Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR2100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBBCL0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product
Pros: verry good
Cons: need update for external hard drive
Other Thoughts: good product end fast for 4k transcoding
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/17/2017 11:50:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud DL2100 Business Series + Network Attached Storage -NAS WDBBAZ0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast easy setup perfect for my purpose
Pros: Fast easy setup
Perfect for my purpose of data protection.
Running a RAID 1 mirror with 2 Western Digital 3tb Red NAS drives.
SUPER east drive install, slide the drives in and click the door shut, THAT'S IT...
#redundant, 2 redundant power supply ports (only 1 power supply provided), 2 redundant 10/100/1000 ethernet ports
Enterprise level redundancy at a pro-sumer price.
Cons: Only 1 power supply provided.
Can't get the MyCloud to work through a Comcast/Cisco DPC3941T Modem/Router
Reviewed By:Stuben T.,1/29/2017 7:31:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 32TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0320KBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 USB drives bring this NAS to its knees
Pros: None
Cons: Don't buy this... EVER. If you plug a USB drive in, it will crash and become unrecoverable. Western Digital is terrible. They say the support USB, but if you check the forums thousands of people have this issue. WD are LIARS!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2017 4:19:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Passport Wireless Pro Portable External Hard Drive - WiFi AC, SD, USB 3.0 - WDBSMT0030BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Came infected with virus in installer, does NOT have Mycloud function
Pros: Packed with lots of various, cool little features. But missing some, see cons.
Cons: 1) Installer program for Windows on the drive itself comes infected with a Bitcoin Mining Virus! Was caught by every computer I plugged it into directly.
2) Unlike the non Pro model, you DON'T get your own "cloud" with this. Unless you consider carrying it around a "personal cloud". Get the non-Pro version and you can access your files from anywhere. Or you can open up your ftp port ... but don't expect to be able to set the login credentials, it's open to the world.
Other Thoughts: What a waste of money
Manufacturer Response:Hey There Justin,
Thanks for the time providing feedback. It’s unclear what installer program you may be speaking about. You may have already been infected with malware prior to setting up this device. It may be a good idea to update and run anti-malware detection and cleaning software on all devices within your network. We provide a secure site to access the Online Learning Center; along with a couple useful articles to assist with initially installing a Passport Wireless Pro device.
“My Passport Wireless Pro Online Learning Center”: http://mycloud.com/learn/?id=MyPassportWirelessPro
“How to set up a My Passport Wireless Pro on a Windows PC”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=14191
“Wi-Fi Best Practices while using a My Passport Wireless Pro”:
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=14195

We would be most happy to discuss this matter with you further. You can contact us and mention the support case below, as a point of reference to this Newegg review.

Case Number: 011717-11727336

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:Justin A.,1/14/2017 10:51:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 12TB 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 12TB My Cloud EX2 Ultra 2-bay NAS WDBVBZ0120JCH-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wrong item shipped?
Pros: Clean appearance
Easy to set up
Cons: My product came showing about 2TB of apace in a raid setup, but I purchased the 12GB model, not the 4Gb.
Other Thoughts: Order mix-up? Its not obvious from the order history or the invoice.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Samuel,
We’re sorry, hearing you may have received the wrong product; it’s best to contact Newegg directly for help correcting this matter. If the device model does show WDBVBZ0120JCH on the enclosure, and the dashboard shows two 6TB WD Red drives installed, but the RAID indeed shows only 2TB, we would like the chance to assist you further. You can contact us and mention the support case below.

Support Case Number: 011717-11727318

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:samuel m.,1/13/2017 5:41:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy to Use, but MASSIVE DESIGN FLAW
Pros: -> Simple to administer.
-> Fast
-> Plex Server transcodes very well
Cons: This thing is saddled with a massive design flaw. It apparently cannot communicate to external USB drives that use the UAS protocol. (USB Attached SCSI). This is a new protocol that is starting to proliferate with fast high capacity external devices. If you plug one of these drives into your PR4100 NAS and the entire thing locks up. Presumably kernel panics. It becomes unresponsive. Drops off the network and the only way to recover is to power cycle. I could work around this if they would publish a compatibility list for external drives like they do for the internal drives. However they do not. Also, the manual mentions nothing of this quirk. You can only read about it from the forums where a staff member published a link to the public service announcement. the thing that will steam you is there is no indication if this is something they are going to fix. So Now I am constantly locking up the PR4100 because even some of my USB thumb drives are using this newer protocol for faster transfer speeds. This is a disaster. I would presume this could be fixed with a firmware update by downloading a newer linux kernel. To my knowledge other devices do not have this limitation.

The PSA can be located by searching for "My Cloud Pro Series Not Accessible After Connecting a USB Attached SCSI (UAS) Device" Answer ID 15167
Other Thoughts: considering the massive flaw this thing has, and the lack of information to how WD will fix this. I will discard it through the auction sites and look at competitors offerings.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Steven G.,
Thanks for the time providing this feedback. UAS devices are currently not supported on a My Cloud PR 2100 and PR4100. Please follow the link below for more information.
“My Cloud Pro Series Not Accessible After Connecting a USB Attached SCSI (UAS) Device”: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=15167

It’s a good idea to follow our community forums for Recent Solutions, Product Notices, Announcements, and My Cloud Product Status.
“WD Community”: https://community.wd.com

Support Case Number: 122816-11676090

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(855) 556-5117.

Reviewed By:Steven G.,12/27/2016 7:15:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud EX4100 Expert Series Network Attached Storage - NAS WDBWZE0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Super easy to set up
User interface is supper easy
Cons: None at this point
Other Thoughts: So i am not tec savy at all, i can plug in a computer and hooke up the cables right ( most of the time), but if anything gose wrong i am on the phone with my brother ( who works with networking and computers for a living) constantly. Asking him always to help... my current computer is almost 10 years old that has had several problems with, and my brother has kept it going.
So I wanted my own cloud and i found this one and love it... not too expensive, easy to expand, and setting up in a raid 5 was supper easy. I didn't have to call my brother at all. This is a geat system ( well so far ) but only time will tell if it was truly worth it.
Reviewed By:david s.,12/22/2016 2:23:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR2100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBBCL0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent NAS. Very intuitive and easy to use.
Pros: -Plex hardware transcoding
-RAID 1 reliability
-Enough features to satisfy most users
-Fast network speed
-Very easy to use
-Easy to back up
-Quiet
-IPv6 support
-Populated drives come with WD Red drives
-Very easy to maintain
Cons: -Somewhat limited when compared to building your own server
-May still be complicated for novice users
-May still be expensive for some people
-2 and 4 drives may be limiting to some users who require huge amounts of space
Other Thoughts: 2x WD 6TB Red Drives. Drive is connected to a UPS (Highly suggest you do this to prevent an abrupt shutdown and to protect from surges).

I love this drive. I had a DL2100 before and it served me very well for a year. The problem with that unit came when I decided to throw all my Blu-rays on it. Transcoding was slow and I constantly got the "you're device is too slow" message from Plex. The PR2100 is a great improvement. It can transcode 1080p Blu-rays without a hiccup. I have yet to try 4K since I do not own any 4K monitors or TVs. I prefer these units to building a server because of their small footprint. It just sits in the corner, quietly, doing it's thing. It does not consume a lot of power or put out a lot of heat and it is easy to forget it's there. The price and feature list is reasonable when compared to building a dedicated machine.

The OS is incredibly easy to use. It is very intuitive. It's packed with enough apps and features to keep most users satisfied. It's very easy to access on the road from your computer or phone. As long as you have good cell service or are connected to a decent internet connection, accessing and transferring files is fast. From what I hear, the Time Machine feature works flawlessly. It also sends alerts by email if there is a problem. The app on the phone can be set to automatically back up your photos and movies. The only real maintenance is dusting it out and checking the drive status every so often. You can also quickly and easily create additional backups via an external hard drive.

Network speeds are very fast. My main system has an Intel I219-V NEC and I get around 115MB/s read/write speeds. Results vary when transferring a ton of little files, but that is typical for any file transfer. When considering that the theoretical limit of Gigabit is 125MB/s that is pretty good. The processor is very fast and the drive is quick and responsive. The 4GB of RAM is plenty for this unit.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this product. It is easy to use, fast and leaves a small footprint. It is extremely easy to maintain. It is packed with features and apps and handles Plex extremely well. It provides automatic backup via RAID 1 for peace of mind in case a drive fails. You can even easily back up to an external hard drive if you want for an additional back up. It even notifies you when something is wrong via email. It's nice to have one place for all your files that has the redundancy of RAID 1 instead of every device having its own storage. This is originally why I entered the NAS game. My files were all over the place and there were 2-3 copies of my library since every device had its own copy. Keeping all devices up to date was a huge hassle. WD has made it very easy to organize and safely store my data.
Reviewed By:John T.,12/19/2016 11:24:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0080HWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Interesting
Pros: It is an Ethernet only connection. Was hoping for a usb 3 connection to go along with that for moving a lot of data on it, but gigabit Ethernet seems to work fairly well. It is basically a NAS so any of my computers on my network can access it's data.

Just starting to figure out the cloud part of it. Very interesting aspect.
Cons: Thought the Ethernet was a con at first, but am getting used to it.
Reviewed By:Charles C.,12/18/2016 4:47:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra Diskless 2 x 3.5 inch hard drive bays, hot swap capable, tray-less design 2-bay NAS WDBVBZ0000NCH-NESN Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works. Sort of...
Pros: This product is OK in the sense that the cloud feature and other features will work once you set it up.
Cons: However, at least as of now you can hardly access its settings and the only solution seems to be to enable SSH and adjust the setting via its terminal interface. It needs to be noted that if you are to turn on this option prompts that you will be voiding the warranty by doing this.
Having the only viable way to adjust this device also be a way to void the warranty is unacceptable.
Other Thoughts: If it was simply a case that the device performance was slow in terms of transfer speeds I would just assume my workload was too high and I should have bought higher end components.
However, this is not the case here. The only viable way to set this device up requires you not only void its warranty; it also requires you to have a skill set that if you do not have it are likely to need that warranty.
For me, this device works enough that I am not compelled to purchase another device, but if I could do it over again I wouldn't.
Two eggs because it will work, but the user experience is pretty horrible. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere even if you have to spend a little more.
Reviewed By:William B.,12/11/2016 1:23:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.