Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP - SATA to USB 3.0 Converter for SSD / HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly with 2.5" SSD and HD! THANK YOU ! :-)
Pros: Plug and Play, first plug in the adapter to your USB 3.0 port, then plug your drive in the adapter. Files are ready instantly.
Open Disk Managment and format the disk, delete partitions, do anything you like - just like an internal drive. Windows 8/10 doesn't even see the USB cable - just another disk !
DO Right Click on the Drive and select EJECT ASMT 1051 - always a good idea to do a proper EJECT procedure to make sure windows finishes writing any buffered data to your drive and parks it - ready for removal.
EJECT is a much better idea than just ripping out the cable !!!
Cons: None. Works Perfect for 2.5" Hard Drives and SSDs
Other Thoughts: Tiny Red LED on the drive end of the adapter cable shows you when the disk is being accessed.
Worked quickly and completely with both Seagate HDs and SanDisk SSDs - PERFECT for moving large files,
making backups, or using your favorite cloning / migration software or just windows file copy if moving
from an HD to an SSD. Some Motherboards have ''extra'' internal USB 3.0 headers (Asus / Gigabyte / etc).
So, you could use an internal USB 3.0 adapter to add a RAID 0 or 1 pair of 2.5" drives or SSDs to your system.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA2JX1A27130
Do Remember you are running the drives on USB 3.0 power, perfect for 2.5" SSD/Laptop HD.
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER S.,3/21/2017 1:09:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > USB 3.1 (10Gbps) Adapter Cable for 2.5” SATA Drives - with USB-C - SATA I/II/III and UASP Support - USB Powered

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great! very fast USB 3.1
Pros: Copied and entire 256GB SSD for back in 5 minutes over USB 3.1. Has power led for device link.
Cons: Cable could be a bit longer, but not a big deal.
No activity indicator light for data/transfer activity - just power-on LED indicator.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/12/2017 8:55:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB 2.0 External Stereo Audio Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Meh...
Pros: If you want this just to listen to audio it works great.
Cons: If you are hoping this will let you use your mic with a 3.5mm jack.....well, it doesn't work. which is what i bought it for. since my msi laptop came with a busted 3.5mm headphone jack.... the search and wasted money continues.
Other Thoughts: At least I have a back up udio adapter in case the 3.5mm audio out decides to quit....
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

If you are having issues with this adapter, you can contact our support team at support@sybausa.com with some more information on your issues. If I understand correctly, you'd like to use headphones with a built in mic, and this adapter isn't built for that. They do sell splitters online for those scenarios.

Please contact us so that we may help solve this issue. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and thank you for your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170308

Reviewed By:Chris R.,3/8/2017 9:05:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > j5create > j5create JUE130 USB 3.0 to RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet Network Adapter - Add Gigabit Ethernet to any USB 3.0 compatible PC or Laptop computer - USB to Gigabit Ethernet - USB 3.0 Gigabit Adapter - USB 3.0 Ethernet Adapter - USB Network Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredibly easy to install.
Pros: It works on the Nintendo Switch. Currently using it right now
Cons: Cable could be longer
Reviewed By:Jason C.,3/5/2017 8:02:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP - SATA to USB 3.0 Converter for SSD / HDD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for laptop HDDs.
Pros: Works great for 2.5" hard drives that need little power. Makes using for running backups in a virtualbox environment easy as it is USB 3.0 (fast) and easy to join to the virtualbox with an external HDD or something and running a clone or file copy while doing whatever else on the workstation without interruption.
Cons: Kind of a bummer it was not powered enough to use for 3.5" hard drives. Sometimes, USB can draw enough power for it as I understand it.
Reviewed By:Aaron L.,3/2/2017 9:08:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec CB-U300GNA USB 3.0 to Gigabit Ethernet Adapter - USB to RJ45- usb 3.0 gigabit adapter - usb 3.0 to ethernet - usb 3.0 adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked.......... for about a week
Pros: At first it worked. Then it didn't. Have correct drivers loaded. Started dropping Ethernet connection then just stopped working. Waste of my time and money.
Cons: Doesn't work.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
We try hard to provide excellent customers service. If you have questions about our products, or anything that are not functioning the way it is advertised, please feel free to write to us for assistance at support@vantecusa.com. We will try our best to support and answer your questions and help you get the latest and corrected drivers if needed. Thank you for looking into our products.
Best Regards, Vantec

Reviewed By:DAVID P.,3/2/2017 7:24:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Sabrent > SABRENT USB-DSC5 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Converter Adapter With Power Supply & LED Activity Lights

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Device!
Pros: Had some IDE and SATA drives to check and this was the complete package for my task. I even used for an OS transfer from an IDE to a new SATA drive for my laptop.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Definitely would recommend.
Reviewed By:Aaron P.,2/26/2017 4:43:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite U336-000-R USB 3.0 to Gigabit Ethernet Adapter, 10/100/1000

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It worked! Easy install.
Pros: Originally I purchased a similar product of a different brand from a local store but had to return it because it was pathetically slow despite its claim of gigabit ethernet speed. Then I found a review giving high marks to the Tripplite U336-000-R USB to Gigabit Ethernet Adapter. I've had good luck with Tripplite products and a visit to Tripplite's website revealed they have drivers for Windows 10, so I went ahead and made the purchase via Newegg. Great price! When it arrived, I tested it out on two different Windows 10 systems. Installed the drivers then plugged in the adapter. Internet access came right up and proved to be fast as I had hoped. If you want to have a hard-wired gigabit ethernet connection for a laptop, this is an excellent solution that works (provided your system has a USB 3.0 port).
Cons: No cons.
Reviewed By:Mark L.,2/24/2017 9:56:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-ISA225-U3 IDE/SATA TO USB 3.0 Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cool Rescue Tool
Pros: Small, fast, easy to use. not terribly expensive, lets you access your disk to copy files.
Allows formatting and partitioning both from CMD and Disk Management (in Windows).
No drivers needed in windows.
Cons: For the drive interface itself, none.
For the power supply, see the comments below
Other Thoughts: The power supply works properly but is poorly thought out. It consists of a standard wall wart type transformer with an inline switch so you can power on after connecting everything. That plugs into a small connector block into which you again have to connect either the SATA or MOLEX power cords provided. This is too many connectors and it's rather prone to accidental disconnects. They should have simply brought a 4 wired cable with a SATA and a MOLEX connector directly out of the module with the switch in it.

Other than this one grumble... it's a good well made device that I expect will serve me well.
Reviewed By:LD B.,2/23/2017 9:58:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Plugable Technologies > Plugable USB 2.0 to 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN Wired Network Adapter for Windows, Mac, Chromebook, Linux, and Specific Android Tablets (ASIX AX88178 Chipset)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to set up
Pros: Works exactly as advertised.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: - I was looking to replace a wireless connection with hard-wired on a PC stick with only a USB 2.0 port. This does exactly that.
- Before purchasing this item, you should understand that USB 2.0 cannot reach Gigabit speeds. In my case it did not matter. However USB 2.0 max speed is 480 Mbps and this adapter is able to achieve speeds in the 300s Mbps ballpark, which is respectable. The network adapter also shows 1.0 Gbps so it does not effectively slow down any part of the network. A USB 2.0 100/10 Fast Ethernet will absolutely throttle your link down to 100 Mbps. Don't bother with a 100/10 adapter if you have Gigabit LAN - buy this instead.
- You will need to get the driver from the manufacturer website. Once this is done, it works great.
Reviewed By:Dan V.,2/23/2017 8:51:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.