Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 10X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal 12X Internal Blu-ray Drive 3D Playback & M-DISC Support Model UH12LS29 LightScribe Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not able to burn DVD at all.
Pros: None
Cons: Can't burn DVD at all. Always failed at 1% burn process. It was $64.99, so expensive for a Blu-ray drive, but can't do a basic DVD burning.
Reviewed By:Wei Z.,11/14/2017 9:34:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never had a chance to use it because SATA tabs keep breaking off on installation.
Pros: Can't say. Never got to use it.
Cons: SATA connector tab so fragile it's not funny.
Other Thoughts: Bought this refurbished unit months ago, and when I tried using a SATA cable purchased from Best Buy, the connector tab broke off on insertion. Got a replacement, and finally got around to installing it into a new media center PC I was building. SATA tab broke off again. Now it is well past the return date and is out of stock, and I just used another blu-ray drive from another PC I have. My advice is don't buy this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/9/2017 10:41:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Don't buy for media pc.
Pros: The drive is fast once it starts to read and works fine with any disc I put in it, even scratched up ones.
Cons: This drive is so loud, I went out of my way to build a completely silent pc and this just ruins it. You can hear the drive running and clicking through different areas of the disc 30 feet away and hear it through the surround sound.
Other Thoughts: Great for limited use **** just don't buy for a media pc **** it's way to loud. I wish I would have gotten a different drive. I would have returned it if my processor hadn't been on backorder and I passed the return date waiting to build my system.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/3/2017 8:03:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1STBLKBAS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good player... Annoying software
Pros: Good for all things usually done with an optical drive.
It works as desired
Cons: The bundled Asus software for creating (burning) disks places a window, or pane on the desktop to drag stuff to be written. It is put there at boot-up and cannot be closed. I use my computer for other things than burning disks and don't want to see that all the time. On my prior system, I only used the DVD burner about 4 times in as many years. No need to devote part of my desktop to something that seldom used. It is so annoying that I uninstalled it.
Other Thoughts: Not a big issue, but something that should be made explicit in the product description: Additional software is required to play commercial BluRay disks (e.g. movies on BluRay Disks). I use Cyberlink PowerDVD. Even better than explicit description would be to include the necessary software (perhaps instead of the annoying ASUS stuff). There may be licensing issues or ones regarding the establishing the proper BluRay country code, but that should not be an insurmountable problem.
Reviewed By:John H.,10/28/2017 4:39:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 51 bucks and works no problem.
Pros: Was very well packaged in tough air tube wrap.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Low price for a Blu-ray drive and from a good brand.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/16/2017 7:47:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 LG UH12NS40 not compatible with windows 10
Pros: none
Cons: Win10 does not recognize this drive as blueray. None of my DVD burning software can use it as such. LG says there is no firmware or driver upgrade for win10 and none is planned. BOO LG. Will not buy another drive from u
Reviewed By:Christopher L.,10/14/2017 9:36:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This Blu-Ray player does NOT include any software with the purchase. When I installed it into a new computer, which I installed Windows 7 64/bit OS into, it will NOT play Blu-Ray DVD's.
Pros: It plays Regular DVD's and Music CD's, BUT it will NOT play Blu-Ray DVD's as it is advertised.
Cons: The Newegg Customer Service person was very helpful in sharing that the LG website could help me and supplied the website and a 800 number for support.
When I made contact with the LG website and registered my product it took the information and acknowledged model and serial number, THEN informed me that my Blu-Ray product WAS NOT in the system for software support.
When I called LG 800 number, they referred me to another company which is NOT available to get hold of for support.
This product has NO support for the software that is Needed to run Blu-Rays!
Buyer beware, you will probably end up spending money for software that you SHOULD be able to get online SINCE this product is NOT advertised as needing software support after purchase that costs EXTRA MONEY! That is my Next step in contacting both LG and Newegg to inform them.
Other Thoughts: NO. I would not buy this product since it does NOT include a CD for download after installing into computer, (informed Newegg) nor has software support from LG for the drivers needed to run Blu-Ray DVD's!
Reviewed By:Christian B.,10/14/2017 1:02:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1STBLKBAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Reading, writing DVD's, plays blu-ray discs with no problems.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2017 11:26:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 12X Blu-Ray Disc Drive M-DISC Support Model UH12NS40 - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Misleading/Conflicting Description
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Does not record BD discs in any way, shape, or form, despite the description stating: "Read Blue-ray discs at 12x with the UH12NS40 that allows you to record up to 128GB of files, photos, or documents onto a quad-layer BD-R disc.". Sure, semantics, and the author of the description probably isn't a native English speaker. The moment you put the word "record" in a description, the expectation is that the drive will do that; record.
Other Thoughts: To those who are complaining about no screws, rails, software, etc. THIS IS AN OEM DRIVE. OEM means that you get a bare drive and nothing else.
Reviewed By:ROBERT S.,9/24/2017 7:17:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does What It's Supposed To
Pros: -Reads all discs properly
-Fast
-Quiet
-Great value refurbished
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This product makes humming sounds when spooled up, which can be annoying, but the noise only lasts for a short time. It's pretty typical of optical drives to be fair. It may be part the drive itself, and part it vibrating in my desktop case. While playing video after having loaded what it needs, it's pretty quiet. otherwise it is quiet. Another thing to know is that Windows doesn't natively support BluRay, so you'll need a separate program to watch BluRay content. I recommend VLC player, I find it to be the most trustworthy and easy to use, and it's free.
Reviewed By:Ryan H.,9/21/2017 9:35:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.