Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT8000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Slowest Drive Ever
Pros: - Massive capacity.
- Decent price.
Cons: - Unbearably slow.
- Seriously, if you want to actually use this as backup hard drive, get a different one instead.
Other Thoughts: I must disclaim that I'm a huge fan of Seagate products in general. I've owned something like 50 drives from them over the last 25 years and I've had almost none of them fail in that time. This thing is a huge disappointment (and worse, I bought 2 of them at the same time for the capacity).

No idea why they bothered making this thing USB3. Plugged into USB3 it barely pulls off USB2 speeds. Copying very large individual files (60 GB backup images, for example) it seems to be capable of copying at around 37 MB/s. If you copy lots of little files (such as 2000 digital photos that are 2 to 5 MB each) it averages closer to 10 to 15 MB/s.

As I type this review I'm copying 165,739 files that total roughly 451 GB (only about 6% of the capacity of the drive). I fully expect this copy to take a long time (lot of data, lot of files), but if it maintains it current pace it will take almost 16 hours to copy. That means the projected average speed is a whopping 7.8 MB/s. That put it in line with some of the worst and oldest thumb drives I own.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2017 2:41:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force 2TB USB 3.0/eSATA Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GF3B2000EUA Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantom G-Force 2TB w/esata & USB3 connections
Pros: Works very well (except for 1 hiccup - see Con) and haven't had any issues with the internal hard drive otherwise.
Cons: Only 1 minor con - this drive wouldn't sync/attach to Windows 8.1 machine - driver load error. Yet it didn't have any issues with Windows 10 OS? I had to contact technical help over at micronet dot com and put in a trouble ticket for firmware update. They responded quickly and provided the necessary link to download their software & firmware tool. To update the firmware you must use either Windows 7 or 10 machine to install so keep that in mind. After that fast update to latest software version (08.00.03.07) this external drive now connects correctly on all Windows 8.1 machines.
Reviewed By:Mr. J.,2/16/2017 11:06:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > ioSafe > ioSafe SOLO G3 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive with Fireproof / Waterproof, 1 year DATA Recovery SVC SK2TB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not waste your money
Pros: - A good conversation piece. You can tell your friends about the $300 + you threw away on this junk.
Cons: - The product first failed within 1 year of purchasing. This was within my warranty and ioSafe fixed the device but failed to recover my data. The device failed after the power flickered in my apartment. The device was connected to a surge protector, as was the computer.
- 5 years after purchase, the device is not working and my warranty has run out. Shipping this 15 lb device costs $40 minimum and I would also have to pay for a Data Recovery Service. I don't know what this costs currently, but I'm sure it's not cheap.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your money on a company who claims their products withstand extreme elements, when they fail to work properly in great conditions without fire or water threatening. Spend your money on a normal hard drive for 1/3rd the cost. It will last longer and you won't have to go through this headache.
Reviewed By:Jackson R.,2/16/2017 8:59:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 HOT!
Pros: Finally, the price point on WD Reds that I was waiting for!
Cons: I am doing a deep scan for errors as I do with all new HDD. In less than an hour this drive was up to 56°C while scanning. I dont know how hot it might have gotten because I shut it down at that point, but that is pretty hot.
Other Thoughts: I am rating four stars now, because I plan on taking these drives out of the enclosure, as I am sure many many buyers are. Assuming these are 'regular' Reds, I am guessing the enclosure is contributing to heat.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/15/2017 5:15:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Innov8 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive - USB-C Powered - STFG8000400

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Didnt work out of the box
Pros: I have been in the IT game long enough to remember dragging around large capacity 3.5" hard drives which required both a wall wart power supply a super slow speed USB 2.0 connection. When I got the chance to review the Seagate Innov8 8TB drive I was amazed by how small it was, how beautiful the chassis was, and simply that it was powered entirely by USB 3.1....which means no separate power supply.
Cons: Unfortunately for me, the review unit I received didn't work. I have a high-end Razerblade early 2016 laptop which has a USB 3.1 port which is powerful enough to run this device. The hard drive is detected by my computer and drivers are installed. However, the device does not show up in diskmgmt.msc, nor MyComputer. Instead, the hard drive just clicks away uselessly. When I called Seagate support I was stuck on hold for over 20 minutes and was told by the representative that although my unit came in a SEALED retail package the drive itself doesn't have a serial number on it and thus they couldn't RMA it for me. So I literally have a $300 paperweight.
Other Thoughts: I was really looking forward to this device working and was excited that an external 3.5" HDD was finally available which didn't necessitate an external power supply. Unfortunately for many enthusiasts like myself, you must have high-end hardware which has a USB 3.1 port just to run this HDD...which the majority of the market does not have unless you are buying add-on PCIe cards for your desktop, getting a new motherboard, or a new laptop

I wish I could comment further about this device and that Seagate could have been more helpful to us reviewers and enthusiasts who have been waiting years for an innovative product like this to come to the market
Reviewed By:Lawrence M.,2/13/2017 3:11:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 buy it
Pros: quiet for a hdd
good quality cords
no power switch, auto on/off is a nice feature
Cons: blue flashing light
Other Thoughts: great memory/money ratio
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/13/2017 10:51:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Internal 3.5" drive is a 4TB Barracuda ST4000DM000 with expired warranty
Pros: - Easy to open external box to shuck drive, I'm using mine to replace another drive in a FreeNAS volume
- The external unit's warranty for mine (purchased last week) is good until March 1st 2018, a little over a year.
Cons: (nothing yet, will update if drive fails within a short period of time)
Other Thoughts: - Anyone opening up an external drive for the purposes of shucking the drive is prepared to void their external drive's warranty. However with other manufacturer's (i.e. WD) a shucked drive can still have warranty coverage, but as an internal drive only. Seagate appears to be marking the internal drives as having an expired warranty so this is not an option.
- If you're picking this up to shuck weigh the cost of spending an additional $25 for a retail 4TB Barracuda for warranty coverage. If it's not worth it to you then this is a reasonable way to get a 4TB 3.5" drive.
Reviewed By:RYAN R.,2/12/2017 11:06:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Huge & Noisy
Pros: -Affordable price for 4TB.
Cons: -Slow
-Really really noisy (Reason why I've returned it)
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this product.
Reviewed By:MARIE-JOSEE G.,2/11/2017 1:13:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works but not what I was looking for
Pros: It's a WD drive
Cons: The only type of this unit that seem to be available are the GPT format denoted by 0A as the last 2 digits of the part number. What I really wanted were the 04 part numbers which come with the Win standard partition table. Although nothing more than a pain to reformat, the WD security is irretrievably lost once the drive is reformatted to
the partition table drive type. i did my homework and carefully checked out the model number and was blind sided by this.situation.
Other Thoughts: If you have an olderf Windows computer you might be completely out of luck now if you want a secured WD drive.
Manufacturer Response:Hey There Anonymous,
All WD external hard drives ship, by default GPT. MBR does not support partitions larger than 2TB.
“File and partition size limitations using the FAT32 file system (Windows and Mac)”: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=1287

Although we no longer officially support Legacy Windows XP Operating System, we continue to provide our WD Quick Formatter to help reformat WD External Hard Drives lager than 2TB to be compatible with Windows XP.
“How to format external drives using WD Quick Formatter in Windows or Mac”: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=3868

We’re happy to address your questions or concerns directly; you can contact us and mention the support case below for help.

Case Number: 021017-11793066

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2017 10:00:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 6TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0060HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product-Very happy with my purchase!
Pros: It does have a small power brick, that does not block other outlets! Smaller brick than what I had on my previous (smaller capacity) Ext. hard drive! Plug in and go! I love my 6 TB My Book Ext. Hard Drive!
Cons: Wish it had rubber feet on the wide side, to lay it down flat. It has rubber feet so that it stand up tall.
7" tall, 5.5" wide, 1.75" thick. I have it laying down on the 7" X 5.5" side, so that it's only 1.75" tall.
Other Thoughts: I have had previous WD My Book external hard drives and had very good success with them lasting a long time. When I upgraded my computer with TBs on the hard drive I needed to upgrade my external hard drive. Gave my 3 TB ext. hard drive to my daughter to use, it was still working great!
Reviewed By:Patricia A.,2/9/2017 3:28:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.