Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3455-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor J3455 (up to 2.3GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tutorial for installing Windows 7 on J3455 ITX and other apollo lake systems
Pros: Windows 7 working and HEVC hardware decoding works
Cons: Had to try all available drivers for other systems to find the driver for windows 7
Other Thoughts: Finally installed windows 7 after quite a few tries, there are quite a few steps invovled in the installation, already left some tips at another site selling the J4205-ITX board, and I actually own J3455-ITX and here's the detailed steps for installing Windows 7 64bit.

1) Asus EZinstaller integration is able to integrate the usb driver automatically but the software failed numerous times, saying can't complete the integration at about 68% progress when I tried to integrate the drivers, it turned out that all my Z77, H67M laptops, H61 desktops are not compatible with the software, ended up using a 7 year old Dell Vostro 230 running G41 chipset to integrate the driver onto a Windows 7 Pro 64bit Disc into an ISO, which you can use Rufus to write into a usb flash drive and use it to do the Windows 7 installation. Only the tool of Asus EZinstaller will be able to drive the usb ports on appollolake, other software from ASrock, MSI, Gigabyte all wouldn't be able to drive the USB ports for unknown reason.

2) All intel drivers except two are found by using the Asus Z270 prime driver, the kabylake display is v21.20.16.4508 or v21.20.16.4526, first is also from Z270 prime support site, you also need INF update, USB 3.0 will be already ready to use by step 1 of integrating the driver into windows 7.

3) Realtek audio and LAN drivers can be found at realtek website.

4) There would be two devices missing driver, one PCI simple communication device is actually intel trusted execution engine while the other unknonw device is serial i/o device; for intel trusted execution engine you would need to use intel dynamic platform and thermal framework driver 8.1.10605.221, google to find the file for windows 7 64bit, unzip the driver and you need to navigate to the folder of esif_manager.inf, and install manually - select the inf file in the folder, ignore the warning and continue the installation. After this driver is installedd, only one driver for the unknown device (which is the intel trust platform device) is left for further search.

5) One annoying thing is you need to keep csm setting as legacy only all the time, once you install the display driver, you need to change to UEFI and save, otherwise legacy setting will cause computer crash right away. For some strange reason, my J3455 is very funny that the TV has to be turned on first before the computer, otherwise the BIOS setting will change back to legacy only and caused the crash, thought I got a faulty board but it turned out that the HDMI 2.0 chip is causing the problem which doesn't happen at all with other DVI VGA connectors.

6) Windows 7 can only be installed on GPT partition, MBR partition doesn't work, showing an error messege that Windows can't install on the partition, another requirement is to make sure legacy VGA BIOS is injected using CSM compatibility(you might need to have a MBR hard drive connected to SATA port to see this option showing up). The most annoying part is that the VGA bios needs to be set as legacy for windows 7 installation and the instllation of the display driver for kabylake/apollo lake, but once you finished the installation of the beta video driver and clicked reboot, you need to go into bios setting and change the VGA bios under CSM to UEFI only mode otherwise windows 7 will just crash.
Reviewed By:Xu Z.,7/24/2017 3:08:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5545 AMD A8-5545 (Quad core 1.7G, turbo 2.7G) Processor AMD A70M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little motherboard, get them while they're still around.
Pros: APU and motherboard for about $60.
Richland mobile quad-core APU.
Cons: Runs a bit hot, no off-the-shelf cooler solutions AFAIK
Other Thoughts: It's about as good as an older gen mobile Core i3. As long as there's some air flow in the case, should be fine.
Reviewed By:Nam Y.,7/24/2017 8:43:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3455M Intel Quad-Core Processor J3455 (up to 2.3GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fails to see Drives
Pros: None so far for AS Rock products. Bios does not work
Cons: Bios fails to show the hard drive and DVD as boot options.
This is the second As Rock Mini ATX that has a failed BIOS.
I've never had a mother board fail me before these AS Rock products.
No Bios instructions in manual.
Other Thoughts: Can't give a lower rating than 1. Should have been zero!. Took 10 days to arrive in Tucson. Starting it's journey in PA then IN,KS,NM PH then finally Tucson. Then I find it does not work
Manufacturer Response:Dear Anthony,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Please reconnect the drive and assure both ends of SATA cable are firmly connected.
Check the power connector is securely connect to the drive.
Enter BIOS, Advanced, Storage Configuration to verify the drives are detected.
If it detected that boot option will be shown on the drives.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Anthony W.,7/21/2017 3:46:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Raspberry Pi > Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Broadcom BCM2837 64bit ARMv8 QUAD Core 64bit Processor powered Single Board Computer running at 1.2GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm loving this Pi!
Pros: Cheap, powerful, limitless applications!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I'm new to the whole Raspberry Pi thing! (My 7 year old Grandson actually told me about it.) I bought this and built a retro arcade machine! It came out fantastic! I want to build a Media Center based on this next. I will definitely be ordering more of these in the future!
Reviewed By:Arbinson S.,7/19/2017 5:54:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi B+ Broadcom BCM2835 SoC ARM11 700 MHz Low Power ARM1176JZFS Applications Processor Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 nice product for its time
Pros: great for projects
geting into coding
Cons: low ram would recomend newer models atlest with a gig or higher
Other Thoughts: great little board bought back in 1/3/2015 not to much u can do with the low ram for its time of release compaird to the new ones but still works great for my projects.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/16/2017 1:29:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock QC5000M AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU SOC Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great motherboard for a HTPC
Pros: Very low carbon footprint, didn't need to buy a GPU, CPU, or a cooler. I had an 8GB DDR3 RAM stick lying around, so all I had to purchase was a case and PSU. Decent performance for streaming video, locally and from the internet at 1080p. Great price at the time of purchase, and is Linux compatible.
Cons: It has only 2 SATA ports and no front panel USB 3.0 header. I had an issue with add-on video cards, but that was due to the OS being installed in UEFI mode and not being supported by the video cards themselves. Most budget video cards, ones that would be installed in a motherboard such as this one (there is no point otherwise) do not have UEFI supported vBIOSes.
Other Thoughts: This should be a good solution for a low power computer, like a thin client. I have successfully installed Ubuntu Mate and Sabayon Linux. Windows 7 and 10 x64 editions seem a bit taxing on the hardware, so I do recommend some sort of non-resource hogging OS. If this motherboard had more SATA ports, it would have been perfection, considering what it is and its application.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/13/2017 12:21:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > JETWAY > Jetway JNF9U-2930 Intel Celeron N2930 Soc Mini ITX w/2 LAN HDMI VGA COM port Parallel port PS2 RJ-11 On board power

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice no-fan board with dual NIC and DC in
Pros: As minimal as it gets, just throw in some RAM and a Sata III mini SSD board and go. I paired this with a Morex 557 for a a very small build. Great for Linux Router.
Cons: It's kinda expensive, but this is somewhat offset by the fact that it doesn't need a pico power supply. At $149.99 it would be amazing.
Other Thoughts: Seems to be geared towards Point of Sale stations with a bunch of serial cable things. Just sell the board OEM bare and cut costs!
Reviewed By:Nicholas W.,7/9/2017 11:52:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS BAT-I(1.2)/J1800 Intel Celeron J1800 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Surprisingly good
Pros: Very good for the price. It booted right up and installed Windows 10 from USB. I got this little board to go into a small ITX case to make a travel computer. It works fine in this purpose.
Cons: It would be nice if it supported 2 RAM sticks, and it would really be great if getting the stick to seat in place was easier,but I can't take points off for this because of the great price and quite acceptable performance I'm getting.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this for certain to anyone wanting to build her own small form factor computer.
Reviewed By:Moira W.,7/3/2017 2:31:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150M Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard / CPU / VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great small motherboard with enough power
Pros: -works great with windows 10
-smooth install
-great deal with the price
Cons: -none
Reviewed By:cage e.,7/3/2017 11:35:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock QC5000M AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU SOC Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for mining
Pros: Bought several for a mining rig, plopped in Pci x1 to 16 risers and I can get three RX 580s on each board no problem.

No fan so very quiet, can barely hear anything except for the fan noise from the GPUs.
Cons: None for my purposes
Other Thoughts: Buying this saves money and you get a low power laptop CPU in a desktop mobo form. Less power and less cost, can't beat it in price. Definitely buying more.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/3/2017 7:20:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.