Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not run Linux
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: Bought this unit purely to run Ubuntu. Turns out it won't install Ubuntu or any other tried Linux distro.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/16/2017 1:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ESXi
Pros: I bought this server to be the base of a home virtualization lab. Before I even turned it on I swapped out the 4GB RAM stick for 2x8GB Crucial ECC RAM and the power supply for a 550w SeaSonic (w/ a 24 to 14pin adapter). I added a cheap PNY 120GB SSD for the hypervisor and swap files, a 500GB 850 EVO for VMs, and a 1TB WD Black for datastore. Booted her up and installed ESXi 6.5 and everything works as expected. Great little (basically) silent server with a (fairly) current Xeon processor. I have multiple VMs running simultaneously and this thing doesn't even hiccup.
Cons: Downsides are the lack of hardware RAID, lack of remote management features, single network port, 32GB RAM limit, and limited drive space (max 4 3.5" drives). I was surprised to find the complete lack of mounting options for 2.5" drives, had to buy an adapter. The small form factor takes up little space, but also doesn't leave much room for expansion.
Other Thoughts: I plan to add an additional 16GB RAM, a 4 port network card, and a video card for passthrough soon. Overall I'm really happy with this server, the cons I listed aren't dealbreakers for me but might be for others. ESXi 6.5 runs smooth.
Reviewed By:Daniel L.,1/12/2017 7:46:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great start to a server build
Pros: After yet another consumer NAS box (thanks Western Digital) bit the dust, I decided to build a Linux file server for my home network central file storage. This is a great start to that system. I ordered two Seagate 4TB drives and additional 4GB memory. The drives are setup in a RAID 1 configuration. That was super easy to setup, as well as the BIOS.

I'm running CentOS 7 and very pleased with the performance of the system. While it is supposed to serve as just a file server, I can't help but jump onto it every few days for a Linux fix. So, I ended up installing a bunch more on the system than just a standard Samba build and it handles everything great. The server is pretty quiet as well.
Cons: As noted in other reviews, only one angled SATA cable is provided and if you are using the other HD drive bay a standard cable will work, but is a tight fit. I would definitely recommend buying another angle cable.

While it might be caused by above (I am using one regular SATA cable), I was getting some annoying vibration that was emanating from the front fan. By removing the side panel screws the noise went away. Since it is likely from my janky install I'm not dropping an egg.
Other Thoughts: Overall very happy with the server and would definitely recommend it.
Reviewed By:Stephen T.,1/10/2017 11:30:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS150 Server System Intel Xeon E3-1245 v5 3.5 GHz 8GB DDR4-2133 70LV0032UX

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Diskless, power cable-less, PSU offers no options
Pros: Price, ability to add SSDs to a entry-priced server
Cons: The PSU doesn't expect you to EVER install disks! What no SATA power cables? Really? No SATA data cables. It's like someone from Lenovo handed a partially-made server over to a refurb place and they stuck in the most basic PSU they could find so that it would boot to the BIOS, but not much more. It's then as if someone forgot to include any cables for the server.
Other Thoughts: Unless you REALLY know what you are buying, I would warn potential users to what this "server" includes.
Reviewed By:Ken A.,1/9/2017 6:26:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value Server
Pros: - Price
- Has all the bells and whistles you would expect from an enterprise class server, very well built.
Cons: - POST takes a very long time
- Getting drivers etc, is a bit more cumbersome than most. If you're used to HP servers this won't be much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: You can get an evaluation license for ILO at no cost if you're setting it up headless.
Reviewed By:Duane M.,1/6/2017 7:19:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: It's been running 24/7 for a few months solid so far with no issues.
It comes with a year warranty which includes access to HPE software updates.
Cons: good luck getting signed up for HPE and figuring out how to get the latest SPP. There's no 'New to HPE onboarding' - I probably googled it and followed someone's directions and it took a day+ I'm sure to navigate the site, figure out all the digital things I'd need and not need and get the ones I did. It's a pain but I'm sure it's a powerful tool for the IT staff at Enterprises stocked with boat loads of HP servers and various convoluted warranty and support service packages. The site is not setup with the home user in mind - someone who will buy one, never buy support, and will likely only ever interact with the site to get one or two updates that come through during their standard 1yr warranty.
Other Thoughts: It's a low cost server and for this price range HP is not giving you something that easily lends itself to other duties.
It ALWAYS makes noise - sometimes A LOT, mostly just a earnest and persistent one.
There's likely next to no airflow in the expansion card area. It's separated by a clear plastic divider and likely only really designed with NIC or SATA/SAS expansion cards in mind.
The 2 X 5.25" bays can accept hot-swap type dual-bay expansion boxes without modification (snipping alignment tabs) - but there are only two on board SATA ports in addition to the 4 SAS connections.
I would not place this in a room that you ever want to be silent - I bought an extra one for a home NAS, threw Freenas on it and considered dumping it in a corner of the TV room -- NOPE.
If you are running this 24/7 - a bustling office, a well ventilated closet, or at home, maybe a cool, low dust basement.
For home use, if I had to do it over with the hindsight of the price trends for the Dell T20 and the similar Lenovo workstation, I probably would have gotten one of those. But for as low as ~180, this is priced to sell.

For the right use case, I would recommend grabbing this when the price is right (like now).
But I would caution against assuming you can make it work as a gaming rig or do-everything setup at a steal of a price. It may save you dollars but you're going to have to accept planning and labor time (and maybe additional replacement parts and modifications) to get it setup for anything requiring graphics beyond a basic desktop environment. I wouldn't bother with if it was me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/2/2017 4:48:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer RS140 70F30007UX 1U Rack Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.20 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great startup server
Pros: small in size , for its class (over all volume may be even less than a desktop tower,)
Powerful enough to run major small business and home virtualization Tasks,
Great price(i bought it for 279$)
Cons: x No HDD included (but dont worry they included the proper cables that fits for one SATA disk , i am using 512Gig SAMSUNG SD with SATA )
x 1x4 gig RAM DDR3 (they only provided 1x4 gig DIMM , in my case i am upgrading from my old desk top tower , so i didnt buy any other peripherals this time other than the server, currently i am running 4x4gig DDR3,) ,
xNnot for medium to large business ( unless you using it for basic stuff like jump, NTP or print servers etc...)
Other Thoughts: initially, by the rating it has, i was little skeptical about buying this server , but the config to price ratio tempted me . after i bought the server , i ve noticed some comments like " its not worth it and it requires lot of proprietary cables and peripherals " blah blah made me think to return the product with out even open it. but i dunno , i just give it a shot and now i love this server and i strongly recommend this server to the small businesses and home Lab uses . and by the way i will try to give what i am using it for so, you can get a rough idea , how powerful it is (i am not using any RAID at this moment because storage is not really a concern for me at this instance ) . i am currently running SEXI 6.x ver and running 3 virtual UNET/GNS3 labs for my CCIE preparation, if you guys not sure what is all this CCIE , and all take my word those are pretty intense applications that we emulate our network softwares,
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/28/2016 10:53:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great as a cheap server
Pros: Everything seems to work and it was shipped with what was said in the specs.
Cons: I dislike the tiny fans and would have preferred a windtunnel with large fans but I got this at a good price.

I had to change the raid config just to get the PC to run.
Other Thoughts: Installed Linux ubuntu server on it and it runs great! Great mini-server.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/27/2016 6:21:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I'm happy.
Pros: It was $300.00 with everything except the hard drive. Has built in raid capabilities and is very quiet.
Cons: There are two 3.5 hard drive slots with brackets that work well. However, there is no easy way to mount a 2.5 inch drive. There is space for them, but the mounting screw holes do not match up. I had to remove the trays and drill some additional holes. A little silly if you ask me.
Reviewed By:Cole D.,12/18/2016 4:10:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice server, but I got misled
Pros: Good server, and fast shipping. But the feature description says that the hard drive speed is 5400r/s, which made me believe that there was an HDD hard disk in it. Actually, there isn't. I only have a 120G SSD disk in hand right now, and I have to buy one more. Another problem is the power supply, 280W is pretty tough for my server after I inserted one Nvidia graphics card. So I had to buy a 500W power supply.
Cons: Not worthy of the original price listed, but OK for the real price.
Reviewed By:luoxia cao,12/10/2016 6:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.