Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS816 Diskless System Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Loses one egg for poor rack bracket design. Other than that -- Great stuff!
Pros: --Incredibly quiet for a rack device. I expected it to be as loud as a small server, fan-wise, but no! You could easily put this in a living space, especially if you use SSD's.

--Very well-built, easy setup, very fast USB ports (important for restoring data from a portable backup drive). Example: It took nearly 27 hours to back up about 3.5TB from our old NAS, so I could move the disks to the new one. According to the progress graph, it looks like restoring everything will take about six hours and change.

--Had no trouble at all joining an Active Directory domain. It picked up on all our domain users, groups and, most importantly, file permissions without a single hitch.
Cons: Only one so far: Synology did a poor job of machining the rackmount brackets. Oh, they're quality material, certainly strong enough for the job, BUT Synology neglected to provide enough empty space between the rack screw slots and the U-shaped 'handle' for the screw heads. The standard screws I use for a 2-post telecomm/network-type rack don't fit on both sides. I ended up using two different screw types, with different head sizes.

Synology: If you read this, I would be only too happy to send you a couple of samples of the standard rack screws I'm speaking of. Perhaps you can re-do the brackets? My first thought would be to eliminate the U-shaped 'handle' part and just go with a basic L-bracket design.
Other Thoughts: I especially like the ability to aggregate (bond) the two network ports.
Reviewed By:Bruce L.,1/8/2017 12:40:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, Site Shipping and Price
Pros: I purchase online products regularly and must say the Newegg experience has been A+. Search located the product I was looking for quickly. Information was on the mark. The online purchasing flow was smooth. Shipped on time and accurate online tracking information was provided with only one caveat! The link provided in the original email did not provide update, so it's important to copy the tracking number and head over to the shippers website and manually input the tracking number.
Cons: Other than the tracking link in the original email all when smoothly. Also had to look elsewhere for the Server mounting rails.
Other Thoughts: The rackstation itself worked as expected. I have purchased a number of smaller Synology NAS units and was not disappointed with this one. Needed this unit to provide an iSCSI interface to the server which worked as advertised. This was my first attempt at iSCSI so a quick search on the Synology website led to straightforward instructions. Only 2 bays are being used at the moment with 2 more ready for action should they be needed. So between a great product and a great retailer my experience worthy of a 5 star rating.
Reviewed By:Denis P.,12/19/2016 5:10:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815RP+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on arrival, Alert LED blinking red - huge disappointment !!! good luck
Pros: after having two qnaps with zero issues for past 5 years. Had really high hopes for this synology rackmount unit which i expected to be better quality. bought 4x 8t enterprise capacity v5 seagates for it. ;(.

symptoms: when connected to 1 power supply it would make high pitch sound alarm, doesnt boot. alert led blinking red color
with both power supplies, alarm goes away, alert led still blinking red color. doesnt boot.
no matter what you press. tried reseating power supplies, "motherboard", no luck. shipping/returning it ...and going to bnh for local pick. 2nd rma with newegg...hmm
Cons: 100%
Other Thoughts: why me?
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

I am sorry to hear you've had such issues with this unit. Getting a unit DOA is always a super frustrating experience. If you get another unit and have any issues, please let us know.

Thanks,
Synology Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/10/2016 6:39:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-1271U-RP-i7-32G-US 12 -bay high performance unified storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to set up, QTS interface is very impressive
Pros: High capacity, great price, 4 x gigabit interfaces
Cons: Rails are ordered separately, not really a con if you know in advance.
Other Thoughts: Will certainly be purchasing more if needed.
Reviewed By:David T.,12/8/2016 10:11:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2416+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice and easy to configure
Pros: Big ol' storage. Synology is very good at making these easy to configure, even for someone with only mediocre network skills like myself. It can be dumb storage for afs/smb/nfs, or it can be your main user gateway. I found, for instance, it easier to configure as an LDAP server than it was to configure an Ubuntu box to do the same thing.
Cons: Quick note: there is no rack-mount hardware included; I have it sitting on a shelf. That's OK since there is no airflow inside.
Other Thoughts: Includes caddies and screws for all hard drive bays.
Reviewed By:Nathaniel T.,8/14/2016 9:52:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RX415 Diskless System 4-Bay Expansion Unit increases capacity of 1U RackStation servers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just works
Pros: - Nicely works with my RS814+
- RAID 6 spans across the main system into the expansion
- SSD cache can run on the expansion
Cons: - Pricey but you get what you pay for
Reviewed By:John S.,7/10/2016 8:37:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TS-2RZH24T12D 24TB TeraStation 7120r Enterprise-Class NAS & iSCSI Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product ... BUT
Pros: Easy to setup, straight forward, good tools (SW)
Cons: Have had the units for three weeks and two drives have presented issues where we have had to remove and insert the drive and the process of "Array Rebuiding" takes place. This process is lengthy although it does not affect the operation of the unit. Also only have close to 18TB on a 24TB NAS.
Manufacturer Response:Thanks for your feedback. The TS7000 comes fully populated with highly reliable NAS-grade HDDs. The situation you described sounds like the HD may have come loose in shipping. It is always a good idea to check all the HD are seated correctly on initial use or after any rough treatment. This may be why you needed to reinsert the drives, which would automatically trigger an array rebuild.

The TeraStation 7000 comes default in RAID 6, which means that 2 of the drives are used for redundancy. This will decrease the total useable storage space on your 24TB unit to 18TB as you have seen.

You can change the RAID setting to another mode (ex. RAID 0, 5) which can increase your useable space, but we strongly advise you keep the unit in RAID in order to protect your data.

Reviewed By:Douglas M.,5/22/2016 8:49:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Drobo > Drobo B810n Network Attached Storage 8 bay array with optional SSD acceleration - Gigabit Ethernet x 2 ports (DR-B810N-5A21)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good once you have it setup
Pros: Seems to worked as advertised. Bought it act as a media server with Plex and for Time Machine backups. Plex seems to stream well to my TV. Hot swapping seems to work well also. Haven't seen many posted write speeds... get between 30/60 MB/s without the Hot Cache drive.
Cons: Took multiple non-prompted manual reboots for it to start formatting the drives.
No documentation on what the flashing lights mean outside of the standard cases. (there's one that indicates updating but isn't documented)
Takes forever for it to connect to the dashboard even with my firewall off. Why can't they use a webbase interface like everyone else?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/12/2016 4:36:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TS1400R1204 TeraStation 1400R Rackmount 4-Bay 12TB (4 x 3TB) RAID Network Attached Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Shipped
Pros: None
Cons: No response from CS
Other Thoughts: I ordered a NAS from them on the 30th and here it is the 13th got shipping confirmation on the same day as order but no tracking information. All I get is label created.
Reviewed By:Earl W.,4/13/2016 7:21:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-853U-US Diskless System Powerful, reliable and scalable NAS for SMBs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product. I'm really happy with the way it turned out.
Pros: - It's pretty fast (Between 30MBps and 70MBps file transfer with 8x4TB Western Digital Red drives in RAID 6).
- Has a whole bunch of features... Hosts multimedia and Plex, holds my Sonos library, you can set up backups, personal cloud, sync your documents and records similar to dropbox, and way more that I haven't even bothered exploring yet.
- Compatible with iOS, Windows and Android. I don't have a Mac to test with.
- All the excitement and flexibility of the cloud without all the snooping.
Cons: - A little pricey for the average consumer.
- This product did not come with mounting rails needed to attach it to a 19" server rack. I had to buy them seperately [Qnap Rackmount Rail Kit (RAIL-B01) if you're wondering.]
- It's a little noisy when it first starts up (5 - 15 mins) but then gets pretty quiet. I have it in a closet so it doesn't bug me.
Other Thoughts: I used to be one of those people who bought hard drive after hard drive and built my own computer and made sure it had 8 or so SATA ports because my hard drives needed to fit. With the NAS, I can move everything over to it and build much cheaper, smaller and less power-hungry workstations.

Everything bad that I can think of about it is just nit picking. The thing rocks and other than my networking equipment, this has become the central hub for all the technology in my home.
Reviewed By:William B.,1/22/2016 1:18:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.