Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect
Pros: - Unplug your expensive but worthless wireless router. Plug the USG into your modem and directly into a PC. Use the management software to configure DHCP, plug it into a switch with a Ubiquiti AP, adopt the AP and create an SSID and password, and it's done.
- Obviously, it's also great for wired networking.
- If you want this for your home but don't have any networking knowledge, don't sweat. Read online and maybe tinker the tiniest bit, and this will give you a much better experience than any normal consumer hardware.
- You can spend a little over $200 and get a better experience from Ubiquiti than any all in one wireless router.
Cons: - Nothing
Other Thoughts: - The cloud key is not at all necessary, but does give you the ability to manage from the app or remotely without having the controller software running on a PC.
- Deep Packet Inspection, and all of the other statistics available in the management software are just super neat.
- If you pair it with APs, you can have multiple SSIDs, captive portal for guests, and even use it as a RADIUS server.
Reviewed By:Daniel H.,5/23/2017 5:30:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product annd is getting better with firmware upgrades
Pros: The biggest pro I will have to say is the price. This router has come a long way in one year and they are now planning on installing a radius server right in the router. The firewall is getting better and tying multiple sites together is quite easy.
Cons: It is still not a WatchGuard or a Cisco but its functionality is getting their.
Other Thoughts: I have installed several of these devices and the only problem I had was a firmware upgrade shutting down the gateway. Rooted and up it went, no different then I had to do with WatchGuard, Cisco, and several other routers.
Reviewed By:BRIAN S.,4/28/2017 11:54:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERPro-8 EdgeMAX 8-Port Gigabit Router fiber-enabled, rackmount

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Firewall so far...
Pros: -Very easy to set up (make sure you do not use IE)
-Lots of options
-I think it is quieter than some are saying
-Updating firmware is easy
Cons: -Does not like IE. Was frustrating until I realized this.
Other Thoughts: I found the overall setup easy, once I started using Chrome. The initial wizard will help you get the device online. Once that is done, update the firmware, then run the wizard again. There is a link in the interface of the firewall to go to Ubiquiti site to get the latest firmware. I am using this with a 48 port GB Cisco switch and 2 Cisco WAP371 WAPs. No issues so far, but has only been running less than 1 day. Not on par with Cisco Meraki that I use at work, but this unit cost 1/10th the amount. There are some great videos on YouTube on the initial setup if you are not familiar with the more advance device such as this firewall. I also have seen some comments saying several advanced features can only be set up by the CLI. From the wizard I can do vlans, client and site to site vlans, you can add and remove firewall rules and change several other advance features. Not sure what you would want to use the CLI for. I assume it would be similar to Cisco's CLI.
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,4/11/2017 5:31:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZYWALL110 High Performance 1GbE SPI/300Mbps VPN Firewall with 100 IPSec and 25 SSL VPN, 7 GbE Ports and High Availability

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Router for SOHO to med businesses
Pros: This is our second Zyxel USG. The first one (a USG 100) was lost in a fire so this was our replacement. Here are a few items that sold me.
-updated multi-core processors (good vpn with little to no lag)
-100 IPSEC VPN and 25 SSL VPN default
-Built in WIFI AP management for 2 AP default (34 max)
-IDP, AV, Anti-Span, and content filtering (for added cost of course)

The newly added VPN wizard works great and cuts down setup time tremendously. Our last USG ran for eight years with nothing needed but the occasional firmware update (which are free) and I'm betting this one will be easily as good.
Cons: Boot times are still pretty long. Overall not much longer than other comparable devices but for much less $$$$$. Can be intolerant of power swings but any router of this type should be on a UPS anyhow.
Other Thoughts: Good router with great features for the buck. Other brands with these features cost much more and then you still have to pay extra for the VPN licenses etc.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/6/2017 6:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV110W-A-NA-K9 Wireless-N VPN Firewall

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not port forward
Pros: None.
Cons: Does not forward ports entered in single port or range.
Boot is slow.
GUI is slow.
Other Thoughts: I bought a firewall that will not forward ports. What is the point? Seriously, I configured this thing and swapped out my existing firewall then instantly no services were available outside the network.

Latest firmware is flashed. Device is absolutely useless.
Reviewed By:Abraham C.,3/27/2017 1:11:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear ProSafe FVS336G-300 Network Security/Firewall Appliance

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blazing Speed!
Pros: Super-Fast, up & down. Very stable with the latest firmware. This router blows away both the Cisco RV130 & The Linksys LRT214. All things considered, this router is a bargain!
Cons: As mentioned in other reviews, this router's GUI takes some getting used to. Once you 'get it', everything's pretty easy. The fastest way may be to google specific situations with the router's model number, I was able to get things going quickly like this. MAKE SURE YOU upgrade to the latest firmware before you even start the setup. My experience with this router was it was flaky B4 the firmware upgrade, but now performs like a thoroughbred...& hasn't required a reboot in almost a month now!!
Other Thoughts: We're VERY happy with this product, BRAVO NETGEAR!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2017 9:03:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear FVS318G ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit VPN Firewall, 9 Port - 10/100/1000Base-T Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very buggy, slow, and support is a joke
Pros: Price and has a decent "clean" look to it. Supports multiple wan IP and has 8 ports for expanded connectivity.
Cons: Very buggy. Slow, the WAN speed I can't get above about 40Mbps either. But the biggest problem is whenever a user anywhere in the LAN connects to an outside VPN (just a regular PPTP or L2TP) it brings down the entire LAN to a screaming crawl. I've been working with Netgear Support on this and it's been a total joke. They want me to do all the troubleshooting on their own router! They asked me to set up a test environment where they could use team viewer to connect to my machine and create an account on a VPN that they could use and export the PPTP packet capture and VPN router logs. And all of this because they said "the copy of the FVS318Gv2 we have in the lab is faulty". Wow. That's Netgear non-American support for you right there.

Part of the problem is getting to a most senior level person, and my experience is that is usually once it goes to an American. Support from Netgear is just terrible. They completely lock you down if your product is out of warranty, they won't even talk to you or answer even the simplest of questions. Any company that outsources really tells you everything you need to know about them so you can make up your own mind on whether to buy their products.

The interface is my other issue. It's probably the worst designed GUI I've ever seen on a router. It's very difficult to find where things are, I can't even find them in documentation. The labels that are put on the little "tabs" can be very confusing or ambiguous. The old designs were so much simpler.
Other Thoughts: They used to have routers come with the multiple wan IP addresses feature as a standard but in recent years they have figured out you can make that a "premium" feature and only offer it in the higher models
Reviewed By:TJ P.,3/16/2017 8:20:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear FVS318G ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit VPN Firewall, 9 Port - 10/100/1000Base-T Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WAN Speed is terrible
Pros: Security features and price
Cons: WAN speed when connected is 35MBps down. With direct cable modem connection speed is 190Mbps down.
Other Thoughts: Look for other firewall devices if WAN connection speeds are greater then 30Mbps
Reviewed By:Nathan M.,3/10/2017 4:23:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear UTM25EW-100NAS Prosecure with 1- UTM25 Appliance Year Subscription Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Makes a Great Paper Weight
Pros: Makes a Great Paper Weight
Cons: It's a $635 Paper Weight. One of my clients owned on of these and it never worked right, finally it failed so bad you can't even log into the device after attempting factory default reset. While trying to get this device working and reading numerous forum posts online, I read that numerous people were having numerous problems with ProSecure series products, and it finally got so bad, that Netgear actually pulled the plug on the ENTIRE ProSecure series, because it was such a huge failure. It's a shame that garbage like this ends up filling up landfills and polluting the planet because companies like Netgear refuse to make quality products. Looks like we will be using and recommending other manufacturers such as Edgewater, Linksys, or even TP LINK as our recommendation from here on out.
Other Thoughts: From Netgear: "NETGEAR Inc. exited the ProSECURE business on January 1, 2017 and will no longer provide ProSECURE software support or subscription updates for any ProSECURE devices after December 31, 2016. "
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/8/2017 3:07:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Asa5505-Sec-Bun-K9 Asa 5505 Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent price for a product that worked perfectly
Pros: ASA had up to date IOS and was just what I was looking for
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Steve P.,3/7/2017 7:42:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.