Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DRC-LN4+-O Enhanced Extended ATX Xeon Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Great buy. Lots of RAM. Worked well for me with no issues. Supermicro's website was a bit old school but had all the information, help files, and downloads. Website looks old but is reliable
Cons: None
Reviewed By:David R Gomez,2/26/2017 7:27:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C236M WS Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Look Elsewhere....
Pros: Newegg service was pretty good
Cons: First board arrived and could not boot, fans would not spin, nothing.....put all the parts on a MSI C236M board and CPU/MEMORY/PSU worked fine (really nice board the MSI)....returned for RMA and got a new board, another ASROCK C236M....fans spin on new board...awesome....but still can't get to BIOS...code says CMOS needs to be cleared (or CPU installed wrong).....after an hour of trying to clear the CMOS, I gave up realizing if it is corrupt from factory there is probably other issues.......I returned for a refund......Did I mention the MSI board?
Reviewed By:Joe S.,2/26/2017 8:33:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock AD2550R/U3S3 Mini ITX Server Motherboard DDR3 1066

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 RMA'd
Pros: It has a large number of sata ports, which is helpful for a NAS build.
Cons: HDMI, VGA, and all USB ports do not work. I am in the process of returning this unit and getting another; If that works I will revise my review.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 8:38:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DAX-O Extended ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UPDATE YOUR BIOS ***FIRST***! :D
Pros: This board is quite the tank. I feel as though I have future proofed my workstation by choosing this board. I've been desiring a dual socket sli quad channel setup for years and finally pulled the trigger. I've watercooled the CPUs and GPUs. I've hit many snags in the process and learned much.

WIth 2TB of memory and the ability to upgrade my processors to whatever insane setup I want down the road.... 44 cores? 88 threads? Sure. Right now I'm happy with 20 cores and 40 threads.

I've paired this with 4 x 32gb Black Diamond 2400 ECC DDR4. I should've bought 4 sticks as the price has gone up almost 100% thanks to increased demand. I'll wait until prices drop again.
Cons: So there's a few things to mention here.
1: Update your bios because if you do not you WILL have USB connectivity and boot issues. Since updating all my issues have calmed down.
2: This board is listed as E-ATX. It sort of is... I got a Lian Li PC-1000LB (model #?) which is an e-atx case but it was missing something like 4 or 5 holes so I drilled those holes and made it work. Fitment in this case works but it is VERY tight especially when you watercool using the top and front radiators.
3: Would've liked an additional USB 3.0 front header. I realize there's dead space on the motherboard used by other components on different X10 boards but surely it would've been possible somewhere as this is a workstation board.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of tight fitment on this board in cases. The memory slots on the top sit very close to my radiator making putting a fan on it impossible. I plan on ducting two fans into the radiator from the case door. I would also suggest buying 8 sticks of memory to utilize quad channel DDR4 unlike my silly mistake of only buying four.

The PCI slot options in the BIOS are daunting and have no explanation as far as what they do so that's something else to be aware of. Not touching them is probably a good idea. Supermicro gave me no explanation as to what all they options do when asked.

Lastly, I have a Intel X540-T2 card which seems to sporadically work. I have another on order which hopefully will work but there might be a compatability issue there. You *WILL* have to disable onboard LAN if you want your system to boot WITH a 10Gb Intel card.
Reviewed By:Zachary E.,2/23/2017 3:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C236 WSI Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ECC not compatible
Pros: -Compact
-lots of Sata
-2 intel nic
Cons: -documentation on compatibility
(i'm not asking test on all memory...but some known brands please...)
Other Thoughts: Please do not reply by stating that Kingston does not show compatible when on your website it states non-ECC & ECC compatible.

http://asrockrack.com/general/productdetail.asp?Model=C236%20WSI#Specifications

C236 WSI
Intel Xeon E3-1200 v5 Series Processors
Supports Dual channel DDR4 2133 ECC/Non-ECC UDIMM max 32 GB <--------------------------------------------------
Support 8 SATA3 by C236
Supports 1x PCIe 3.0 x16
Supports Intel i210*1+Intel i219*1
Reviewed By:laureano s.,2/23/2017 7:50:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO X9SRL-F ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Its the best motherboard, with IPMI and lots of dimm and SuperMicro support is excellent
Cons: NARROW ILM, but not major as 8 DIMMs wooow , just simply gr8
Other Thoughts: I will remember NEWEGG for lifetime, SUPER FAST, SUPER GR8, SUPER PUNCTUAL
Reviewed By:Rahul Y.,2/21/2017 9:50:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z9PA-U8 ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Won't POST
Pros: Fast. High quality parts. Supports VT-d.
Lots of options that many motherboards dont support
Supports ECC Memory
TONS of onboard FAN support
CPU mounting is very good. Corsair H100i works perfectly
TWO NICs!
Cons: Price.
Manual needs to be consulted often if you want it done properly.
Labels on MB aren't descriptive enough(this is the reason you need to Read the Manual)
Memory slots are little too far on the edge for proper fan mounting.
Other Thoughts: BIOS Won't POST! -- Upon further inspection, two memory modules are apparently faulty. Also, in the area around the motherboard, some PCIx8 slots are not working as well. I've created a ticket with ASUS, but no response for a week so far. Newegg will not allow me to RMA from their site. I'm at the Mercy of ASUS.

I've been purchasing ASUS products for 7 years. I have ALWAYS preferred ASUS over any other brand. This is the first time that they have been silent towards me and have always come through in the past. I'll revise my review if this can get resolved.
Reviewed By:Lucas R.,2/21/2017 7:41:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 FreeNAS
Pros: Perfect motherboard for FreeNAS. I did not need to flash the LSI controller to IT mode and everything worked out of the box.
Cons: The CPUs for this motherboard are limited to 32GB of RAM. This could be an issue if you use deduplication with ZFS.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/19/2017 10:27:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SAE-M-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Several Ubuntu Linux Compatability Problems, including UEFI doesn't work
Pros: Typical SuperMicro high-quality hardware. Fast boots. Has two USB 3.1 ports.
Cons: Using the latest firmware, version 1.0b 03/24/2016 - at the time of writing this review, the board has several incompatibilities with Ubuntu Linux versions 16.10, 16.04 LTS, and 17.04 alpha 1.

1. The firmware, both in UEFI and CSM(BIOS) mode, has a bug which causes the system to lock-up when running the GRUB boot-loader from a USB stick, such as when attempting to install the OS. This can be worked around as documented in Ubuntu's bug # 1666063 by switching the 'kernel' and 'initrd' commands in GRUB's boot script to 'kernel16' and 'initrd16'.

2. The firmware in UEFI-mode is incompatible with the Linux kernel. This applies when booting from USB stick, USB CD-ROM, and NVMe SSD. See Ubuntu's bug #1666068 for the latest information. At the time of writing this review, there is no known work-around to use UEFI-mode. Disabling UEFI-mode means booting from NVMe SSDs doesn't work. My work-around was to not use UEFI mode, and add additional drives to use as boot-devices.

3. Minor compared to the previous bugs -- booting the Ubuntu Server install media in CSM(BIOS) mode hangs the server upon selecting "Install Ubuntu Server". To use the Server install, both from CD or USB, remove the "vga=788" kernel command-line option to enable the installer to work normally. (The desktop LiveCD does not have this problem, as it does not load Linux with the "vga=788" option.) See Ubuntu Bug # 1666082 for complete information.
Other Thoughts: Do not purchase for running Ubuntu Linux in EUFI mode. The USB and GRUB UEFI incompatibles likely apply to more Linux distros than Ubuntu (and derivatives).

Hopefully SuperMicro will release a firmware update which fixes these problems.
Reviewed By:Peter F.,2/19/2017 4:30:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO X9SRL-F ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011 DDR3 1600

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty DIMM slots.
Pros: -Everything is straight forward.
Cons: -Bad DIMM Slots.
Other Thoughts: I ordered this board in 2/2017 for a new server build. The build would crash within 15-60 minutes of use. The logs showed memory problems in all 4 of the 8 slots that I was using. After swapping out various hardware and testing each RAM stick one at a time, it became apparent that it was a motherboard issue. Newegg sent me a replacement. The server continued to crash. This time however, the logs only showed memory problems on 1 slot. After removing the memory stick from the problem slot, the server works fine. I guess I'm just going to keep it with the single bad slot instead of waiting another 2 weeks for a replacement that might not even work.

I'd stay away from this one, it cost a lot of time and frustration.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Steven B.,2/17/2017 5:52:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.