Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Configurator > CPU AMD| ATHLON X4 860K FM2+ 4MB R Configurator

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No video
Pros: Inexpensive with overclocking
Cons: Explaining that video will not work with a Athlon processor should be in BOLD PRINT. Newbies are going to look at the motherboard and see the vga and dvi ports and assume they work.
Reviewed By:RICHARD M.,6/23/2017 1:36:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD RYZEN 7 1700 8-Core 3.0 GHz (3.7 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 65W YD1700BBAEBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 More powerful than benchmarks indicate but Linux support could be better
Pros: 8 cores are surprisingly noticeable in day-to-day usage
Cheap
Easy overclocking
Comes with a high quality cooler
The complete system runs on just 22 Watts!
Cons: Linux support is incomplete. Cannot see CPU temperature while in Linux.
LGA-style package could be better. Careful with the pins!
Other Thoughts: Running Linux on it, with kernels 4.9 and 4.11 (both are Debian). Everything works as expected, I have not experienced any crashes like some Gentoo users. Compiles my Golang projects at about the same speed as my i7-4770 and i7-5820k machines.

Linux cpufreq package never shows me the turbo speeds, the maximum I saw in `/sys/devices/system/cpu/...` was 3Ghz but it is in fact boosts. I easily overclocked it to 3.7Ghz running with 3200Mhz RAM. In overclocked mode it still uses 3 P-states: 1.55Gz, 2.7Ghz and 3.8Ghz. The overall system performance has gone up by about 20% going from stock CPU and 2,133Mhz RAM to 3.7Ghz CPU and 3200Mhz RAM.

Astonishingly power efficient. The entire box sits at just 22 watts on idle. This is just 4 watts more than my single-core low-power Synology NAS. Fantastic machine for running a small cloud of Linux VMs.

It was surprising to me to actually feel the presence of the extra cores. You can launch heavy make jobs in the background and continue doing whatever else you're doing without a drop in performance.
Reviewed By:Eugueny K.,6/23/2017 12:37:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD RYZEN 7 1700X 8-Core 3.4 GHz (3.8 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 95W YD170XBCAEWOF Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AMD RYZEN 7 1700X 8-Core 3.4 GHz (3.8 GHz Turbo)
Pros: AMD stepped up it's game, this processor is a beast for a fraction of a price. Multitasking, gaming all goes without saying this CPU is good and worth every penny. Overclocks easily.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2017 12:16:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80662I76700K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 530

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nearly A Year Later Going Strong
Pros: -It's an unlocked i7.
-It's on par with 7700K (clock per clock).
-4 Cores, 8 Threads (Hyperthread)
-Makes gaming a breeze.
-Doesn't get HOT unlike 7700K under load.
-Stable @ 4.6GHz, 1.31V
-Compatible with W7 unlike 7700K.
-Blazing fast at everything I throw at it.
-Compatible with Z170/Z270 mobos.
Cons: Price? Although I can't complain, I picked mine up for $270.
Other Thoughts: It's a little beast of a CPU, has yet to disappoint me or give me any problems at all. I definitely recommend it.
System:
-i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz (1.31V)
-ASUS Z170-AR
-16GB DDR 2400mhz (OC 2800mhz)
-GTX 1080 @ 2114mhz / 11400mhz
-240GB SSD Crucial M500 (OS)
-Creative Sound Blaster Z
-EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2017 4:23:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80662I76700K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 530

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great OC CPU for Gaming
Pros: power house of a CPU, great overclocking CPU,
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I would have no hesitation in recommending this processor.
Reviewed By:Rob H.,6/23/2017 4:18:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD RYZEN 5 1600 6-Core 3.2 GHz (3.6 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 65W YD1600BBAEBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet Spot CPU
Pros: Price/Performance
Comes with killer stock cooler
Overclocks like a champ
Team Vulcan DDR4-3000 Runs stable @ 3200mHz 1.4v after BIOS update to Agesa-1.0.0.6 with default timings, gear down mode disabled and 2T command rate!!!
Cons: Nihil
Other Thoughts: Look no further for your next CPU. This is it! Absolutely awesome all around performance. The stock cooler is the best I have ever seen. Just as good and even better than most after market ones. I have always used AMD in my builds for the last 20 years and have had no problems. This is the best I have seen from them yet. Great value and quality. Quite an upgrade from my last build which had a Phenom II x4 965 BE Overclocked @ 4ghz that has ran stable for 8 years and still performs very well as a workstation. Finally! Team Red scores!!!!!
Reviewed By:Joseph P.,6/23/2017 11:49:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-9590 Vishera 8-Core 4.7 GHz Socket AM3+ 220W FD9590FHHKWOF Desktop Processor - Black Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great cpu for gaming.
Pros: Really fast CPU. Can run any game on high or ultra depending on your GPU. Comes already at 4.7 really don't need to overclock.
Cons: Didn't come with fan. Will make your regular fan do a lot of work to cool down. I recommend a water cooler for this CPU if your going to do a lot of gaming. Yes it does need a bigger power supply, my 600 watt couldn't handle it. It would shut off before I got my windows install, I put in a 750 watt haven't had any problems since.
Reviewed By:Jerry J.,6/23/2017 3:04:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i3-7100 Kaby Lake Dual-Core 3.9 GHz LGA 1151 51W BX80677I37100 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 630

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good bang for buck!
Pros: IMO one of the few Intel CPUs that productivity meets price point.
This build runs 24x7 economically and performs well!
Cons: NA
Other Thoughts: Snappy enough for a little light gaming, and easy on the power bill. Im sure I will get tired of it many years before it dies. :)
Reviewed By:John W.,6/23/2017 1:52:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD RYZEN 7 1700 8-Core 3.0 GHz (3.7 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 65W YD1700BBAEBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredible performance inprovement
Pros: Runs cool (unlike the FX 8350 it replaced). Doubled my performance in every encoding task and frame rate test it tried - at stock setting and under-clocked memory (pc3200 kit running at 2133)! DVDFab re-encode BD movie 70% reduction 44 minutes to 22 minutes. Movie rip to MP4 hi-quality single pass: 36 minutes to 17 minutes! Ashes of the Singularity - high 40's to high 80's FPS.
I have not had this type of performance improvement since I upgraded from an Athlon XP to the Athlon X2 4200!
Cons: A shame we had to wait so long for this return to competitiveness. Product of much better leadership in the company.
Better late than never.
Other Thoughts: Last year, I almost went to Intel. I am glad I didn't. The PURPOSEFUL lack of innovation to extract every red cent for, more often than not, 3-5% improvements! We could have had affordable high core counts years ago from them!
Didn't see that record from ARM, in the same time frame, with a similarly competitive landscape.
Good job AMD.
Reviewed By:Richard C.,6/23/2017 12:43:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD RYZEN 7 1700 8-Core 3.0 GHz (3.7 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 65W YD1700BBAEBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 New architecture, numerous bugs to go with it
Pros: - It can easily overclock to 3.7 to 3.9 (and 4 if lucky) GHZ on all cores fairly easily (with stock cooling no less). I managed 3.775 Ghz at 1.30 volts. Any higher and I start getting into voltages I personally prefer to stay under. When overclocking AMD recommends you stay under 1.35v long term, 1.40v is acceptable but may have some impact on longevity, and 1.45v is not recommended for anything of length.
- Stock cooler is pretty decent and unless you're really pushing the volts and clock rate, stock will be fine. However, the stock thermal paste is pretty horrible. Be careful mounting it as it is also electrically conductive. Careful removing the cooler as it is like glue.
- Great price given the number of cores and threads, instructions per clock (IPC), and clock speeds capable.
- Stock cooler has LED which can be neat.
Cons: - New architectures bring massive amounts of bugs. Expect bugs, and look up videos and guides to work around them. Install your chipset drivers ASAP.
- As of this review, VMWare ESXi (version 6.5) does not work with Ryzen if you have SMT enabled: You will PSOD.
- Concurrent compilation (namely with gcc) can result in hardlocks, seg faults, and (supposedly?) hard bricks; primarily if you have SMT enabled.
- Quite a lot of motherboards are still having major problems in general from exceedingly long POST times, flaky memory support, ignoring PWM/Fan curves, or other misc issues even with the newest BIOS updates.
Other Thoughts: Will likely be a 5 egg product when the bugs are ironed out. However, right now it's very much buy at your own risk; some of these bugs may require CPU stepping changes and/or new revisions of motherboards.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2017 10:20:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.