Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blue
Pros: Fit perfectly, plug and play, good quality, quiet
Cons: did not come with SATA cord
Other Thoughts: Great Value with fast shipping
Reviewed By:Mr. P.,3/25/2017 5:40:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Blu-ray DVD-ROM - Confusing advertising
Pros: Works fine for what is advertised
Cons: Why would they Advertised this with 12 Blu-ray BD-R disks, like it was a burner. I did not look close enough and bought it. I think someone really made a mistake when they added these two together
Reviewed By:Charles C.,3/23/2017 8:35:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A very good Blu-ray player for desktop computer
Pros: Plays Blu-ray disks nicely. Inexpensive.
Cons: 1. As others have noted, this purchase is not ideal for anyone not experienced in computer assembly, but if not you could probably pawn the job (which is relatively easy and fun) off on a techie friend.

2. The Blu-ray Disk Player comes in a Newegg shipping box, wrapped in bubble wrap, with some plastic airbags in the box. THAT'S IT. The following are NOT included: Mounting instructions, mounting hardware (4 screws, 2 rails), SATA power cable, SATA data cable, playback software ( I downloaded Leawo Blu-ray Player, free, and it worked just fine.), or driver disk (but none needed at least for Windows, which interfaces with this device this natively). You will probably need all this hardware/software for a successful installation.

3. For most computers, the great tricks in installing this device are (1) REMEMBER TO REMOVE THE FRONT BEZEL FROM THE COMPUTER FIRST and (2) PROPERLY ATTACH THE RAILS TO THE BLU-RAY PLAYER . Doh!

4. I am glad that I had the great good luck of finding this device on sale.
Reviewed By:John C.,3/22/2017 12:15:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great BD-ROM drive for the money
Pros: - plug and play with Windows 10 and macOS Sierra, using a 2014 MacBook Air and a custom rig with a Haswell i5.
- works great for its intended purpose (ripping BDs via MakeMKV for HandBrake conversion)
Cons: - this thing is LOUD. Even in an enclosure, it rattles like no one's business.
- haven't come close to the rated read speeds for BD. Dual layer disks you can expect a read rate around 8x.
Other Thoughts: Seems to be pretty durable so far: I have fed it probably 150 disks in the few months I've owned it. So far no issues.
Reviewed By:Ehren S.,3/18/2017 3:56:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great job
Pros: Does what it says - simple install, works.
Cons: None noted.
Other Thoughts: If I needed another Blu-ray, this would be it.
Reviewed By:KENNETH P.,3/14/2017 4:45:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice but...
Pros: Reliable quiet easy install
Cons: No software? Really when did it become exceptable to sell drives without software and why do new computers not come with software it makes no since to pay another $50 to be able to use this product
Other Thoughts: Include software for goodness sake
Reviewed By:James Stogner,3/11/2017 9:26:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not compatible with Windows 10
Pros: I got it on sale.
Cons: Won't read DVD. I looked to update the drivers and found that not only are there no drivers for Widows 10 but that they have not intention on making them. See link below.
Other Thoughts: http://www.lg.com/us/burners-drives/lg-UH12NS40-dvd-writer
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/11/2017 6:12:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Well, I got it....
Pros: It was delivered in a timely manner and wasn't damaged during shipping.
Cons: All I received was the unit. There was no documentation with it, now disc with the necessary drivers, and when I entered the model number at the LG website, it was not found. In the end, I cannibalized a dvd burner from a parts box. So now, I am stuck with this component and have not been able to find the appropriate drivers to get my system to recognize it as something other than a dvd drive.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend a Blue Ray M Disc drive for custom builds, just not one from LG if this is the way they arrive.
In this case, now, all I have to look forward to is a form response about "We're sorry you're having problems..."
Very disappointing.
Reviewed By:Michael D.,3/9/2017 5:56:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works, but very loud
Pros: Plays DVD and Blu-Ray disks without issue.
Cons: -Drive is very loud; sounds like it's continuously seeking during playback. I'd say their "Silent Play" technology needs work.
-LG doesn't acknowledge this drive on their support site; unable to find updated firmware
Other Thoughts: I haven't tried burning anything or 4k/BDXL discs. For those whining that it doesn't come with DVD/Blu-Ray software, you can download free software that works well...just download Leawo Blu-ray Player. It's the first free Blu-Ray software I've seen that actually works.
Reviewed By:Seth V.,3/9/2017 7:09:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > VinPower > M-Disc External Blu-ray Burner Drives USB 3.0 & M-Disc BD-R - 10 Disc Spindle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died in less than a month
Pros: It worked well while it was working.
Cons: In less than one month the drive no longer reads any disks regular, blue ray or cds. The drive still shows up when I power it up, and it acts like it is going to read, you hear it spin up but then it gets an error and doesn't actually read the disk. Considering I have had it less than 1 month this is unacceptable. Not really sure if the drive is the problem or the chipset that is converting it to USB 3.0. If you open the case it is just a regular sata drive connected to a converter. I'm going to try connecting the drive to a sata hookup to try and determine if it is the drive or the sata to usb connector. But this is really sad for $100+ product.
Reviewed By:Gary W.,3/4/2017 2:32:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.