Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Box is fine, fans are garbage.
Pros: Well constructed, nice box.
Cons: Fans are a completely worthless. They are so weak, you can't even tell which way they are blowing. Ive had to replace all of the fans
Reviewed By:Jason L.,6/23/2017 2:36:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SuperMicro CSE-M14TQC Mobile Rack - 4x 2.5" Hot-swap SAS3/SATA3 HDDs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent 4-Bay Hot-Swappable Drive Carrier
Pros: This carrier is very well made and works well in 5.25 bays.
I used this in a Supermicro server chassis: CSE-835TQ-R920B and it looks like it was part of the chassis when installed.
Self-contained quiet cooling fan it supports SGPIO (sideband) LED control for disk access and warnings.
The backplane aligns well with the carriers and has solid connections.
Cons: None - met my expectations.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this carrier to others.
I am considering getting another for my desktop to add more drives in RAID and easier access to them.
The drive carriers are tight to fit four 2.5" drives in such a small space and it does it well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2017 1:01:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-835TQ-R920B Black 3U Rackmount Server Case 920W Redundant 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent SuperMicro Chassis
Pros: This chassis and the supplied rails are very well made. Very roomy as I set this up as a storage server. Plenty of room for running necessary cables and connections. The fans are quiet and are well balanced with minimal vibration. The power supply is also well made and very efficient. No sharp edges or misaligned stand-offs and fastener locations. Supplied cables to the front panel and Power supply cables were plenty long enough for my build. Front panel LED indicators are bright and 'colorful'. The backplane and its drive carriers are solid, well labeled and easy to access. Nothing appeared to be cheaply made or flimsy.
Cons: None, as this chassis has met all of my expectations and more.
Other Thoughts: Yes, I would recommend this chassis to others that are building a server.
This chassis is made and works very well with Supermicro's motherboards and accessories. If you plan on using this chassis for other manufacturers' products be aware that modifications may be necessary to make those products work in it, such as changing the front panel cable to a breakout version for individual connections to the motherboard. The power supply cables may need to be extended for these third party motherboards. Supermicro provides these modifications - you will just need to consult with their support team to get the right cables and they are very helpful.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2017 12:42:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis - 15 Internal Bays, 8 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Value - Poor Quality Control
Pros: Good price for what it is, fairly intuitive setup
Cons: Poor quality build
Poor quality fans, 2 of the 120mm fans failed after 3 days of use.
5 drive rails pegs were not machined properly, and do not fit in drives properly.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2017 6:36:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-2008 2U Rackmount Server Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a fan of the case
Pros: It did not fall apart yet.
Cons: The backplane in the case had failed causing data loss.

No Video inputs on front of case.


Rails recommended for case do not come with screws.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/20/2017 9:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SuperChassis CSE-745TQ-R800B Black 4U Rackmount Server Chassis 800W Redundant 2 x 5.25" Peripheral Drive Bay 1 x 5.25" Bay For Floppy Drive External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Really solid case overall
Pros: -Well made

-Majority of maintence can be done with no tools (hard drives, 5.25 bays, and fans)

-Includes case fans are absolute beasts. As I recall they are 5000 rpm and even when stress testing components I have never had a temperature issue of any kind. If you have low temperature components you could probobly just attach a heatsink with no fans and let the case fans do the work.

-Backplane actually saves you from using sketchy power splitters on the drives.

-PSU(as far as I can tell) is a true single rail and very high quality. It can be upgraded to a 1600W down the road if needed, but I can't think of any reasonable configs that would make that necessary. I have been fine with the 1200W version.
Cons: -Very bulky.

-Heavy.

-Loud. I would compare it to an AC unit, maybe louder. This is definitely not a "under the desk" case.

-There are no pcie 8 pin power connectors, only 6 pins ones.

-No sata power connectors. Doesnt matter much because the backplane takes care of the conversion.

-There are a bunch of random old floppy drive power connectors for some reason. I guess they could come in handy but for me they just dangle around and get stuck in fans.

-The 4 pin molex cables are rather short. It is difficult to reach the pcie expansion slots with them so make sure you have some extenders lying around.

-Dust accumulates quickly, there isn't an easy way to mount fan filters or anything either.

-Cable managment. This is hands down the largest problem with the case. I actually had to break out some tape in order to keep some cables out of the way. There are three grommets underneath the internal fans. I HIGHLY recommend feeding the 24 pin atx, 2 8 pin cpu, and 4 pin cpu through the first grommet at the top before installing the heatsinks on your cpu(s).

-This is related to the above, about 32 cm from the back is a wide and tall divider that three fans are mounted on. There are only 4 ways to fit things around that divider, with the three grommets below it and with a 4x4 cm opening at the top right below the PSU. If you put the 24 pin atx through that opening you are essentially unable to use it for anything else. That is why I recommended feeding the cable through below with the grommet. The divider makes anything out of the ordinary basically impossible. For example, any kind of water cooling is very difficult to pull off without modifying the case.
Other Thoughts: I recently switched to a new server with a new case and decided to mess around with modding this one for a water cooling setup. I removed the backplane and 5.25 bays in the front to make a ton of empty space. In there I managed to fit three 360mm radiators with fans sandwiched inbetween right in front of those three 5000 rpm intake fans. Stacking rads isnt the best, but there is so much airflow in that area that it works out fine. There is also a nifty little place right below the PSU that can be cut open to run cooling tubes outside and into more rads mounted on top. From there they come around nicely back to the front of the case. I also removed the redundant psu and used the dummy psu cover plate as a mount for a reservoir.

Not sure what I will actually be cooling with this, maybe some quad gpu monstrosity or something, but it was really fun. Later on I might even take out the board and just use it as an external radiator.

Most of this stuff is really not relevant to the product, but at the very least it should show just how well this case is constructed.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/18/2017 8:29:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-2U200HR65U2 Black Brushed Aluminum Front Bezel / 1.2mm SECC 2U Rackmount Server Case 2U 650W IPC Power supply (External) 5.25" up to 2 (Only 1 x 5.25" external bay with a m-ATX or ATX motherboard) External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid Good Looking Rack Chassis
Pros: Sturdy. Well Built. Looks Great.
Cons: Very tight spaces to work in, only one 3.5" drive bay unless you use a hot swap cage or adapter rails.
Other Thoughts: Took one egg off do to the tight working conditions and because that was fixed with the newer version. https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811192337
Reviewed By:Ryan S.,6/14/2017 3:49:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4224 4U Rackmount Server Case with 24 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good device however all 4 of the SSD's i had in the bottom row smoked
Pros: • This case excides any expectation that I had especially given the price. I am using this as a home server/media server/client backups server 2012r2 ssd/hdd 3-way mirror space. I am using the 8 sata ports onboard and https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816118142
• The unit I received is updated from the new egg description as I received 3x120mm nice!!!
• The holes for the sas cables are well placed but take a little finagling depending on what kind of cables you get (I got the 2x https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816133033 and 4x https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816133034)
• Rear 80mm fans are excellent output
• Trays are easy enough to use and ample amount of flush mount screws are included
• Whips for power buttons and usb ports on the front are plenty long enough to reach ports on opposite side of case
• Everything went together quick

6/9/2017
upgrading to 4 stars would like to do 4.5 but I cant do it to 5 because of my original issues
device has been stable but I am still nervous about using the bays as plug and play so I only pull the drives if device is powered off
Cons: • Rear 80mm fans are to loud for the family room, ordered some Noctua NF-A8 PWM 80mm Case Fan to see how they do
• First hour after build 5/23/2017My bottom backplane had some type of issue resulting in each of the 4 SSD’s in it to fry. The smoke came out cooked etc.… (thank goodness for resiliency) this was all known good hardware that had been in use in the previous setup. Sent email to NORCO to see about getting a replacement back plane. Set rating to 1 egg
• 5/24/2017 NORCO contacted me and we exchanged information and they will send me a replacement plane set rating to 2 eggs
• 5/26/2017 received replacement plane, install of the plane was a little annoying had to un-cable everything and take the fan wall out so I could get a screw driver at the hold down screws. Just in case it was not the plane but instead my power plugs I volt meter tested it as well. Put everything back together and put in a 1 sacrificial SSD and ran if under load for 90 min and it did not fail so I added a 2nd and it is currently taking some load. Things are looking good, set rating to 3 eggs
Other Thoughts: don't be stupid like me and assume something like this with so many bays that they all work 100%. test with your non production / sacrificial drives first

will update this as my comfort level improves, I am very hopefully to give this a 5 star as I think that my bad plane may have been a one off
Reviewed By:joseph f.,6/9/2017 6:47:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent case for watercooling
Pros: Spacious
Good air flow
Room for many hard drives
Cons: No integrated way to mount SSDs
Hard drive trays are cheap
Other Thoughts: I have two of these in an open 15U server rack. One of them houses a NAS and the other has my workstation. Both are water cooled. My workstation is a dual Xeon X5675, and fitting both water coolers and radiators was easy. I installed the radiators with fans in place of two of the three center mounted fans, in line with the hard drive bay fans, giving me straight through air flow. The third stock fan is still in place. The door keys are universal, so both of my chassis are opened by either key. There are dual NIC activity lights, which is nice for both of my systems.

It would be nice if there were better hard drive trays with ways to mount SSDs or other 2.5" hdds. I use an SSD for my boot drives, and my my FreeNAS case has some RAIDs made up of some 500GB laptop drives I had leftover from SSD upgrades. The mixed SSD/HDD format is pretty common, and we are at the point where case and chassis mounts for them should be expected rather than an extra feature or just completely missing.

Aside from that, I am very happy with these Chassis. It will take some time to get everything assembled and the wiring laid out in an organized fashion, and it will take some time to get RAID arrays correctly connected with the SATA power and data cables. You only have to do that once, so not a big deal.

I saw someone gave this produce one egg for the hard drive trays, but that is a little extreme. I will subtract one egg, but I still will give it a strong positive recommendation for the rest of the features.
Reviewed By:Timothy E.,6/9/2017 4:13:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Parts of this case are JUNK
Pros: Don't know yet, haven't finished putting the server together yet
Cons: The stays that hold the hard drive to the cheap plastic frame are rubbish. I've used these types of supports many times and I have to say that whoever designed this must have been smoking something. Every single one of them popped right out of the tray.
Other Thoughts: As for the case itself, it's difficult to say as I haven't finished putting it together but for the problem mounting the hard drives alone I would never buy this case again.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We greatly appreciate your purchase. We apologize for any inconvenience this server case has caused and for your dissatisfaction with our product.

We strive to provide the best quality and service to you. Rest assured that your feedback will receive the attention it deserves. We will continue improving our products in future. Thank you.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/9/2017 9:39:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.