Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 8 Gigabit Ports and Seamless Roaming

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid - too many "known" issues
Pros: Works OK when it works, but it takes a lot of effort. This router has been extremely unreliable for me. Once it it up and running, it seems to work OK. But there are so many "known" issues that Linksys has not resolved. The 2 5gHz bands constantly dropped out on me, until I set them up as two individual networks (issue is well known on the Linksys forums). Whenever my router is powered off, I lose connectivity for LAN ports 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6. On my latest power down, they failed to come back which makes me believe this is a hardware issue. Searching the Linksys forums, this is a very well documented issue for numerous customers. Also, my 2.4 gHz band completely drops for weeks at a time, then mysteriously comes back.
Cons: The technical support personnel does not seem to have any knowledge of these "known" issues, but rather send you down a rabbit hole of convoluted fixes that only seem to involved updating firmware, resetting back to factory settings, or rebooting. If they understood the issues that other customers are having, they should be able to immediately recognize issues as known defects.

I have RMA'd my router and received 2 horrible options from Linksys. One - send the router in and wait 7-10 business days for a new one to arrive. Who can be without internet for 2 weeks??? I don't have spare routing hanging around waiting as a backup. Two - give them a credit card number and they put a $400 hold until you send the old unit back in. Did I mention that you have to pay shipping to send back their defective product? Why do I have to pay to ship back their defects?

I am expecting top notch service for one of the most expensive routers on the market today. This is not the case at Linksys. When my RMA'd unit comes back and dies, I will not buy another Linksys product. There are too many issues in their bureaucracy and product development to justify supporting their company.
Reviewed By:Darik R.,6/26/2017 10:10:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC88U Wireless AC3100 Dual-Band Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do NOT Recommend
Pros: looks good, 8 ports
Cons: Just doesn't work
Other Thoughts: had 24 hours worked 4. I could set it up but would drop at random. would have to re-set or at best power cycle every time it dropped. call Asus support and they finally recommended I return it. possible firmware bug/ update error.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/26/2017 10:35:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N56U Wireless Router Dual Band N600 Multimedia Ultra Slim Gigabit 802.11a/b/g/n support USB Storage, Print and Media Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Works fine, hardly ever have to reset it. Simultaneous 2.4 / 5 GHz support is great for supporting legacy devices like original Chromecast.
Cons: Does not successfully communicate with DynDNS service - it claims that it successfully updated my DNS information with its current IP address when it did not.
Reviewed By:Maxfield H.,6/25/2017 8:56:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link AC2600 Wireless Wi-Fi Gigabit Router with 4-Stream Technology (Archer C2600)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worse Than Expected
Pros: - Good range
- Nice GUI
- Easy Installation
- Great Speed
Cons: - Customer Service - Emailed customer service with connection issues. It's a complete wild card when you will get a reply. Sometimes it's within 48 hours, but currently it's been 14 days with no reply. I have even sent emails various times over the 14 day stretch making sure they've received my response.
- Unstable Connection - My connection will drop a few times an hour while gaming. Makes many competitive online games unplayable. My cheap Netgear router never had this issue.
Other Thoughts: This product really deserves one egg for their poor customer service. I would not recommend. Get a different brand.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/25/2017 2:53:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68R Wireless-AC1900 Dual-band Gigabit Router Factory Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not the latest design but still very very capable
Pros: - easy to set up
- support for USB 3.0
- tons of features/capabilities
- network bandwidth monitor features are cool (have kids with smart phones)
Cons: - non so far
Other Thoughts: I had some reservations about buying a refurb, some reviewers have gotten bad hardware. The unit I received looks and performs like a brand new Router. I upgraded from a DIR-655 and immediately saw quicker wifi connections and faster responding web pages on these devices. Can't really say much about the wired side. I'm using all four gigabit ports and performance seems good. If the unit just sits there and works without fail I will consider this a bargain purchase and recommend to friends!
Reviewed By:Jerry M.,6/25/2017 5:31:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link AC2600 Wireless Wi-Fi Gigabit Router with 4-Stream Technology (Archer C2600)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good product when it still works (bought new)
Pros: Easy setup. Virtually plug and play for me.
Cons: 2.4 GHz wifi is dead today (6/24/17). I bought it on 5/13/17. Is this the beginning of all problems from this router? I tried to call tech support, which it says on website 24/7, 866-225-8139, and email support.usa@tp-link.com, and my call went to somewhere outside of us (most likely) with a chinese woman speaking in english and chinese language. What a complete joke support!!!!!
I tried online chat and it shows this info: Toll Free: 1 844 2TP 4SMB(1 844 287 4762)
E-mail: Support.SMB@tp-link.com
Service Time: M-F 6AM-6PM (PST)
Other Thoughts: I tried to register this product online but there is no links or customer support to do that. I don't know if newegg will exchange this defective product or not. I used 2 dlink wireless routers before (first one was dead on Nov 2016 since I used it from Feb 2001, second one is sputtering on its wireless and port 3 & 4 now. Started using it from Aug 2009), and they never gave any problems at all.
Reviewed By:Russ N.,6/24/2017 2:55:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link Certified - Archer C1900 High Power Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 A supposedly good product that I could rely on (bought new)
Pros: Should be a plug and play item. I simply changed the IP address to avoid conflict with my TP Link AC2600.
Cons: It doesn't work with Arris SurfBoard SB8200 (docsis 3.1 but downward compatible with docsis 3.0). SB8200 has 2 ports on the back so I can plug in 2 routers that should work independently of each other). I don't see that there is a switch or a setting that I need to change to make SB8200
Other Thoughts: I already open the product, so I can't return it to newegg. Either someone from TP Link will contact me to help with this problem, I disable dhcp of this router so it works as slave router, or I need to get another router and let this one collects dust and blocks my door.
Reviewed By:Russ N.,6/24/2017 3:09:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link Archer C5400 AC5400 Wireless Tri-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent router
Pros: Saw wireless speeds comparable to that of what you get straight thru a Cat6. QOS does work for improving online gaming overall smoothness.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2017 9:39:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless-AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless-AC1900 Best router I have ever owned in my life!!!
Pros: This baby has kept its value over the years. Most value for the money. I've owned for years. Never let me down.
Cons: The USB storage did not work the way I expected. Oh well. Have to leave that for future routers to figure out I supposed.
Also the 5Ghz was causing interference and frequent discos with mobile devices like my tablets and also my xbox One. Disabled 5Ghz and that resolved the issue.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend ASUS products to anyone. Hands down. Great value.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2017 4:35:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link AC2600 Wireless Wi-Fi Gigabit Router with 4-Stream Technology (Archer C2600)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Firmware issue
Pros: Fast with superfast
Cons: Not stable streaming
Other Thoughts: Not suitable for stream
Reviewed By:javed b.,6/23/2017 9:26:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.