Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed Three Times
Pros: Large drive and well priced at that.
Cons: Has failed three times as an Apple Time Machine. Formatted and tried again, but has just failed again. The first time it failed after a month. The last two times within days.
Reviewed By:John G.,7/25/2017 8:49:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good but runs hot
Pros: Lots of space
Cons: Runs hot...53C at idle..went to store and bought a 5$ desktop fan and pointed it at the enclosure.Now it idles at 29c.Make sure to check your temps with CrystalDiskInfo program.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully last longer than the last external drive i bought from seagate which was the Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100 that only lasted a little over 2 years
Reviewed By:Vickie P.,7/24/2017 6:32:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No to longevity
Pros: Worked Great and fast acess times
Cons: Purchased 1/15/2015 its now 7/24/2017 and already has 8 bad sectors
Other Thoughts: Not recommended for longevity
Reviewed By:Vickie P.,7/24/2017 6:24:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good drive but doesn't work with PS4
Pros: Good value, good drive
Cons: Doesn't work with PS4 but it will work with computer
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2017 5:15:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very Disappointed in this Component.
Pros: Worked great for about a month.
Cons: I backed up all my files onto this drive in preparation to transferring them to another build. I gave my old build to my grandson and reformatted that drive for him so the files are no longer available. I thought that I was good with a 3T sized drive, especially a Seagate drive. I've been a loyal customer of Seagate for ages. One disappointment sure sours the experience. The drive is inaccessible and doesn't show up in Windows. I haven't been able get much support from Seagate either. Of course I can purchase their Recovery program for an additional $80 and I still need to get me another ex drive. This time I guess I'll try WD.
Other Thoughts: I definitely wouldn't recommend this drive for what it's touted for. It seems that this is a common issue with it losing accessible function in Windows.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/22/2017 5:02:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Price, storage space for what i use it for. Seems great so far.
Cons: None at this time.
Other Thoughts: Love Newegg.
Reviewed By:Phil G.,7/21/2017 10:04:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Product left on ground outsdide of my house
Pros: I've noticed a trend with postal/delivery services where they will try their best to sneak leave a sticker on your door without actually knocking. Even though I was home, the sticker says "Sorry we knocked our hearts out/ tried to deliver the package, but you, being the lamer that you are, couldn't be bothered to be home, or answer the door. Please spend half of your day to come to our random "local" depot to pick up your package." Given this recent trend, I was ecstatic to find that my package was mercifully left laying out on the street like a piece of trash for anyone to grab. Thankfully I was the person who happened to walk by and grab it. I am very confused about whether this is a good thing. Five stars.
Cons: none yet
Reviewed By:Eric P.,7/20/2017 4:22:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 - STDT4000100 (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple backup drive or secondary storage
Pros: Plug and play with easy to use backup. Seagate Dashboard software has come a long way.

Runs quietly.

The case dissipates heat better than you might think.
Cons: A lot of negative reviews. How are people using this drive, i wonder?

Typical 2-year warranty. Longer would be better.
Other Thoughts: Some users have experienced disconnects or freezes. We used to get that problem with external drives when running Windows XP and Vista. We have NOT had any problems when using Win7, 8.1, or 10.

We've had one of the smaller 2.5-inch portable Seagate Backup Plus drives for several years, using it here, there, and everywhere to create backups or to offload data from different PCs. It has performed relaibly and seems robustly made. I wonder if these larger drives are, too?
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,7/20/2017 10:09:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie d2 USB 3.0 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop Professional Desktop Storage LAC9000529

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 These work great!
Pros: I have several of these. For me LaCie has always been reliable and sturdy. I need the 7200 rpm drives for editing. Never has a problem with them. This was on sale too, so good deal from New Egg!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:William S.,7/19/2017 9:27:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: - Bought 4 expressed to australia, took 3 days
- Contain ST8000DM004 Barracuda Pros
Cons: - Buying internationally, Seagate won't warranty (i knew that already) so would need to go through NewEgg
- Only 1 year warranty anyway
Other Thoughts: Would highly recommend as the internal drives are a high end non-archive model
Reviewed By:Jacob T.,7/19/2017 1:15:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.