Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Areca > areca ARC-8050T2 RAID level 0, 1, 1E, 3, 5, 6, 10, 30, 50, 60, Single Disk or JBOD 8 3.5" Drive Bays 2 x Thunderbolt 2 Thunderbolt 2 to 6Gb/s SAS RAID Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid performance
Pros: I have been using the ARC-8050T2 for over a year now. I loaded it up with 8, 4T 7200rpm disk drives in a raid 5 configuration. The storage is used mostly for video editing. Super fast even with the traditional disk drives, I can't image the performance with a SSD set up. Blackmagic disk test generally running 680 to 740 mbs transfer speeds. This is more than sufficient for HD editing. It has simply worked and keeps on working! How is that for a change in our day and age?
Cons: It's true that documentation and set up instructions are a bit obscure but honestly, I'm not a super techy computer guy and I still managed to get it set up properly without too much difficulty. So I suppose this is not a con so much as an FYI.
Reviewed By:Gordon D.,5/25/2017 3:11:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25049 USB 3.0 2.5" USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive External Enclosure Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not the most well-designed enclosure
Pros: USB 3.0 male A connection. Bus-powered. All-metal construction and no tools required, however, a small phillip head screwdriver is included.
Cons: The enclosure has rounded sides that create an ellipsis-shaped cavity for you to insert your hard drive into. There's no internal chassis or carriage to keep your hard drive secure so once you get your drive inserted there's still a little slop where the drive slides left to right. I don't think it's that big a deal if you need to use an enclosure for a quick job, but I would not use this for long-term use or if I needed to travel with my external drive.
Other Thoughts: For the price after the mail in rebate I'm not completely disappointed, however, I would never have paid full price for this enclosure. There are plenty of other options for under $10 that provide a more secure housing for your hard drive.
Reviewed By:Robert W.,5/24/2017 6:54:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50092 USB 3.0 or eSATA 4 Bay HDD Dock with RAID 0/1/3/5/10

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 horrible quality -
Pros: cheap.
Cons: weird errors. kills hard drives. unstable raid. report high temps when drives are cool
Reviewed By:Tri-Tech S.,5/18/2017 10:26:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Saved my life
Pros: - USB 3.0
- dual bay
- played well with Linux mint
Cons: - LEDs on the bottom
- poor manual, but considering the price not a deal breaker
Other Thoughts: Randomly bought this at a great price and then needed it to save data within a few weeks.
The LEDs won't be such a big deal, I often don't have spare desk space and thus place it on the floor where the LEDs can't be seen well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2017 9:44:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SD-ENC25047 USB 3.1 Gen 2 Micro USB to SATA III enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 If you need to replace it, forget it!
Pros: looks good
Cons: works just for a few months
Other Thoughts: If it goes bad then forget about getting a replacement, their Costumer Service will promise to send it to you each time you contact them. So far is has been 4 months and still waiting.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/3/2017 7:58:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great External Drive Enclosure - Easy Setup
Pros: Great Design, Easy Setup. Allows you to do 4 individual simple volumes, Spanned as one, Striped or Mirrored directly through the disk management setup in Windows (8.1 Enterprise for this setup). ESata and USB 3.0 connectors and Sata I, II, III compatibility make this a great product.
Cons: Sleek case, the only change i would recommend is having the power connector on the back of the device so that it could slide in next to something without having to worry about bending and disconnecting the power.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended!
Reviewed By:Christopher L.,4/26/2017 6:23:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with ease.
Pros: Main thing is it is stand alone and on the drive itself it states where to plug the drive to be copied. I did not even need to read the directions to know how to use it. Very simple.
Cons: Cost money...... I have not found them yet, I have copied 4 drives already and all have come out perfect.
Other Thoughts: I had one drive, an SSD big brand name has been in the game over 20 years in memory. I tried to copy drives onto this one, 3 other times and would not work. I tried with another cloning, install into a system as a slave to clone over, and even tried different software. I used this device and it worked perfect. Not as fast as other ways to duplicated, but does the job when others could not.
Reviewed By:Jesse H.,4/23/2017 12:56:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable
Pros: Nice features if it worked.
Cons: Judging by my experience, as well as others, it seems to be very failure prone. Completely failed after only a single use.
Other Thoughts: Stay away until Syba sorts out their quality issues with this product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for any issues that you have had with this Hard Disk Dock. We are looking into where the issues lie with this product as of now.
If you still have this product, we can have our support team help you troubleshoot it at support@sybausa.com.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and will look into this issue further.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170424

Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/23/2017 8:12:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3-WT 4 x 3.5" Drive Bays e-SATA, USB 3.0 ProBox SATA III Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does not implement RAID despite description
Pros: Looks nice, may be good if you don't value data integrity
Cons: Doesn't actually implement a RAID
Other Thoughts: The description said it supports Linux RAID. Note that this does not mean that it supports RAID stand alone. It's extremely misleading and am returning the unit. Linux is not an OS it states it officially supports, so when you see a statement like this, you assume it's an embedded OS that is managing the RAID configuration, but it's not. The manual explicitly states it is a NON-RAID unit.

Note: I wanted to get this out there, but since I can't say it works or doesn't work, didn't want to adversely affect what may be a good product. I wish we could leave notes without giving a rating.
Reviewed By:Thomas B.,4/18/2017 7:43:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nor A Reliable Product
Pros: Nice to look at.
Cons: When plugged in, it seems to work...for a while. Then it loses the drive and can no longer recognize it. Sometimes it will work for a whole day, but then the next day either the drive won't be recognized or the data on it goes missing. This has happened over the 3 months I have owned it and I should have returned it to Newegg when I first got it (My bad!). These problems have happened on multiple drives of both the 2.5 and 3.5 inch sizes. This is NOT a product to trust with your backup data. I never tried the duplicator function so I can't comment on that feature.

When I finally decided to contact SYBA their website was down and looking at the User Manual there is no contact information (either phone or website) nor is there any warranty info. I had to get the phone number from Newegg.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are sorry that this enclosure has stopped working for you. And we are sorry you experienced issues with our site. Our site is back to functioning, and if you need information on this product you can go to this link http://www.sybausa.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=729 or go to the following link for return information http://www.sybausa.com/index.php?route=support/rmapolicy

We are sorry you had issues with this product and we hope to get it resolved as quickly as possible. We thank you for your valuable feedback and apologize again for any inconvenience this may have caused.


Dear Customer,

We are sorry that this card did not measure up to your expectations. We do our best to provide quality products to our customers. We hope the product is still useful to you and that you were satisfied by the service.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope that this did not cause too much of an inconvenience.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170428

Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/17/2017 11:06:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.