Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-Link RE305 AC1200 Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a good choice!
Pros: Good idea if it worked.
Cons: Router upstairs, extender down. Tried different locations. All get 4 blue lights but everywhere I place it, still drops the signal. Wife getting mad. not at extender but at me. Have Spectrum internet with their router.
Other Thoughts: Does not work at my house.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We appreciate your feedback and review of our RE305.

Please allow us to assist you with your concerns and help improve your wireless experience. When using a router with a wireless extender you may come across times where your device will stick to a band instead of switching automatically, commonly called wireless roaming. Please take a moment to look over our below FAQ to ensure that your mobile device is properly set to ensure optimal wireless connection:

http://www.tp-link.com/us/faq-592.html

If you'd like assistance with any of these steps, please send an e-mail with your contact information and a copy of this review to USSupportTeam@TP-Link.com and a Support Agent will follow up with you directly.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Customer Support
(866) 225-8139
USSupportTeam@TP-Link.com

Reviewed By:p m.,6/25/2017 6:27:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ZyXEL > ZyXEL Armor X1 Wireless AC2100 Dual-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Range Extender / Access Point - WAP6806

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Would probably good if it stopped rebooting.
Pros: None that I can tell. Arrived quickly?
Cons: Unit wasn't stable. Had a difficult time logging into the unit. When I did get it to log in every time I changed the password the browser would loose connection and never get it back. Multiple resets didn't help. Had to set it back to factory. I did get the repeater function setup for my network one time without doing the password change but I didn't want to leave it the default password so I tried one more time. No luck. Figured that I should try to update the firmware to the latest version. Tried that. Now it is stuck in an endless reboot cycle. Hoping to hear back from Zyxel soon so that we can get this resolved.
Reviewed By:Todd C.,6/16/2017 5:00:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX7000 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Product once up and running is fine--support sucks bigtime
Pros: Delivers nice 5Ghz throughout the house
Cons: I got as little stuck on initial setup. Tried three times to get support--three ytimes got scam artists trying to sell security solutions and this was with thewir number!
Manufacturer Response:Hi David,

We'd like to investigate what happened. Can you please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com with the number you dialed, where you got the number, the serial number on the EX7000, and if you need help with anything else.

We are sorry for the initial trouble and want to investigate your dealings with support.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:David S.,6/10/2017 4:42:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR N300 WiFi Range Extender - Desktop Version (WN2000RPT-200NAS)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only made the problem worse
Pros: Easy to set up
Cons: Has a very hard time staying connected to the router and has caused the router to have the same problems.
Other Thoughts: I normally use the internet to play fast-paced online games, so you can imagine that a wifi range extender would help me tremendously, with me being on one side of the house on the first floor and the router being on the opposite side of the house in the basement. After ordering this and setting it up, it did not seem to be doing anything at first. I was getting roughly the same connections and download speeds I had before. But then, when I tried to play any online game at all, that's where it's real problems start to show. I would constantly go from having a mediocre connection (100-150 ping) to having over 1,000 ping every few seconds, making it impossible for me to do anything productive. Nothing I've tried to do has fixed this, and even when I switched back to the same router, it seemed to be having the same problems all of a sudden. Before it would just be consistently "meh" connection, but now it was doing the same thing the extender was doing, though a little better. If anyone has any way to fix this, I'd love to know, but until I can find out what's causing the problem, I can't recommend this product to anyone.
Reviewed By:Jordan M.,6/9/2017 2:34:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Annoying high-pitch sound
Pros: Easy to set up
Cons: makes an annoying high-pitch sound, almost intolerable. I think i'm going to return it.
Manufacturer Response:Hi there, thanks for the review and feedback!

We'll be more than happy to help address the concerns you have about your Wi-Fi Range Extender.

Your TL-WA850RE shouldn’t be emitting a high-pitched sound, however if it is, we recommend relocating it to another power source; perhaps another outlet or surge protector.

We’d be delighted to follow up with you and help make this right. Please send an e-mail with your contact information and a copy of this review to USSupportTeam@TP-Link.com and we'll gladly have a Support Agent follow up with you directly.

Thanks again for your feedback! We hope you'll keep TP-Link in mind for your future smart home and networking needs.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Customer Support
(866) 225-8139
USSupportTeam@TP-Link.com

Reviewed By:Joe S.,6/8/2017 8:23:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-N12 N300 Repeater / Access Point / Media Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 frequently drops
Pros: Easy to setup.
Cons: Drops signal and needs a restart about every day.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the price, especially when you can get a full fledged router/AP for the same price or less with rebates (Asus N12D1).
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your ASUS product review. We do value you sharing your feedback with us so that we can use it to build and improve our products and services. I do apologize to hear about the issue that you experienced with regards to this unit and it's unstable connection and I would be more than happy to assist.
For unstable connections here are a few steps that you can try to see if they improve the unit's performance.
1. Please make sure the firmware of the unit is the latest one. For this unit the latest firmware version is version: 1.0.1.1d. If the device is not running that version you can have it manually updated from our online help desk at the following link: https://www.asus.com/Networking/RPN12/HelpDesk_Download/

2. You can switch to control channels with less interference.

3. Please make sure there are no disturbances around the unit which could impact wireless signals
Ex: Microwave, cordless phone, power box…etc.
4. Please make sure there is no resistance around the unit which could impact wireless signals
Ex: Iron cabinet, iron door, Concrete walls, sealed cabinet. Put router on the ground or behind sofa…etc.
5. Please try to place your unit at another location.
Ex:You can put router on the wood cabinet, on the table, center of your house or closer to the weakest WiFi signal point
6. You can also reset the unit to it's default settings to see if that resolves the issue.
If you would like further assistance with this or any other issues please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and use the link to this review as a reference. Our customer loyalty department is dedicated to resolving all issues that our customers may experience. I do look forward to hearing from you and please have a lovely day.
Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Best regards,
Abigail.
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/4/2017 10:15:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netis Systems > Netis WF2216 N150 Wireless Portable Range Extender Wall Plug

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Meh
Pros: -works sometimes
Cons: -drops in and out
-has a strong strength, so devices between extender and router connect to extender, which would be a plus if it worked well.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy it. It isn't worth the money. It works great sometimes for webpages, but isn't good for anything that requires constant internet i.e. gaming and videos.
Reviewed By:Ethan D.,6/2/2017 8:45:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ZyXEL > ZyXEL 300 Mbps Wireless N Access Point with Ethernet Client, Universal Repeater and Range Extender (WAP3205v2)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works great - Instructions suck
Pros: works fine
Cons: requires that you reconfigure you entire existing LAN to use 192.168. IP range, which is not optimal for larger installs. The instructions are terrible... I had to talk to a Network friend and we managed to figure it out... but if you are not Network savvy , you'll never get it to work
Reviewed By:Richard S.,5/30/2017 10:10:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR N300 WiFi Range Extender - Desktop Version (WN2000RPT-200NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Router! Installed and Configured in Minutes!
Pros: I have been using Netgear routers for years. They are solid, reliable routers and have the best desktop software and the easiest to understand web based configuration utility of any router manufacturer. You really don't need to be a network engineer to configure the router.

So when it was time to upgrade my R6300 I did some research and picked the Nighthawk X4S. I wanted extra range and a faster connection speed. I got both. I also like the ability to turn off the status/activity lights.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this router to anyone looking to upgrade their WiFi range and capability.
Reviewed By:Richard C.,5/30/2017 2:32:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE6500 Wireless AC1200 Dual Band MAX Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible device
Pros: Easy to set up
Small
Cons: Drops internet connection constantly (and this isn't a placement issue as i've placed it everywhere to see)
Do NOT buy if you are a gamer, as it will drop you from online games randomly
Every morning I have to physically reset the router as although it shows a green light, I can't get internet, nor can I remote into the device in a browser until I do.
Other Thoughts: I have gone through the terrible Linksys customer services in order to try to rectify this problem. They cannot fix it. However, looking at the Linksys forums, it seems that there are lots of other people who are having this exact same issue with their RE6500 extenders too, none of which have been satisfactorily resolved.

If you want a reliable wifi range extender, you are far better off getting something else.
Manufacturer Response:Hi, Damien T.,

We appreciate your bringing this to our attention. What you have experienced might be due to a firmware issue or misconfiguration problem. Please email us your case number at LinksysCares@linksys.com so we can review what happened and tap one of our Escalation Engineers for further assistance.


Regards,

Jay
Linksys Support

Reviewed By:Damien T.,5/29/2017 7:39:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.