Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRL-F Server Motherboard LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fast, with Handy "Memory Rank Sparing" BIOS Feature
Pros: This is the second model of SuperMicro X10 motherboard that I have used. This build included 4x32GB Samsung DDR4 2400 sticks from the board's QVL (M393A4K40BB1-CRC) and a Xeon E5 1650 v4 running at 3.6 ghz. The built in VGA is adequate and handy for server console and light GUI use, but obviously is not suitable for any serious graphics work. The board and memory successfully completed an impressive benchmark and a one week burn in at full stock clocks (3.6 ghz, 2400 mhz memory) and was moved to production as a W2k8 R2 host. Two weeks later I discovered another useful BIOS feature (see below), the ability to turn on "Memory Rank Sparing" when memory issues arise.
Cons: After two weeks of production, during a reboot after a disk swap, the BIOS identified an uncorrectable memory error and specified that the error was in the C1 slot. While diagnosing the problem I rotated the 4 sticks through the 4 slots, and in all cases the BIOS error persisted in the C1 slot even as each of the 4 sticks worked in each of the other A1, B1 & D1 slots. I also swapped out the PSU to no avail. Clearly the failure was in the north bridge or C1 slot hardware. Although the board has 8 slots (A-D,1-2), the documentation (and BIOS) insisted that each of the blue "1" slots must be populated before using any of the "2" slots. At that point I started to tinker with the north bridge's Memory RAS settings and found a "Memory Rank Sparing" setting that was disabled by default. I enabled that feature and moved the stick from the C1 slot to the A2 slot. Magically the BIOS memory error vanished, and the full 128GB became available. Evidently the BIOS detected a "faulty memory rank" in the now empty C1 slot and automatically utilized the "spare" memory rank it found in the A2 slot. A new benchmark confirmed that the board is operating at the same speeds as initially seen. The machine is back in operation with the rank swap totally invisible to the OS.
Other Thoughts: Although I hate pulling working processors and coolers out of "functioning" motherboards, I also think a new board should have all of its memory sockets available for future upgrades. Plus I am nervous that other north bridge problems may be lurking. I will RMA this board while the NewEgg replacement option is still available.

UPDATE: The second board arrived and I swapped the two boards and powered up. Exactly the same problem: uncorrectable memory error in the C1 slot. I again rotated the sticks, and the problem persisted in C1. I thought that it was unlikely that the north bridge or C1 slot hardware on two different boards would fail in exactly the same way. I concluded that it must be the BIOS. I then flashed the BIOS to 2.0b 5/2/2017 (2.0a 8/10/2016 was on both boards as shipped). The board rebooted without the memory error and ran without problems for a couple of days.

UPDATE #2: Three days later system hung. On reboot the BIOS reported uncorrectable memory error in the C1 slot. Turned on "Memory Rank Sparing" and moved the stick in C1 to A2, as before. Runs now at 128GB, despite dead C1 memory slot. Not likely heat issues since the board and processor are running under 50c. I don't expect that yet another RMA will fix the problem. I will probably live with the current configuration for the time being and wait for the next BIOS revision.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Richard D.,7/20/2017 2:58:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRI-F Server Motherboard LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Makes a reliable OpenMediaVault ZFS on Linux file server
Pros: I bought the X10SRi-F in Dec'2015 and have had no issues.
-Takes upto 256Gb of DDR4 ECC memory
-IPMI support
-Works with IBM M1015 PCIe in non-raid mode (i added 6 more sata drives).
-10 sata ports on board.
-Has 2 x Intel i350 for VT support but I don't think virtualbox uses it.
Cons: The only annoying thing I had to struggle with is to get the PWM fans from throbbing continually. Once I got that figured out in the bios I forget the fans are there. All the 3Tb drives are happy with the airflow.

It's picky about the memory, but I did my research so that wasn't an issue for me.

Doesn't have an m.2 slot for NVMe, but there are cheap PCIe cards that'll get around that.
Other Thoughts: I'm using it with a Haswell E5-1620v3 and 2x32Gb of Samsung M393A4K40BB0-CPB DDR4-2133.

So far this investment is paying for itself. I've used this setup for zfs on Linux and used iSCSI on my Virtualbox guests without issue.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:derek g.,7/17/2017 11:43:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Low power and good support.
Pros: Lots of SATA ports and low power (~80W total w/ 4 magnetic drives). I use it to power a FreeNAS box, Plex Server, and VM host for light web server duties. Good support from ASRock.

More fan headers than you'll likely require.
Cons: IPMI interface is dated, poorly documented, and doesn't play nicely with modem browsers/Java due to reliance on MD5. I've used to it load an ISO for the initial install or for an occasional reboot, but would not rely on it in a deployed environment.
Other Thoughts: Had an issue where the board wouldn't POST, but IPMI still worked. I suspected the C2000 bug, went through the ASRock RMA process and had a new board within a week. Old board was rev 1.02, new board is rev 1.03.

This is a great little board for SOHO/personal use, but I'm already thinking about upgrading to an small Xeon platform after two years of owning this board.
Reviewed By:Stefan L.,7/9/2017 7:25:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SSM-F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BIOS was up to date for Kaby Lake
Pros: Just want to let people know that the board I received (bought about a week ago) came with the upgraded bios that supports Kaby Lake (running a xeon e3-1230 in there).

No issues with the board so far. No idea how I lived without IPMI before.
Cons: Not really any cons...price maybe?
Reviewed By:Nicholas V.,7/5/2017 6:34:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked Really Well Until It Didn't
Pros: Lots of SATA ports, great for a small home NAS with lots of drives.
Quiet
Low power consumption and heat output.
Cons: Not enough USB ports, I couldn't get the front header to work.
The IPMI feature is useless with modern Java/browsers, I had to spin up a windows XP VM just to remote manage.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this board at first. It ran solid for a year without any major problems, and then one day it just decided to stop working. The unit powers on, but there is no video output and the management interface shows that the computer is in standby mode, I tried clearing cmos, tesing the power supply, re-seating all of the DIPs and different memory to no avail. I think it's been about 15 years since I've seen a computer that won't POST at all, very disappointing on something that is supposedly a server grade part.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/1/2017 10:30:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2750D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works quite well after some trial and error journey
Pros: I purchased this board to find out if my existing SAS controller ejected the disks.
After quite some trail and error, I found out that my 220Watt PSU was too small sized for the 8 HDD disk load.
A bigger power supply stabilized the ATA links and I was able to 1TB of data through it on the first day.
I also updated the firmware on the 2nd Marvell controller according the download I found at http://www.asrockrack.com/general/productdetail.asp?Model=C2750D4I#Download
All in all a major win for me, because:
Lots of SATA ports and 4 RAM slots.
CPU is more than fast enough with 8 visible cores
Supports ECC memory, quite important when running software RAID like ZFS.
I also would suggest you are not running ZFS with less than 16GB Ram, even ARC cache disabled
Cons: None really, other than few suggestions.
I probably would add heat sinks on the Marvell controllers when running in small cases.
Also the board should come with the latest Marvell firmware, bought in 2016 and it still had the old firmware installed from early 2015.
Reviewed By:Bjoern T.,6/30/2017 8:11:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-H8DG6-F-O E-ATX Form Server Motherboard Dual 1944-pin Socket G34 2 x AMD SR5690 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Motherboard
Pros: I bought a Supermicro Workstation off of another site and it came with this server board. It is fricken amazing. I am having fun with this one. As others have mentioned it is lacking in USB ports but not a huge problem.
Cons: I have no real cons on this one.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend buying this motherboard if you can afford the Processors that go with it. I am going to be pairing another 16 core Opteron with my current system for even more power.
Reviewed By:Ryan V.,6/29/2017 6:41:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SSH-LN4F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent mid-range server motherboard
Pros: 4 case fan pin outs
Built-in IPMI (remote access controller)
Seems pretty stable
Support both Skylake and Kaby Lake processors (with a BIOS update - see below)
Cons: BIOS was on version 1.0b when I received it and would NOT boot up with my Kaby Lake based CPU (Xeon E3-1230 v6).
Had to buy a $20 IPMI license in order to update the BIOS to v 2.0 - which took TWO WEEKS to receive!!!
Can NOT control fan speeds.
Other Thoughts: My case fans are very quiet, so the fan speed control doesn't matter much for those. However, the CPU fan is quite loud. Had to buy a 4-pin fan resistor to slow down the fans from 3200 RPM down to a more reasonable 2100 RPM.

I submitted a support request with SuperMicro support on June 3 regarding the motherboard not booting past POST. On June 5 they wrote back that I needed to upgrade the BIOS, which would require purchasing an IPMI license from another vendor. I ordered the license that same day and it took TWO WEEKS and a dozen emails/phone calls for me to receive the activation code (partially the vendor's fault, partially Tech Data's fault, and partially SuperMicro's fault - it was like nobody knew what the IPMI license was).
My experience with purchasing the IPMI license has me very hesitant to purchase another SuperMicro product in the future.
Next time I'll probably stick with Asus or ASRock.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support again if you still have any issue with this motherboard. For BIOS updating service, feel free to contact our RMA department. The below technical support contact information is for your reference:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Justin B.,6/25/2017 9:08:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO X9SRA Single Socket R (LGA 2011) E5 ATX Workstation/Server Motherboard DDR3 1600 12xUSB, 2x PCI-E 3.0 x16

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works
Pros: Board for older CPUs.
Cons: Sporadic readings from board sensors that cause fans to change speeds - and REMAIN there. What is particular BAD is when it force the CPU fan to idle when at 100% load! Then is continues to run while CPU is over 90C! It also reports voltage going high, or to 0v for no reason at all. or CPU going to 20C or 85C. all random at random times. I don't trust it at all.
Other Thoughts: I would look around at other board, but this one does work, sort of.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Brent N.,6/24/2017 11:42:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great until it died
Pros: - Great motherboard while it worked
- Lots of SATA ports
- Low power draw
Cons: Motherboard died in just over a year of use. 1 Year, 1 month and 14 days to be exact.
Other Thoughts: Exact same problem as everyone else. No VGA output, USB ports don't work, board won't POST.

I would not recommend anyone buy this board until Intel resolves the issue with this chip.

Hopefully the RMA process will run smoothly.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Adam,

Sorry for the inconvenience, your RMA service has been set up and we will replace the board for you.

Thank you

ASRock Rack Support
Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:Adam M.,6/22/2017 7:12:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.