Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E250B/AM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unbelievable Speed & Responsiveness
Pros: Huge speed improvement over the 5400 RPM HDD it replaced
Programs load near instantaneously
Windows 8.1 boots from cold start in fewer than 10 seconds
Laptop performs better than when brand new (obviously)
Benchmarks are close to those seen in professional reviews
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/21/2017 3:17:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Hewlett-Packard > HP S700 Pro 2.5" 128GB SATA III 3D TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) 2AP97AA#ABL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after a week, HP website doesn't know this drive exists
Pros: -Worked for a week
Cons: -Died after a week of rather light use.
-HP's support website doesn't seem to know that this drive exists, P/N and S/N kick back "Product not found" errors.
-Doesn't seem to be a way to RMA this since HP doesn't know they made it.
Reviewed By:Timothy W.,7/21/2017 1:06:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Western Digital > WD Blue 500GB Internal SSD Solid State Drive - SATA 6Gb/s 2.5 Inch - WDS500G1B0A

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 SSD itself is great; migration software has issues.
Pros: Great performance. While I have not run formal benchmarks, my PC is obviously MUCH faster and smoother in boot up, in loading programs, in loading files, etc. The SSD dashboard looks good, provides good information it seems (but I haven't actually owned the SSD long enough to say for sure how well it works if/when there are issues.)
Cons: I could not get the crippled version of Acronis that WD provides to create a bootable clone from the existing boot drive. It "seemed" to work, but the PC would not boot; it would get as far as the sign-in screen and just start flashing off and on, eventually trying to reboot with the same result. Pretty bad for such a big name as WD.

If finally downloaded the free version of Macrium Reflect and it worked perfectly. I took off 1 egg for this. I probably should have taken off more...
Other Thoughts: It is really unacceptable for Western Digital to offer SSD drives (actually, SanDisk) with such poorly performing and crippled migration software. Besides not working at all (!!!), it does not support cloning anything but the entire source drive. Given the cost difference between SSDs and hard drives, it is not at all unusual for the migration to be from a larger drive to a smaller drive, migrating only 1 or 2 partitions, and not the entire drive. Be forewarned: If you buy a WD SSD you will need a 3rd party migration tool., Fortunately Macrium Reflect is free and flexible and works flawlessly.

Test results. This drive is the Win10 boot drive & the Windows page file is also on this drive:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 5.2.1 x64 (C) 2007-2017 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s]
* KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes

Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 558.243 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 535.701 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 227.027 MB/s [ 55426.5 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 197.049 MB/s [ 48107.7 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T= 1) : 510.895 MB/s
Sequential Write (T= 1) : 499.752 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 25.152 MB/s [ 6140.6 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 40.713 MB/s [ 9939.7 IOPS]

Test : 1024 MiB [C: 46.5% (216.1/465.2 GiB)] (x5) [Interval=5 sec]
Date : 2017/07/19 22:58:41
OS : Windows 10 Professional [10.0 Build 14393] (x64)
Reviewed By:Thomas B.,7/21/2017 12:42:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > ADATA > ADATA Ultimate SU800 128GB 3D NAND 2.5 Inch SATA-III Internal Solid State Drive (ASU800SS-128GT-C)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Brand So Far
Pros: It's fast. Breathes new life into older PC's. Easy to install. I didn't even use screws. One little strip of Velcro or mounting tape and you're good. Or you can just set it inside your case somewhere.
Cons: BYOC. It's bring your own SATA cable. And screws if you think they are necessary.
Other Thoughts: Some are saying this drive died quickly and this brand is trash. I have the previous model from Adata running in my little fanless media PC for about two years now. If not longer. Only SS memory companies I've gotten failures from are Patriot and Silicone Power.

I have quite a few SSDs. In addition to this brand here, I'd comfortably recommend SanDisk and Crucial. Both of them lasting over 2 years so far.

So that's my experience with SSDs take it for whatever it's with.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/21/2017 10:36:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel SSD 600p Series (512GB, M.2 2280 80mm NVMe PCIe 3.0 x4, 3D1, TLC) Reseller Single Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Warp 20 Fast!!!
Pros: Not quite as fast as whats rated in the specs.
Heres what I got from CrystalDiskMark
1320 instead of 1775
552 instead of 560
So it was very close, I have tons of stuff running in the background that will drag the numbers down a bit, so in reality, these drives are just stupid fast... Almost as if they can see the future...
Cons: Drives can't predict winning lottery numbers...
Other Thoughts: Here is a desktop screen capture of the speed numbers from all the drives in my system. The RAID 5 array almost matches the Intel 600p in one test. But that's about it. This 600p really stands out in the real world.
https://flic.kr/p/WGa5qf
Reviewed By:BARRETT A.,7/21/2017 9:31:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel SSD 600p Series (512GB, M.2 2280 80mm NVMe PCIe 3.0 x4, 3D1, TLC) Reseller Single Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Faster than 2.5" ssd by any manufacturer
Pros: Intel quality. Keeps wires out of case and was the same price as the mx300 in both 2.5" and mx300 sata m.2 flavor.
Cons: Wish it were bigger so I could point it out to the novice without taking the side panel off and pointing the itty bitty thing out to newbs. (Only kidding)
Other Thoughts: First thing you need to understand about NVMe m.2 is your CPU and board may not handle 65,000 queues and commands at a time. (?) I think that's how they state it. To say this is the slowest you're right..... on paper. The read speeds will take advantage of all your board and CPU can dish out(ram important too). Writes? I have two mx300's in raid 0 and it's the same as this. Reads? Blazing! Faster then raid drives. I bought this because I wanted one and when it was on sale for same price as mx300? No brainier. Mx300 Raid0? Love the speed plus the tb of space, but this is faster on read side. Using this on,

Asus ROG Strix B250
16g gskill ddr4 2400 (board limited)
1050ti
I3 7100
This m.2 and some 500g mech HD

Storm scout case with 7 fans, 1 blowing right at this m.2 / Not worth $200 when better choices are a few bucks more.
Reviewed By:Cheapbas T.,7/21/2017 7:09:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Western Digital > WD Black 512GB Performance SSD - M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive - WDS512G1X0C

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So Fast!
Pros: This is my first PC build with anything better than an HDD so you can imagine how impressed I am with this product.
It is super fast. I use to have to wait for around 2 to 5 minutes for all my start up tasks to get up and running. This does it in 24 seconds. Even on slowdowns from over heating its as fast or faster than an SSD from what I've seen.
Cons: If it gets too hot it will down throttle for a few minutes. It has a little heat shield thing but it is counting on the GPU fans to cool it for the most part.
Other Thoughts: For the speed and storage it is an excellent price.
Reviewed By:Gregory K.,7/21/2017 6:47:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 250GB NVMe PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V6E250BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very fast, reasonable price, best bang for your buck.
Pros: The fastest speeds you'll find without getting into crazy expensive territory.
Samsung quality.
Form factor makes installation a breeze, no worrying about cable management.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Using with an ASUS Prime-X370-PRO motherboard.

CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64 results:

Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 3279.803 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 461.955 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 382.581 MB/s [ 93403.6 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 104.328 MB/s [ 25470.7 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T= 1) : 1603.130 MB/s
Sequential Write (T= 1) : 326.316 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 57.280 MB/s [ 13984.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 2.367 MB/s [ 577.9 IOPS]
Reviewed By:Ryan H.,7/20/2017 4:24:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Hewlett-Packard > HP S700 Pro 2.5" 128GB SATA III 3D TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) 2AP97AA#ABL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No nonsense SSD. Great for boot drive and MMO's.
Pros: I've been using an old 7200 rpm HDD as a boot drive for years now. Yes, yes..I know, I needed to get with the times. However I'm cheap and I just got used to that terrible platter noise as my PC coughed and gasped as my OS creeped to the desktop.

This SSD is light years faster than my old HDD, but as well, just about SSD would be. It's worth noting that I got this drive as part as a special when I bought a new video card recently, and with that consideration the SSD is an incredible value with that.

Pros
Great speed
No bloatware loaded on it, just a blank SSD ready to be used
Stable
Relatively cheap

I've had this drive for about a month now with no issues thus far
Cons: None at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who's looking for a decent boot drive or something to run an open world game then this is probably a great drive for you. It's cheap, fast, and reliable.
Reviewed By:Adam S.,7/20/2017 12:40:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Western Digital > WD Black 256GB Performance SSD - M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive - WDS256G1X0C

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 About one third of expected write speeds
Pros: Cheaper than Samsung.
No problems installing and it does work.
Cons: Write speeds as per CrystalDiskMark are about one third of those seen on other NVMe drives, e.g. Samsung (600 MB/s instead of 1800-2000 MB/s).
Read speed is around 1200 MB/s, vs Samsung's 2000 MB/s or more.
Other Thoughts: Should have spend $20 more for Samsung. Did not realize there would be such a huge difference. These write speeds are hardly any better than my old SSD drive. Badly regret purchase.
Reviewed By:Karl L.,7/20/2017 9:11:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.