Thoughts: Have had the device installed for about 4 months.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/12/2017 1:45:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.