Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Great cameras
Cons: Cameras - the night vision is okay at best even after changing the settings as the manufacture states. Would not recommend if you need to rely on night vision footage for any legal matter.
NVR - This is the reason for 2 eggs (and the inconvenience it caused). So I had to set up 3 of the cameras far enough away that I had to use a POE injector for 1 and a POE switch for 2. I had to run the cat5 cable to the POE switch/injector using almost the full 100ft it comes with along with another 250ft of cat6 from the POE switch to a regular switch hosting the NVR. The issue came down to 2 factors; the first being that half the options on the NVR were grayed out so I wasn't able to troubleshoot as all of the tutorials said. No clue how I received a model with half the options missing but when I contacted tech support about my issue they told me the same thing as the online content and to refer to said options, thanks for nothing. Secondly, the NVR required each camera to be plugged into separate ethernet ports - this apparently being due to a data cap on the NVR ports according to online literature, even though liberties appear to be taken with the term "network camera" if this is the case. Problem 2 is probably a symptom of number 1 but we'll never know since I just opted to go with Blue Iris after such a spastic exchange with tech support. LaView may have saved themselves the hassle of an RMA but lost a future customer.
Other Thoughts: I'd loosely recommend the cameras to people, I've had mine running 24/7 with or without recording for 5 months with a UPS and it's been pretty stable. My review wasn't based on the cameras but the system as a whole (tech support included). I know these are DIY projects but there should be some quality control when it comes to the software that goes out.
Reviewed By:Joseph C.,2/23/2017 11:55:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice NVR - absent customer support
Pros: + PoE cameras with great quality
Cons: - Customer support is missing in action (still no answer - terrible/irresponsible customer support)
- One of the network ports seemed to crash within a couple weeks of use. Network lights were showing activity but changing camera and cable had no effect until the system was rebooted. (minus 1 egg for the lack of system stability; hopefully it is not a recurrent event)
Other Thoughts: I sent an email to 'info@laviewusa.com' with no response. I just tried to use their web form to send a technical support request and after I completed the form, it returned with 'You don't have permission to access /contact on this server.'

You can use the following URL to get a feed from the camera directly through the NVR (approximately 5 second delay)
rtsp://username:password@IPaddressofNVR:8554/PSIA/streaming/channels/101

I would like to eventually get the feed directly from the camera (different subnet) and hopefully there would be no delay.
As well I am trying to obtain still images from the cameras (using a URL) but again technical support is not present nor accounted for.

No power button on the main NVR (only a on/off switch; probably not a safe way to shut down the unit when in operation) - only the remote has a power button (safe shut down).
There were problems with using a couple different USB keyboards with random erroneous key presses (fields would populate with text entry and no keys were pressed).

Good potential (quite a lot of configuration options) but without support or a decent manual this makes things more difficult.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Mark,

We are very sorry to hear that you have had problems reaching our Tech Support Team. They make it a priority to check and respond to every technical support inquiry that gets directed to their inbox daily, so they were surprised to hear of your situation when we reported it to them. A thorough search through the Tech Support inbox has not recovered any messages from you, so all we can do is extend our sincerest apologies for any frustration the situation may have caused you. The Tech Support Team believes that your Contact Form may not have gone through successfully due to a site error (which happens occasionally), and that your direct email to info@laviewusa.com may have been filtered to their spam/junk folders.

To ensure that you are able to get assistance on any technical issues you may have, our Tech Support Team suggests that you try sending an email to sales@laviewusa.com instead. The Sales Team will forward the email to Tech Support immediately upon receiving the message. Please be assured thatour technicians are awaiting your email and would be more than happy to help you out once they receive it.

Thank you for being a customer of LaView!

Sincerely,
The LaView Team

Reviewed By:MARK P.,2/19/2017 9:05:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView 4MP 2688 x 1520P Full PoE IP Camera Security System, 8 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 4K Output, 6 x 4MP Full HD (2688 x 1520) In/Outdoor IP Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works on Wifi and the Internet flawlessly!
Pros: Please see below to draw your own conclusions.
Cons: Please see below to draw your own conclusions.
Other Thoughts: This security system works very nicely, but be aware of the technical information. The NVR can handle 4K, which is 8 – 12 MP. These cameras are only 4MP which is equivalent to 2.7K HD (1440p). Plus, the frame rate is only 20fps at the camera’s highest resolution (1440p). The Anonymous reviewer was spot on about everything; however, I do not believe the latency (slight choppiness) is due to the length of the Cat5e cables. The resolution is awesome on my 4K HDMI and 1080p VGA!

The software works great (very similar to QSEE) and is user friendly to the tech savvy. The Platform Access and DDNS work very well, but you have to read up on Port Forwarding. You will need to create a server domain at laviewddns if you wish to view your cameras around the world. I had to do a lot of reading, but I eventually got everything to work and I finally understand simple networking….
1. Create DDNS server domain and complete the setup in the NVR configuration.
2. Open Port Forwarding and set the IPv4 address correctly in your router for the four ports given.
3. Even works great on IPhone and their LaView Net app. Just make sure to set up 4 different Devices (one for each port) in the App. The instructions are there, but you may need some guidance and patience.
4. Definitely a learning curve if you do not understand networking, but it WORKS very nicely on internet browsers AND IPhones. Just make sure to input your WAN, not the LAN, if you want it to work on LTE/internet and not just your home WIFI. 

I had a few issues with the NVR losing the link with the cameras, but this allows me to say their Customer Service is alive and well,….through email. They are SUPER fast with replacement items as long as you follow directions. I loved this system SO much, I was willing to wait on a functioning NVR.

Overall, I am super happy with this purchase. Even in strong wind and rain, the water just beads off the lens leaving a super clear picture. The Browser and Apps allow you to choose between Fluent (saving Data) and Clear (lots of Data) when viewing the cameras. WOW on the clear resolutions! Love the digital zoom, but remember, it isn’t an optical zoom.

You do have to learn on how to patch Ethernet cables if you want them 100% waterproof (if they are protected by awnings, you are fine). I learned a lot with this purchase and hope to add more cameras soon! 
Reviewed By:Dustin N.,2/17/2017 4:53:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > SAMSUNG > Samsung SEW-3036W BabyVIEW Wireless Digital Video Baby Monitor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ordered 2 - One works fine.
Pros: Consistent range in my outdoor application was about 120 feet with walls, etc in the path. I couldn't tell if raising the monitor antenna really helped. But, as with Wi-Fi, ALMOST NOTHING at 2.4 GHz is predictable. At least, not in my experience. YMMV. Plus, there were at least 5 sources of 2.4 GHz signals in close proximity to the test area. Any of those might interfere with the camera-to-monitor signal.
Video is decent. In low light, IR LEDs are used to produce pretty good black and white video.
The green LEDs on the left side of the monitor serve as a crude VU meter to indicate the audio level coming from the camera microphone.
You can 'mute' the video and the audio will stay on to give you an audio-only monitor.
Cons: The one that worked did so immediately. The other one worked for a total of 20 seconds (a blink here and there) during a two hour trouble-shooting period.
Other Thoughts: Given that these are refurbs, it is obvious that they might have a "troubled" past. So, I ordered two thinking the odds of getting a 'good' one would double. Guess I was right.
The one that works still had the factory plastic protector on the monitor screen. The one that didn't had some minor scratching and appeared to have been used.
As, I am writing this, the signal from the 'working' camera dropped out (15 feet away through a wall) but power-cycling the monitor restored the video/audio and it has continued to work fine for an hour or more.
I do not plan to use these as baby monitors but will use them to monitor other events and for temporary security monitors. The audio from the camera to the monitor is decent. When the camera is outside, I can clearly hear birds calling, street noises, etc. You could even use them to 'keep up with' your TV programs from another room or for many other non-baby uses.
Outside, in the daylight, I find the video to be very good. Of course, the screen is just under 3.5" diagonally and it doesn't take high quality video to look good on this small screen. In "zoom" mode, you can 'pan and tilt' the zoomed portion of the image. However, be aware that this is all done at the monitor - The camera doesn't zoom, pan or tilt as the lens and mount do not have those abilities.
I just checked the performance in a darkened room and and the IR LEDs really seem to work well. The images are black and white but the low-light performance is decent. The specs show the wavelength to be 940nm which is well beyond the range of human sight so you don't have to worry about them disturbing anyone in the dark. However, there is a red power indicator on the camera. That can be masked with a small piece of tape, if desired.
There is no way I would have paid the MSRP of 170 for these. However, on sale, at right around 20% of that amount, I'd say they are a good deal. But, as I pointed out, they are refurbs so the one(s) you receive may be perfect or they may be in for a round trip!
Also, Newegg treated me G-R-E-A-T on the exchange. Thanks so much to them for that.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/15/2017 3:40:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See 4MP PoE IP Camera Security System, 4 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 2K Output, 4 x 4MP Full HD (2560 x 1440) H.265 In / Outdoor PoE IP Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice system, but needed tech support during setup process...
Pros: Good picture quality.
Cons: Complicated to get it so I could view the cameras on my computer and phone. Took a session with tech support to get that working.
Other Thoughts: Someone with some tech savvy should set up this system for you if you are not technically inclined. Once I had a chance to play with the software for a while, I did figure out how to use it for my needs. Should be a nice resource.

After having the system set up for a few weeks, one camera lost it's signal for about 2 hours and then came back. About 2 weeks later, it did it again. I got with tech support and they said to simply unplug the camera and replug it in after 15 seconds. This did not fix the issue as it happened a third time. I took the camera down and plugged it in with a different cable and so far it is working again. I think I may have damaged the cable during installation or it was a defective cable from the start.
Reviewed By:Jerry B.,2/12/2017 5:30:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 the camaras are good BUT!
Pros: the camaras are good
Cons: the dvr is a piece of garbage it will not work with any mobile device or laptop its old format
Other Thoughts: spend more money and buy something better
Reviewed By:george l.,2/11/2017 9:55:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See 4MP PoE IP Camera Security System, 4 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 2K Output, 2 x 4MP Full HD (2560 x 1440) H.265 In / Outdoor PoE IP Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unit, Cameras and documentation met all needs and expectations!
Pros: I did a lot of homework to finally selected this unit. From my research I felt that PoE and high resolution was preferred. Also after reading many of the reviews on other products I went a step further and read their documentation. The unit came in 2 days without expediting. Very well packaged. I like that I was able to select the Hdd I wanted. Hdd (2TB) Installation was minutes. Once I had the wiring / cabling set up, the installation was plug and play. It took me about an hour from plugging things together to viewing live, making adjustments and activating my iPhone to view. Settings are all I expected and more. I set up with motion and specified where the cam would ignore so it only records when I want, not all the time. From remote I can view Live (wow) and also see when the NVR recording starts/stops from motion. I am very happy with my purchase and the product overall. I made a good choice (for me).
Cons: -- Not really a Con but I can see that a non PC or DIY person could have some difficulty with installing cameras or running ethernet cables or navigating the settings. I cut the cables provided to length and then crimped new Rj45 connectors. Installing the Hdd involved taking the unit apart (6 screws) and mounting the Hdd (4 screws) and plugging the 2 cables. Once powered on Formatting the Hdd was simple and there was instructions in the Q-see Product Knowledgebase. All of the Documentation on the Q-See site is excellent (IMO). So if you are computer literate and 'handy' this is very easy.
Other Thoughts: -- I think reading the documentation in the Q-see Product Knowledgebase will give you confidence that this is the product that you want and will meet your needs. The product does what it says it will do - very well done.
I hope this is helpful..
Reviewed By:Alex M.,2/8/2017 11:36:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Grainy, distorted images - UPDATED REVIEW!
Pros: It was cheap and the specs were good.
Cons: UPDATE: The video port died on it. This means I could only access it through a PC. So I decided to trash the box and hook the "POE" cameras directly to a POE switch and use another brand security system that would pick up network cameras. That's when I discovered the "POE" cameras are proprietary wired and can not be powered by a switch. So I decided to go back to the box, and access the cameras via the network that way. Well the new security system can't pick up the cameras. It seems Zmodo did everything they could to make sure you are stuck with their product. The system can only be recognized by a windows-based computer running active-x. I put the hard drive in my workstation and set it to record to that, but now my system crawls because of it.
This Zmodo unit is a horrible product, and I suspect all their units behave the same way.
Avoid them at all cost! Now I either buy a complete new unit with real network cameras, or get a bare-bones Zmodo unit and keep my horrible Zmodo cameras.

Below is my original review:

Video from some cameras were horrible. For 720p, I expect far better. Besides being grainy, there was terrible distortion from some cameras. Now the system has stopped outputting video. I can access it from my computer, but can only see live video. I can't go back in history. I pulled the HD hoping I could access video if I hooked it directly to my computer, but the HD file system isn't accessible that way. So now its a paperweight. I heard this is a common problem with Zmodo, so I'm going elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: I would NOT recommend this product, or the manufacturer, to anyone.
Reviewed By:peter s.,2/8/2017 7:02:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView 4MP 2688 x 1520P Full PoE IP Camera Security System, 8 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 4K Output, 4 x 4MP Full HD (2688 x 1520) In/Outdoor IP Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to setup but the documentation is a bit confusing and not very detailed.
Pros: - package came with everything but a remote which i am trying to fix with customer service, so everything you need is included in the kit.
- Unit was easy to setup and use
- for the price the 4MP cameras are nice
Cons: - No HardDrive to get you started, this plus the poor documentation made me give this unit 4 stars vs 5 stars
- Documentation is not enough to explain all the functions especially the advanced functions
- Field of vision for the 4MP cameras seem a little narrow compared to some others I've tried
- software for remote viewing is getting better but still needs a lot of work. There is a new release that fixes a lot of the problems with the old software.
Other Thoughts: - I would recommend this product based on what i have experienced with this and other products
-NVR/DVR is a bit slow to boot and seems a bit lightweight compared to others i have tried but it works well so isn't that big of a negative.
- Would be nice to have an option for WiFi so the unit could be placed anywhere you need it and connect to your network easily however this could limit the ability to watch real time video.
Reviewed By:Razi S.,2/5/2017 9:31:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UPDATED - Beware!!
Pros: The cameras provide very good images in daylight. The IR nightlite casts a halo on the night-time black & white images and bugs seem to like that IR light.

The "width of view" and "depth of view" of these cameras is really very good. I would say you can easy get a good image at 50 feet in daylight. The "width of view" comment means they see a "wide picture", perhaps 120 degree width or more. Motion in any picture will depend on the "frames per second" and "video rate" settings for the camera. Unfortunately the "width of view" cannot be "narrowed" as far as I can tell.

Update: You can use the NVR GUI to update the camera firmware. Make sure the firmware is placed on a FAT-formatted USB stick so the NVR can find it.
Cons: The NVR device is a "horror" to get setup. Yes, all of the cables are easy to plug in. Yes, the units are easy to open so you can add a hard drive or 2; I suggest using HDD that are "surveillance rated" since the unit will be on 24x7. I bought 2 systems for 2 different installations. Both NVR units fail to accept their "default" passwords, and there are multiple "default" passwords for these NVR units per the Laview website, so I am unable to setup either NVR unit.

Right now I am suffering through the Laview Tech Support process, all via email unless you want to to "sit on hold" waiting to speak to someone. The process provided by Tech Support to obtain a picture of a "serial number" to send to them so they can email back a "secret code" to "default" the unit also does not work on both NVR units that I have. I don't know what Tech Support will suggest next, probably RMA, and that would show their product engineering is severely lacking because of the lack of "reliable field reset". I wonder how the professional installers of these systems handle problems like this? Carry multiple units (which costs money) and play "NVR roulette" in their shops before going to customer sites?

Even their camera have the ability to "default" the stored camera setups and that function actually works on the cameras! The cameras have a recessed pushbutton to "default" the camera setup. That pushbutton is difficult to access once the camera is mounted, so anyone tampering with the camera is likely to be captured by the camera before they succeed.

Update: The "quick install guide" for the NVR gives you BAD INFO. The "3.3.1 20160328" firmware for the NVR defaults to asking the customer to setup a password before any NVR setup can take place. That little change in the default behavior is definitely not covered in the included "quick install guide" or even the "user manual". I learned what was expected by reading the documentation for another brand, H**v**ion, that is the apparent basis for this unit. Once you have a password setup only then can you proceed to setting up the NVR unit. If you prefer to have the unit boot up without asking for a password, you can set that up in the menu's "Configuration -> General" section; just unclick the "Enable password" box. I tested this and it does work on the firmware version I mention here (3.3.1 20160328).
Other Thoughts: I have no issues with the cameras in this system. For the price I paid for these systems, the cameras were much cheaper than buying them separately, making the NVR like a "free item" in the deal. Given the hassles I am having with the NVR, now I know why the NVR is like a "free item" in the deal......

Update: This NVR has loads of options. Do not expect to get it setup the way you want in 1 afternoon. I would say you should expect to dedicate a few afternoons scattered across a week or more to get camera captures & trigger zones "tuned" to your needs. Given all of the flexibility found in the NVR menus, and while this unit is basically "plug & play", if you want to get the most out of this unit and it's "professional level" features, expect to spend some time.

Finally, do not expect Laview Tech Support to respond very quickly via email. So don't expect to have a very interactive exchange with them. Depending on what time of day you email them and how busy they are, you might get 1 reply by the end of the day. I found that Laview Tech Support could not recognize the issue I described in my support request; they needed a picture to understand what I was seeing. That tells me that they may not know their own products very well. Since the supplied documentation seems "out of sync" with the NVR firmware version they are shipping out, then I am not surprised they don't know how to support the most current firmware version for their NVR units. I checked and "3.3.1 20160328" is the most current version offered on Laview's web site, and yes that is firmware from March of 2016 that isn't covered in their supplied or even online documentation or FAQ pages. Yes, that is SAD.

So why 5 stars and not something less? Well, once you figure out how to access the NVR unit, then take the time to set it up and adjust it to your needs, the actual end result is really very nice. And the Laview IP cameras are pretty much the same way, especially if they are using older firmware; the 2MP "bullet" IP cameras sold by Laview with this system do have an upgrade available. That upgrade is easy if you use their NVR and a hassle if you don't use their NVR.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2017 3:07:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.