Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer USB 3.0 Blu-Ray Drives Model BDR-XD05W

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Insufficient specifications on drive can be misleading.
Pros: Like this looks of this product and have had good success with Pioneer products in the past.
Cons: UPDATED REVIEW: After I received this item I followed the instructions to download the software indicated. On the web sight given, it only listed software for MAC which led me to believe it was not compatible with my WIN 10. I checked on Newegg's page again and checked the "manual" that came with the dive, neither specifically stated it would work with WIN. I contacted Newegg requesting a return authorization because I then believed it was not compatible with WIN. They suggested I contacted Pioneer because their information indicated it would work with Windows. I contacted Pioneer who's reply stating it would work. I connected the drive and it worked with my HP I7 core Laptop using Cyberlink PowerMediaPlayer to play a Blue-Ray disk. I have not tried to burn a BD disk, but plan to use NCH Express Burn software. Second problem, the drive is powered using two USB ports. They offer a 5 VDC adapter for applications where 2 ports are not available or for long term use. I went to the indicated wed sight, but could not find the adapter. I Email Pioneer, but received NO reply. I plan to attempt purchasing the supply again as I do not like the power drain on my laptop USB ports. Although the product appears to be well constructed and I have had good luck with Pioneer products in the past, I do care for all the hassle and time this item has taken. This is why I give it only 3 eggs. Pioneer offers another External Blue-Ray Burner for about $20-$30 more, which is indicated for use with Windows (found after purchasing this drive). If you have a need for one using Windows, would suggest you consider this one as an option, but I have no idea of its performance. Last note: there is NO Windows software on the Pioneer web sight for this drive (unless recently added).
Reviewed By:D W.,6/18/2017 2:25:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 / USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray Re-writer MacOS Cmpatible Model BW-16D1X-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great!
Pros: Smooth burning and reading. Low noise.
Cons: Blue accent light is a little bright. Light is a nice touch, just a little too bright!
Other Thoughts: Loading tray could be smoother. While I am wishing, a slot load tray would have been even better.
Reviewed By:Martin T.,6/18/2017 6:46:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MediaStation 16x External BDXL Blu-Ray Writer - BRXL-16U3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Beware!!! It's not a Buffalo but a Pioneer wrapped in a Buffalo skin.
Pros: It works as well as a Pioneer bdr-209m, because that is what it is.
Cons: Three time Buffalo tech lied to me saying it was a driver error with my pc. But my older Buffalo media station had no such errors and was correctly identified as a Buffalo HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH16NS48 1.02-A0. The new drive shows up on three different PC's as a Pioneer not a Buffalo. Is this an attempt by Buffalo to increase profits? They say no but they've also already LIED to three time. You're out of there, I've bought my last Buffalo product unless it's a coat.
Other Thoughts: The truth is this drive is just a cheep knock-off of the original, it even looks cheep, nothing like on the box. Do yourself a favor and go with the LG 14X BE14NU40 or the ASUS 12X (BW-12D1S-U Lite), I have both of those models as well and they're better blu ray drives. Not to mention you're getting what you pay for, not a cheep knock-off.
Reviewed By:Andre K.,6/18/2017 12:30:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG External CD/DVD Rewriter With M-Disc Mac & Surface Support (Black) - Model GP65NB60

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: small, read and write, fair price
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: These work great and I have purchased a few of these and other than on one system having install issue ( resolved) they just work when needed and then stow in their box.
Reviewed By:Dean G.,6/17/2017 6:29:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 8X Ultra Slim External DVD Writer (Silver) Model SDRW-08U5S-U/SIL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Plug and play with Windows 10. Relatively quick reads/writes
Cons: None at this time
Other Thoughts: Great value, too.
Reviewed By:David C.,6/17/2017 3:37:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Ultra-Slim Optical Drives Red, M-Disc Support, MAC OS X compatible Model SE-208GB/RSRD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not work with Surface tablets
Pros: Cheap price, well made. Works with most Laptops
Cons: Does not work with Microsoft Surface pro 1 &2 or Surface 3, The unit requires more power than the tablet can handle in it's Usb port. Only Tablet It worked with was the Samsung Slate 7
Reviewed By:Marshall M.,6/13/2017 4:48:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External Blu-Ray 6X Re-writer with BDXL Support MacOS Compatible Model SBW-06D2X-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great...at first.
Pros: When I first bought this, it worked great for both playing blu-ray movies and burning media.
Cons: For some reason this stopped working after 7 months. The computer will no longer recognize it as a device. Good luck with ASUS's terrible website for drivers. It won't go past the "Please select OS" screen.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Josh,

Thank you for the feedback and making us aware of your ASUS product experience. Since this is a plug and play external drive, your system should automatically detect it. Please double check your USB-Y Cable to ensure it is securely connected. Feel free to contact me at cc-eric@asus.com to let me know if you need additional assistance and i'll be happy to help.


Best Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:John H.,6/11/2017 7:24:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 6X External Slim Blu-Ray Re-writer Combo with BDXL Support MacOS Compatible Model SBC-06D2X-U

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not get refurbished burners of any type.
Pros: Nice design. That's about the only Pro.
Cons: Takes up two USBs
Other Thoughts: Do not get refurbished burners of any type.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Ho,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your ASUS product. The USB-Y Cable for this drive utilizes 2 USB ports for sufficient power instead of a separate AC Adapter. If you have any questions or concerns,feel free to contact me at cc-eric@asus.com and i'll be happy to help you. I look forward to your e-mail so we can be sure to resolve your concerns as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:Ho Y.,6/5/2017 11:57:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black
Pros: Yes you can boot in uefi with it
Cons: longer cord would've been nice, but meh it happens...
Other Thoughts: Definitely a great purchase
Reviewed By:Jason H.,6/4/2017 11:38:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Ultra Slim External DVDRW With Mac & Surface Compatible Model GP60NS50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product and service
Pros: All
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Great Product and servers Delivered as promise on time
Reviewed By:george r.,5/30/2017 10:33:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.