Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG External CD/DVD Rewriter With M-Disc Mac & Surface Support (Gold)-model GP65NG60

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What I needed
Pros: I was very happy to see that the product description, was very accurate. I needed a player that could play various types of files, especially DVD-RAM discs. This little drive is capable of a lot of different video types. This is another item that I purchased from Newegg. That is of good quality, at a great price, and delivered in record time for the least costly shipping rate. :-)
Cons: None at this time.
Other Thoughts: Over the years, I purchased recorders from a major manufacturer. That could record and play back DVD-RAM discs. For some reason, that company has abandoned the DVD-RAM format in its latest products. That means that when my last recorder/player from that company is no longer usable. I will be stuck with DVD-RAM discs, that cannot be used in other player machines. Using the Lg GP65NG60 External drive with my Windows 7 Pro & Windows 10 computers. I was able to view the video files that were recorded on my DVD-RAM machines. With a little patience, I found that I could get Microsoft Media Player to play the video files.
It took a little time to figure out that I had to open the files, select the program that would open and playback the files, but I was able to do it successfully. Lastly, I find the GP65NG60, to be very light weight, attractive, ( I selected the gold ), and portable. It doesn't feel particularly robust, but it isn't expensive though. A very comprehensive little instruction manual is packed with the unit, as is a Cyberlink installation/manual disc. Cyberlink offers a new firmware update on the disc, and offers various products for purchase online.
Reviewed By:Lawrence M.,2/20/2017 2:45:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > Samsung USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) 8X Ultra Slim External DVD Writer Model SE-218GP/RSBN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product, just plug and play.
Pros: Drive works without problems. The black case goes with all my other computer stuff.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I would buy again.
Reviewed By:Ronald K.,2/18/2017 12:16:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Slim External DVD / CD Burner
Pros: Plug and play, with Windows 10 64 Bit
Works perfectly.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Great deal on an external burner.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/14/2017 5:15:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Hewlett-Packard > HP Desktop Mini DVD Super Multi-Writer ODD Module Model K9Q83AT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good addition to hp 800 G2
Pros: mini PC came with restore and driver disks this HP drive is designed for compatibility and the cost was in line with the "off brands"
Cons: none yet
Reviewed By:william h.,2/14/2017 5:42:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS ZenDrive Ultra-slim External DVD Drive Model SDRW-08U7M-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great External DVD drive!
Pros: Worked out of the box. Lightweight and very sleek looking.
Cons: None!
Reviewed By:Jeffrey H.,2/11/2017 10:00:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unsure of its quality
Pros: - Relatively cheap for an external DVD writer.
Cons: - Requires a driver to function... which is located on a CD and cannot be found anywhere on the internet. Do they think people buying an external DVD writer have a second DVD writer laying around?
Manufacturer Response:Valued NewEgg Customer, 
 
Thank you for choosing Plextor's EBAU108 and providing us your feedback. Please note that your eBAU108 unit does not require any drivers. It is fully a "plug & play" unit. Your Plextor unit is backed with a very talented support group (U.S. based). They're are happy to provide help.
 
Please contact PLEXTOR CARE. We're happy to assist: 
 
Call us:800-886-3935 (Monday to Friday, 9AM to 6PM Pacific Standard Time) 
Email us:  SSD.USSupport@GoPlextor.com 
Chat with us:http://www.goplextor.com/online_chat.html 
 
Thank you for being a loyal Plextor customer. We value your business and look forward to servicing you. 
 
PLEXTOR CARE 
Quality Service Matters.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/8/2017 11:37:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Mac & Surface Support Model GP50NB40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect
Pros: Just what i need
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/8/2017 4:35:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer 6x Silver External Slim Portable USB 3.0 BD/DVD/CD Burner Model BDR-XD05S

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Super slow, no software, want a refund.
Pros: does look pretty nice.
Cons: -no ac adapter supplied.
-no way to find it on internet.
-Cant read BD cuz no software
-Took about 45mins to read a driver CD for my motherboard...
Other Thoughts: -Don't buy this !
-You'd better spend a little bit more and go with the asus one or any other...
Reviewed By:FREDERICK G.,2/6/2017 11:48:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS ZenDrive Ultra-slim External DVD Drive Model SDRW-08U7M-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unable to uninstall CyberLink PowerBackup 2 a supplied software from Asus.
Pros: The external DVD Drive works, Nice package (box) I'm using to storage drive when not in use. Came with two M-disks.
Cons: unable to uninstall CyberLink PowerBackup 2 software supplied with the drive. Can't uninstall this program because it does not appear in Control Panel/Programs/programs and features, what is up with that? It was installed on a new computer that has very few programs on it, plus CyberLink PowerBackup 2 it has limited functions, want me to upgrade for more money for the other functions.
Other Thoughts: Knowing what I know now I would not have purchased this product. I don't appreciate being held hostage by software.
Reviewed By:Jay H.,2/4/2017 9:06:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Slim Portable Blu-ray Writer Model SE-506CB/RSWD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked for exactly 5 Disks, after that everything failed, coastered and woudlnt even eject
Pros: Price
Cons: After 5 disks, every disk failed and ruined the disk.
Failed to even eject once the it started failing.
Other Thoughts: Avoid at all costs
Reviewed By:Bruce B.,2/2/2017 11:34:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.