Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS1750 Dual Band AC1750 High-powered/Long-range Wireless Outdoor Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worse firmware than previous models
Pros: Still looking for some!
Cons: Range seems LESS than the older ENS202EXT which are pretty good..only 2.4 though.. The Gb interface does not seem to improve throughput any more than a fast ethernet connection!! I have never been over 100M on the lan and doubt this unit can do it! I expected a lot more than what this unit delivered. Th e firmware browser interface is subpar.....It the ENS202EXT were given a 9 I would give this unit a 2 at best. Very primitive interface for a browser setup. I have two and four more on the way...may cancel the order. One unit is failing right out of the box...cannot keep WPA2-PSK connections....drops every 15 seconds....same copied config from the working unit so the unit is definitely bad...no a confidence builder for a device that was listed at $400...now I know why the price is dropping fast. If this interface is not improved and if firmware updates do not come out immediately I am moving to another manufacturer. I really liked their products until I got my hands in this garbage. It looks as though the interface is being written and designed by a cheap overseas cost cutting third party....It is the worst I have seem in the last few years and I have installed hundreds of access points.

UPDATE: Another unit ordered had a defective PART! POE supplied transformer no good!!! Can't get any worse than this!! Expect to have a 50% failure rate in the package because that is WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING!! THIS WILL BE THE LAST TIME I ORDER ENGENIUS PRODUCTS! Quality is SUB-PAR!
Other Thoughts: Look for another product!
Reviewed By:Paul W.,1/13/2017 2:12:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi AP-LR, UAP-LR, UniFi AP-Long Range 11b/g/n 300Mbps MIMO 600ft PoE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad at all
Pros: The range is insane.

These are incredibly cheap. A lot of other manufacturers put a hefty price tag on some of the stuff you can do with these APs (unified management, for example).

PoE makes installation fairly simple, and these come with the PoE injectors you need.

These look nice and pretty when they're mounted on a wall or ceiling and have an LED ring that's not too bright or annoying.

Very stable and low maintenance once you get them set up. For the most part, I set these up for clients and never hear about problems with them afterewards.
Cons: My biggest gripe is that the controller software requires Java, which is something I don't like to install because of security risks. The Java requirement is what knocked off an egg. If that could go away in some future version, these things are just about perfect otherwise.

It would be nice if these could include a short patch cable.

Only comes in white, although this hasn't been a huge problem for me.

Unless you're using one of those big, expensive, managed PoE switches that lets you set voltage on specific ports, you'll probably be stuck using the included PoE injectors, because your standard/dumb PoE switch won't be able to power these. This is not a huge con for me, as most places I've set these up aren't using PoE switches anyway.
Other Thoughts: I install a lot of these for clients at work, and they make a great low-cost "set it and forget it" wireless solution. The pros far outweigh the cons.

I probably wouldn't set these up in high-density areas (I start looking at Xirrus stuff when I need to cover some conference area that could potentially have hundreds of wireless users in it, for example), but they're absolutely amazing for home/office use or when range is your biggest concern.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 4:45:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WAC104 Dual Band Wireless AC1200 Access Point for Small Business

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great AP
Pros: Easy setup, lots of options. Good range on low band, could be better on 5ghz but acceptable.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: So far so good, time will tell about reliability.
Reviewed By:John N.,1/12/2017 1:25:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7288APC 11AC (5GHz Band only) Range Extender / Add-on Station, to Extend / Add 11AC Wi-Fi Signal for Faster and Cleaner Connection

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reasonable for what it is, particularly when on sale, but make sure to update to 1.08a firmware.
Pros: Interesting aesthetic design, and fairly compact. MicroUSB power makes it flexible for many configurations (AC adapter, computer or router USB port, etc.) When on sale it's an inexpensive way to add/extend 5GHz to an existing network.
Cons: As others have noted, the wired Ethernet port is only 10/100Mbps, so you'll only be able to take full advantage of top 802.11n/ac speeds when used as a repeater connected wirelessly to an existing access point or router. Also, even then it only has a single antenna (1x1). Out of the box the 1.08 firmware tended to have problems with the administrative web server crashing within a day or so (the latest 1.08a firmware doesn't seem to suffer from this, see Other section.) In my case all other AP functions still seemed to work fine, but the unit required power cycling to bring the web admin portal back. The manual describes being able to turn off the indicator ring LED, but the current firmware doesn't seem to have the option shown.
Other Thoughts: I have a dual band router, but not simultaneous, so I have to keep it on 2.4GHz for a few older devices. I bought this to add concurrent 5GHz capability to my existing home network. It's working fine for that. I don't need more than 100Mbps for the laptops and phones that connect to it, and getting most of our devices clear of the congested 2.4GHz band was my main goal. After updating to the 1.08a firmware the web admin page has remained accessible for a week now without a reboot. Find the 1.08a firmware on the US page at www.edimax.us -> support -> driver downloads -> scroll to section "[4] 802.11AC 5Ghz only" (The US support page reached from edimax.com site only offers 1.08) Overall, for the $10 I'll have paid after rebate I'm quite happy with it as an add-on 5GHz access point until I eventually upgrade my router. I've not tried using it in repeater/bridge mode, so I can't speak to that.
Reviewed By:Seth P.,1/9/2017 8:56:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation LOCOM2 N150 2.4 GHz Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: -The multiple operation modes.
-Build Quality
Cons: If you want it to use it as CPE, first make sure that you have a proper AP with enough power according the distance you want to link.
Other Thoughts: I'm using it as a CPE connected to an 1500mw Genius brand AP with no direct vision (two walls in the middle) at 250 meters.
Reviewed By:Kevin J.,1/7/2017 7:38:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS202EXT N300 High-powered/Long-range Wireless Outdoor Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Potential problems, mine unusable
Pros: I can't find any but can't leave this block blank!
Cons: Before I purchased this I was concerned about moisture and that is justified. The SMA-RP connectors at the top have O-rings between their threads and the case, so they are not water tight. At the bottom, there is a water shedding door with holes for two cables. There is plenty of room for water vapor to get in and once there, there is a round hole and cracks that will let the water vapor into the electronics area. (The electronics area is a insert that slides into the housing from below.) The 2008 ARRL handbook recommends against this construction because water works it’s way in during warm humid weather then condenses in cold weather. The standby power dissipation is 1.5 watts which is not nearly enough to prevent condensation under these conditions. The quick fix attempt would be to pack the area in the lower compartment with dry silica gel then seal all cracks. I don’t know it that would be sufficient. A better solution would be to remove the case and put the remaining device in a sealed case with silica gel. The manual says the antenna connectors are SMA but they are actually SMA-RP so the connectors I purchased to connect my antennas won’t fit.
I never got it to work. EnGenius tech support is very ineffective. The manual gives a phone number and an email address. When I call the phone number, a recording says use the email. When I did that, I got a useless reply 1 week later and my reply to that was never answered. That email says that for future problems I should use their forum to resolve problems. I posted there but got no useful response. I also posted something at (censored per NewEgg regs). That I got no reply reinforces my belief that I am not doing anything stupid.
I have tried 2 different ENS202s (both using software version 1.5.67), connected the Ethernet cable to three different computers. One running Windows 7, one running Windows XP, and one running Windows 98SE. In every case, the Ethernet adapter was the only network device enabled. I am going into some detail here because it is so incredible. The LEDs on the ENS202 always stabilize to Power, LAN and WLAN on, the computer always sees a Ethernet device, and Firefox is never able to get a reply from it whether it tries to communicate over Ethernet or WI-FI. Ping never gets a response. The only response from EnGenius was to set the LAN to a fixed address. First there should be no reason to do that because each IP packet contains its originating and destination address. I was intending to use this as the client end of a bridge and if it was done, it would not be able to connect to any Internet access point because the bridge passes IP addresses and the client will need a IP address assignment from the remote AP. Never the less, I tried it for setup, first using the address the computer had assigned when DHCP was enabled and again using 192.168.1.10 but it does no good. Looking at the Local Area Connection Status in Windows 7, the sent byte count is 0 and the received byte count increments by 360 every time the hardware connects, then does not change. It is called an unidentified network and IPv4 connectivity shows no network access. There is data transfer as shown from netstat enquiries reproduced below. In Windows XP, the sent byte count gradually increases without limit and the received byte count is 0. When the ENS is powered up, connected to a working computer or not, it broadcasts SSID EnGenius1. When I try to connect using windows 7, the first attempt fails but the second succeeds showing a sent byte count of 6 and a received count of 0. They don’t change.
Here is some diagnostic info for Windows 7 with Ethernet connection. I don’t know if it helps:
ENS202 plugged in and stable, Local Area Connection Status shows
IPv4 connectivity: No network access
Media State: Enabled
Speed 100.0 Mbps
Activity: Sent 0, Received 360 Bytes
Other Thoughts: Ipconfig says
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : student-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-10-7A-FB-DF-FC
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter realtek wireless:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-10-7A-FB-DF-FC
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E4-11-5B-30-14-75
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.43.52(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

C:\windows\system32>netstat -e
Interface Statistics

Received Sent

Bytes 2160 22640
Unicast packets 0 0
Non-unicast packets 12 144
Discards 0 0
Errors 0 8
Unknown protocols 0

C:\windows\system32>netstat -s

IPv4 Statistics

Packets Received = 0
Received Header Errors = 0
Received Address Errors = 0
Datagrams Forwarded = 0
Unknown Protocols Received = 0
Received Packets Discarded = 14
Received Packets Delivered = 108
Output Requests = 109
Routing Discards = 0
Discarded Output Packets = 0
Output Packet No Route = 0
Reassembly Required = 0

TCP Statistics for IPv4

Active Opens = 8
Passive Opens = 0
Failed Connection Attempts = 8
Reset Connections = 0
Current Connections = 0
Segments Received = 48
Segments Sent = 32
Segments Retransmitted = 16

UDP Statistics for IPv4

Datagrams Received = 25
No Ports = 14
Receive Errors = 0
Datagrams Sent = 55


_______________________________________________________
Now try to contact the bridge over Ethernet:
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.1.

C:\windows\system32>netstat -e
Interface Statistics

Received Sent

Bytes 5040 79144
Unicast packets 0 0
Non-unicast packets 60 516
Discards 0 0
Errors 0 8
Unknown protocols 0

C:\windows\system32>netstat -s

IPv4 Statistics

Packets Received = 0
Received Header Errors = 0
Received Address Errors = 0
Datagrams Forwarded = 0
Unknown Protocols Received = 0
Received Packets Discarded = 38
Received Packets Delivered = 306
Output Requests = 1269
Routing Discards = 0
Discarded Output Packets = 0
Output Packet No Route = 0
Reassembly Required = 0

TCP Statistics for IPv4

Active Opens = 14
Passive Opens = 2
Failed Connection Attempts = 13
Reset Connections = 0
Current Connections = 4
Segments Received = 1086
Segments Sent = 1062
Segments Retransmitted = 24

UDP Statistics for IPv4

Datagrams Received = 93
No Ports = 38
Receive Errors = 0
Datagrams Sent = 177

C:\windows\system32>netstat -n

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
TCP 127.0.0.1:49167 127.0.0.1:49168 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:49168 127.0.0.1:49167 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:49169 127.0.0.1:49170 ESTABLISHED
TCP 127.0.0.1:49170 127.0.0.1:49169 ESTABLISHED
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/6/2017 5:02:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UAP-AC-LITE - Ubiquiti UniFi 802.11ac LITE Indoor 2.4/5GHz AP US/CA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far great wifi! Simple to use.
Pros: Device is simple to set up using the Unifi software that you can download from their website.
Device comes with a passive PoE Injector which makes powering the AP with the Ethernet cable possible. The device only needs to be located near an Ethernet run, but not a power outlet.
Device appears super stable so far, much more stable than the AP that I replaced with this unit.
If you can leave the controller software (Unifi) running in the background somewhere, you will be able to collect interesting information about the WiFi traffic on your network, such as whos connected, when they connected, how much they transferred, how much data was transferred by Wifi at different times, etc. It makes diagnosing certain Wifi issues easier.
Cons: The device is a PoE Passive device. That means it uses a different standard than a PoE Switch that is 802.3af compliant and cannot be powered by the PoE switch. You must use the included PoE adapter or Ubiquiti's own PoE Switch that they sell that supports Passive PoE.
Not much of a detractor, but you do need to download their software to set up the device for the first time. Once you set it up, the only time the software needs to run if you don't need Wifi AP info is when you need to reconfigure it.
Other Thoughts: All and all I love this access point so far. It works great and have not had any issues with it yet. I would have loved if their access point was 802.3af compliant as I do have a PoE switch that I can use instead of their adapter, but that is a minor issue considering they do include an adapter. I would recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Robert S.,1/3/2017 11:53:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UAP-AC-LITE - Ubiquiti UniFi 802.11ac LITE Indoor 2.4/5GHz AP US/CA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic AP for the price
Pros: - The Controller interface is very easy to use and beautifully designed
- Plug and play in most cases
- Extend network and have all four appears as a single network.
- Roaming can be controlled with minRSSI settings
- Updating firmware and config changes are VERY user friendly
Cons: - Price is a bit high but considering other mesh options like Google Wifi and Eero, this is not too bad.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely recommend over google wifi network if you want more control of your network
- Definitely recommend over running two separate routers
- Definitely recommend if your significant other complains about dropping wifi in some parts of the house
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/31/2016 7:53:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius N-ENH500 Kit(2 x ENH500) N300 Business-Class, Long Range 5GHz Wireless Bridge/Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Difficult to setup but persistence pays off!
Pros: Amazing speed at the remote location. Streaming of Netflix or Hulu is no issue 300 ft away.
Cons: It took a few calls to figure out that you have to uncheck the green check mark on the first page before you can have access to increasing the power output.
Other Thoughts: Now that it works, I bought another one to extend the internet to another house on my property!
Reviewed By:Mele A.,12/28/2016 2:49:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WAC104 Dual Band Wireless AC1200 Access Point for Small Business

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Good
Pros: Nice size
Cons: 1st shipment came with a broken antenna. Replacement device has some issue with 5GHz radio. Speed tests only average around 1.0Mbps. Running latest firmware from Netgear. 2.4 GHz radio speed tests are fine. No issue with the 4 - 802.11ac devices I own connected to a different manufactures 802.11ac access point.
Other Thoughts: Returning device for full refund. Would not recommend product.
Reviewed By:Robert P.,12/27/2016 10:08:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.