Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: - Reads Blu-ray, haven't tried writing.
Cons: - Makes a weird clicking/ticking noise for a few seconds when I turn my system on.
Other Thoughts: Bought this drive a few months ago for a spare system I was building from spare parts, and I hear a strange ticking noise every time I boot the system, but I thought it was just an old fan spinning up, and since it was in a difficult area to reach and since the system is running fine and I don't use it but maybe once a week I just ignored it, but I repositioned the system yesterday and decided to check where the noise was coming from only to discover that it is my less than 6 month old Blu-ray burner, the drive still seems to work, but it is an odd noise for a drive to make on boot, I might contact LG and talk to them about it, definitely disappointing, I just wish if they were going to cheap out on construction that they would lower the price.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2017 3:20:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid product
Pros: - It works as advertised, no surprises.
- whisper quiet
Cons: - none
Other Thoughts: - I would buy this again and I recommend it to others.
Reviewed By:Ryan M.,5/24/2017 6:15:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 8MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Refurbs - Always a risk
Pros: - 2nd drive works (with Windows 10)
Cons: - 1st drive wouldn't keep the drive tray closed, sent it back for a new refurb drive
- 2nd drive worked (reads DVD, Blu-Ray disks / haven't tried burning yet) and was recognized by Windows. Unfortunately, when the driver disk was put into the box, it was snapped in half so I don't have Power2Go, drivers (luckily Windows recognized the drive), or the firmware update tool (not available from Asus).
Other Thoughts: - it is good for the price.
- expect issues with the packaging (not Newegg's packaging - whomever did the drive box).
Reviewed By:Trevor B.,5/23/2017 11:51:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer 4K UHD Blu-Ray Burner 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X (Single) 8X (Dual) BD-ROM 4MB Cache Serial ATA Revision 3.0 BDR-211UBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive to play 4K bluray and I guess the only one available in US
Pros: - plays 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray if you have the right hardware.
- Burns Blu-ray drives
- Reasonable price
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Arun K.,5/21/2017 1:51:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer 4K UHD Blu-Ray Burner 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X (Single) 8X (Dual) BD-ROM 4MB Cache Serial ATA Revision 3.0 BDR-211UBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ultra UHD 4K Blu Rays works flawlessly!
Pros: A lot of people have wrote bad reviews saying this drive wont play 4K Ultra HD Blu Rays. They could not be further from the truth. It works flawlessly at playing 4K Ultra HD Blu Rays and its pretty spectacular.


The fact of the matter is they don't have all the requirements to be able to play Ultra HD Blu Rays.

The requirements are...

1. Windows 10 or above

2. Intel SGX Technology (CPU/Main Board)

3. Intel Management Engine Software

4. 6 GB System Memory (Ram)

5. HEVC-10bit/AVC Codec (GPU)

6. HDCP 2.2 (GPU/Display)

7. Advanced Protected Audio/Video Path (GPU)

8. UHD-BD Optical Disc Drive

9. Windows Media Player 9 or Above

Recommended Requirements (Optional)

10. HDR - High Dynamic Range (GPU/Display)

11. PowerDVD 17 Ultra (This is what I have) or Above
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Least expensive and only 4K Ultra HD Blu Ray drive on the market!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/19/2017 10:09:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bought it to burn M-DISC BD-R
Pros: It does burn M-DISC DVD-R like a champ.
Cons: No burning support for M-DISC BD-R.
Other Thoughts: Support for burning M-DISC BD-R would be the number one feature I want.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2017 7:57:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Zero Functionaility in my environment
Pros: It fit into my case, the tray opens and windows recognizes that the drive is there and even that there is a BD disk inserted
Cons: This drive will NOT read data from any of my Blu Ray disks even though it recognizes that the disk has been inserted. Any attempt at accessing data on the disks from any software that I have ends in failure. As others have said I also cannot update to the latest firmware, getting the checksum error. In reading documentation on LGs website I see no mention of support for Windows 10, only 8 and below so that may be the problem but considering I purchased this drive brand new in May of 2017 this not an acceptable excuse.
Reviewed By:Ryan T.,5/18/2017 9:19:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM
Pros: It records fast
Cons: adapter connector broke off
Reviewed By:Elena B.,5/15/2017 10:16:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 8MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Setup and Great Speed
Pros: great speeds
easy setup
Cons: bright blue activity light can be a bit distracting
Reviewed By:John H.,5/14/2017 5:29:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product !
Pros: Product as such according to the description, fast delivery, Blu ray writer running 100% I am very satisfied. Thanks Newegg
Cons: NA
Reviewed By:Paul L.,5/13/2017 7:45:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.