Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS1642A 2-Port USB 2.0 DVI Dual View KVMP Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great KVM
Pros: Was easy to set up. I had no problem running it.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Carolanne M.,2/15/2017 5:30:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite 8-Port Cat5 Rack-Mount Console KVM Switch with 19-in. LCD, 1U (B070-008-19)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good product quick delivery
Pros: kvm arrived quickly, packaged well, no damage, installed easily
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/14/2017 5:18:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Tripp Lite > TRIPP LITE B072-016-1-IP 16-Port NetCommander 1U Rackmount Cat5 KVM over IP Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not great...
Pros: Will work with older servers well.
Cons: Will not work with HP GL380 G9 servers.
Reviewed By:Phil L.,2/9/2017 8:41:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPU2 2-port DisplayPort KVM switch - USB 2.0 - 4K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not compatible with all wireless devices
Pros: - Compact
- Can be switched from the desktop rather than the button on the unit
- Displayport
Cons: - Not compatible with all wireless devices
- Sometimes when you switch, the monitor reverts to a low resolution

We were using a Logitech combo wireless mouse (M510) and keyboard (K350) with a single dongle. Sometimes when we switched inputs, the computer we switched to would not see the mouse and keyboard. You'd have to reboot the computer to be able to use the mouse and keyboard again. Contacted Startech twice and tried potential solutions they suggested. When those did not work, on the third chat, the tech support person told me that Startech knows their KVMs are not 100% compatible with wireless devices and in some cases (as in mine) the wireless devices won't be detected at all.

The tech wanted to try further troubleshooting to determine if the unit was defective or whether this was a compatibility issue. In my mind, there was no need as either would require me to return the unit and seek out a different solution to our needs.
Other Thoughts: I cannot speak for the durability or longevity of the unit as I had to ship it back. But it seems like a nice option as long as you are using wired devices. You can download a switching program from Startech's website so you do not even have to reach over to the unit. It was simple and straight forward.

I am disappointed that if Startech knew their unit was not 100% compatible with wireless devices to the point that some are not even seen, that such a warning is not given to potential buyers, especially when more and more wireless mice and keyboards are being used.
Reviewed By:Scott F.,2/9/2017 8:21:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 [SOLVED!] IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port -- did the job.
Pros: Finally a switch that just works!

This is my 4th switch I purchased over the past 12 years. It replaced my ConnectPro switch that was starting to fault. (That ConnectPro switch never delivered what it promised, and was only good for 2yrs. until it just decided to stop working.)

The USB connection on the front of this IOGEAR can even be used to charge stuff. No need to have any computers on to charge! I just love it.
Cons: none (read the mall printed manual!) The English could be improved... ;)
Reviewed By:nathaniel c.,2/8/2017 8:15:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-214I 2-Port DVI USB KVM Switch Kit with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice entry level KVM
Pros: Quick setup. Hot key use or remote button attached to the unit via wire. Didn't have to install drivers. Video performance doesn't suffer.
Cons: Hot Key may not work with your operating system. I'm switching between a Windows and Linux desktop and the hot key switch doesn't work in Linux.
Other Thoughts: Using a wired keyboard and a Logitech wireless mouse.
Reviewed By:Andrew B.,2/6/2017 10:04:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62HU 2-Port HD Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not try to use this item for gaming mice
Pros: Like the remote
Cons: Can't use gaming mice with it. Won't recognize anything other than the standard mouse buttons. Mouse goes to sleep and you have to unplug the usb and replug for it to wake up if it wants to.
Other Thoughts: NO, would not recommend.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR . To correct issues like described turn off the mouse emulation through HSM on the KVM. Follow this procedure to urn off the mouse emulation:Turn off mouse emulation through the KVM HSM settings mode. This can be done with a basic wired 102 key keyboard. Press scroll lock scroll lock fast. If you changed the default from scroll lock to control use the control key. This is a timing sequence that must be done very fast. If this mode is entered correctly the LEDS on your keyboard should start to flash. When the LEDS are flashing press m and enter to turn off the mouse emulation. The LEDS should stop flashing and you should see the mouse drivers start to load. Your mouse should now work in the console port for the mouse. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Glen S.,1/30/2017 1:37:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value - Can be Used with One or Two Monitors
Pros: --Can be used with either one or two monitors. To use with two computers and two monitors, run the video from each computer to each monitor and unplug the video cables, but not the serial cables that split off from each video cable coming from the switch.

--Fast shipping to me in California.

--Just what was promised in the specifications.

--Cables disconnect from the switch, so easier to keep untangled.

--Both hardware buttons and keyboard switching works fine but
1. On my keyboard the hotkeys were NOT scroll-lock, scroll-lock, as the printed instructions said, but numlock, numlock.
2. I have to pause about a half second or so between each press of numlock. If you do it too fast it won't switch.
3. While each computer is booting, you may have to leave it selected so everything gets configured properly before switching to the other computer and booting it in turn.
4. Unsurprisingly, the keyboard switching does not work if the power is off and keyboard is not yet active on both computers.
5. Works fine for me with Opensuse Linux and Windows 10.

--The helpful offers by the seller to help reviewers on this site who had difficulties were encouraging.
Cons: -- The instructions could be better
1. They could be correct about which keys actually are the hotkeys.
2. They could explain how to do both a one monitor and a two monitor installation.

--I am a little nervous about some reviews on this site that say the switch stopped working after a while. I just installed mine but, so far, I am delighted.
Reviewed By:Vincent D.,1/26/2017 10:25:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS782DP 2-Port UHD 4K USB DisplayPort KVM Switch - allows to access two 4K-enabled computers from a single USB keyboard, USB mouse, and DisplayPort video console

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good for video not for wired keyboard and mouse gaming
Pros: I can get 4k video for 2 systems and 1 Samsung UHD monitor.
Cons: Listen- You can not use the (2) usb2 for keyboard and mouse at the same time. Only 1 usb2 works and not all keyboards work. My Steel gaming keyboard would not work for window 10. 1 system was windows 7 and the other windows 10 and the keyboard and mouse together in the usb2 ports would not work. Only the mouse.
Other Thoughts: Only buy this if you have an all in one keyboard and mouse adapter for both keyboard and mouse.
Reviewed By:Patrick W.,1/24/2017 9:29:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPU2 2-port DisplayPort KVM switch - USB 2.0 - 4K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 60 days
Pros: - When functioning the switch was pretty decent. I was overall pleased with its functionality. The monitor I was using it on was a Dell 3008 2560x1600 resolution monitor.
- Functioned as advertised.... until it did not.
- Small footprint
- Does not require additional external power supply
- Cam with cables included
- Good Value
Cons: - It died after 60 days of use.
Other Thoughts: - At this time I am uncertain as to if I would purchase the item again. I am contacting StarTech warranty support and I will see how difficult it is going to be to get a replacement.
Reviewed By:Robert A.,1/22/2017 10:48:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.