Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech IREXT2 Wireless Infrared IR Remote Control Extender - 330 ft. (100m)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent product, but may not work with some devices
Pros: I purchased this to use with a Tivo unit that I have connected to two televisions, one in the same room and one elsewhere. It is easy to set up.
Cons: I assume that it works well with many devices. However, I had issues with my Tivo. With the receiver using its remote IR sensor mounted very close to the Tivo, it would work much of the time from the remote room. However, when I tried to use the remote in the same room, it would not function if the IREXT2 was powered on. It seemed to be putting out some kind of IR interference all the time that overwhelmed the Tivo remote locally -- even though it was not blocking the line of sight. The remote would work locally as before if I powered off the IREXTR2. StarTech tech support was very helpful. They sent me some additional information, and I ended up trying to use the receiver across the room from the Tivo. In this configuration, the IREXT2 worked intermittently from the remote room. It also working intermittently when the remote was used locally when the IREXT2 was powered on. So it still seemed to be putting out some interference that confused the Tivo, just not as much as before.

After trying several other things at the suggestion of StarTech support, I found that it seemed to work fine with my Sony television, but the Tivo never worked reliably. StarTech authorized a return. I ended up purchasing another similar wireless IR extender that runs at a higher frequently. The other unit does not interfere at all with local use of the remote, and it is much more responsive to the signals from the other room.

So, I suspect this unit will work for many applications. But beware that some devices may not be compatible. StarTech support is very responsive, but the unit seems to have limitations that are not described in the promotional material. If you use it, I would make sure you have return privileges and test it thoroughly while you can still return it.
Reviewed By:Mark L.,7/1/2017 1:59:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUCE64 USB 2.0 4-Port BoostLinq Ethernet - 164ft, 4-Port USB Extender over Cat5/Cat5e/Cat6 Ethernet Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very happy
Pros: USB hub over ethernet cable.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Perfect product which works great.
Reviewed By:Dimitri R.,6/8/2017 7:22:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech HDBOOST HDMI Signal Booster - 115 ft - 1080p

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Dies the job
Pros: - compact
- adjustable frequency
Cons: - no power supply, for price a small 5v psu should be there luckily had one in stock if I hadn't would have sent back.
Other Thoughts: I would but I would suggest Startech supply a power cable.
Reviewed By:DAVID C.,2/22/2017 2:26:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite HDMI Over Cat5 / Cat6 Extender Kit, Extended Range Transmitter & Receiver for Video & Audio, 1080p at 60Hz(B126-1A1)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works great over a distance of 70 feet of CAT 5E. 1080 picture is every bit as good as the picture on the source end. My source signal is from a satellite box, and as far as the box is concerned, there is no problem with having this device connected.

I did run into one minor problem; I receive local channels (HD) from an indoor, hang on the wall type antenna and it appears that the device on the receiving end interferes with the weaker channels that are picked up from the antenna. I got a better antenna, mounted it higher, and routed the CAT 5E cables as far from the antenna cable as possible. I also swapped the $6.00 HDMI cable on the receiving device with a $20.00 HDMI cable and this solved the interference problem. I'm not sure why the HDMI cable played any part in the signal from the antenna. I would like to stress that I don't see this is a problem with the devices since the signal from my indoor antenna was probably marginal to begin with (35 miles from broadcast towers).
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend to others
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/23/2016 4:03:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite HDMI Over Cat5 / Cat6 Remote Extender Repeater for Video and Audio, 1080p at 60Hz (B126-110)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Installed this about 3/4 of the way in on a 70 foot run of CAT 5E. I had to adjust the equalizer (one time adjustment) because the picture was alternating between screen and black screen and since then, the picture is great. For those who may have concerns about signal degradation, I can tell you that there is none; the picture on my television is every bit as good as the source material. Picture is clear with color intensity and hue faithfully reproduced.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to others.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/23/2016 3:36:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech IREXT2 Wireless Infrared IR Remote Control Extender - 330 ft. (100m)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Signal Interference Problem
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: It does not work if there are cable modem boxes and other devices are located near by. It works only one TV set. Does not work well with multiple devices located around StarTech device. I have tested with several cable modem boxes such as Time Warner and AT&T cable modem boxes. If you are controlling a TV set from distance away, then no problem.
Reviewed By:toshio h.,9/28/2016 9:37:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUCE64 USB 2.0 4-Port BoostLinq Ethernet - 164ft, 4-Port USB Extender over Cat5/Cat5e/Cat6 Ethernet Cable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to install, very stable and good pricing.
Pros: - Passing signal through Cat5E without apparent signal loss
- USB powered devices (like a Wacom) are working fine
- Connected a Tangent Element Control Surface through it without any performance loss (that's all USB powered, 4 ports at the same time.)
Cons: - None, for now
Other Thoughts: - I will probably buy more of those to equip all the editing rooms in our office
Reviewed By:Francis N.,8/3/2016 6:35:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUCE64 USB 2.0 4-Port BoostLinq Ethernet - 164ft, 4-Port USB Extender over Cat5/Cat5e/Cat6 Ethernet Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a boss
Pros: Very easy to hook up. I'm using UTP Cat6. My run is 60ft over solid UTP cat6, and then I have my own patch cable (cat6, about 12-18in in length) going to each interface. It doesn't even take a moment to initialize. If you unplug the cat6, it'll work again as SOON as you plug it back in. I'm currently using this with two USB devices, an IR receiver for Windows Media Center and Kodi, and also a wireless Lenovo keyboard/mouse (the handlheld type). Works great.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Sorry, I didn't test USB speeds as I don't need to hook anything else up to it. I may try a flash drive, but right now I watch all movies over the network to a XFS file server.
Reviewed By:Garo S.,6/1/2016 11:05:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 1846909 HDMI to Cat 5/6 UTP AV Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not Work at advertised distance
Pros: Works at 30 feet
Cons: Does not work at 60+ feet. Say it is rated at 100 ft.
Other Thoughts: If it only works at 30 ft. you might as well get a 30 ft HDMI cable. I will be returning this to newegg.
Reviewed By:Rocky G.,5/5/2016 1:42:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 1668030 1 x HDMI F/F Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 connect 2 short cables to make 1 long cable
Pros: I have many HDMI cables laying around and all just a little short of making it to the receiver/ TV so using this coupling I was able to use existing cables to do job.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:John M.,3/21/2016 6:25:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.