Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-1253U-US Diskless System Powerful, reliable and scalable NAS for SMBs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 QNAP TS-1253U
Pros: Holds 12 drives.
Can hold either 3.5 inch or 2.5 inch hard drives or ssd.
Affordable (for business anyways) solution to add/increase available storage quickly and easily.
This will make the 9th Qnap system we have in our facilites - so familiarity with O/S is considered a plus.
Rack-mountable with corresponding kit.
4 onboard 1GbaseT Nics. (always nice to have multiple)
HDMI out incase you need to hook up a monitor.
Cons: Raid controller not the best.
Network performance. (would have been nice if at least one 10GbaseT nic was onboard)
No cpu/controller redundancy.
Does not appear like a secondary/redundant power supply could fit in here even if you wanted to purchase one after the fact.
Other Thoughts: don't get me wrong, even though I listed cons, just to list something, they are not world shattering "not going to consider purchasing cons". Just when compared to high end ($$) SANs or other much more expensive systems those are usually the areas where you will see vast improvements over a system like this. But....for only $1600'ish, you get what you pay for and in this case it is by NO means a bad thing.
Reviewed By:Kamco I.,4/20/2017 7:52:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > Qnap ES1640dc-E5-96G-US 16 bay NAS 32GB RAID

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price at only $325.51 !!!
Pros: Unbelievably cheap price
Cons: Unbelievably cheap price
Other Thoughts: If that is really the price I may take 10 of them.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/14/2017 6:13:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Synology RS815+ NAS
Pros: Product was extremely easy to install and setup. The installation instructions and setup wizard provided with the product were well written and intuitive. The unit is well built. The operating system (DSM) is fast and intuitive.
Cons: The backup utility provided with the NAS for backing to to an external USB drive is not as flexible as was hoped. However, after experimentation and some trial and error, we found a way to achieve the results we needed.
Other Thoughts: Yes, would recommend this product and Newegg to others. Newegg ships on time, everytime.
Reviewed By:Dwayne S.,2/19/2017 11:11:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Thecus Technology Corp. > Thecus Network Attached Storage N4810 Intel Celeron N3160 4GB DDR3 4xSATA USB3.0 4Bay Tower Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 the best backup solution
Pros: -no brainer for the average home user, dont need to worry about the complexities of a bunch of hard drives any more with this
-lots major cool features
-reliable data back
-barring electricity, files always available locally
Cons: -as any system, maintenance, system air out now and then, swap a bad drive every couple years
-none much really
Other Thoughts: -havent tried it, but have recommendation based on the fact that i have homebrewed my own 6x2TB (=10TB raidz2 space) similar to this, and have been watching these on the market for years.

-i would recommend you plan ahead if your getting 2x2tb or 2x10tb, because in some filesystems, zfs in particular you might not be able to upgrade one, without upgrading all 4 of them, before the extra space is realized.

Placed in a firesafe, it will rival, actually pretty much surpass, anything you can get on any reputable cloud.
Reviewed By:Brian l.,1/31/2017 1:53:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 2120 RN2120-100NAS Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is a nice system for home / small business (3 employee) file server.
Pros: Easy to setup and use. Good price for a 4 bay nas
Cons: File rights are somewhat simple. Out of the box you can only setup rights for folders on the root with the ready nas software.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to a home user on a 5 user business.
Reviewed By:Edward C.,1/23/2017 11:47:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS816 Diskless System Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Loses one egg for poor rack bracket design. Other than that -- Great stuff!
Pros: --Incredibly quiet for a rack device. I expected it to be as loud as a small server, fan-wise, but no! You could easily put this in a living space, especially if you use SSD's.

--Very well-built, easy setup, very fast USB ports (important for restoring data from a portable backup drive). Example: It took nearly 27 hours to back up about 3.5TB from our old NAS, so I could move the disks to the new one. According to the progress graph, it looks like restoring everything will take about six hours and change.

--Had no trouble at all joining an Active Directory domain. It picked up on all our domain users, groups and, most importantly, file permissions without a single hitch.
Cons: Only one so far: Synology did a poor job of machining the rackmount brackets. Oh, they're quality material, certainly strong enough for the job, BUT Synology neglected to provide enough empty space between the rack screw slots and the U-shaped 'handle' for the screw heads. The standard screws I use for a 2-post telecomm/network-type rack don't fit on both sides. I ended up using two different screw types, with different head sizes.

Synology: If you read this, I would be only too happy to send you a couple of samples of the standard rack screws I'm speaking of. Perhaps you can re-do the brackets? My first thought would be to eliminate the U-shaped 'handle' part and just go with a basic L-bracket design.
Other Thoughts: I especially like the ability to aggregate (bond) the two network ports.
Reviewed By:Bruce L.,1/8/2017 12:40:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, Site Shipping and Price
Pros: I purchase online products regularly and must say the Newegg experience has been A+. Search located the product I was looking for quickly. Information was on the mark. The online purchasing flow was smooth. Shipped on time and accurate online tracking information was provided with only one caveat! The link provided in the original email did not provide update, so it's important to copy the tracking number and head over to the shippers website and manually input the tracking number.
Cons: Other than the tracking link in the original email all when smoothly. Also had to look elsewhere for the Server mounting rails.
Other Thoughts: The rackstation itself worked as expected. I have purchased a number of smaller Synology NAS units and was not disappointed with this one. Needed this unit to provide an iSCSI interface to the server which worked as advertised. This was my first attempt at iSCSI so a quick search on the Synology website led to straightforward instructions. Only 2 bays are being used at the moment with 2 more ready for action should they be needed. So between a great product and a great retailer my experience worthy of a 5 star rating.
Reviewed By:Denis P.,12/19/2016 5:10:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815RP+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on arrival, Alert LED blinking red - huge disappointment !!! good luck
Pros: after having two qnaps with zero issues for past 5 years. Had really high hopes for this synology rackmount unit which i expected to be better quality. bought 4x 8t enterprise capacity v5 seagates for it. ;(.

symptoms: when connected to 1 power supply it would make high pitch sound alarm, doesnt boot. alert led blinking red color
with both power supplies, alarm goes away, alert led still blinking red color. doesnt boot.
no matter what you press. tried reseating power supplies, "motherboard", no luck. shipping/returning it ...and going to bnh for local pick. 2nd rma with newegg...hmm
Cons: 100%
Other Thoughts: why me?
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

I am sorry to hear you've had such issues with this unit. Getting a unit DOA is always a super frustrating experience. If you get another unit and have any issues, please let us know.

Thanks,
Synology Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/10/2016 6:39:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-1271U-RP-i7-32G-US 12 -bay high performance unified storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to set up, QTS interface is very impressive
Pros: High capacity, great price, 4 x gigabit interfaces
Cons: Rails are ordered separately, not really a con if you know in advance.
Other Thoughts: Will certainly be purchasing more if needed.
Reviewed By:David T.,12/8/2016 10:11:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2416+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice and easy to configure
Pros: Big ol' storage. Synology is very good at making these easy to configure, even for someone with only mediocre network skills like myself. It can be dumb storage for afs/smb/nfs, or it can be your main user gateway. I found, for instance, it easier to configure as an LDAP server than it was to configure an Ubuntu box to do the same thing.
Cons: Quick note: there is no rack-mount hardware included; I have it sitting on a shelf. That's OK since there is no airflow inside.
Other Thoughts: Includes caddies and screws for all hard drive bays.
Reviewed By:Nathaniel T.,8/14/2016 9:52:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.