Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Console Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Console cable
Pros: The cable is fine worked great
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/23/2017 2:44:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Motorola > MK500/MK3000/MK4000 CABLE MINI USB TO SERIAL DB9 FEMALE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a mini connector
Pros: None
Cons: Although the mini USB end of the cable looks correct, in practice it will not fit into any of the standard mini b USB connectors that I have. This makes this cable totally useless
Other Thoughts: Since it won't fit into any of the USB mini b connectors that I have and since I am not aware of any other connector shaped similar to this one, I can not recommend this cable to anyone.
Reviewed By:Richard L.,5/18/2017 1:17:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model SCNM9FF 10 ft. Cross Wired Serial/Null Modem Cable DB9 F/F Female to Female

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Who uses these anymore
Pros: - Price
- Facilitate console redirection on server hardware
Cons: NULL
Other Thoughts: I don't know if this cable really is a null modem; when i set up the console redirection I had to set the bios to direct connection, and not modem - confused - but I fully accept that I may be an idiot. Added this bit to maybe help out someone else. LINUX RULES!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/18/2017 9:26:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Coboc > Coboc Model EA-USB-RS232-BL 4.9 ft. USB to RS232 (DB9) Male serial Adapter Converter Cable Black Male to Male

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, converter chip verified genuine
Pros: Works great under Windows 7 64-bit using latest drivers (2017) direct from Prolific Technology (chip maker), which offer support even up to Windows 10.
Cons: None I have found.
Other Thoughts: Drivers included with package are quite dated (2010), newer drivers are available from the chip maker fully supporting Windows 8/8.1 and 10 (as well as OSX/Apple, Windows CE, Android, and others) not sure why the vendor couldn't have shipped newer driver disc with the product.
Reviewed By:Tim S.,5/2/2017 1:15:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite Keyspan High-Speed USB-A to Serial Adapter, PC & Mac (USA-19HS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfect win8.1/10
Pros: Recognized without installing drivers.
Bailed me out when I went to use my Cisco console cable.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Yes I would recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Charles W.,4/10/2017 2:24:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Sabrent > SABRENT Model SBT-USC1K 1 ft. USB to Serial (9-pin) DB-9 RS-232 Adapter Cable with Thumbscrew Connectors

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works on Win 10 - sort of
Pros: got it to work on Win 10 32 bit
Cons: Originally purchased an adapter that uses the New win 10 drivers and is happy. Then I needed an additional 2 more serial ports, so I bought these. Sabrent requires the OLD driver - when using these two units with my original one at the same time, I had to set the one that was happy with the Win 10 driver to the older driver, and then had to set the old driver for these two units. Always have to plug the adapters in the same port or you have to go through this mess all over again - what a pain in the ---. Ok for a permanent setup, but you you are swapping things around all the time and not paying attention it is not fun
Other Thoughts: be nice if they used a chip that works under win 10 current drivers. Understand it is a prolific chip problem, does not make me less upset.
Reviewed By:Daniel M.,3/3/2017 7:46:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSB232V2 USB to Serial Adapter - Prolific PL-2303 - 1 port - DB9 (9-pin) - USB to RS232 Adapter Cable - USB Serial

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well in Win7 and Win10
Pros: Once they are set up, they work without problems.
Works with Windows 7 (32 or 64 bit), and Windows 10.
Cons: In almost every case we have to manually install the drivers which is a bit of a slow process if you have to search for it every time. We ended up saving the files to our network to keep using. We have purchased at least 20 of these in the last year.
Reviewed By:Kevin D.,1/20/2017 10:58:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model MXT100FF 6 ft. Straight Through Serial Cable - DB9 F/F Female to Female

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It was what I ordered and works well.
Pros: easy order and cost was minimal and delivered when promised
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: yes great cable
Reviewed By:Robert W.,1/13/2017 7:11:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech.com 2m Black Straight Through DB9 RS232 Serial Cable - M/F

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's fine
Pros: Just what I needed, as described
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Kent P.,11/21/2016 11:53:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Model GUC232A 14" USB to Serial RS-232 Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Windows 10 and Windows 8.1
Pros: Actually works with Windows 10 and 8.1. Many other adapters either would not work flat-out with the newer Windows versions, or would cause a bluescreen. This model - when installed with the manufacturers drivers - offers stable COM port access via USB. I use this extensively to program / manipulate routers, firewalls and switches.
Cons: As mentioned above - you need to make sure to use the manufacturers drivers. I've had Windows 10, post-anniversary update still bluescreen using this. It was my bad, just plugged it in and used it without checking - it decided to use the generic MS driver.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/12/2016 8:03:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.