Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL EliteNAS EN104L+B - 1U 4 Bay NAS + iSCSI Rackmount RAID System w/ Intel Atom Dual Core DDR2 1GB, NAS OS installed (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It's something.
Pros: Looks heavy duty.
Cons: Setup wasn't the easiest. It was difficult to discover [and be discovered by] my network.
Other Thoughts: This might've done a good job as a streaming NAS but the setup was difficult. The unit had trouble seeing my network and vice versa. SANS DIGITAL units are really for backend work in a medium office.
Reviewed By:Miguel C.,5/20/2017 6:25:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP MediaSmart EX470, Windows Home Server w/ AMD 1.8 GHz Sempron 512MB DDR2 500GB HDD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not the safest place for your files.
Pros: Looks cool.
Cons: Unsafe for data storage. No video output. HP stopped support two years after release. Does not stream nor communicate well with Windows PCs for multimedia needs.
Other Thoughts: HP marketed this unit as so safe you didn't need to maintain a backup of your data anywhere else. Even plugged into a UPS, the MediaSmart EX reformatted itself after a power hiccup and erased 10 years worth of photographs. I was preparing to purchase a second EX to provide redundancy for the digital photos as my PC was out of storage space. I quickly abandoned the EX as a safe storage solution.
I do not recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Miguel C.,5/20/2017 5:57:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 V3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the price
Pros: Fast for smaller database applications, quiet, pretty solid construction, I have 3 of them installed and they are still going
Cons: Bottom hard drive location, with hard drives and extra memory ( what server has 4Gb today? ) the price climb fast plus you have to replace the power supply to be on the safe side.
On two of the servers the on board RAID 1 failed and messed up both drives ....that is not acceptable for a production server , I scraped the on board RAID and used the Windows Server software RAID
Other Thoughts: It is ok for non critical missions like small e mail servers, web server or file server ......I would not recommend for a 25+ users location
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/15/2017 10:07:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Intel > Intel Server System R2308WTTYSR Barebone System - 2U Rack-mountable - Intel C612 Chipset - Socket R3 (LGA2011-3) - 2 x Processor Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good value for your money
Pros: as an OEM I can configure the Server and make money putting our Hard Drives - RAM - 10GB NIC card
Cons: Intel Server configuration is hard for first timer. The Server config tool is of immense help in picking the right components for the Server
Other Thoughts: It is best value and most reliable.
Reviewed By:Riaz K.,5/2/2017 4:55:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 V2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great server for the price
Pros: Low cost
Well made
Basic ILO is better than no ILO
Advanced boot options
Warranty
Cons: It does boot slowly but then again it's a server and not intended to be booted often
On-board B120i RAID controller is not very useful in a server
Other Thoughts: I have recently built two of these (one purchased from Newegg and one from elsewhere) running Windows Server Essentials 2016 on one and FreeNAS 9 on the other. I added an HP Smart Array P410 RAID controllers in both as I found the on-board B120i RAID controller pretty useless. The P410 can he found online for $20-$40 all day.

On my Windows box I have two 120GB SSDs running the OS (volume C:) and 6 X 4TB Seagate NAS drives for my data (formatted as a single RAID5 18.3TB volume D:) The P410 will support eight drives at once. I have the two SSDs and the 6th HD in an Icy Dock ExpressCage MB322SP-B that can be found on Newegg.

On the FreeNAS box I have 6 X 3TB WD Red NAS drives that don't use the P410 RAID but instead are configured a a single 13.5TB
ZFS (i.e. RAID5) volume as part of the FreeNAS system.

For those who think you have to load the Linux (or FreeNAS) OS to a hard drive, you can always use an 8/16/32GB USB stick as your boot drive. I would not do this on Windows due to the frequent OS volume access but on Linux it is accessed very little after boot up.These two boxes are replacing a pair of HP N54L Microservers that have been running non-stop on my network for five years supporting FreeNAS and several iterations of Windows Home Server OS.

Many folks who have posted poor feedback regarding this hardware have no understanding of how a server is supposed to be configured and simply looked at this as just a cheap PC.

One last item and that's the warranty. I checked mine against the serial number on the HPE site and found that it was started in 2015 and would end in 12/2017. Both of these servers I purchased were apparently of the same vintage. One simple inquiry to HPE got the warranty start date adjusted to my actual purchase date. Once all this is registered with them you can have access to SPPs and drivers that my not be available otherwise.

I hope this was helpful.
Reviewed By:Alan T.,5/1/2017 11:04:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 V3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A good base for a system
Pros: Cheap and it works as advertised.
Cons: Power supply too small. I added some memory, a single hard drive and an SSD. Still worked Ok but when I put in a small video card it choked. Had to put in an older Seasonic power supply I had and had to but a converter for the power cable. Now it works OK.
Other Thoughts: Seems a good value until you realize all the stuff you have to buy to make it a reasonable system: hard drive and operating system, more memory. Then suddenly it's not such a bargain. But it works.
Reviewed By:Patrick H.,4/30/2017 9:42:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL380 G6 Rack Server System (B Grade) 2 x Intel Xeon E5520 2.26GHz 6 x 2GB DDR3-1333 No Hard Drive 494329-B21

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SO FAR SO GOOD!
Pros: Exactly what it says on the tin. This server just works as expected.
Cons: No first boot i was getting a no video/no post. Looked around online and was immediately greeted with an article on how to clear the NVRAM(unplug power, flick up dip switch 6 on the system maintenance switch, power on unit for about 3 minutes, power down, put the dip switch back to it's original position) and now it's booting normally.
Other Thoughts: Updated firmware pretty easily too. No HDD's included, but finding and purchasing compatible hardware is not difficult. Managed to find 2 x 146GB SAS 10k drives with qualified part #'s on "a competing site" for, like, $30.
Reviewed By:steven g.,4/22/2017 10:08:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8GB DDR3 70A40083UX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4.5 Egg Deal
Pros: - Value
- Chipset & BIOS VT-x and VT-d capable
- Power efficiency yields quiet operation with low power cost
Cons: -
Other Thoughts: This is a great deal as a low level server solution. The i3 is surprisingly nimble and runs cool. Will re-purpose it in another build and replace with a Xeon for hardware passthrough capability. imo, the Xeon equipped ThinkServers offered need more horsepower so this deal made more sense to me.
Reviewed By:Chris W.,4/22/2017 5:53:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 V2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like it
Pros: Advanced BIOS features which are normally found on higher end rack servers. I have tested OMV (OpenMedia Vault), Ubuntu, CentOS 7, RHEL 7 server and they all work without issue. iLO feature is sweet - lots of bells and whistles for a $170 machine. I had a 4Gig stick of ECC UDIMM from a Dell T-20 PowerEdge that I picked up several months ago and it was recognized without issue after slotting it in the HP. I'll buy another one if this price comes round again!
Cons: If you lack basic computer knowledge you may want to skip this box as it requires some knowledge of navigating BIOS settings to get everything lined up for OS install. POST is about 3 to 5 minutes as it runs through diagnostics -- the fans push full throttle during POST but the machine quiets nicely afterward (tiny bit louder than my Dell PowerEdge T-20). Not a big fan of the combination SATA/Power cable (but no big deal).
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend. I have this running CentOS 7 with RAID array doing incremental backups of my Plex Server.
Reviewed By:STEPHEN W.,4/16/2017 7:02:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo System x3100 M5 5457ECU 4U Intel Xeon E3-1220 v3 3.10 GHz 8GB RAM 1TB HDD Mini-tower Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent performance and statilization
Pros: Excellent performance and stabilization. Affordable personal home server. I set up my web server and database server on it.
Cons: 1. Only came with a power cord, No keyboard, no mouse, no simple swap tray, even no VGA cord. Had to order other parts from different places. Very inconvenient.
Other Thoughts: If Newegg have bundled some nessary parts , I might give a five star to this system.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/6/2017 8:44:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.