Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech CDPVGDVHDMDP Aluminum Travel A/V Adapter: 4-in-1 USB-C to VGA, DVI, HDMI or mDP - 4K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Quality construction/Metal case
Able to handle several different outputs with a single adapter
Cord storage and compact design makes for easy travel
Great Customer Service!
Cons: No USB - any style
Doesn't support multiple displays
Other Thoughts: This shipped much quicker than I expected, I received mine about a week after ordering. I have been using it for 2 weeks now with no problems at all. It works well and I like the compact design. It fits into the accessory pouch along side my charge cord that I got with my sleeve. Would definitely recommend it for people who need more than a single video output.

Edited to Add: I just contacted StarTech technical support for help connecting a new monitor to this display. They were remarkably helpful even though the issue didn't end up being related to the adapter at all. Just bought another StarTech adapter and will continue to look for this brand in the future.
Reviewed By:Carrie B.,3/6/2017 1:52:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Diamond Multimedia > Diamond BVU165LT USB External Video Display Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice video boost to an aging laptop
Pros: Keeps the CPU from heating the laptop and revving up the fan
Fills 1080p from corner to corner of 27" monitor which was beyond the laptop's capability
Cons: I lose a USB port and adds little more cable clutter, but worth it
Other Thoughts: I have an aging Laptop with a second monitor connected to the side VGA. The second display is rather dim and will not sync until after 10 minutes of warmup when turned on, and HDMI port loses sync. This adapter offloads the Video demand outside of the case which helps with the typical overheating when a dozen or more windows are open at the same time. Produces a gorgeous and vivid display for a few dollars without having to migrate to a new laptop. I tried Star Wars Angry Birds and it was horrendously unplayable, but this laptop is for using MS Office and browsers which works perfectly.
Reviewed By:Thomas D.,3/2/2017 6:06:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Vantec > VANTEC NBV-410DU3 USB 3.0 to 4K DP Display Adapter DisplayLink Certified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well, easy to set up
Pros: Works perfectly with my 2560x1440 display.
Easy to set up, just plug into USB 3.0 port, get driver from supplied driver CD.
Essential for systems without PCIe slots or if you don't want to plug in a 2nd video card or replace existing video to get connection needed.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I'm using it to add a 2nd DP port to an Intel NUC to get dual QHD screens mine of which have only DVI and DP connections.
Reviewed By:Richard S.,2/26/2017 5:25:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech CDPVGDVHDMDP Aluminum Travel A/V Adapter: 4-in-1 USB-C to VGA, DVI, HDMI or mDP - 4K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great portable adapter for Macbook Pro, and Z-book, and ThinkPad
Pros: Small, sturdy, and one piece (partial "pro" there). Just connected it up out of the box and I had full resolution on my 4k monitor--provided the computer can drive that of course. The multiple output ports are fantastic when travelling. I need only worry about MY computer, and the adapter has the rest covered. I like how the cable wraps around and tucks in.
Cons: Just one partial con, the interface cable is both short and non-removable. That's made it rough a couple times, but not a show-stopper.
Other Thoughts: I received this product in exchange for an unbiased review. But frankly, I'd have done a review of this device anyway as it's always with me now.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/16/2017 10:28:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI / HDMI / USB3.0 / Supporting 1920 x 1200 or 2048 x 1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-KR)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy way to use multiple monitors on a laptop!
Pros: Easy setup. Drivers for Windows 7, 8.x, and 10. Smooth, glitch-free operation. I did not test gaming performance, but there is no discernible lag in typical office use.

Most laptops can be made to support two monitors, as long as one of them is the laptop's built-in screen. If you want more than one external monitor, then this is the device to get. It will support two additional monitors, so I was able to run four screens (including the laptop's own screen) from one laptop.
Cons: Only issue I came across is when unplugging or plugging in the EVGA when there is already another monitor connected to the laptop's VGA/HDMI port. That monitor and the laptop's screen would revert to a non-extended ("duplicate-the-same-stuff-on-both-screens") mode. So every time the EVGA was added or removed, I had to go through the annoying process of reconfiguring the first two screens back to extended-display mode. If you're only going to use three screens (laptop plus two external), you might want to add the two external monitors to the EVGA and leave the laptop's VGA/HDMI port empty, rather than putting one on the laptop and one on the EVGA.

However, this device is so good and this use case (plugging/unplugging from a booted up Windows environment) is probably uncommon enough that I can't take off a star for that.
Other Thoughts: Included driver CD seemed to have issues, so skip the CD and instead download the current Win 7/8/10 driver from EVGA's website (www.evga.com/support/download/). Run the downloaded program to install the driver. Then plug the included USB3 cable into the EVGA device, plug the other end into a USB3 port on your computer, and the driver will finish configuring itself for this device. No reboot is necessary, but out of habit I did anyway.

You're then ready to plug in one or two extra monitors. The EVGA device has one HDMI output port and one DVI output port. The box includes a DVI-to-VGA adapter, so you can use either one DVI or VGA monitor, and/or one HDMI monitor. Once they light up, go into Windows' Display Settings and rearrange for your monitor layout.

I tried the EVGA adapter directly from my laptop's USB3 port as well as through a powered USB3 hub I have connected to my laptop, with no discernible difference in performance.

Supposedly the EVGA will also run from a USB2 port, but I did not test that so can't speak to whether there are any performance issues due to the slower USB2 port. A USB3 port also provides almost twice as much power as a USB2 port. The EVGA does not have a separate power cord and draws its power from the USB connection, so it's possible some laptops' USB2 ports might not have enough power to drive two extra monitor signals.
Reviewed By:Dan G.,2/8/2017 1:32:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > EVGA > EVGA UV Plus+ 39 USB VGA DVI / HDMI / USB3.0 / Supporting 1920 x 1200 or 2048 x 1152 Resolutions (100-U3-UV39-KR)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Linux!
Pros: It is what it says on the tin. It's just a USB 3.0 display adapter. Nothing terribly fancy, but it gets the job done well.
Cons: The only thing I don't like is that EVGA does not post the Linux drivers on their site. I could have been using this the way I wanted to a lot sooner. But that's why I'm writing this review, so other people can know.
Other Thoughts: The underlying product is from DisplayLink, so you'll have to hit up their website for the Linux driver. The driver is written to work specifically with the Ubuntu LTS releases, and requires DKMS. Short of that, installing the driver is easy: Download it, extract it, chmod +x it, run it, plug the EVGA UV Plus+ 39 in and away you go!

I'm not going to put the URL for the DisplayLink Linux driver, as that could shoot down this review. But all you need to do is search for "DisplayLink Linux Driver" and you'll find it.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,1/30/2017 6:59:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech UUSBMUSBFM Micro USB to Mini USB 2.0 Adapter F/M

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never Really Worked
Pros: Shipped ok.
Cons: It is a cheap little adapter and I was just troubleshooting with it, but it never worked. I even tried it with multiple devices. I didn't worry about it because it was so cheap and it wasn't the end of the world that it didn't work so I didn't ask for a refund or anything, but I wasn't impressed and it seemed pretty cheap anyway.
Reviewed By:Joseph D.,1/10/2017 5:19:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Plugable Technologies > Plugable USB 3.0 to VGA / DVI / HDMI DisplayLink Graphics Adapter UGA-3000

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Came with 2 boot adapters as well.. not in picture, so it was a pleasant surprise. Software came on CD and was installed successfully without errors or any other problems onto a win 10 machine
Cons: none that I have seen.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/14/2016 2:01:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Diamond Multimedia > Diamond BVU165LT USB External Video Display Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great item
Pros: Let's me have four monitors and two of which have the same view so my clients can see what I am looking at while I look at it close to me.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Edward T.,12/6/2016 8:00:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Display Adapters > Diamond Multimedia > Diamond Multimedia BVU5500 UGA USB 3.0/2.0 to Ultra HD 4K 3840 x 2160 (DisplayLink DL-5500 Chipset) Display Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yup ! This helped
Pros: Check my reviews about Diamond BVU165, VERY much the same experience except one thing... this one is bigger, badder, and smoother.
Cons: Only max's out at 6 monitors... Darn
(Well more monitors would really task my system... already burned up a 300 watt power supply)
Reviewed By:Gary A.,11/27/2016 10:02:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.